Irish attitudes that annoy you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭Lnaa

DLMA23 wrote: »
    The genuflecting/cap doffing attitude of some Irish towards our former colonial masters the church

Where's your self respect & dignity FFS?

All well & good peaceful relations etc., long may it continue...but get over the inferiority complex & be proud of who we are & what we've achieved

Fixed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Lnaa wrote: »
    Oh and the way Catholicism gets rammed down the throat but if you're an atheist you'd better keep quiet lest someone gets upset.
    No way is that the case anymore - hasn't been for years. I say that as an atheist.

The catholic guilt thing about sex is nonsense too - just something people like to believe. If anything, it's becoming the case that NOT being highly sexualised is the thing to be ashamed of.

No way is that the case anymore - hasn't been for years. I say that as an atheist.

The catholic guilt thing about sex is nonsense too - just something people like to believe. If anything, it's becoming the case that NOT being highly sexualised is the thing to be ashamed of.

Maybe that's the case if you live in a big urban area, namely Dublin, possibly Cork. But in the rural areas the church still very much has a hand in society.

In rural areas the clergy (and nuns) are still revered (feared?). Not as much as in the past, but more so than other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

The level of political apathy and the refusal to consider real change. I really hate the "I'll vote FF because my dad was an FF man all his life" attitude, which is disturbingly common.

Similarly, willingness to accept poor standards in healthcare and education and then claiming to be a world leader in them. The mind boggles.

The level of political apathy and the refusal to consider real change. I really hate the "I'll vote FF because my dad was an FF man all his life" attitude, which is disturbingly common.

Similarly, willingness to accept poor standards in healthcare and education and then claiming to be a world leader in them. The mind boggles.

The whole concept of voting FF is disturbing in itself... people bemoan the state of the health system and other services but continue to vote for a pack of criminals that in any other country would have been locked up years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

DLMA23 wrote: »
    The genuflecting/cap doffing attitude of some Irish towards our former colonial masters

Where's your self respect & dignity FFS?

All well & good peaceful relations etc., long may it continue...but get over the inferiority complex & be proud of who we are & what we've achieved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

I honestly think there is nothing at all wrong with out education system, I'm quite happy with it. If anything the reforms which have been brought in in recent years (project maths), and which will be brought in in the coming years (Continuous assessment for the Junior cycle), could possibly reduce standards drastically.

The GAA culture is on thing which infuriates me. Fine, they're good games, I'd watch them on the telly and attend the odd one, but it's really not that big of a deal. The amount of special treatment you get for being known as one of the "GAA lads" in my town is absolutely ridiculous.

I honestly think there is nothing at all wrong with out education system, I'm quite happy with it.

Time wasted on religious education/indoctrination? Lack of primary science? Lack of school choice for non-RC families? Extremely poor access to technical subjects in girls schools? No computing-related subject taught for the established Leaving Cert? Irish taught as if students were bilingual (straight to literature etc) rather than as a modern conversational language? Poor access to honours maths in quite a few urban schools in Dublin, which eliminates certain career options at age 16?

It's in need of drastic reform. I do agree with you regarding Project Maths though - it's a reform in the wrong direction, and leaves universities with a lot of catch-up work to do in 1st year engineering and science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

the use of the word 'we'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Tardiness when it comes to timekeeping.

Aidric wrote: »

Meet at 8? First pint at 10 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Eramen

Our aversion to frankness, sincerity, and well-meaning honesty.

Our constant need to seek validation/reassurance by the group or to be liked by every person, in every situation, at all times; possibly the reason we avoid the above.

Our low opinion of volunteerism, participation in worthwhile endeavors, outdoor activity and physical exercise.

Our lax/casual attitude in regards to dress and attire.

Our excuse-making for out of control/reckless behavior and the national drinking problem.

Our tendency to make it out that all things, customs, habits, etc, that are Irish in origin are inferior.

Our modern obsession with blaming the RCC, the government, the English or DeValera for everything that's wrong with our nation, effectively absolving ourselves from any responsibility or duty relating to our situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

It's strange, but I've never come across this begrudgery in all my years in Ireland. Have I just been incredibly fortunate never to encoutner this seemingly ubiquitous trait?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

"meet you at 5 for 5.30"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Einhard wrote: »
    It's strange, but I've never come across this begrudgery in all my years in Ireland. Have I just been incredibly fortunate never to encoutner this seemingly ubiquitous trait?
    I know of far more whingeing about it than actual instances of it. It's the thing to say though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭rosedream

The way people complain about things like the gym, cinema, fairground, clothes, food, holidays, etc, etc, being too expensive and a rip-off, but when it comes to buying alcohol VOILA!
    The money is there and there seems to be no problem at splashing the cash. This can range from mature women complaining about prices on everything, yet can buy so many bottles of wine to store away, to the typical hoodie buying nearly a basket full of cans, rather than some decent food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

What's the consensus on this thread? I must follow it before expressing an opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Tracksuits as casual wear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Einhard wrote: »

I have.

I'm also guilty of it quite often, unfortunately. Just part of my personality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Tracksuits as casual wear.

Don't think that's a particularily irish thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Lnaa wrote: »
    In rural areas the clergy (and nuns) are still revered (feared?). Not as much as in the past, but more so than other people.

Revered by the older crowd yes. They only got about a doz new trainee priests this year for the whole country, we might not have them for long more.
    Another decade and they will be seriously fcuked I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

The fact that Fianna Fail have gone up in approval ratings in this weekends opinion poll....after a relatively decent showing in the local/Euro elections 4 months ago

Unbelievable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

People who complain about being short of money,
    and who go to the doctor frequently,
    But always have money for drink and fags.
    here.s a tip,
    stop smoking 20 fags a day,your health will be better ,
    and you,ll have more money to spend on food, clothes etc
    eg i know a woman ,who smokes a lot,
    she,s on medication for ashthma , and somehow she still smokes .
    People who think its great to say i went to the pub, and drank 3-4 pints.
    IE going out is a social outing ,not just how much drink i can throw down my throat.
    its quality not quantity.
    People who buy all the latest tech ,tablets,phones,
    and there,s not a real book in the house ,apart from the kids schoolbooks .

People who say i have a cupla focal,
    ie they know about 2 irish sentences ,

Lets face it ,90per cent of urban irish people ,
    know feck all irish.
    There,s people who go to gaelscoil, and live in the gaeltacht,
    and then there,s the rest of use.

People on low incomes,
    who will spend a fortune on certain events,
    eg 1000,s on communion.

People who have no censor,
    TMI, too much information,
    i don,t need to know all the details of your medical condition,
    or your ailments,or your kids medical problems,
    or your contaception etc
    unless i,m married to you.

People who just talk about sport, whether its gaa or soccer.
    And assume every male under 60 is a english soccer fan.

i don.t approve of women who drink or smoke while pregnant.
    People who buy stolen goods,
    people would stop robbing phones etc ,
    if other people stopped buying them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Suas11 wrote: »
    Those that hate their own country and take any chance at all to belittle it.

Even worse again, the people who lazily label anyone who makes a complaint about their country as "people who hate their country".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

riclad wrote: »
    know feck all irish.

They really neglected their education, eh?

here.s a tip,
    IE going out is a social outing ,not just how much drink i can throw down my throat.

know feck all irish.

People on low incomes,
    eg 1000,s on communion.

or your contaception etc

i don.t like pregnant women who drink or smoke while pregnant.

You don't sound like a ray of sunshine yourself.

It's probably shorter to list the things that don't annoy you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

here.s a tip,

know feck all irish.

People on low incomes,
    eg 1000,s on communion.

or your contaception etc

They're just things about people that you ye don't like though, aren't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,269 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Laois_Man wrote: »
    The fact that Fianna Fail have gone up in approval ratings in this weekends opinion poll....after a relatively decent showing in the local/Euro elections 4 months ago

Unbelievable!

FF are a corrupt shower and I'd like to see them disappear.

However many (most?) countries have corrupt leaders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

People who can't tell the difference between an apostrophe ('), a comma (,), and a full stop (.). And when to use them.
    here.s a tip,

know feck all irish.

People on low incomes,
    eg 1000,s on communion.

or your contaception etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Montjuic

Irish women who think they are Beyoncé when really 95% are puck ugly by European standards plus being the most woeful snobs.

Also Ireland is the only country in the world where people at social occasions ask what do you do? Weddings I find notorious for this.

Does it matter if I'm a drug dealer or a doctor?

I've seen people basically turn around to another person after asking that question because their job was not high status enough!