Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish attitudes that annoy you

• 19-09-2014 7:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

the racism towards the 'fordiners' and begrudgery toward those in good fortune...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Those that hate their own country and take any chance at all to belittle it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

When times are hard...the begrudgery against those who are doing well.

When times are good...they switch tack and they start looking down their nose at others....examples.

They haven't changed the car in years, haven't been on holidays and the list goes on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Sure it'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

What's for you won't pass you by.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Robsweezie wrote: »
    the racism towards the 'fordiners' and begrudgery toward those in good fortune...

Your attitude annoys me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Sure look, no harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

the only in ireland attitude, about shyte that happens everywhere else in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Some folk are a bit too laid back and casual at times, the 'Be Grand' attitude. Especially seen in business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

"No one else exists. I can park where I want. I can take up the entire footpath and walk slowly playing with my mobile phone. I can spend hours picking a single sandwich. Queue? What queue? I'm not in a hurry, lets drive 40km/h on 90km/h road. Overtaking lane? No, it a FAST LANE. I'm driving 100km/h - it's fast, therefore I must be on the right lane. Why is this nutjob tailgating me???"

^^
    All of the above drive me fuc**** mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭begrandx

My parents have a notion that all foreign food is rubbish, drives me insane, won't even eat pasta etc. Plain spuds meat n veg all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Your attitude annoys me

why??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I know its been flogged to death here, but the Irish begrudgery & jealousy really irks me. Its down to inadequacy and lack of self-confidence in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I know its been flogged to death here, but the Irish begrudgery & jealousy really irks me. Its down to inadequacy and lack of self-confidence in my opinion.

Look, you have won our respect through your incredible life and values, ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,844 ✭✭✭jackboy

Refusing the offer of a drink but having it shoved in your face anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Birneybau wrote: »
    Look, you have won our respect through your incredible life and values, ok?

Although it is rife on here, I'm speaking more about in real life when I visit my hometown to see my parents. Lots of bitterness at the first mention of success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Wealthy foreigners must have no chance at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Can't stand that "everyone loves us, sure we're great craic altogether" nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

How is racism a particularly Irish trait? Other countries have entire movements and political parties based on demonising foreigners, we havent one even close to that.

While begrudgery exists, I think it has become a meangingless, hackneyed term lazily thrown out as an excuse by people who dont get the praise/respect/asslicking they reckon they deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

"If you don't like it you know where the airport is"

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

Ability for self delusion as in 'our wonderful education system' etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

"Your great great great granny once shagged an Irish fella?, sure that makes you Orish begorrah"

Usually by the twats on tv/radio

Gobsh1tes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Talking/complaining about the weather, especially the rain. You'd swear some people had never seen rain before, the way they go on about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Being late all the time and not giving a damn about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

jackboy wrote: »
    Refusing the offer of a drink but having it shoved in your face anyway.

As bad as the man who wants a drink but deems it polite protocol to refuse at least twice before accepting...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 479 ✭✭In Lonesome Dove

I don't know what it's down to but I agree with you and another poster boobar.

Some people are only happy when they see the down fall of others and can't wish anybody well and take huge delight in the misery and suffering of others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Snobbish people who look down their noses at you but turn into your new best friend when they see what car you drive. I can't stand people like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Although it is rife on here, I'm speaking more about in real life when I visit my hometown to see my parents. Lots of bitterness at the first mention of success.

Lol. Why mention your "success" then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

All the annoying ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭galwayspur

"Undocumented Irish" over there.

"Illegal immigrants" over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Aceandstuff

"She has notions...."

That drives me up the wall. Why do I still keep hearing that one, in the 21st century? My mother said it to people when I wanted to go to college, even though that was expected of me all along. As soon as I got my Leaving cert results it was all, "I was very intelligent in school, but the difference is I didn't show it off..." FFS! They wish you luck all along, and then it's begrudgery from all corners once you succeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

The sense of self entitlement for everything. Irish people think they should have excellent health care, welfare, roads etc. But not have to pay for them. Im sick of hearing about how bad the health system is and in Germany etc. Its amazing in Germany because 10% of your wage goes on health insurance and even then you have to pay for some of your prescription( I paid €5 for a basic prescription even though I paid a **** load in health insurance in Germany and yet its a disgrace you have to pay €2,50 for a prescription here)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

"Another one of these threads" these are the worst kind of people... they hate the thread yet have to click into it too complain about it! since they ve already read it no1 else should be entitled too mention it!

hfallada wrote: »
    The sense of self entitlement for everything. Irish people think they should have excellent health care, welfare, roads etc. But not have to pay for them. Im sick of hearing about how bad the health system is and in Germany etc. Its amazing in Germany because 10% of your wage goes on health insurance and even then you have to pay for some of your prescription( I paid €5 for a basic prescription even though I paid a **** load in health insurance in Germany and yet its a disgrace you have to pay €2,50 for a prescription here)

Actually this kind of bollocks annoys me. There are only 9 countries in the world with a marginal rate of tax higher than 52%. And none of them come in at 33k.

We also spend more GDP per capita on health than most European countries and we have a younger population.

The problem is not us. It's the waste in the HSE.

ollaetta wrote: »
    Can't stand that "everyone loves us, sure we're great craic altogether" nonsense.

Can't stand the cliche that we say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

galwayspur wrote: »
    "Undocumented Irish" over there.

"Illegal immigrants" over here.

I've never actually thought of it like that.

BarryD wrote: »
    Ability for self delusion as in 'our wonderful education system' etc

Nobody ever says that either. However our education system is in line with the OECD norm, better in most cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

Nobody ever says that either. However our education system is in line with the OECD norm, better in most cases.

You obviously don't be listening to our esteemed politicians and teacher unions who like to trot it out on a regular enough basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

This subject has been done to death OP, every week for the last 5 years there's an identical thread

You obviously don't be listening to our esteemed politicians and teacher unions who like to trot it out on a regular enough basis.

If you can find that exact quote then link to it.

Most of the complaints here are spurious. However one "cliche" is true. The unhealthy regard for property in Ireland. It's ridiculous how many people think that the present bubble is a good thing despite the recent near collapse of the economy. That's one cliche that's absolutely true.

We also tend to rant about the corrupt leadership and elites but do nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

Begrudgery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Being all human-y and shizzle. Gawd I hate human-acting humans! You'd swear they were humans or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Peoples insistence that every social gathering must be accompanied by copious amounts of alcohol. It seems that No alcohol= no fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

I love 90% of this country but the begrudgery would piss you off.

God help any business or individual who admits to making money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Most of these traits are far from exclusively Irish

I dislike the condescending attitude people have about non-fashionable parts of England e.g. the north of England outside of Liverpool/Manchester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Not so much the politicians, it's the people who think that because we get great exam results, and lots of people go on to thrid level education, we therefore have a great education system. Complete fallacy.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Sociopath2

And you do mention it every chance you get. Remind us again how you're a highly qualified culchie, working in a low level admin position in a German investment bank, sorry, sorry, the cutting edge of European finance.

Sociopath2 wrote: »
    And you do mention it every chance you get. Remind us again how you're a highly qualified culchie, working in a low level admin position in a German investment bank, sorry, sorry, the cutting edge of European finance.

Usually I think the begrudgery thing is overstated. Usually.

My Irish peeve is (some of) the Irish abroad. People tend not to be as enamoured of the GAA shirt wearing drunken antics that some Irish abroad would like to believe. No, they don't think you're all just great lads having the craic and being great fun.

Other than that Irish people are more or less the same as any other people, some nice, some not so much. Mostly nice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭gaffer91

Sociopath2 wrote: »

I'd say you're a bit of a begrudger yourself.