Group of Irish J1 Students trash San Fran rental house, then leave the country

kneemos wrote: »
    Much good phoning the Guards for something that happened I'm America.
    Anybody would think these people had killed someone rather than broke a couple of Windows.

That's extremely disingenuous, they did a lot more damage than just breaking "a couple of windows". :rolleyes:

I don't know if these people were intentionally malicious or just plain stupid but either way they should certainly be made pay for the damage they caused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭Danger781

Anybody would think these people had killed someone rather than broke a couple of Windows.

The point I was trying to make was that I'm not looking to start a witch hunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

There is no real evidence that these Irish J1 visa students did the damage to the property at all! for all we know there could have been several days or even weeks between them leaving and the place being checked out by the owner and squatters could have broken in and trashed the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭ABC101

If I read the report correctly.... the Irish Dept of Foreign Affairs have offered to help the landlord / U.S. Police. Am I correct?

Now that this issue is in the headlines.... I would imagine all groups involved would want to be seeing to be doing the right thing.... including An Garda Siochana etc, even if the event really has nothing to do with them / out of their jurisdiction etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,387 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

foggy_lad wrote: »
    There is no real evidence that these Irish J1 visa students did the damage to the property at all! for all we know there could have been several days or even weeks between them leaving and the place being checked out by the owner and squatters could have broken in and trashed the place.

Or someone else at the party.Maybe it was an American that did the damage.

Danger781 wrote: »
    The point I was trying to make was that I'm not looking to start a witch hunt.

I don't think anybody is saying you are trying to start a W/H.

In relation to who is responsible.... yeah sure we don't know... but we do know there was used condoms left behind.... that is DNA evidence which may be linked to a J1 visa holder.

The way I see the cookie crumbling.... is that the authorities will trace down the tenants.

Once they get one of the tenants... the squealing will start... "it was not me... I just left the condom.... but X... he went mental with the golf club" etc etc.

These friends will eventually all grass each other up... classic divide and conquer police tactic, good cop bad cop, if you give us the names of the others... we will see to it you get off with a warning etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Or someone else at the party.Maybe it was an American that did the damage.

Or what we all know happened, they did it.

Do I detect just a bit of envy and jealousy amongst the hang em brigade?

If I was stupid enough to be in that situation... here is what I would do.

Get the group together... make an offer to the Landlord for full payment + costs + loss of earnings.

Because if the cops get involved, life could get a awful lot more complicated / difficult for them in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,959 ✭✭✭Patser

Well, regardless what consequences they face now, good luck to the lads in the future. This sort of stuff can come back and bite you for decades to come. Slim chance of getting back into the States after this, so imagine in 10/20 years conversations like

'Daddy why can't we go to Orlando?'

'You can't go to the corporate meeting why? '

Do I detect just a bit of envy and jealousy amongst the hang em brigade?

Yeah, I wish a group of arseholes would rent my house and wreck it.

ABC101 wrote: »

Get the group together... make an offer to the Landlord for full payment + costs + loss of earnings.

Because if the cops get involved, life could get a awful lot more complicated / difficult for them in the future.

But your missing one vital component. Theres quite a lot of people that don't give a **** about other peoples things and paying for it is way down the list after things like laughing about it and legging it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Scumbags.easy to know the little pr!cks didnt pay for the house. I wish them the worst of luck with their future endeavours. Lazy disgusting aholes.

But your missing one vital component. Theres quite a lot of people that don't give a **** about other peoples things and paying for it is way down the list after things like laughing about it and legging it.

Yep... no doubt about it... there are irresponsible, immature nasty people everywhere, they think carrying out criminal damage is a laugh.

That woman landlord helped them out... and look at the thanks she gets!

An example has to be set... to make other stupid people realize that stuff like this is not funny, and that there are consequences to criminal behavior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

This is a good idea. They can pass it off as being young and foolish, or "I left there before it happened" or whatever - but it's better than the current situation.

The other alternatives are even worse - it's a safe haven at the Ecuadorean Consulate in Dun Laoghaire or the Nordie lawyer with the Peru/Ibiza credentials.

This is a good idea. They can pass it off as being young and foolish, or "I left there before it happened" or whatever - but it's better than the current situation.

The other alternatives are even worse - it's a safe haven at the Ecuadorean Consulate in Dun Laoghaire or the Nordie lawyer with the Peru/Ibiza credentials.

Well that is what I would do.... feign responsibility for the damage... but offer to pay full costs and a bit extra for the Landlords trouble.

But as Guy_Incognito says... the mentality of these people (i.e..the tenants) may be so low as to not actually care to make an offer.

I mean technically... if the tenants are identified... they could be extradited to answer questions / charges in the US.

Packrat wrote: »
    Trinners for winners....

Entitled scummers more like. Just cos Daddy's got money, don't mean you aren't a scumbag.

That didn't take long

if the tenants are identified

Alas for them, they have been. In spades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

Not really newsworthy in fairness. Maybe these lads had a party and some locals wrecked the place. Yer man on the envelope should have a say before ye send him to guantanamo. The sob story from the landlord is fairly pathetic as is the news report, what difference does it make that they are irish.

Maybe these lads had a party and some locals wrecked the place

It might have been nice to mention it to the owners rather than disappear without a trace.

But I agree about the lad on the envelope. The TV hacks should have contacted him (easily done - he could be traced online within seconds).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,609 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Anybody work out if these guys were Dubliners yet?

They're not, but I'm not entirely sure if that's relevant here.

SantryRed wrote: »
    100% guarantee they're culchies. Whenever there's an over the top group on a J1, they're always culchie lads who have zero respect.

Of course vandalism never ever occurs in Dublin.....nope. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

It might have been nice to mention it to the owners rather than disappear without a trace.

But I agree about the lad on the envelope. The TV hacks should have contacted him (easily done - he could be traced online within seconds).

Ya fair enough running was a scummy thing to do. But hardly justifies a potentially life ruining internet lynching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Of course vandalism never ever occurs in Dublin.....nope. :rolleyes:

Specifically talking about J1s.

Warper wrote: »
    More than likely scangers from Santry

No they were probably too busy attacking Johnny Cooper with a knife down in Drumcondra at the same time.

One or two years back.... the Irish Independent ran a few stories about Irish tenants in California..... and the damage that was caused, microwave oven left in a swimming pool, furniture trashed etc etc.

If this particular incident was just a one off... the very first in a very long time... then it probably would not be in the news.

However considering this is not the first report in the media about U.S. property being damaged allegedly by Irish tenants then perhaps the US is getting fed up with it. Enough is enough... time to set an example.

Normally cops would look at a case and see how easily it is to trace the alleged criminals. If it is too much work, then they could be inclined to leave it go.

However in this case... it looks pretty easy to find the previous tenants and ask them some hard questions.

But hardly justifies a potentially life ruining internet lynching.

Life ruining internet lynching?

Come, come, debabyjesus - it's fair comment really. (Although I do not include the poster who positively salivated at the thought of them being anal-raped in a US penitentiary)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Yeah I'm a bit confused : the first image shows the woman opening a front door with the side panel window boarded up (presumably broken), then opening forcefully another boarded up door that looks like another front door (so presumably broken too).

If entry ways were broken up, how can she be so certain the students did it ?

I think there is a possibility that the damage was done by intruders after the students had left, but that wouldn't make a slow news day story.

Ya fair enough running was a scummy thing to do. But hardly justifies a potentially life ruining internet lynching.

Fúck em. They didnt give two shíts when they destroyed someone else's property. The lynching should be the least of their worries. They've committed criminal damage so the book should be thrown at them. Spoilt despicable fúckers, every single last one of them. Hope they feel the strong arm of the law coming down on them and absolutely crushing them.

Yeah I'm a bit confused : the first image shows the woman opening a front door with the side panel window boarded up (presumably broken), then opening forcefully another boarded up door that looks like another front door (so presumably broken too).

If entry ways were broken up, how can she be so certain the students did it ?

I think there is a possibility that the damage was done by intruders after the students had left, but that wouldn't make a slow news day story.

I agree,it was definitely intruders and she like all Americans know how to play to a camera.