Katie Hopkins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Seeing and expressing things straight up is being sincere but not tactful. She has her agenda obviously to rile, contro creates cash.

Can you imagine if we all went around telling it like it is for everything in life, you wouldn't have many friends left, lolzer.:D

Be tactful and patient and exploit weakness when you get the chance, good things come to those who wait, pounce on it when it comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 iwishiknew

Well, I'm outraged....surely we have our own Irish attention hoars just sitting at home idle waiting for the phone to ring. Were there no "rent-a-gobs" to be had anywhere in the country?Surely a cursory review of the Independent's "Celebrity" section could have given a chance to some poor underexposed model turned actress, child of famous person seeking to be famous or other Z list celebrity to appear on our publicly funded national TV station? There must have been some journalist seeking to become the story that was just twiddling their thumbs. I mean, this is Ireland after all.....

Hopkins clearly is pondlife and i hope life brings her all of the happiness she deserves.. Now i will forget her forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 iwishiknew

Well, I'm outraged....surely we have our own Irish attention hoars just sitting at home idle waiting for the phone to ring. Were there no "rent-a-gobs" to be had anywhere in the country? Surely a cursory review of the Independent's "Celebrity" section could have given a chance to some poor underexposed model turned actress, child of famous person seeking to be famous or other Z list celebrity to appear on our publicly funded national TV station? There must have been some journalist seeking to become the story that was just twiddling their thumbs. I mean, this is Ireland after all.....

Hopkins clearly is pondlife and I hope life brings her all of the happiness she deserves.. Now i will forget her forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I kinda like her. The fact she doesn't give a toss is very appealling. Also I love a good snob. And at least she's a bit bloody different. She has a neck like a jockey's bollox in fairness to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

To be honest I've never found her offensive because it's clear she only says these things to garner media attention.

Exactly. She's just a wind up merchant. If you realise that she's actually pretty entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

I would.

No. Just NO!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

To be fair to her I think she says out loud what a lot of us are thinking.
    and that's why we have societal brakes that normal people apply in the company of others.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I hate this 'tell it like it is' attitude. 'I'm just saying what everyone else is thinking'.

Imagine if we all took that liberty? Imagine the racist, sexist, homophobic, xenophobic, extreme, hateful, violently rude and disrespectful treatment we'd all be at the receiving end of?

Sometimes I have some bad thoughts about people as we all do. I keep them to myself because it's not my place to treat another human being like sh1t just because I'm not aRsed filtering my own inappropriate ideas about the world.

Not doing that is not 'calling a spade a spade' or 'just being honest', it's having sh1t social skills combined with having a sh1t personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Future1

No idea who she is. There is no obesity gene making people huge, fat people eat too many calories and don't get enough exercise, end of story.

You should watch a new documentary called 'fed up', you will realize how ignorant you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Chocolate Lions

Future1 wrote: »
    You should watch a new documentary called 'fed up', you will realize how ignorant you are.

I have actual knowledge of how the body works, I don't need to watch a documentary. Believe whatever fad garbage you want. How about this, go on over to the health and fitness forum and start a topic to educate all those poor ignorant people. See how that goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭DLMA23

Wasn't aware of this entity before, what a nasty auld gowl

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

This wan is a prime example of people who get a brief taste of fame,in her case The Apprentice,and it so much gos to their heads that they will do almost literaly anything to stay in the limelight.She should just feck off back to cleb limbo with all the former Big Brother contestants and footballers wives who have overstayed their moment in the limelight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I have little respect for obese people too and I actually am angry that they're protected so much. Stop eating so much and stop eating poor food and get the f*ck up and burn some calories.

Oh aren't you delightful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Stainless_Steel

Horrible person. She should have been told to leave the late late after insulting that woman from the audience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Most of think she's a complete arsehole. I don't see her saying that too often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

Those people are very much the minority and she did say that.

Calling fat people fat to their face means they realise that they need to lose weight.

She also said that she'll judge every over weight person she sees? And also, how did she know that the woman in the audience didn't have some issues before she tried to humiliate on live TV?
    And I'm not sure if being fat equates to stupid, I'm sure they know they need to lose weight. I'd personally hate to be someone that's bothered by another person's appearance, luckily I was thought to respect others rather than bully them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

She might be a right bitch, but a lot of her points are spot on.
    Anyone see this eejit on the Late Late? She's now decided she's sick of judging children by what names they were given and has decided to turn her attention to fat people.

Her latest attention seeking scheme appears to be abusing fat people. I think she's trying to prove that the obesity gene is a myth, so she's making herself fat so she can lose it all, thus disproving that the obesity gene exists, although she obviously doesn't have the obesity gene. :confused:

I think she's just a troll, no one can be really that stupid.

The obesity gene doesn't exist. It's what some obese people like to believe is the cause of their problems, rather than facing the truth.
    JJayoo wrote: »
    I liked the "Happy Fat Person's" point that there are plenty of dead people who would rather be fat than dead

That is a very weak argument imo. Another cop out for being obese, just like the obesity gene myth. Dead people haven't got opinions by the way, otherwise they wouldn't be dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

A lot of what she says is true, people just don't want to hear it

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Shes having the last laugh because here we are discussing her on a public forum.She dosen't deserve or warrant the attention she gets,shes done or said not one iota to justify it.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

nm wrote: »

Does that mean she should get a public platform on talkshows and newspapers?

Tbh, people watch to hear what outrageous thing she'll say next because they find that entertaining, not because she's some modern day prophet. She's hardly saying something we don't know as she's neither a doctor nor a scientist.

Let's not make her out to be anymore than she is i.e. a bitch. Give yourself and intelligence some credit ffs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

She should take a look in the mirror before making snide remarks about peoples appearences.WTF is up with her nose?

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2013/07/12/article-2361674-1AAC6DB1000005DC-965_306x423.jpg

Tbh, people watch to hear what outrageous thing she'll say next because they find that entertaining, not because she's some modern day prophet. She's hardly saying something we don't know as she's neither a doctor nor a scientist.

Let's not make her out to be anymore than she is i.e. a bitch. Give yourself and intelligence some credit ffs.

Modern day prophet? Where did you get that - I'm not putting her on a pedestal of any kind. I don't care what she does or doesn't say, if anything it's just mildly entertaining for the reactions. I didn't see her last night and I will probably never watch her on purpose in my life.

The only reason she gets this air time at all is because people like the many in this thread spend so much time being 'outraged' by her.

This is turn creates the drama and then it's broadcasted, then we've people like you saying she nothing but a b*tch and so on, but she's already won by that stage.

Does that mean she should get a public platform on talkshows and newspapers?

It's the reaction that give her the platform.

darkdubh wrote: »
    She should take a look in the mirror before making snide remarks about peoples appearences.WTF is up with her nose?

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2013/07/12/article-2361674-1AAC6DB1000005DC-965_306x423.jpg

In fairness from what I've seen she's never claimed to be perfect either, many out there call her a horse etc.

She doesn't seem to care. Maybe if she got wound up, they'd all get their own talk show interviews?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

I wouldn't even f*ck her the most I'd do is [EMAIL="w@nk"]w@nk[/EMAIL] over her face while thinking about Holly Willoughby.....

And people were saying she was tactless...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

'Obesity is an epidemic, we must act' and phrases like it are pathetic. If they want to stuff their gobs with crap then that's there own business. If someone wants to be fat then let them be.

What i don't like is seeing young children or even babies who can't even move their necks due to the 13 chins they have developed as a result of their parents feeding them sweets non-stop. Children have no income thus eat what
    they are given. Before the child has even began to start life they are over weight and have bad eating habits.

A child's diet will largely be influenced by the parents diet. You say, if someone wants to stuff their face and be fat then let them. But what if that someone is a parent? With most of the big kids I see it's easy to pinpoint why they are that size when you see the whale of a mother of father that's with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Tarzana wrote: »
    This is what you apparently ate today:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92273654&postcount=2602

That is a lot of food. I would be obese if I ate that daily. A lot of it is junk too. Now maybe you can eat this much and not be fat, but a lot of it is complete crap.

Yeah but I am bulking therefore I am on a caloric surplus. Believe me I track my food religiously. I know what's in my food down to the milligram. I know what my body needs and can handle and I am almost at a single figure body fat percentage. If every obese person was to do what I and loads more do and simply exercise a little everyday they'd shed kilos easily tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

beks101 wrote: »

Imagine if we all took that liberty? Imagine the racist, sexist, homophobic, xenophobic, extreme, hateful, violently rude and disrespectful treatment we'd all be at the receiving end of?

The "racist, sexist, homophobic, xenophobic, extreme, hateful, violently rude and disrespectful treatment" will be infinitesimally small and welcome, a ravaging mouthwatering alternative when you're lying in bed after having 11 stints in your heart.

But it's true and now your dying and soon nobody will ever call you anything again, good or bad.

Yeah it's a liberty, I often feel that far from the world laying down on us, social pressure often forces us to get better, to push for a healthy medium. Peer pressure especially when your life is on the line and you don't care for your own is the best thing in the world. Views like her are often the only balance and checks we have to deal with a problem that's gone too far. Could you imagine parachuting in a grossly overweight person to a 1000 years ago among the general populace, they'd look less than human in comaparsion to everybody else. Not even royalty got that big.

On the rare occassion, society does want to make you better, feel better though in the short term? No...but on the other side? Better than you could have ever imagined

Modern day prophet? Where did you get that - I'm not putting her on a pedestal of any kind. I don't care what she does or doesn't say, if anything it's just mildly entertaining for the reactions. I didn't see her last night and I will probably never watch her on purpose in my life. .

Relax, I wasn't only referring to you but I'm referring to the comments from people who have some admiration for "saying it like it is" and telling us plebians some "home truths". My point is, the woman is a TV presenter, not an expert in anything she talks about and is not saying anything we didn't know before. There's no point to here beyond entertainment, so we shouldn't kid ourselves (I say that to all people who have some admiration for her).