Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Katie Hopkins

• 19-09-2014 9:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Anyone see this eejit on the Late Late? She's now decided she's sick of judging children by what names they were given and has decided to turn her attention to fat people.

Her latest attention seeking scheme appears to be abusing fat people. I think she's trying to prove that the obesity gene is a myth, so she's making herself fat so she can lose it all, thus disproving that the obesity gene exists, although she obviously doesn't have the obesity gene. :confused:

I think she's just a troll, no one can be really that stupid.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I think she's actually quite a hateful person, who makes a living out of being a vile individual

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Max.......

I'll admit, I laughed. (Tubs did a funny)

Awful cow though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

She made some good points, just could have toned it down for the sensitive ears of the viewers and audience though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Lobby Con Shine

I would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

If piers Morgan had a fanny.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I came into this thread thinking something bad had happened to her. You raised my hopes OP :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

My wife is on chemo ATM and has put on a bit of weight my god I would love to have a chat with this woman .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Chocolate Lions

No idea who she is. There is no obesity gene making people huge, fat people eat too many calories and don't get enough exercise, end of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Empty vessels make the most noise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I love this woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

She seeked attention and you gave it to her by creating this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

She had a point to be fair..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I think she's lovely, its so nice of her to live in the UK but pay taxes to us here so that money can be used in our health service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

She makes some valid points, but she's an absolute cow. Her saying "you're hard to miss" to the woman in the audience was so out of order IMO. She didn't bother me much up to that point but she lost me then.
    I just don't believe she genuinely cares about these issues and she just enjoys being a bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Her point is 100% accurate. She is a knob but regardless her point was right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Albeit blunt, the majority of what she said regarding obesity was fairly on track. I'm not sure whether the audience just didn't want to hear some home truths, or just disagreed with her for the sake of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭slayerking

She's a professional troll. Best ignored.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

She is the definition of the word cúnt. But for some reason I would absolutely love to bend her over and ride her sideways, then tell her to fcuk off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

She is a tactless individual.

However, I did slightly agree with her on a point where she mentioned that sitting at home stuffing your face with ****e results in obesity. She is right there however that is common sense and everyone knows that.

Obviously we have to watch what we want to eat if we want to remain healthy. This should be done for yourself, not because some ignorant English bint is telling us to.

My point to her would be why does she care what other people do in their life? Why does she care about names, locations and weight? Worry about yourself love!

You are clearly unhappy in your own life and feel the need to slate other people for your own self benefit.

PS

THE HACK OF YE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭AulBiddy

People are too afraid to agree with her I think, but some of the things she said were awful, like "you're not hard to miss". She is a very controversial lady and guess what - she is highlighting a very big problem in the Western world and it's sticking in peoples head. I think the obesity problem needs to be addressed urgently, like she said, our children will die before us from obesity and unhealthy lifestyles and suffer throughout their lifetimes with diseases such as diabetes, gallstones, heart problems, asthma, at more high risk to cancer etc. It's a very sad thing that this needs to be addressed in such a way for it to gain attention.

I wouldn't even f*ck her the most I'd do is [EMAIL="w@nk"]w@nk[/EMAIL] over her face while thinking about Holly Willoughby.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Stop giving this troll attention! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

We haven't had a thread on her in a while. So I'm glad to see we have another( like the previous several weren't enough)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

If piers Morgan had a fanny.....

Even without one he's a cnut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

She is right to a certain degree though. I have little respect for obese people too and I actually am angry that they're protected so much. Stop eating so much and stop eating poor food and get the f*ck up and burn some calories.

In a way I would love to make myself fat and then lose it but I'd have to stay in bed all day and eat Chinese takeaway five times a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

I wouldn't even f*ck her the most I'd do is w@nk over her face while thinking about Holly Willoughby.....

Phew..., for a minute there I thought you were going to say Piers Morgan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Who? sorry not watching the late late lifes too short :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Trolls feed on goats. Let's try not to be goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

she needs a good belt of the mutton dagger that one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Stheno wrote: »
    I think she's actually quite a hateful person, who makes a living out of being a vile individual

Yep. What else has she got? "D" list celeb and a bit of a cnut. She'd probably struggle getting a job at Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

AulBiddy wrote: »
    People are too afraid to agree with her I think, but some of the things she said were awful, like "you're not hard to miss". She is a very controversial lady and guess what - she is highlighting a very big problem in the Western world and it's sticking in peoples head. I think the obesity problem needs to be addressed urgently, like she said, our children will die before us from obesity and unhealthy lifestyles and suffer throughout their lifetimes with diseases such as diabetes, gallstones, heart problems, asthma, at more high risk to cancer etc. It's a very sad thing that this needs to be addressed in such a way for it to gain attention.

So true.

People in this country have been digging their own graves with knives and forks for the last 20 odd years & everyone's making excuses for it.

Mad really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Last_Minute

'Obesity is an epidemic, we must act' and phrases like it are pathetic. If they want to stuff their gobs with crap then that's there own business. If someone wants to be fat then let them be.

What i don't like is seeing young children or even babies who can't even move their necks due to the 13 chins they have developed as a result of their parents feeding them sweets non-stop. Children have no income thus eat what they are given. Before the child has even began to start life they are over weight and have bad eating habits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Chocolate Lions

'Obesity is an epidemic, we must act' and phrases like it are pathetic. If they want to stuff their gobs with crap then that's there own business. If someone wants to be fat them let them be.

You'd say the same of people with depression or the like? It's not healthy, it's a problem when it's an epidemic because it adversely effects society which we are all a part of and contribute to. It matters, health matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

'Obesity is an epidemic, we must act' and phrases like it are pathetic. If they want to stuff their gobs with crap then that's there own business. If someone wants to be fat them let them be.

Yeah, but smokers have been picked on for years now for various reasons including subsidising their treatment if/when they get sick because of their habit.

Not a word about subsidising the health problems of obesity though.

Funny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Personally, I thought she was carrying a few pounds herself

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No idea who she is. There is no obesity gene making people huge, fat people eat too many calories and don't get enough exercise, end of story.
    Well... while our genes haven't changed from when most people were slim compared to today with more and more getting fatter, it's not quite that simple. The environment changed radically in the last say 50 years. More food and cheaper food and novel foods entered the equation. So someone who was slim eating meat and two veg 40 years ago, may not be adapted to eating the chinner dinners and pasta of today.

Now you could still say that's the individuals fault, but look at the information most of us get and have gotten over the last 40 years. Even experts get confused. We have been told things like eggs buggered your heart(they don't), animal fat was to be avoided like the plague as it was deadly(it isn't) and vegetable fat was the way to go(not so much, especially the shít veggie fats). Fat itself was the enemy, so food was loaded with sugars which fcuk up your insulin response(surest way to shorten your life, makes smoking look healthy).

All this threw people and it's hard to go back to the old ways of meat and two veg. If you're a little fatter than you might be, then a few months of easing up on the portions and you're back on track pretty easily. However if you've piled on the stones over many years your body will fight the reduction. You've passed your setpoint bodyweight as far as your brain/body is concerned and that can take some resetting. That IMH is why diets tend to fail.

TL;DR? a) it's all too easy to blame fat people and say it's all their fault, but the environment has a huge impact and b) why the fuq should someone worry about others being fat(or skinny), it doesn't affect you. "Oh I'd never ride a fat man", fine luv, there are plenty of skinny men for you to choose from. I really don't see the issue on that level*.

*unless you're stuck with someone very big on a plane. That can be a right pain. So are babies on a plane hollering their lungs out.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Last_Minute

You'd say the same of people with depression or the like? It's not healthy, it's a problem when it's an epidemic because it adversely effects society which we are all a part of and contribute to. It matters, health matters.

I do not have experience with depression or obesity but i know the solution to one of them - a change in eating habits and exercise.

Yes - it does affect society i understand that. But what can we do? Educate people on diet, weight management? I think everyone pretty much learns what is good and what is bad in regards to food as they grow up. I certainly don't have any solution anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Obnoxious excuse for a woman.Had a quick listen to her on LLS. Audience were tearing strips off her. Heard that she's on this obesity crusade some time back. Switched back to watching the 2014 military tattoo in Edinburgh. I didnt fancy throwing the telly out the window tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭lila1

I would love to stick pins in her eyes. If she had to live on a mountain of medication a day just to be able to live a half normal life she would soon forget about the weight. Who gives her the right anyway to go round preaching what people should and shouldnt look like. My blood is boiling

Not always the case

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Just glanced at her Wiki.

"39" my árse.

She is right to a certain degree though. I have little respect for obese people too and I actually am angry that they're protected so much. Stop eating so much and stop eating poor food and get the f*ck up and burn some calories.

In a way I would love to make myself fat and then lose it but I'd have to stay in bed all day and eat Chinese takeaway five times a day.

What a thing to say that you have little respect for fat peoplle. If you were laying in hospital and an overweight doctor came to hellp you would you say the same to him as the saying goes never judge a book by it's cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

Her point is valid to some extent but her whole approach and attitude is awful. She has no respect for anyone at all ( obese people this time) and she slagged off Tubs for being too thin. On obesity, the majority is down to overeating and inactivity but there is a certain percentage of obesity down to health issues and medication. You cannot know by looking at a person what category they come into and her judgemental paint brushing attitude really sickens me tbh and is potentially dangerous even if it does highlight the problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

She's laughing all the way to the bank

Edit: video wont embed https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TaLtAoZ-a84&feature=youtu.be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Fingers!

I hope she never meets a fat Tyler!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

She's an idiot. 'India is not a location' fck off.

Anyway, Chris Ramsey gave her a few slaggings on celebrity juice:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIdV8R4pcOU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ug_AnDhfI8&list=UURwWcLt8iArybf-9W6anXdQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

She's a troll plain and simple.Her entire career would shrivel up and die if she was starved of the oxygen of publicity. She's only on the telly and writing articles and generally being a panto dame because people are willing to get het up and talk about the inane rubbish she comes out with. I bet that in reality she couldn't give a damn about any of these issues but is clever enough to recognise that there's money in pretending to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

I liked the "Happy Fat Person's" point that there are plenty of dead people who would rather be fat than dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

I have little respect for obese people too and I actually am angry that they're protected so much. Stop eating so much and stop eating poor food and get the f*ck up and burn some calories.

This is what you apparently ate today:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92273654&postcount=2602

That is a lot of food. I would be obese if I ate that daily. A lot of it is junk too. Now maybe you can eat this much and not be fat, but a lot of it is complete crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Tarzana wrote: »
    This is what you apparently ate today:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92273654&postcount=2602

That is a lot of food. I would be obese if I ate that daily. A lot of it is junk too. Now maybe you can eat this much and not be fat, but a lot of it is complete crap.

It's bulking season brah.