Arthurs Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

surpy wrote: »
    dont think its on youtube, google arthursday.html and try the first link

Had never seen this - scarred !!

Jesus that must have been some level of drunkenness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Still happening in most colleges so I'm not too bothered

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Hard man alert!!

How many pints can you drink?

Please wait while I unzip for our dick measuring competition..

what in the fcuk are you on about? the poster was dead right in his assesment of the types of idiots arthurs day attracted. what the poster can or cannot drink has damn all to do with anything.

the video of two lads pulling each others mickeys in temple bar put an end to arthurs day
    dont think its on youtube, google arthursday.html and try the first link

there are no words!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

I'd never seen or heard of that video before. Seeing it made me want to cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

I'd never seen or heard of that video before. Seeing it made me want to cry.

It appears he is jerking off his mate at first but on closer inspection he is pretending to play the guitar I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

This thread is about Arthurs day and the lack of celebration of his birthday, It's not about duffys nipple clamps and masturbation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

wyndham wrote: »
    It appears he is jerking off his mate at first but on closer inspection he is pretending to play the guitar I think.

The guy who is the "guitar" is so uncomfortable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

No more Arthur's Day. Christy Moore got it banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

thank god it was utter ****e.. They should have called it anything else but Arthurs day and then it would have been fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Milly33 wrote: »
    thank god it was utter ****e.. They should have called it anything else but Arthurs day and then it would have been fine

I don't think that they got rid of it becaue of the name.

More like they got rid of it because of all the ar5eholes getting p1ssed and pretty much destroying the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I don't think that they got rid of it becaue of the name.

More like they got rid of it because of all the ar5eholes getting p1ssed and pretty much destroying the place.

Apparently the damage and the people in the A&E was no worse than any other night. It just got really bad publicity.

I liked it. It was an excuse to pop into a pub and have a pint on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

Grayson wrote: »
    Apparently the damage and the people in the A&E was no worse than any other night. It just got really bad publicity.

I was never in Temple Bar but I never saw any trouble anywhere else on Arthur's Day.
    Temple Bar is always a hole, coincidentally it was also a hole on Arthur's Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Exactly. An excuse to leave the office at a reasonable time, have a few free beers and listen to some live music. We knew it was marketing (and one of the better marketing campaigns of recent times IMO) but didn't care.

For those who didn't enjoy it, don't go. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I thought that they cancelled it because when there's a trend for brewers to encourage responsible drinking sponsoring 'Piss-Up Day' is a tad counterproductive.

what in the fcuk are you on about? the poster was dead right in his assesment of the types of idiots arthurs day attracted. what the poster can or cannot drink has damn all to do with anything.

His assessment was:
    I bunch Arthurs Day attendees with the shower of tits that go around in Christmas jumpers. Both slobbering around the place and not able to handle their drink.

Fcuking scourge of the earth

I went out and had a few pints every Arthur's Day. I really liked it. Had my pints and got a burger and went home.
    I don't remember slobbering around the place unable to hold my drink.

Nor do I remember being a scourge of the earth.

But you are defending this assessment...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Here's some handy excuses to use this year instead:

It's getting dark outside.
    Work was tough today.
    I met a friend.
    It's getting bright outside.
    It's wet/dry/cold/warm.

His assessment was:

I went out and had a few pints every Arthur's Day. I really liked it. Had my pints and got a burger and went home.
    I don't remember slobbering around the place unable to hold my drink.

Nor do I remember being a scourge of the earth.

But you are defending this assessment...

so, because you could singlehandedly handle your drink you feel that automatically means the rest of the revellers were the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I blame Julian Assange, when WikiLeaks published that secret internal Guinness memo insinuating that they hoped it might promote their brand all hell broke loose, a huge revelation, who would have even guessed guinness have a marketing department. Of course you had smartarses saying they knew it was a PR exercise all along but I don't believe them for a second.

I think I went to 3 arthurs day events, official venues involved, I didn't really notice any more drunkeness than any other gigs I would be typically at.

so, because you could singlehandedly handle your drink you feel that automatically means the rest of the revellers were the same?

No, that would be ignorant of me.

so what were you trying to say then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

To Arthur, and Martha.

so what were you trying to say then?

Merely illuminating the ridiculousness of the stereotype and the inference that the poster can handle his drink.

Whereas, everyone who had a drink on Arthur's Day clearly couldn't handle it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Whereas, everyone who had a drink on Arthur's Day clearly couldn't handle it

I remember the first Arthur's Day - 'twas the year when 99% of the population got wiped out by liver failure.

Now we lonely rag-tag bunch of misfits are all that survive. Going pub to pub, trying to ward off the non-drinkers.

THE WALKING SOBER.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I remember the first Arthur's Day - 'twas the year when 99% of the population got wiped out by liver failure.

Now we lonely rag-tag bunch of misfits are all that survive. Going pub to pub, trying to ward off the non-drinkers.

THE WALKING SOBER.

The Road now seems like a pre-time documentary rather than fiction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,844 ✭✭✭✭maccored

great to see they cancelled a day where bands play for free in order to sell Guinness, and instead created a day where bands play for free in order to sell Guinness .......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

One of the worst songs ever made from the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Having to listen to Moore waffle on about his usual 'social justice' shíte would actually drive you to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Still the miserable auld cunt made a fair few euro out of it, jumping on the bandwagon and cashing in, hypocritical prick. I don't think a cent of the sales went to any charity which I had presumed was the plan.

I see on his wiki page he played oxegen 2011, sponsored by heineken
    Oxegen 2011

Incidents
    On the first day of the festival a teenager from Wexford was slashed with a knife after being set upon by a group in the festival campsite.[30] Overall the Gardaí made a total of 90 arrests at the festival over the weekend, including assault, theft and drink-driving. There were also 308 drug seizures, and 28 arrests for alleged drug dealing.

Maybe guinness never asked him to play arthurs day, and thats what annoys him, as he seems to have no bother playing other drink sponsored events known for excessive drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

It wasnt being promoted this year as the celebration was used to binge drink or something to that extent.

Fabricated celebration and marketing genius to sell more product

I loved it haha