Arthurs Day

• 18-09-2014 03:01PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭

Isn't it usually around this time? No promotion for it?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Replaced by Guinness Amplify

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

"to marketing" and all the other versions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Arthurs Day

Away with this nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

I bunch Arthurs Day attendees with the shower of tits that go around in Christmas jumpers. Both slobbering around the place and not able to handle their drink.

Fcuking scourge of the earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Get back into your cave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Waitsian

Guinness officially cancelled it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

not able to handle their drink.

Hard man alert!!

How many pints can you drink?

Please wait while I unzip for our dick measuring competition..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

It would have been next thursday. Fibber Magees in dublin have a €2.50 guinness promotion tonight though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Hard man alert!!

Trust him, he's a doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Go out and drink some real stout.

dan1895 wrote: »
    Go out and drink some real stout.

Spoken like a true MC (master chugger).

Mmm pint of plain in the porterhouse...or wrasslers...don't really like the oyster stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Hard man alert!!

And a keyboard warrior to challenge him! I look forward to your back and forth. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭surpy

the video of two lads pulling each others mickeys in temple bar put an end to arthurs day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

surpy wrote: »
    the video of two lads pulling each others mickeys in temple bar put an end to arthurs day

To Arthur and circle jerking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭thejaguar

Greatest moment on the internet to date. Nothing before or since has made me laugh so much, or feel so much gleeful horror.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Canceled.

And a lack of organisation by those who can't hold their drink has forced the terminally easily led to find a replacement excuse to get pissed resulting in sporadic panic drinking by those who seek new resons to puke their guts up in the name of enjoyment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

We will be celebrating it down here, despite the whinge duffy, krusty moore and their fellow travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

thejaguar wrote: »
    Greatest moment on the internet to date. Nothing before or since has made me laugh so much, or feel so much gleeful horror.

I only faintly remember this. What would one have to search on youtube to find this vid?

dont think its on youtube, google arthursday.html and try the first link

Wut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Hard man alert!!

Nah, its he people that dont eat dinner and go to the pub straight after work that get smashed.

i think you get sued for posting the video / direct link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

I know this was a complete marketing stunt but the evening itself was great craic if you took it for what it was . Some great music to be had around Dublin city and all for free, I enjoyed it the last few years after work for a few hours (drinking heinekin not Guinness).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

It backfired last year with all the negative press from people fed up with a made up day simply for marketing purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I know this was a complete marketing stunt but the evening itself was great craic if you took it for what it was
    EVERYBODY knew it was marketing, I have not heard a single person ever say otherwise. In all the threads I did not see any genuine reply where someone felt conned in any way shape or form.

The problem was you had reams of idiotic gob****es who actually DID think people were falling for a some sort of confidence trick, fucking morons who actually thought people were out there who were stupider than themselves -and who had to be saved from their own ignorance, the irony of it was amazing.

We got to enjoy Bud Rising and Heineken green energy subsidised gigs for a lot longer than the arthurs day event.

I hope all the moaning cuntholes boycotted the likes of electric picnic who were also sponsored by drinks companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

Because as usual in Ireland, if there is some sort of social problem like binge drinking, rather than try to change peoples attitudes or behaviors, it's easier to just ban/cancel things(other bad solutions include adding a tax and creating an overpaid committee to suggest even more terrible solutions).
    RobertKK wrote: »
    It backfired last year with all the negative press from people fed up with a made up day simply for marketing purposes.
    It was a bit of fun :rolleyes: Everyone knew it was a marketing ploy, but they held free events around the country and bars actually made an effort to join in. Sure some people went to far, but that's no reason to ruin the fun for everyone else. By the same logic we should ban alcohol sales on paddys day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

An incredible 55 likes for that page too! No doubt it'll be as much of a rip-roaring success as the official one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

vid of gtfo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

rubadub wrote: »
    It would have been next thursday. Fibber Magees in dublin have a €2.50 guinness promotion tonight though.

Oh sweet Odin's Beard! Won't somebody please think of the stench from the jax.