Is this inappropriate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Not really surprised. Those makeup counter jobs are all sales and high targets, and women, usually very conscious of their apperance will be easy to sell to if you can find their insecurity. Once they're making a sale, people's hurt feelings won't matter.

It's the same in a lot of beauty salons. We were always told to look out for women with engagement rings as they were easier to sell to with their wedding coming up. Body wraps/laser/facials. It's a horrible pressure to put on people but you'll get the people who won't care what they say or who they offend once they're meeting their targets.

I went to get my eyebrows done years ago, before I was in the industry (and didn't know how sales driven it was) and I was only about 19, but I had a dehydration line on my forehead that I was horrid paranoid about. Your one doing my eyebrows starts going on about how terrible it was and that if I left it untreated it'd get much worse and I'd need fillers in it. She recommended a course of 3 chemical peel facials to start with. 250 euro for the 3 of them.

She would have quite happily sold 3 peels to a 19 year old with sensitive skin and with not one blemish apart from a dehydration line. I would have bought it and all only my boyfriend at the time was waiting in reception for me, and when I got upset in the car telling him how terrible my 'wrinkle' was, he wanted to go bank into her to tell her off, but in the end we just left it and I never went back

Jaysus.

One of my best friends was recently given a weekend away in a spa by her husband after giving birth to two kids in 2 years and the woman who was giving her a facial told her she'd a lot of wrinkles for someone her age and would she consider botox. After just giving birth, she wasn't brimming with confidence to begin with; she was very upset.

I understand she's trying to sell products to get commission but it seems like a completely unethical way to sell imo. Are they told to do this, I wonder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Jaysus.

One of my best friends was recently given a weekend away in a spa by her husband after giving birth to two kids in 2 years and the woman who was giving her a facial told her she'd a lot of wrinkles for someone her age and would she consider botox. After just giving birth, she wasn't brimming with confidence to begin with; she was very upset.

I understand she's trying to sell products to get commission but it seems like a completely unethical way to sell imo. Are they told to do this, I wonder?
    Some places are, salons moreso than spas. I couldn't keep a job in a salon that was so sales driven like I understand rebooking and keeping your column full so "so Mary, will I book you in for your next eye combo/leg wax while you're here?" Rather than "Jesus Mary you get awful hairy don't you? Jesus it's very dark, would you not consider laser".

A nice salon and a good place to work will tell you to focus on client care rather than maximum sales, and not sell stuff to people they don't need.

I actually worked in a salon that had us on targets of 4000 a week. I never ever made my target, my manager called me in for chats loads of times to tell me the clients loved me but I needed to improve my sales stat. She dropped my targets to 2k a week to get me "started" and get me comfortable selling. I think the most I ever sold in a week was 400 but my column was always full because I was the only therapist there who wasn't pushy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

It was totally inappropriate but I wouldn't go so far as to make a formal complaint, necessarily. Like I could imagine this post being from the rep's point of view and some busy, flustered person making a badly judged approach to a customer and seeing that the customer was upset and feeling horrible about it and learning from it. Like someone said earlier, lodging formal complaints against big companies doesn't really go anywhere. Personally if I were in your situation I'd be annoyed but I wouldn't take any action that would potentially lose a person their job over it.

It was not an appropriate thing to say; I suffered badly from acne in my early twenties and getting that comment at that time would have been awful - as a teenager it would have been devastating. But I'd focus more on being (subtly) nice to your sister over the next while and reinforcing her confidence and happiness in other ways rather than lodging a complaint right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Not really surprised. Those makeup counter jobs are all sales and high targets, and women, usually very conscious of their apperance will be easy to sell to if you can find their insecurity. Once they're making a sale, people's hurt feelings won't matter.

It's the same in a lot of beauty salons. We were always told to look out for women with engagement rings as they were easier to sell to with their wedding coming up. Body wraps/laser/facials. It's a horrible pressure to put on people but you'll get the people who won't care what they say or who they offend once they're meeting their targets.

I went to get my eyebrows done years ago, before I was in the industry (and didn't know how sales driven it was) and I was only about 19, but I had a dehydration line on my forehead that I was horrid paranoid about. Your one doing my eyebrows starts going on about how terrible it was and that if I left it untreated it'd get much worse and I'd need fillers in it. She recommended a course of 3 chemical peel facials to start with. 250 euro for the 3 of them.

Yeah this doesn't surprise me, I'm actually surprised that people are so shocked about this woman's approach as I've encountered it more than a handful of times in the beauty business. Negative emotional selling. Oldest trick in the book.

Few examples I've had:

Getting eyebrows waxed. "You want me to do your upper lip too?"
    What are you going to say to that. "Eh no, I'm trying to grow it out thanks" :confused: Of course not, you're going to have a mild stroke and say "OH GOD YES", and spend the rest of the day wondering who else has been clocking your grotesque facial hair and how long you should wait til you make your next appointment.

Shopping for foundation. "How are you for concealer to cover those marks on your cheeks?"
    My face was flawless at that point, save for a few barely-there blemishes on one side of my face, but as someone who had previously suffered with terrible skin problems, it took all of my strength to not cave and buy the goddamn over-priced thing.

Getting a blowdry. "When's the last time you had a deep conditioning treatment? We do a great one for dry hair like yours, I can throw it in now if you like, it's on half price at the moment at fifteen euro..."
    "No I'm OK, thanks"
    "Are you sure? You'll really notice the difference"
    "Positive, thanks"
    Awkward silence.

This is a tactic that is DESIGNED to prey on your insecurities and make you feel inadequate, so that you instantly jump at the chance of having this source of absolute misery fixed with whatever 'cure' is being offered.

I'm sure most of these sales assistants have no choice in doing what it takes to meet their targets, but personally I find it almost harder to stomach that it's nearly always women who do it - who know too well what it feels like to be so completely insecure and anxious about a physical feature. And therefore they know that they're directly adding to that person's paranoia that everyone is looking and judging by pointing it out themselves.

There's something decidedly cruel and malicious about that. Makeup for covering up acne, really? When that girl has probably had to mentally prepare herself for leaving the house without any makeup on that morning and has spent the day avoiding eye contact and mirrors because of her acute self-consciousness. Acne is a horribly soul-destroying affliction and one that even the most remedial individual could tell you will not be improved by slapping on makeup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Well maybe it's just me (and I'm not quite 40 yet but apparently "out of touch" with modern sensitivities) but this seems to be a classic case of making a mountain out of molehill

Young girl arrives into a make-up section of the store with bad acne.. it's not an unexpected assumption that she's there for something to help with it - if her older sister was with her it would look even more likely (moral support/advice as it were)

Sales woman was absolutely a bit tactless but I would be 100% confident that no malice was intended. Teenagers (or kids in general) can also be difficult for some people to deal with as you can't approach them in the same way as you would an adult.

I'm curious why the OP (being nearly 30) didn't step in and politely but firmly refuse the offer of help though. Coming home and asking all of us what we think seems odd to me in that case (and to be honest why I thought they were both teenage girls).

As I said, tactless and a unfortunate misunderstanding yes but hardly inappropriate - but take your business elsewhere is the best option at this stage really

Eh..... Maybe she didn't want to bring more attention towards her sister, who was feeling bad and hurt enough as it was!? and as a good sister would do, she just left the store as not to cause more hurt.
    You know jumping in and being a hero only works in certain situations, if you understand a situation and when you 'instantly' know that highlighting it will make it worse! well then making an 'orderly' exit was the right thing to do in this particular instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I suffered with acne for years as a teenager and got lots of comments about it and they cut like a knife so I know how that person felt, unfortunately the world is full of ignorant people who have no tact/cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I think you should complain on your sister's behalf OP. If nothing comes out of it but the saleswoman never approaches someone in that manner again it will be worth it. And your sister may not have the confidence to make the complaint herself/be taken seriously because of her age. That's horrifically unprofessional and insensitive behavior towards a young girl. If someone upset my sister like that I would go in screaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Something like this happened to me before also. Was in a department store at a skin care counter and was looking to buy a serum for my face. The sales woman came over with the product and told me to roll up my sleeves so she could test out the product on my arm by pressing it into my skin. At the time I was suffering from eczema on my elbow crease, nothing major at all, and she actually said "ugh what's that?". She worked in skin care like! I was baffled/mortified. I just rolled down my sleeve and left but I remember how crap I felt that day and how much I just wanted to get rid of this condition on my arm. I cannot imagine how the OP's sister must feel having this on her face coupled with the fact that she's a teenager and mostly everything is embarrassing at that stage anyway.
    My heart broke for her a bit reading his post. Some of the responses here have been disgraceful, this after hours humour sometimes I just don't get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,311 ✭✭✭dogbert27

How old was the sales assistant? Just to get context because if she was around the 20 year old mark like the many I see I don't think she would have had enough grey matter to understand what tact is.

IMO it was something to be needed to be addressed there and then, not by confronting the girl but asking to see her manager and calmly telling them what had just happened. Of course, its easy to say after the event.

I think the best thing to do is talk to your sister about how she is feeling now about what happened and if she'd like to make a complaint about it with your support. If she doesn't want to make a complaint accept her decision and let the matter go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Well maybe it's just me (and I'm not quite 40 yet but apparently "out of touch" with modern sensitivities) but this seems to be a classic case of making a mountain out of molehill

Young girl arrives into a make-up section of the store with bad acne.. it's not an unexpected assumption that she's there for something to help with it - if her older sister was with her it would look even more likely (moral support/advice as it were)

Sales woman was absolutely a bit tactless but I would be 100% confident that no malice was intended. Teenagers (or kids in general) can also be difficult for some people to deal with as you can't approach them in the same way as you would an adult.

I'm curious why the OP (being nearly 30) didn't step in and politely but firmly refuse the offer of help though. Coming home and asking all of us what we think seems odd to me in that case (and to be honest why I thought they were both teenage girls).

As I said, tactless and a unfortunate misunderstanding yes but hardly inappropriate - but take your business elsewhere is the best option at this stage really

Sorry, but commenting on the "sore-looking stuff" on the OP's sister's face is 100% inappropriate. "Can I help you with anything today?" would have sufficed. But as others say, it's negative sales pitching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,967 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Tarzana wrote: »
    Sorry, but commenting on the "sore-looking stuff" on the OP's sister's face is 100% inappropriate. "Can I help you with anything today?" would have sufficed. But as others say, it's negative sales pitching.

As I read the OP, I doubt very much that the sales woman approached with "oh come here and let's sort something for that sore-looking stuff!" as her opening phrase.

I'm guessing she probably approached, asked if they needed anything, and when the OP and her sister were vague/non-committal, launched into an (as I've said!) somewhat tactless sales pitch.

(All of the above subject to clarification from the OP)

All that was needed was the older sister (the OP) to politely say "no, we're fine thanks" and that would have been that - I do it all the time if approached by staff and I don't actually want/need their help.

I accept that the younger sister was upset and I do sympathise, but it could have been avoided entirely with being clear from the start that they weren't looking for any assistance, but the time to complain was there and then IMO - not on AH or a day or two later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

As I read the OP, I doubt very much that the sales woman approached with "oh come here and let's sort something for that sore-looking stuff!" as her opening phrase.

We only have the OP's word and she stated that that was how the sales person phrased it. I've worked as a sales assistant. You can generally read whether someone is noncommittally glancing at the merchandise or actively looking for something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭sara1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭The Strawman Argument

The whole thing here about it being tactless but not quite inappropriate confuses the hell out of me. Surely in a role like this where you're going to be talking a lot about a person's appearance, with no definite idea over what and how they're going to be pretty self conscious about, it's pretty damn important to be as tactful as possible? It seems like first thing on day one of training stuff!

They definitely deserve to receive a complaint, if only to wake up the saleswoman a bit to her ridiculous levels of obliviousness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Kaiser, you've been playing the "People need to stop looking for offence" card (which is irrelevant in this case IMO - people need to stop using that line in the incorrect context), then you say you have sympathy - which is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Any chance you are going to make a complaint?

sara1 wrote: »

Now to be fair, that's not quite the same as you explained it in your OP - as you tell it here then YES the sales woman is out of line and it should be reported whereas in your opening post it came across as if you were two teenage friends who may have just gotten someone who was tactless... BUT I still think the time to raise it was there and then. At this point it's your word against theirs and that's if they even remember the incident.
    You keep making the point that I should have told the saleswoman I didn't need her assistance, but I did need her assistance? I was looking to buy something, you'd know that if you read my OP properly instead of jumping to conclusions all the time and mouthing off in complete exaggeration. I was looking to buy something, but that wasn't of any concern to her she just went straight to my sister. IF she had said can I help ye I would have then asked for her assistance, but she didn't. So, yet again, there you go.

Well again I think that you should have (as her older sister) told the sales person politely to go away (and then maybe report it to the duty manager if you felt strongly about it as you clearly do).

ANYWAY.. bottom line now is you have 2 choices:

- Forget about it and move on (and take your business elsewhere in the future)
    - Lodge a complaint (which may or may not bear results.. but then you would need to be clear what results you want - an apology, gesture of goodwill etc)

In any case, getting upset with me because I tried to put it in the context you originally made it sound rather than just agreeing with you won't help matters.
    If you want to complain then you should but you don't need me to tell you that.

Kaiser, you've been playing the "People need to stop looking for offence" card (which is irrelevant in this case IMO - people need to stop using that line in the incorrect context), then you say you have sympathy - which is it?

I have sympathy that the OP's sister got upset over the incident, but as she originally told it, it came across as a possible misunderstanding/lack of tact on the sales person's part rather than necessarily "inappropriate"

The OP has been expanding on the story throughout to be fair.. if she'd explained it as she did in the post I quoted above I would have replied as I have there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 fortjames

I think she was trying to help as if your friend was using her phone at a place where cosmetics are sold then the person might be trying to sell which was not inappropriate

And just to clarify for everyone (seeing as I'm the bad guy here! :)) here's how I saw it...

SCENARIO A (Based on Post #1):
    Two teenage girls come into a store standing around the makeup counter
    Store rep approaches and asks if they need assistance. Girls are non-committal so the Store rep launches into a (tactless) sales pitch as they're paid to do

SCENARIO B (based on subsequent posts from the OP):
    A teenage girl and her older sister come into a store standing around the makeup counter
    Store rep approaches and ignoring the older of the two, opens by asking if her sister would like something for that "sore looking stuff"

A.. tactless and poor customer service
    B.. out of line

Read your OP again.. then read my first reply (post 14) and how I arrived at the conclusion. Note also that 15 others seem to have read it the same way I did but that's beside the point really.

If you had told the story as you did later on then it puts a very different context on the encounter - in which case YES, the sales person was out of line and if you wish to complain then you should (but I still think the time to do it was there and then but that's up to you).

Exactly.. and had you explained the story at the start as you did later on, I would have agreed with you that it was indeed out of line.

But there's no point derailing this further with this back n forth.. The main thing really now is whether you or your sister want to follow it up with the store management, or let it go and move on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

In my experience they're usually professional enough to ask what your skin concerns are. Ok, I don't have any obvious ones but I'd say they are trained to ask in that way even if there are some obvious issues. You could make a complaint if you wanted to. Maybe it would be educational for the sales lady in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Tzardine wrote: »
    Simple fact is that the girl is standing around a make up section with some problem with her skin. Sales assistant come across and tries to help her out and the OP wants to make a complaint.

Not the sales assistants fault that somebody is overly sensitive.

People need to cop on honestly.

I have worked on make-up counters, and probably in this particulary department store. I would regularly have customers nearly shriek in fear with the thought of me taking some of their make-up off to match their skin with cosmetics. Even if it was just at their jawline. I was fully aware of the insecurities customers would have with their skin and how, sometimes, vunerable they would be coming into ask for my advice.

I have no doubt that this sales assistant knew exactly what she was doing, trying to prey on this young girl's insecurties to try and make a sale. And how she did, it is highly inappropriate in my opinion.

As you feel very strongly about how it affected your sister (as would I if it was my own sister), I would suggest if you do want to complain to write a letter to the branch manager, the store manager and also wherever their head office is (usually London) so it won't be bypassed by the lower levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

I appreciate that my post reads a bit crass and not that funny, to be fair we did not know that it was a kid involved. That is a little different.

I think that my point is still valid though. Sales assistant was just trying to help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Tzardine wrote: »
    I appreciate that my post reads a bit crass and not that funny, to be fair we did not know that it was a kid involved. That is a little different.

I think that my point is still valid though. Sales assistant was just trying to help.
    No she wasnt, she was "cold" selling. She didn't say "can I help you?" It was unsolicited. Being in the cosmetics area doesn't mean a person automatically wants a consultation. This is obvious. That alone you'd get over, but it's dishonest to say she was trying to help, and then to say the stupid thing she said.