Is this inappropriate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

ye of course that's inappropriate and completely insensitive like you said. I'm sure your friend/sister feels bad enough about her skin and she certainly wasn't just inviting insults like that. I know the two of you were in shock at what she said and you probably felt out of place to answer back, but for the future.....you should feel fully entitled to stick up for your sister and point out to that sales clerk that she should really exercise more sensitivity, or at least say what you told us, that makeup only makes her skin worse, I just think you and your sister would feel better saying something, you can still say something now by writing in to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

The professional approach would have been to ask if you're friend wanted any help and if not the saleswoman should have smiled and left it at that. Commenting on someone's appearance was inappropriate, unprofessional and should be reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Speaking from experience of the retail world in ireland, this is what will happen

You will make a complaint

Manager will speak to the sales assistant who will deny it

Your word against hers, manager's hands tied, sales assistant will go sick for a week due to stress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

It was quite un-professional for the sales assistant to have approached any person in that way.
    A simple polite "..Hi, is there anthing I can help you with?" should have been all the assistant said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Wrong to put her on the spot like that. Pore form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭MouseTail

Your sister is 15? Hell yes it was inappropriate. I would be furious on her behalf. Young girls that age can be incredibly sensitive about their appearance, especially if they have bad skin. I would complain in writing.

However, and I acknowledge the irony of this, you might speak to your mother about bringing your sister to the doctor. There are some very effective treatments for teenage acne available on prescription. Ive just been through this with my own daughter, and the difference in her skin, and her self confidence after a couple of weeks is amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Boards is known for people saying whatever it takes to be dismissive of the OP - not full-on trolling (only one person has done that on this thread) but this thing of being "no-nonsense" just in order to be kinda tough to the OP, even if it defies logic. As if it's just a no-no to show empathy. And it's not just "only in Ireland" that teenagers get upset over these things - what sort of idiocy...

They were in the area of a make-up counter. So. What. Everyone knows damn well a sales assistant doesn't just start their sales spiel with random people in the area, without "opening" first. They have to start with "Can I help?" This is standard. People should stop pretending it isn't.

The kid is 15 years old and the sales rep said "that sore-looking stuff on your face."
    Of course it's ****ing inappropriate - and everyone knows it is, including the "tough love" brigade.
    I'd take steps to let her know she shouldn't have been so tactless, and to soften her approach from now on. She may not be a right **** at all, just needing to be a bit more thoughtful.
    Your sis though, poor young one - awful sensitive age, and as if she doesn't feel crappy enough about it if it's so severe she's on meds for it. Don't feel guilty for bringing her in there though, you could hardly predict it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Piriz

Tzardine wrote: »
    So your friend has a messed up face.

Sales assistant offers to fix her up. Make her decent like.

And you want to make a complaint.

Can I suggest you take up a hobby.

are all 981 of your posts this thick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Pwindedd wrote: »
    "Is there anything I can help you with today Madam?"

"No thanks I'm just waiting for my friend?"

The conversation should have ended there.

Were you there? Is that what was said or are you making stuff up to support your opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Piriz wrote: »
    are all 981 of your posts this thick?

Simple fact is that the girl is standing around a make up section with some problem with her skin. Sales assistant come across and tries to help her out and the OP wants to make a complaint.

Not the sales assistants fault that somebody is overly sensitive.

People need to cop on honestly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Simple fact is that the girl is standing around a make up section with some problem with her skin. Sales assistant come across and tries to help her out and the OP wants to make a complaint.

Not the sales assistants fault that somebody is overly sensitive.

People need to cop on honestly.

Do you wear much make-up yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

B0jangles wrote: »
    Do you wear much make-up yourself?

Nope. Mostly because I have fantastic skin. Partially because I am a man.

Thought so.

If you did, you might be aware that putting make-up on top of an acne break-out is usually a bad idea which will only exacerbate the problem. A person selling make-up professionally should certainly be expected to know this.

Not only was this salespersons advice extremely rudely given, it was very bad advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

If you're at a makeup counter it's not going to be cheap makeup\products. So why on earth would she try sell a 15 yr old expensive items. Unless she actually saw her shítting fifties. This sales woman is a total gobshíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

Were you there? Is that what was said or are you making stuff up to support your opinion?

You and I both know that I was suggesting that's how the conversation should have gone. We know how the actual exchange went as it was clearly stated in the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

You should be on sale in the hardware store, cause you're a big spanner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    OK, I'm assuming the OP and her friend are teenage girls

They go into a shop, stand around the make-up section, and a member of staff approaches to offer help (as they're paid to do) and assumes not unreasonably that your friend may be looking for something to help her acne. Given you're both young girls (again I'm assuming this is the case) the approach was likely somewhat different than to an adult woman.

A little tactless - yes, inappropriate - hell no

People need to stop looking for reasons to be offended and look at the full context before launching into complaining
    Ah come off it, an obese man is dining with a friend in a restaurant, a waiter comes over and tells him that he should have the salad as it will help him shift the gut, or an overweight woman is in a store with friends buying clothes and gets redirected to the sports section without asking as she could stand to lose a few pounds.

Such staff behaviours are incredibly insensitive and if I were in management, I would be extremely annoyed and embarrassed my staff were dealing with people this way.

PC has gone crazy in the last few years and I agree people are overly sensitive, but that does not give people carte Blanche to say what they want.

The kid was crying and gets the "stop looking for offence" treatment. Ffs. :mad:

I never thought I'd resort to this but I really would love to know what the tough love brigade would feel about this happening to their daughter/sister/niece. Read the thing properly and actually think it through, and don't bother making up sh-t about how the sales assistant was only doing her job when you know full well that's not how it's done, and you know what she said was sh-tty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

I believe it was inappropriate, there is a way of approaching such topics and a way of just being a total cnut about it.

Someone who has bad skin, their self esteem isnt exactly high when a topic slighlty hinting at their skin is mentioned, coming over to someone and just blurting out a comment like that is just showing what a twat the assistant is.

She could easily have walked over and raised the subject with a product which may have helped, and not been so harsh with the way it was phrased. I really dont get why so much abuse is aimed towards the girl who she said it to. This forum has some bizarre people in it.

sara1 wrote: »

To be honest, I think you were right not to say anything there and then; you sister had just gotten a very nasty and upsetting shock, you having a row with the saleswoman would probably only have made the situation worse for her. Much better to make a complaint from a distance when she doesn't have to be directly involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Never, in my 34 years on this planet, has a sales assistant given me "advice" on anything in any shop without asking if I wanted their assistance first. I've been to a million make up counters in my life and no one has ever given me unsolicated advice on my complexion or appearance. Even when I ask for advice, they've been tactful and polite...as they should be.

As an adult, that woman should've known better.

To have so little cop on and tact to say something like that to a teenager is just...what kind of fool was this woman?:confused:

And slapping make up on acne? Ah yeah, that'll sort it out alright. Not! :confused:

Poor girl. It's ****ty enough being a teenager without that kind of run in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭howtomake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,241 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Your friend was at a make up counter. The sales assistant offered advice and recommendations as per her presumed job description.

If your friend made it clear she wasn't interested and the sales assistant stuck her nose in and preached, then that would be inappropriate.

Ah come on, there's a tactful way of doing it, your one at the counter was awfully rude in the way she asked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Strawberry Swan

It's insensitive to the extreme and very much not the normal way of beauty assistants to behave. Your sister was very unfortunate to be standing near this particular woman who doesn't seem to have any scruples about how she goes about making sales.

You weren't wrong to leave the shop and not say anything. You saw your sister was upset and brought her out. That was right in my opinion. Like another other poster said, an argument would probably have made your sister feel worse. Now you can help her write a letter of complaint that will express her feelings clearly and articulately. This may illicit an apology from the sales assistant's boss but more importantly, it will help your sister get over the incident. She will hopefully feel good about standing up for herself, let go of the negativity and realise it belongs to the sales assistant not her and if it happens again she'll have the words to stand up for herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Minera

That's a nasty thing to say the kid is only 15 and got upset, her sister is only looking out for her as would any decent sibling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

I feel very bad for your pal. I had bad acne that was miserable and peoples comments were soul destroying. If your pal had asked about acne covering make-up or treatment then all fine, the door to the discussion was open. But that was so tactless your pal has every reason to complain as making people feel bad about themselves is not part of the brand representative's job.

It's insensitive to the extreme and very much not the normal way of beauty assistants to behave. Your sister was very unfortunate to be standing near this particular woman who doesn't seem to have any scruples about how she goes about making sales.

You weren't wrong to leave the shop and not say anything. You saw your sister was upset and brought her out. That was right in my opinion. Like another other poster said, an argument would probably have made your sister feel worse. Now you can help her write a letter of complaint that will express her feelings clearly and articulately. This may illicit an apology from the sales assistant's boss but more importantly, it will help your sister get over the incident. She will hopefully feel good about standing up for herself, let go of the negativity and realise it belongs to the sales assistant not her and if it happens again she'll have the words to stand up for herself.
    Great post, really good advice.
    I actually feel really saddened by this incident and the idiotic reaction to it, especially when she was crying. :(
    I don't know why - I was lucky not to have skin trouble as a teenager, but I guess it's just remembering being vulnerable and self conscious at that age, as most teenagers are.
    The fashion of being heartless and uncaring really is a scourge of the internet - I'm so glad there was no internet when I was a teen, but at least the same people who act all bad-ass re others' feelings would usually not dare to behave like that in real life.
    She'll be ok with lots and lots of positive messages to her, OP. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

If us portly gentlemen were in a chemist as were asked if we'd like to try those fat reducing tablets that make you shít yourself thin we'd be soon telling them to fcuk off, and get a bit miffed. Putting that into a teenage girls shoes re her appearance is 1,000,000 times worse

Tact and diplomacy are required when dealing with the public. Here, the Sales Agent, failed.

Inappropriate yes. On sensitive matters you wait to be asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Not really surprised. Those makeup counter jobs are all sales and high targets, and women, usually very conscious of their apperance will be easy to sell to if you can find their insecurity. Once they're making a sale, people's hurt feelings won't matter.

It's the same in a lot of beauty salons. We were always told to look out for women with engagement rings as they were easier to sell to with their wedding coming up. Body wraps/laser/facials. It's a horrible pressure to put on people but you'll get the people who won't care what they say or who they offend once they're meeting their targets.

I went to get my eyebrows done years ago, before I was in the industry (and didn't know how sales driven it was) and I was only about 19, but I had a dehydration line on my forehead that I was horrid paranoid about. Your one doing my eyebrows starts going on about how terrible it was and that if I left it untreated it'd get much worse and I'd need fillers in it. She recommended a course of 3 chemical peel facials to start with. 250 euro for the 3 of them.

She would have quite happily sold 3 peels to a 19 year old with sensitive skin and with not one blemish apart from a dehydration line. I would have bought it and all only my boyfriend at the time was waiting in reception for me, and when I got upset in the car telling him how terrible my 'wrinkle' was, he wanted to go bank into her to tell her off, but in the end we just left it and I never went back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

A sad situation which the girl will probably not forget and will affect her in the future :( A personalised example of what advertisements do 24/7. [voice over] 'Bad skin? Try this **** that worked for the model who has the tiny blemish we've put on her perfect face' [/voice over]