Ian Paisley has died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 BeerBoobs

You can't give blood if you have recently had a tattoo or lived in the UK in the late 80s (i think, could be early 90s) so it's not because they are discriminating against the gay community it's a safety issue.

Thanks for putting it more simply for me (Really).

But I do still think it's homphobic in nature.

I know you say "people from the tatoo parlor" couldn't and such.

But Gay people don't even have a right to be tested for Blood Diseases thanks people like Edwin Poots/DUP.

So how do we know if their blood is compatible and infectious free enough to save people's live?

We test them; that's how!

We can't just leave the trials open for tattoo artists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

DazMarz wrote: »
    Maybe I'm being overly critical of the later leaders, but I feel that the four I've mentioned previous (Hume, Trimble, Reynolds, Major) are not given enough praise for the stellar efforts they made.

Reynolds.
    Oh I'm with you there. Reynolds ignored the mealy mouthed, unionist appeasing, orthodoxy in the south and got down to business on reaching a settlement and went at it with full conviction. I truly admire the man for that. He's the principle instigator of the Peace Process from south of the border.

Major.
    Major too formed a strong relationship with Reynolds and was determined to have a go getting a ceasefire. I think their friendship spurred on their efforts to see an end to the killing. Major was the main player from Britain

Trimble.
    Trimble is the person who should have been holding the trophy instead of Paisley. He took risks time-and-again and was pilloried by Paisley and the DUP at every turn. Paisley was at the same old shit trying to split the Unionist vote when it came to a peace settlement. History will speak positively about Trimble's contribution to the PP/GFA.

Hume.
    John Hume towers above all others as the 'Peacemaker in Chief'. Hume was talking with SF when he was being sneered at from all angles for talking with terrorists. Without Hume I doubt there'd have been a PP. One of Ireland's greatest ever public figures imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Seamus Mallon is to be lauded too IMO. In a recent documentary he seemed kinda resentful of the way Hume overshadowed him. I'd say Hume, much and all as I respect him, is a very domineering personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,294 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

BeerBoobs wrote: »
    Thanks for putting it more simply for me (Really).

But I do still think it's homphobic in nature.

I know you say "people from the tatoo parlor" couldn't and such.

But Gay people don't even have a right to be tested for Blood Diseases thanks people like Edwin Poots/DUP.

So how do we know if their blood is compatible and infectious free enough to save people's live?

We test them; that's how!

We can't just leave the trials open for tattoo artists.

Have you ever donated blood?

The questionnere goes something like

1. Have you gotten a tattoo in the last xxx years
    2. Have you ever had sex with a prostitute.
    3. Have you libed in the UK between 19xx and xxxx
    4. Have you had unprotected sex with a woman in the last xxx years.
    5. Have you ever had unprotected anal sex.
    6. Have you (male) ever had anal sex with another man.
    7. Have you ever visited the African continent and had sex with a male/female
    Etc etc etc

If you answer yes to any questions then you maybe denied the right to give blood. You say kids are being denied life giving blood but i don't think i've ever heard of any kids dying on the operating table in Ireland for want of a pint of blood during an operation. On the other hand imagine some kid is getting their appendix out and gets tainted blood that could kill them? This has happened before (hep c) and that's why such stringent tests take place and why certain people cannot donate.

here is the IBTS website where you can read the questionaire yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Dr Paisley's strength belied his 88 years. He was as strong as a Bear & quick as a Puma, like a sort of "anti-Bravestarr" character, but on this day, Pablo was not to be defeated. Still smarting from his "no-contest" with Chuck Norris, the big Clondalkin native had only one thing on his mind... Annihilation.
    The Dr leapt from his throne made of children's skulls given to him from Thatcher, ironically weakened through lack of calcium due to the lady's withdrawal of free school milk. "Watch as I bring you to your knees working class oaf" he roared, swinging a roundhouse at Pablo's head. His cat like reactions needed to be at their utmost, as he ducked his incoming size 15. "You saucy b1tch" he said with a wry smile, "I knew you could still go, your "dementia" never fooled me". Paisley leapt into the air, hanging for what seemed like an age, before flicking out his left foot at breakneck speed.
    Pablo ducked, but it was all a ploy. The quick thinking Dr came down hard with both feet on the back of his head. "Double foot-stomp? Someone's been practising", chuckled the Skinny Psycho, fighting out of Greenfort. "One knows more than one might expe"...POW!!!!! Pablo landed a massive elbow to the bigots face, his eyebrow exploding like an offal filled water balloon. "Don't forget who you're fcuking with here prince. I'll beat you so bad, Mark will feel it".
    "You abominable fenian Twat"!!! Screamed Paisley, flying at the Liffey Valley resident strong man, his arms outstretched, claws fully extended. Pablo's cat like reactions where called into action once again, as he gripped both of his wrists. Jamming his left foot into his Solar Plexus, he fell back, monkey flipping him into the wall of his throne room. He hit hard, plaster tumbling onto the hardwood floor below. His framed oil painting of him riding an A-Bomb into A Sinn Fein office shook on the wall. Pablo charged, aiming a flying knee at the former First Minister's face. The Dr moved out the way just in time, the big man's knee hitting the wall hard.
    Still groggy from the collision, the Dr grabbed his marble bust of actor Macaulay Culkin, & threw it with the might of a thousand men at the bearded one, connecting with laser like accuracy to his groin area. A few seconds of sheer terror passed... It had connected. Left bollock. A dull ache, much worst than child birth, spread through his lower abdomen, momentarily paralyzing him, this was all the Dr needed. Quick as a flash he was on him like a Belfast tramp on dropped chips. Slashing & clawing at his face with his talon like hands, Pablo's blood splattered everywhere, a drop landing in his open mouth, & just like that, he had the taste for it.
    The Dr flipped him over onto his stomach & gripped him by the wrists. "It's Kerb Stomp time, fenian scum" he spat through gritted teeth, planting his foot on his head & neck. He pulled up with his strong arms, before slamming down hard with his foot. Pablo's perfect teeth shattered on the hardwood floor, breaking his nose in the process. He raised him up & slammed him down again, his face crunching into the floor. "One more time you skinny Dublin cnut" he hissed, his upper class exterior briefly waning. He pulled him up harder & further than before, "TASTE. MY. FLOOR. PLEB"!!! he screamed, but out of nowhere, Pablo regained his senses. A quick twist of the hips, & his Martial Arts background paid off, as he stretched his legs into the splits, a trick reserved usually only for dancefloors around the city. Twisting his hips back he flung the Dr into his throne of skulls, it shattered under the force of his impact. He was on his feet in an instant, the adrenaline pumping through his veins. "Let's finish this you savage cnut" he roared in his booming voice.
    Charging at his crumpled body, he kicked the Dr hard in the stomach. His body took flight through the air, landing on top of his mantlepiece. On him in a flash, he gripped him by the ankles & swung him round, smashing furniture with his broken body, before launching him into his 60 inch LCD TV. "Why have old people always got boss telly's"? He wondered. As he stood over his stricken body, he had an idea. Summoning the strength of the Gods, he rammed his hand into his chest cavity... Nothing. It was empty. The Dr literally didn't have a heart. "Fcuk me" he proclaimed, only partly shocked. Suddenly, Paisley's gnarled hand reached up & gripped him round the throat, attempting to squeeze the life out of him. However, the Dr, still weakened from his ordeal was no match for his awesome power & Krav Maga training. Hooking his hands away with his wrists, he ripped off his right arm.
    A brief moment of clarity hit, & the Clondalkin Pitbull realised something... "Sh1t! I'm gonna need to make this look like natural causes..." His eyes surveyed the room, & he spotted the poker in the roaring fire. Burning a hole in his skull, his plan was underway. He stitched his arm back on, using hidden threads to connect it to his face. Pulling tightly, the right size of his evil face was dragged down. Another bit of fancy stitching, & his arm was stuck to his side. The Dr was dead. A Stroke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

ryanf1 wrote: »
    Forgive me of I'm missing something here but what has gay men donating blood got to do with Ian paisley?

His party (well, his ex party. They gave him the boot, as did his own church) is blocking the bill allowing gay men to donate in line with Great Britain. GB now allows gay men to give blood and that was to be extended to NI, but has been battled in court using public funds by Edwin Poots.

So for all the scaremongering about contaminated blood and the risk of HiV infection going up by 500%, GB seems pretty relaxed about it.

If you're doubting the homophobia, Health Minister (and young earth creationist) Poots also unsuccessfully used public funds to try fight gay couples being allowed to adopt.

You know what he's not using public funds for? Making adjustments to the Royal Victoria Children's hospital so that a children's MRI scanner can be fitted. The Northern Irish public raised the funds to purchase the scanner in 2011 on the promise that abestos removal, an extension and installation would be covered by the Executive but Poots is too busy frittering time and money away on his vendetta against gays to sign off on it.

Have you ever donated blood?

The questionnere goes something like

1. Have you gotten a tattoo in the last xxx years
    2. Have you ever had sex with a prostitute.
    3. Have you libed in the UK between 19xx and xxxx
    4. Have you had unprotected sex with a woman in the last xxx years.
    5. Have you ever had unprotected anal sex.
    6. Have you (male) ever had anal sex with another man.
    7. Have you ever visited the African continent and had sex with a male/female
    Etc etc etc

The UK one now asks if you've had unprotected anal sex with another man in the last year.

You say kids are being denied life giving blood but i don't think i've ever heard of any kids dying on the operating table in Ireland for want of a pint of blood during an operation.

Northern Ireland Blood Transfusion Service
    Monday, 8 September 2014 at 10:48
    Stocks of O negative (O Rh negative) are low. If that's your group and you have not donated in the last 16 weeks please try to donate this week.

https://www.facebook.com/givebloodni

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Not sure if this has been posted already. The Prodigy featuring the Pope vs Paisley.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gECeA8ZGnEQ

The UK one now asks if you've had unprotected anal sex with another man in the last year.

Northern Ireland Blood Transfusion Service
    Monday, 8 September 2014 at 10:48
    Stocks of O negative (O Rh negative) are low. If that's your group and you have not donated in the last 16 weeks please try to donate this week.

https://www.facebook.com/givebloodni

Yeah and blood supplies often run low especially the rarer negative blood group. But have you ever heard of a child DYING on an operating table in Ireland due to lack of blood? He is saying children are at risk of death because gay men cannot donate.

Who's "he"? The guy who was pointing out that all donated blood is tested for the specific diseases that are feared from gay men's blood?

Do you think that gay men shouldn't be allowed to donate, and that people are going to catch HiV from blood transfusions in Great Britain?

Who's "he"? The guy who was pointing out that all donated blood is tested for the specific diseases that are feared from gay men's blood?

Do you think that gay men shouldn't be allowed to donate, and that people are going to catch HiV from blood transfusions in Great Britain?

Does the question ask.specifically if you are gay? Or does it ask if you have had unprotected anal sex with a man?

This would exclude some people from donating, does this now mean that theblood transfusion board are racist?
    Sex with anyone who may EVER have had sex in parts of the world where HIV is very common? This includes Africa and South East Asia.

Ah, if you're gonna be like this then nevermind. Life's too short for petty tit-for-tat questions that never get answered and it's off topic anyway. Good luck to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Miall108

RIP to Reverend Paisley. A true legend of the Free Presbyterian Church. People should never express delight about the death of a man of god

RIP to Reverend Paisley. A true legend of the Free Presbyterian Church. People should never express delight about the death of a man of god and a man of peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Miall108 wrote: »
    RIP to Reverend Paisley. A true legend of the Free Presbyterian Church. People should never express delight about the death of a man of god and a man of peace

we're on safe ground here so:p

Ar dheis de go raibh a anam. A true gael

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

It is also worth noting that the DUP is one of the most bigoted and far-right parties in existence on this island and in the United Kingdom as a whole. I would venture that of all the mainstream political parties, only the BNP would exceed them. And even then, only slightly.

The hypocrisy of their position is totally revealed by the current odious leader, Peter Robinson. Railing and raging against homosexuality along with his harridan, shrew-like wife, Iris.

Imagine my schaudenfraude glee at the revelation that broke in 2010. Iris Robinson had been having a sexual affair with a 19 year old in 2008 (at the time, she would have been 59). She also provided her young squeeze with £50,000. Homosexuality is very bad in their book. But apparently banging a kid young enough to be your grandson and giving him fifty grand is perfectly OK, all the while your idiot husband is the leader of the most far-right and sexually repressed party in the country. Deadly.

Political scandals usually contain an element of a sexual nature or a financial nature. This one had both. How brilliant.

Not only did neither of the Robinsons do what most sane people would (step down, walk away and never come back), the pair of them are still there and still spouting crap from their pedestal.

The DUP is like its founder; evil, fetid, hypocritical and just waiting for a death that cannot come soon enough.

That would be Iris "There can be no viler act, apart from homosexuality and sodomy, than sexually abusing innocent children" Robinson. Homosexuality is more vile than child molestion in her world, and yet she was bribing a 19 year old to sleep with her.

My favourite part of that story was when he told the papers that he'd had to fake testicular cancer to get her back off and so she demanded the money back.

That would be Iris "There can be no viler act, apart from homosexuality and sodomy, than sexually abusing innocent children" Robinson. Homosexuality is more vile than child molestion in her world, and yet she was bribing a 19 year old to sleep with her.

My favourite part of that story was when he told the papers that he'd had to fake testicular cancer to get her back off and so she demanded the money back.

That would be her, yes. A complete and utter lunatic. Well matched with that husband of hers.

It's always the most religious and the most sexually repressed that turn out to have the biggest sexual scandals lurking around the corner.

See: Ted Haggard...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭opiniated

thomur wrote: »
    Ok apologies for calling you a troll. I agree with you that we cant forget what was done in the past but we cant go on living with it. I agree we have to respect the victims. It was a war on two sides. What other way is there only to forget about it and move on.

Personally speaking, I'd hope we can learn from it - and say, never again(No pun intended!:D)

RIP to Reverend Paisley. A true legend of the Free Presbyterian Church. People should never express delight about the death of a man of god

I actually spent quite a bit of time trying to think of something charitable to say about Big Ian, without ignoring the damage that his hate-filled rhetoric inflicted on so many people.

I wouldn't go so far as to express delight at his death, and would offer sincere condolences to his family, who loved him, but to describe him as a "Man of God" - in particular, the Christian God who preaches Love, Tolerance, and Forgiveness, is the single biggest load of hypocrtical, revisionist, downright lying rubbish I've read on this thread so far - and that's saying something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

MOD

Plenty of room for a thread on donating blood if ye wish to discuss it in such detail, can we get back on topic, thanks

-KERSPLAT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Yeah aren't the DUP responsible for keeping NI behind the rest of the UK when it comes for legislating for SSM to add to their delightful list of character flaws?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Esel wrote: »
    It is also very likely that he at the very least knew about the paedophile ring operating in/from the Kincora Boys' Home while it was still being covered up (it still is...). Two fellow travellers of Ian (on the loyalist road) who were incriminated were William McGrath, founder of Tara, and John McKeague
    I hope that some day the full story of the Kincora Boys' Home scandal will come out, naming and shaming everyone involved. How would Paisley's legacy fare in that eventuality, I wonder? The files are there; the names (big and small) are in the files.

Not holding my breath, though....

Not your ornery onager

Ar dheis de go raibh a anam. A true gael

The irony in delivering that particularly Irish blessing onto a man who hated the Irish with every fibre of his being...

The poor bastard is probably rolling in his grave at the mere thought of being called a "Gael" too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

DazMarz wrote: »
    The irony in delivering that particularly Irish blessing onto a man who hated the Irish with every fibre of his being...

The poor bastard is probably rolling in his grave at the mere thought of being called a "Gael" too...

"I would never repudiate the fact that I am an Irishman" - Ian Paisley, June 1991.

Not Your Ornery Onager

I got a great laugh at him recoiling in horror while shaking Christy Burke's hand, when Christy introduced himself. It was on the RTE news, so probably on youtube somewhere.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

Oh the irony ..

Not Your Ornery Onager

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Colinf1212

Someone old fogey dies - 45 pages.

Life is boring.