Connacht Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

Edinburgh strip the ball in tackle is immense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Wtf was that?

Edit - oops this was meant for match thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

U'20s won in Thomond too! Good day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭ouncer

Guess I shud bring my dogs out more often and ponder lbps. Well done connacht. In years past that performance would end up in frustration. Pat, i'm not your biggest fan but you did something this year, which has been achievable in the past, that other coaches have simply being unable to do. That said the carty issue is silly. He was given his chance and has not stood up to the mark. Darragh can't kick penalties so miah has to be the default option. At least he can play sensible rugby and kick penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

Didn't see last night's game, but in a way I'm not bothered by the negative comments over how we won. I travelled to Murrayfield year after year and saw us hockeyed each time, we often went a year or 2 without an away win. Winning by any means is what this game is all about, no matter what the ccircumstances, Munster could always pull out a late comeback, and delighted that Connacht seem to have done the same last night. Fantastic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭S12b

See on twitter Jake Heenan's girlfriend saying "shoulder isn't looking too good, we will find out more next week"

That was only two days ago, suggests it's bad!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭connachta

Guys I'm shocked by the conversations about last night.. How could you all talk about that match as a terrible performance??

I don't say it's all clean, but for fu** sake, remember where we were 1 year ago, in a similar match against Treviso away
    Our level last night has NOTHING to be compared with that
    the scrum is now clearly one of the best in the league
    You pointed out Niyi and Henshaw, you're right, but forget McKeon, Naoupu Muldowney and Roux who were fairly consistant, whereas two weeks ago, we were all targeting 5/8 as probable weak areas
    And even the backs were very dynamic, didn't see one action where the Edimburgh defence didn't step back, even as a precaution... Have some little memories, last year, when the game was moved to the wing, we were 10 metres behind the initial pass
    Yes the will to advance much more has consequences : knock-on in contact. But I trust our talented back-line to limit those handling errors in the short-term

So yes,I dare to say it : I liked what I saw! Win and perspectives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

It was a win, not a great one, but enough to secure the position as the top Irish team again this week :D

No harm in pointing out there there was plenty of room for improvement in the game - sure Pat said the exact same himself in the post-match interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

I thought Connacht were very good last night. Tried to actually play ball for the balance of the game, mixed it up with some dawg when they needed to and closed out the win very competently at the death (clock awareness aside...).

Sure there were a few dropped passes and the attacking play seemed a bit aimless at times, but once the forwards sharpen their game a bit, and the ball can be recycled that bit more snappily, I'm sure things will flow better.

Don't forget how many points Connacht left on the board due to poor place kicking, and that the Edi try should never have materialised given the flagrant infringements of their forwards in the build-up. Edi were drilled in D, but very negative. I honestly think a 10+ point win for Connacht wouldn't have been undeserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

I think we can appreciate the value of Connacht's win without embellishing the performance. Saying they were very good is hyperbole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

Listening to the intro to the Leinster game

"Connacht and ospreys are the only teams left with 100% records (so far)"

Man thats good to hear!!!

connachta wrote: »
    Guys I'm shocked by the conversations about last night.. How could you all talk about that match as a terrible performance??

I don't say it's all clean, but for fu** sake, remember where we were 1 year ago, in a similar match against Treviso away
    Our level last night has NOTHING to be compared with that
    the scrum is now clearly one of the best in the league
    You pointed out Niyi and Henshaw, you're right, but forget McKeon, Naoupu Muldowney and Roux who were fairly consistant, whereas two weeks ago, we were all targeting 5/8 as probable weak areas
    And even the backs were very dynamic, didn't see one action where the Edimburgh defence didn't step back, even as a precaution... Have some little memories, last year, when the game was moved to the wing, we were 10 metres behind the initial pass
    Yes the will to advance much more has consequences : knock-on in contact. But I trust our talented back-line to limit those handling errors in the short-term

So yes,I dare to say it : I liked what I saw! Win and perspectives.

In fairness everyone is delighted with the win but knows there is major scope for improvement and with Leinster and Glasgow next up, we have to lift it a couple of levels on the last couple of weeks. Of course its a big improvement on this time last year but at that stage Pat Lam was trying to put his stamp on the team resulting in some awful mistakes. It'd be hugely disappointing if we hadn't improved substantially at this stage.

I liked bits of what I saw, in general the pack have impressed me over the last couple of weeks and I really think there is the guts of a good side there but at the moment we are taking too many poor options and making too many basic mistakes. The scrum pulled us out of a lot of tight corners last night and that won't always be the case.

We should have been ahead at half time and instead went in 7 behind. We hung in there in the 2nd half but the bottom line is we dug a lot of the holes for ourselves last night as Edinburgh were average enough.

We won the first two games a couple of years ago but went on to lose 14 or 15 in a row a few weeks later, that won't happen this season but while I am delighted to have 8 points, there is a lot to work on.

I'm happy that we won and still have a lot to improve on but still concerned about a lot of areas as the season progresses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Hey guys just wondering is it usually hard to get tickets at the sports ground, looking at heading to Cardiff game in October

astonaidan wrote: »
    Hey guys just wondering is it usually hard to get tickets at the sports ground, looking at heading to Cardiff game in October

You'll be grand get them early enough just to be safe. European matches and interpros would be difficult.

After being let go at the end of last season, Aaron Conneely is now in Dublin and has signed with Landsdowne. I think Corinthians will really struggle this year.....from the team they had for the first half of the season last year they have lost Denis Buckley, Finlay Bealham, Aaron, Marcus Walshe and probably most importantly Sean O'Hagan. Loughney, Masterson and Nikora played for them at the weekend and they got a good trimming away to Ballymena.

Shane O'Leary played his first match since picking up a knock in August for Young Munster at the weekend.

Peter Robb played with Belvo so clearly he has stuck with them and not joined a Connacht club.

Caolin Blade scored for Wegians and supposedly went well. He seems to score a lot of tries. I expect him to drive on well this season, he may not see too much game time with John Cooney here but I think he should pass Porter over the next few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stan27

whats the 10 situation looking like now. leader doing well at 15?

Stan27 wrote: »
    whats the 10 situation looking like now. leader doing well at 15?

10 situation isn't the best. Jack Carty has been given the nod for the first two games.....he was fine against the Dragons but had a bit of a howler against Edinburgh. He also isn't trusted to goal kick which doesn't help.

Miah Nikora might be a decent goal kicker but has a very short range and overall is a very average player.

Craig Ronaldson is back from injury and got a few minutes against Edinburgh. We haven't seen a lot of him since 2013 but he could well start on Friday night. If he could get his kicking going he would probably be no.1

Goal kicking aside, Leader is doing well and now the first choice at 15. Big boot for clearance kicks, seems very solid under the high ball and is well able to make a half break when the chance opens up. I think the goal kicking is a major issue though, I'd say this is the first time in his career he is a first choice goal kicker and the reality is, he's not good enough to be first choice. It's a lot of pressure to place on young shoulders and surely the misses must affect his confidence in general play.

I watched Madigan yesterday and was dreaming of seeing him wearing a Connacht shirt with 10 on the back. Marmion, Madigan, Aki and Henshaw.....:eek:

S12b wrote: »
    10 situation isn't the best. Jack Carty has been given the nod for the first two games.....he was fine against the Dragons but had a bit of a howler against Edinburgh. He also isn't trusted to goal kick which doesn't help.

Miah Nikora might be a decent goal kicker but has a very short range and overall is a very average player.

Craig Ronaldson is back from injury and got a few minutes against Edinburgh. We haven't seen a lot of him since 2013 but he could well start on Friday night. If he could get his kicking going he would probably be no.1

Goal kicking aside, Leader is doing well and now the first choice at 15. Big boot for clearance kicks, seems very solid under the high ball and is well able to make a half break when the chance opens up. I think the goal kicking is a major issue though, I'd say this is the first time in his career he is a first choice goal kicker and the reality is, he's not good enough to be first choice. It's a lot of pressure to place on young shoulders and surely the misses must affect his confidence in general play.

I watched Madigan yesterday and was dreaming of seeing him wearing a Connacht shirt with 10 on the back. Marmion, Madigan, Aki and Henshaw.....:eek:

Thanks!! Yes I think ronaldson did well last year and he should be able to push on with game time.
    Re madigan ha yes it would be class but I see it the same as a lot of leinster players who would get more game time at connacht rather then not in the first 15/ 23. I know I keep saying it but the likes of marsh, d ryan, Conan coming to connacht is a pure win win for the players, clubs and the national team too

Thanks!! Yes I think ronaldson did well last year and he should be able to push on with game time.
    Re madigan ha yes it would be class but I see it the same as a lot of leinster players who would get more game time at connacht rather then not in the first 15/ 23. I know I keep saying it but the likes of marsh, d ryan, Conan coming to connacht is a pure win win for the players, clubs and the national team too

Agreed, I feel strongly that there should be some system in place for transfers between the provinces.

Ulster need quality backup at 6 or 7.....McLaughlin, Leavy, Dom Ryan, Conor Gilsenan (before he went to LI), none of those guys will make a big game 23 for Leinster but if they were at Ulster, they would be getting gametime in the H Cup and overall a lot more gametime than they currently are.

Munster's midfield, for a top team, is frankly shocking....to think Denis Hurley and Andrew Smith could start in the H Cup is mad. Ulster are overflowing with top quality centres. Olding, Marshall, Cave and McCloskey can all play 12 and Olding, Marshall, Cave, Payne, Bowe and Ludik can all play 13.....that's insane considering everyone of them is quality. McCloskey looked excellent towards the end of last season and realistically is going to see minimal game time at Ulster. Send him down to Munster for 12 months on loan, he will play lots, Munster benefit and Ulster won't even know he's gone....win win!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Agreed, I feel strongly that there should be some system in place for transfers between the provinces.

Ulster need quality backup at 6 or 7.....McLaughlin, Leavy, Dom Ryan, Conor Gilsenan (before he went to LI), none of those guys will make a big game 23 for Leinster but if they were at Ulster, they would be getting gametime in the H Cup and overall a lot more gametime than they currently are.

Munster's midfield, for a top team, is frankly shocking....to think Denis Hurley and Andrew Smith could start in the H Cup is mad. Ulster are overflowing with top quality centres. Olding, Marshall, Cave and McCloskey can all play 12 and Olding, Marshall, Cave, Payne, Bowe and Ludik can all play 13.....that's insane considering everyone of them is quality. McCloskey looked excellent towards the end of last season and realistically is going to see minimal game time at Ulster. Send him down to Munster for 12 months on loan, he will play lots, Munster benefit and Ulster won't even know he's gone....win win!!

That all sounds far too sensible to happen.

100% agree couldn't have said it better my self. There should be a loan system in place. But I even see irish players in England etc that clue be home. Like eamon Sheridan (prob spent wrong) in London irish. A great 12 would it not be better to have say him in Munster rather than a lad from oz etc.
    copeland came back which is great but a lot more could come. . But in fareness some took chances and went and fair play to them.
    Obviously a lot to think about to move back say settled with family but sure just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

It's impossible to call some of these. Sheridan was one of these guys who was perpetually injured at Leinster and wasn't getting anywhere. He'd next to no senior game time outside of but parts in pre-season games. His move was as much about a change of scene to try and kick start his career.

Either way the players themselves need to agree to any move, loan or not. Some would be willing to move, others not. If someone like LI can promise players game time that other provinces can't then it's a no brainer. Again, using Sheridan as the example, who would have been able to offer him similar game time at a similar level here?

molloyjh wrote: »
    It's impossible to call some of these. Sheridan was one of these guys who was perpetually injured at Leinster and wasn't getting anywhere. He'd next to no senior game time outside of but parts in pre-season games. His move was as much about a change of scene to try and kick start his career.

Either way the players themselves need to agree to any move, loan or not. Some would be willing to move, others not. If someone like LI can promise players game time that other provinces can't then it's a no brainer. Again, using Sheridan as the example, who would have been able to offer him similar game time at a similar level here?

Yep I suppose.akes sence.
    Not sure with Sheridan because connacht have good centres but maybe say Niall Morris to Munster would get on very well. When I think about it a lot of Munster and connacht players from leinster ( yes population and all that) but that's a different story for a different day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭liam12989

why did connacht not tie down o'hagan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭connachta

True But anyway won 't solve the n°10 problem, which is an all-Ireland problem. Beside Madigan and Jackson (and even then..) it's the desert...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

connachta wrote: »
    True But anyway won 't solve the n°10 problem, which is an all-Ireland problem. Beside Madigan and Jackson (and even then..) it's the desert...

Keatley and Hanrahan are more than good players. Ireland has never had as great a riches of out-halfs as we do now.

its_phil wrote: »
    Keatley and Hanrahan are more than good players. Ireland has never had as great a riches of out-halfs as we do now.

I think marsh and maybe peter lydon too. Good young lads coming through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Yep I suppose.akes sence.
    Not sure with Sheridan because connacht have good centres but maybe say Niall Morris to Munster would get on very well. When I think about it a lot of Munster and connacht players from leinster ( yes population and all that) but that's a different story for a different day.

Do you think? With Zebo and Earls on their books there was no way he was guaranteed regular first team rugby like he's gotten at Tigers. The provinces have a good deal of quality in most positions. It is disappointing that we couldn't offer someone like Jack O'Connell or Conor Gilsenan better opportunities, but they were being sold a real shot at regular AP rugby (even though it didn't pan out). It's a tough one to call really. It's good to see Roux and Cooney at Connacht and hopefully that's a sign of more to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

I think marsh and maybe peter lydon too. Good young lads coming through.

Marsh maybe, not so sure about Lydon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

liam12989 wrote: »
    why did connacht not tie down o'hagan?

Lots of different opinions and reasons floating about, bottom line is that he was not under any contract and that was a big mistake. Way to long to start on reasons why. He is a great player and exciting to watch, good luck to him, he has moved on and so have we.