Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭JP85

When did it become acceptable to start calling holidays..... "Holibobs"

No you are not going on your holibobs, you are not 5!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,011 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

JP85 wrote: »
    When did it become acceptable to start calling holidays..... "Holibobs"

No you are not going on your holibobs, you are not 5!!

Agreed. Besides, everyone knows the correct word is holliers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭JP85

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Agreed. Besides, everyone knows the correct word is holliers.

Holliers is a very acceptable version of saying it, maybe I'm just jealous as i had no Holibobs this year :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

The constant reporting on the Scottish Independence vote. So very very very fcuking sick of having to change news channels to avoid it. Fecks sake, nobody gives a monkeys arse about it. Which is probably why they've given teenagers the vote for it, so they can raise the numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Haha! I thought I was the only one that happened to. That few seconds panic when you drop it. Glad to know there's two other weirdos

Make that three other weirdos! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

People who, instead of blowing their nose, snort their way through the day, making one of the most disgusting noises known to man.

Argh!!!!!!! There's a guy in our open plan who sounds like Darth Vader on life support.

I know this sounds awful, but if I heard he was squashed by a bus on his way into work I think I would be a little bit happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

People talking in "Jibbar Jabber" when you ask a question.

"Do you take sugar in your coffee?"

"Well, In think my husband has one, but he does his golf on Saturdays and Bridie is in Santas Ponsa this week?

WTF did she think I asked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    People talking in "Jibbar Jabber" when you ask a question.

"Do you take sugar in your coffee?"

"Well, In think my husband has one, but he does his golf on Saturdays and Bridie is in Santas Ponsa this week?

WTF did she think I asked?

"Do you enjoy swinging when you go golfing?"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

Just answered my (personal) mobile with my workplace greeting.

Hate da'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,175 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

the phrase's "I know what you're thinking" and "You know you want to"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Vel wrote: »
    The fact that Tuc crackers now come in bacon flavour. I have almost polished off an entire pack in under 2 hours

This excites me!!!! :o
    (Not THAT way you filthy feckers!)

Trivial annoyances of today:
    - being late
    - arriving too early

- people hassling me
    - decisions making

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

"Windows needs to restart your computer to finish its update"

Ah that's grand, should I my take a couple of minutes

25 minutes later and its on 5 of 14. Go **** yourself Windows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

Handing over a crisp 20 or 50 eur note, or similar and being handed back a ripped or well-used note as change - not faded but dog chewed it and spat it back out like.

Today (five minutes ago) in McDonalds in Madrid - was handed a fiver which was cut completely in half - clean cut, like from a scissors - and taped back together.

Asked for a replacement as I wasn´t accepting it. Audible sigh fom the wage-slave when I wouldn´t give in.

Brings up another question; at what point is a note not considered legal tender (cut, faded, written on)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

the phrase's "I know what you're thinking" and "You know you want to"

How is life living in a 90s Buddy Comedy Film?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Having a rough day and work and getting a text from a friend....."just having a beer while waiting on boarding call....."
    Just f**k off please :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Mariasofia wrote: »
    Having a rough day and work and getting a text from a friend....."just having a beer while waiting on boarding call....."
    Just f**k off please :)

Going on their holibobs, eh? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

IrishExpat wrote: »
    Handing over a crisp 20 or 50 eur note, or similar and being handed back a ripped or well-used note as change - not faded but dog chewed it and spat it back out like.

Today (five minutes ago) in McDonalds in Madrid - was handed a fiver which was cut completely in half - clean cut, like from a scissors - and taped back together.

Asked for a replacement as I wasn´t accepting it. Audible sigh fom the wage-slave when I wouldn´t give in.

Brings up another question; at what point is a note not considered legal tender (cut, faded, written on)?

Not sure at what point its not longer legal tender officially but as long as you have 50%+ of the note you can get it replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭berrygood

Vel wrote: »
    Checking your boss's diary first thing in the morning and finding that they have NO meetings at all for the day. Go away from me and leave me in peace. And now she has decided not to go for her regular morning coffee. Le sigh

Haha! This was my exact thought this morning! Thankfully, he did go out for coffee for about an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

It's annoying trying to sort out an outfit for a party and realising you have absolutely nothing to wear

Lately, everytime I have a coffee, I get a longing for sugar in it. I have never taken sugar in coffee in my life :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Fooking fancy dress parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Hotfail and LizzieJones both gone? Nooooooooo! ;____;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Hotfail and LizzieJones both gone? Nooooooooo! ;____;

They must have eloped.

Fake tan. The smell of it and the fact it's all over my Egyptian cotton sheets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Long Gone

In fairness the thing that really p***es me off in Ireland is the complete and total over use of the stupid phrase "In fairness".
    I was looking at two boggers discussing a GAA game on "The Sunday Game" last week and I'd swear that every second sentence from the two speech defect accented morons in question was "In fairness" - Truly nauseating stuff ! .:mad:

Long Gone wrote: »
    In fairness the thing that really p**es me off in Irealnd is the complete and total over use of the stupid phrase "in fairness". I was looking at two boggers discussing a GAA game on "The Sunday Game" last week and I'd swear that every second sentence from the two speech defect accented morons in question was "In fairness" - Truly nauseating stuff ! .:mad:

In fairness and to give him his due.......

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    "Windows needs to restart your computer to finish its update"

Ah that's grand, should I my take a couple of minutes

25 minutes later and its on 5 of 14. Go **** yourself Windows

In fairness and to give Windows its due, that's probably more the fault of your internet / computer speed than Windows....

Mariasofia wrote: »
    Wait til youre having one of the little pets hammering a sliotar off your side wall while trying to have a Sunday evening siesta..... ;)

In fairness there are worse things than that going on in estates:

After a bit of unauthorised building work was put up, one of the women in my estate wrote a letter to the council complaining that "the man next door has a large erection in his garden that is dangerous and unsightly...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

There's a wan here in work, and every day (multiple times), whenever someone asks "How are you", the answer is "i'm here".

Snapkicks is what i'd love to produce!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

It's annoying trying to sort out an outfit for a party and realising you have absolutely nothing to wear

In fairness, wear nothing, in fairness.