Class division is real

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

o1s1n wrote: »
    It's got nothing to do with Dublin people being closer culturally to Britain and everything to do with city folk having a different mentality to country folk.

Britain has 'country people' too you know. I guess I better start calling people from the Irish countryside 'West Brits' seeing as they're so similar culturally to their British countryside dwelling brethren.

There's plenty of Irish culture to be seen in Dublin. Sure don't we play host to all of you culchies for GAA matches? :pac:

Don't you mean 'West Brit Culchies'...just not to confuse them with real 'West Brits'? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

What makes them elite? What is it that they're really good at?

I'm an elite eater. You'd wanna see me make short work of a large Sizzler from Dominos.

On second thought, you probably wouldn't. I doubt it's pretty. But I'm still really good at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The_Captain

o1s1n wrote: »
    It's got nothing to do with Dublin people being closer culturally to Britain and everything to do with city folk having a different mentality to country folk.

Britain has 'country people' too you know. I guess I better start calling people from the Irish countryside 'West Brits' seeing as they're so similar culturally to their British countryside dwelling brethren.

There's plenty of Irish culture to be seen in Dublin. Sure don't we play host to all of you culchies for GAA matches? :pac:

If the Garth Brooks fiasco has taught us anything, it's that Culchies are really East Yanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

You Jackeens for instance, you've 4 LOI teams to support, Pats, Bohs, Rovers and Shels (in the first division.)
    U.C.D. as well Surely?
    Stop pissing around and start going to games.
    I actually agree here. I started going to Shelbourne games lately and have to say it's great entertainment, though LOI moaners do more harm than good.

Back on topic, if someone thinks they're a cut above the rest because they go to the R.D.S. every second week or what number their address is, then let them off, i'd have no time for them. as my OH would be happy to point out, if you're playing hockey in the back-arse of Galway on a Saturday morning, class division is the last thing on your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Class division is an excuse people who don't make it use for their own personal failings. Class in Ireland is essentially non-existent.

Are there cultural differences between rural Ireland and Dublin? Absolutely, but that's a different question.

In my experience its actually the rural dwellers that have the 'chip' on their shoulder. They deride and sneer at wealthier Dublin people as 'less Irish' simply because they have differing interests. All down to insecurity in my opinion.

Edit: I say that as someone who grew up in the West of Ireland (And escaped :D ) before someone accuses me of being some "west-brit"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Would it be so abnormal for someone born and raised here to English parents to have an affinity with England that maybe exceeds their one with Ireland, used to happen all the time with the Anglo-Irish class, Bacon, Wellington etc, I don't think the term ''West Brit'' would necessarily be pejorative in such instances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

dd972 wrote: »
    Would it be so abnormal for someone born and raised here to English parents to have an affinity with England that maybe exceeds their one with Ireland, used to happen all the time with the Anglo-Irish class, Bacon, Wellington etc, I don't think the term ''West Brit'' would necessarily be pejorative in such instances.
    It's always pejorative. It implies that one's nationality is more than your citizenship, and that people from the east of Ireland are somehow "less Irish" than people from the west. It comes from small-minded tribalism and an inferiority complex.

If someone holds Irish citizenship, they are no "less" Irish than anyone else, regardless of parentage or attitudes. Irish people individually vary, there is no fixed list of attributes or attitudes by which you can measure a person's level of Irishness and compare it to another's.

dd972 wrote: »

To be fair, they'd never be properly Irish like Pádraig Pearse or Katie Taylor though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Ah yes, we all remember the 1916 rising in Tralee and Galway post offices

Not to disagree with the thrust of your argument, but worth pointing out that there was a rising in Oranmore also - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Easter_Rising#Galway

Class division is an excuse people who don't make it use for their own personal failings. Class in Ireland is essentially non-existent.

Are there cultural differences between rural Ireland and Dublin? Absolutely, but that's a different question.

In my experience its actually the rural dwellers that have the 'chip' on their shoulder. They deride and sneer at wealthier Dublin people as 'less Irish' simply because they have differing interests. All down to insecurity in my opinion.

Edit: I say that as someone who grew up in the West of Ireland (And escaped :D ) before someone accuses me of being some "west-brit"

Aren't you the guy who was sneering at people who asked for no onions with their dinner? Yeah...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

I had never heard the term 'West Brit' before I started using boards.ie. It's not common at all in any of the circles I've moved within, and I'm not from Dublin.

Class in Ireland is essentially non-existent.

Nonsense. It's there. And it's more evident in Dublin than anywhere else I've lived in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Tarzana wrote: »
    Nonsense. It's there. And it's more evident in Dublin than anywhere else I've lived in the country.

I've dealt with plenty of mucksavages working in the professions in Dublin. South Dublin is crawling with professionals who grew up in the country. Most of the people nattering on about this class division can't get jobs in the professions because they didn't get enough points to study a relevant course in college. The only barrier to the vast, vast majority of jobs in Ireland is intelligence, hard work and a desire to succeed. Ain't their fault you ended up working in a call centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Focking boggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Class divisions do not exist in Ireland the way they do in other countries.

It is simply snobbery that some people have acquired to look down on others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭guest2014

They do say the biggest snobs are often people who came from rural areas to Dublin, and act as if they are better than everyone else. you just reminded me of that. get over yourself, its far from michelin restaurants you were raised.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...In my experience its actually the rural dwellers that have the 'chip' on their shoulder...
    ...I say that as someone who grew up in the West of Ireland (And escaped :D )...

Ain't that for damn sure. :pac::pac::pac:

I've dealt with plenty of mucksavages working in the professions in Dublin.

Can't be bothered to read past this sentence, due to the bolded bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

You're not missing much.

Four syllable words can be a bit tough for people who aren't educated in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

There is a class element to 'West Britishness' as people who might be described as such (not confined to Dublin mind) would feel a greater affinity with their peers in the leafy suburbs of Bristol, Chelmsford or Southampton. 'West Brit' is not really to do with Geography. West Britishness is a mindset that's starkly displayed by people like Ruth Dudley Edwards (RDE).

When you have people like RDE writing sickening apologia for the sectarian scourge that is the Orange Order and coming out with embarrassing drivel such as this:
    'It's time to learn to love our 'Britishness'

We've come to regret the destruction of the big houses and are gradually recognising that the despised landlord class left us a magnificent legacy.

Of course the above ignores the halving of the Irish population by starvation and immigration (often met with glee by members of the British establishment) under the Landlord Class.

Post-Colonial Stockholm Syndrome Psychosis would be more descriptive than 'West Brit'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

MOD

Attack the post, not the poster. Less of the insults please

-KERSPLAT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I like Rugby but don't like GAA. Does that make me part of this elite? Where do I sign up?

Dept. of Social Security,
    Donnybrook,
    Dublin 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

I'm from Greystones and would definitely have more of an affinity with Britain than I would anywhere in Ireland outside of Dublin or Wicklow.
    And I detest GAA!

Aahh! Greystones - once known as 'Little Belfast'!! A PP who served there many years ago described the place as 'tuppence halfpenny looking down on tuppence'!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

At least people who like rugby follow teams from their own country unlike soccer fans who follow teams they have no connection with. I don't see hoe your choice of sport decides how nationalist you are. I quite like my country and yet enjoy rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I don't see hoe your choice of sport decides how nationalist you are.

I'd say it'd be more of a case of which sports you'd actively deride that might give a clue as to how (anti)nationalist someone might be. There are people who deride Gaelic sports because they consider them as contrived expressions of 'Irishness' rather than as sports in their own right. Then of course you'll have those who deride them because of inferiority-complex arrived-at 'cultural cringe'.

I'm not the greatest fan of Gaelic sports myself but can appreciate the incredible skills and excellent grass-roots community based organisation of GAA. I watched yesterdays match and thoroughly enjoyed the skill on display.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Karl Stein wrote: »
    There is a class element to 'West Britishness' as people who might be described as such (not confined to Dublin mind) would feel a greater affinity with their peers in the leafy suburbs of Bristol, Chelmsford or Southampton. 'West Brit' is not really to do with Geography. West Britishness is a mindset that's starkly displayed by people like Ruth Dudley Edwards (RDE).

When you have people like RDE writing sickening apologia for the sectarian scourge that is the Orange Order and coming out with embarrassing drivel such as this:

Of course the above ignores the halving of the Irish population by starvation and immigration (often met with glee by members of the British establishment) under the Landlord Class.

Post-Colonial Stockholm Syndrome Psychosis would be more descriptive than 'West Brit'

In case any one wanted an idea of who uses the term......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I hardly know anything about Dublin to make an astute opinion here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I hardly know anything about Dublin to make an astute opinion here.

Don't let that bother you, it hasn't stopped anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

I don't give two ****es about patriotism or any of that Irish pride guff that is just used as an excuse for ignorance.I have no problem with English people or people from any other country either.

I don't like the GAA because the people I know personally who involved in running it at a local level are the kind of greedy,small minded cute hoor types that have this country on its knees.Always licking up to the local TD's and hooking up some braindead eejit with a cushy job he/she wouldn't get near if they weren't good at pucking a sliotar,or a neighbour of the club president or whatever.And this is in a fairly big suburb of Dublin,can only imagine it's ten times worse in smaller towns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

Karl Stein wrote: »

There may be an odd individual who may have a greater affinity with England than Ireland or may even be an over compensating idiot but when people start going on about "rugby and hockey playing scoffing at any mention of gaa, anti nationalism pro British agenda" it seems to me they mean every day people are west Brits in the sense of not being anti English or Pro Irish enough to be really Irish.

Problem is nobody even knows what "being Irish" is. I think the OP and a lot of others think being Anti English/British is an inherent part of being Irish and if you're not clearly and visibly Irish by following or supporting the GAA, cutting turf, speaking Irish or belting out rebel tunes then you're not Irish enough and get labelled a West Brit. Because the opposite of Irish is British it seems.