Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

Gotcha, I done one there connecting two wires, which ill have to do for another sensor at the front of the engine, actually I'll have to do both, hard to believe this is the same camera i take all my pictures with, i'm no good at adjusting settings for indoor :o

33kgpk3.jpg

Good man. That looks fine. The more you practice the more you'll notice a pattern of evenly spaced out crimps on those through connectors. And they look prettier :pac:

dgt wrote: »
    IMG]https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5580/14953294818_c18541276f_h.jpg[/IMG]

Car related as I found it in an Alfa, making it an.... Alfa Spider :pac:

Thats a grape with legs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Good man. That looks fine. The more you practice the more you'll notice a pattern of evenly spaced out crimps on those through connectors. And they look prettier :pac:

That'l do me for now :pac: so tomorrow I'll get some shrink wrap and do this properly, then put the drives and stuff in, still waiting on parts from Sweden, two ball joint bolts, there's a certain taper on them or something :rolleyes:

I was going to insure it, but here's the dilemma, can i take out another policy with say, axa, while having a policy with liberty for the 9-5? Or is that very bold and so on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

That'l do me for now :pac: so tomorrow I'll get some shrink wrap and do this properly, then put the drives and stuff in, still waiting on parts from Sweden, two ball joint bolts, there's a certain taper on them or something :rolleyes:

I was going to insure it, but here's the dilemma, can i take out another policy with say, axa, while having a policy with liberty for the 9-5? Or is that very bold and so on?

Can you not get classic insurance on it?

Nope, not 25 yet, it comes in around the same as my own insurance, if not cheaper, 60 euro a month while mine now is around 90

Your telling me you are gonna have two policies at the same time on two different cars. Your crazy or crazy loaded. Either one.

Couldn't tell ya. Haven't been in a position to find out.....yet. One of the lads will surely have an answer.

I'm off anyways. Long day tomorrow between work, going to a Munster match and having a look at a gigantic granny puppet thing parading around Limerick. Also beer, lots of beer.

Later!

Your telling me you are gonna have two policies at the same time on two different cars. Your crazy or crazy loaded. Either one.

Crazy, not a chance am i loaded :pac: I know its a stupid idea, but i'd like to get it going on the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I done it, I had my Civic insured with XS and my FTO insured with Liberty at the same time.

Can you not get a multi car policy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Reesy

L...my god that Mx5 looks like a fine machine!!!

Yes, I agree! I'm driving a Mk 1 MX5 for 12 years & the newly-announced Mk 4 MX5 is the first that's turned my head. Better start saving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Dublin bus driving test next week !

Should be fun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Navan at 16:05 hrs today in the rain was complete chaos. Was so funny to watch everyone all stressed and boiling over in huge lengths of traffic!

I need to get out more :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

mlqkUi6.jpg

Who owns that 735i? Reg looks familiar...

//edit: Eric Cartman! Whachya doin at my workplace? :P

//edit2: I should park my E46 next to it for the LOLs :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

So I went to look at this today http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-5-series-2-5-litre-petrol/7552348 , thanks to Pickles for chauffering me around in his tank and to his mechanic for inspecting the car, both dead on!

The interior was immaculate and the exterior had some scuffs and small dents which was to be expected for a 12 year old car but the main thing for the body was the rear window did not line up right, meaning it was probably replaced in the past and the rear wiper motor needed to be replaced. Most of the bad news was some of the mechanicals were not in great order.

The Valve cover gasket had a leak, the rear diff had a leak, it needed new rear discs and pads, new front tyres, it needed a really good service, a new part which costs around €200 that I can't remember the name of with a decent bit of labour required and on top of all that, it had to be NCT'd.

The mechanic reckoned it would cost in and around €1k to set right, far too much for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

So I went to look at this today http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-5-series-2-5-litre-petrol/7552348 , thanks to Pickles for chauffering me around in his tank and to his mechanic for inspecting the car, both dead on!

The interior was immaculate and the exterior had some scuffs and small dents which was to be expected for a 12 year old car but the main thing for the body was the rear window did not line up right, meaning it was probably replaced in the past and the rear wiper motor needed to be replaced. Most of the bad news was some of the mechanicals were not in great order.

The Valve cover gasket had a leak, the rear diff had a leak, it needed new rear discs and pads, new front tyres, it needed a really good service, a new part which costs around €200 that I can't remember the name of with a decent bit of labour required and on top of all that, it had to be NCT'd.

The mechanic reckoned it would cost in and around €1k to set right, far too much for me.

Lovely looking machine, but surely mad money for what it is. I suppose it's the fact that it's an estate that means it's more expensive. But no NCT, needing substantial work...it's not going anywhere fast!

Nope, not going anywhere at that price, the reason I went up for a look is that it looked in decent nick and if it only needed Tyres + a motor it would't have been too bad, now to look at others.

My dad is mad to get me into an E60, even saying he'll partly pay but tbh I have little to no interest in them.

Valve cover gasket is an expensive jobbie alright :/ 270e incl labour and vat is what I paid for mine to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Sobanek wrote: »
    Valve cover gasket is an expensive jobbie alright :/ 270e incl labour and vat is what I paid for mine to be done.

It's also a very easy job. Takes time, but needs little skill. And the gasket is only 30 quid or there abouts. Wouldn't worry about it, and would expect it would need changing on any car that age.

Pretty much what the mechanic said, there was another expensive part around 200 that can only be got from BMW but I can't remember the name of it, that was the main thing throwing me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Some of that might explain why he wasn't willing to test it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

You'd wonder why he bothered taking it in at all if he knew the issues.

Pretty much, if he got it all sorted I'd say he'd make a decent bit on it, the Tourings go for decent money.

He was also willing to NCT it, but obviously at a cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Bpmull wrote: »

Because he probably got a good deal for himself out of it?

He's had it since May when it had NCT and wasn't lying up for months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

He's had it since May when it had NCT and wasn't lying up for months.

Ah ok surely then he'd knock a good bit of the price then if it's sitting up so long it's probably the tax that puts everyone of it anyway.

He knocked 500 quid off it when it ran out of NCT, realistically you'd want to get that car for sub €1k for it to be decent.

Pity there's about negative 5 nice E39's around Munster, feck all around.

Opened the gate for you, Eric, only because you revved that V8 twice :P

Next time, use the buzzer :p

Midway meet lads? It's been a while ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Sobanek wrote: »
    Opened the gate for you, Eric, only because you revved that V8 twice :P

Next time, use the buzzer :p

Knew I recognised that reg! :(

@ Stormin Norman - if it's not an M-Sport in good nick walk away. I don't know how many times you have to be told this. You would rather climate control than a proper M-Sport? You've driven both - you should know better.