Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

YbFocus wrote: »
    What are you doing Hal!!!!

Ah just browsing reddit. If only I had the resources to build a project like that :cool:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Hal1 wrote: »
    Ah just browsing reddit. If only I had the resources to build a project like that :cool:.

Christ i was like you kept that quiet!
    I'd rather the feel of one feck off turbo :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Christ i was like you kept that quiet!
    I'd rather the feel of one feck off turbo :)

That's what I was gonna reply to you when you said they would all be on a low setting. One high pressure turbo would probably put out just as much as the three combined on a low setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Nothing quite beats the feeling when you park your car, walk away, hear a crunch from another car parking and turn around to see they've hit the car on the other side and not yours.

Still didn't stop me running back, jumping in and moving it before she completed the manoeuvre mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

That's what I was gonna reply to you when you said they would all be on a low setting. One high pressure turbo would probably put out just as much as the three combined on a low setting.

It's more to do with reduced lag than the same overall power.
    One big turbo creates lots of lag, where as using 2 (one the same as the single turbo and one smaller to help it spool) reduces lag and helps response :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

It's more to do with reduced lag than the same overall power.
    One big turbo creates lots of lag, where as using 2 (one the same as the single turbo and one smaller to help it spool) reduces lag and helps response :)

That's true alright I suppose.

VW tried to do with the TSI engines. One supercharger for low rev power and then switch to turbo for high revs. Someone on here said recently they had to get rid of that in the newer TSI engines as it caused alot of problems supposedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

So for feeling bad for my shoddy attempt at wiring on the car, I'm now teaching myself now to wire properly using proper stuff :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

So for feeling bad for my shoddy attempt at wiring on the car, I'm now teaching myself now to wire properly using proper stuff :o

Bit of insulation tape. be grand :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

How much did you pay for the wiring pickles?
    Pickles: Um, I don't know, it came with the car.

Shoddy, shoddy, shoddy.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Bit of insulation tape. be grand :pac:

:pac: No the perfectionist in me is coming out now haha
    How much did you pay for the wiring pickles?
    Pickles: Um, I don't know, it came with the car.

Shoddy, shoddy, shoddy.

COWBOYS NOCCY!! BLOODY COWBOYS!! :pac:

Had a look at your build thread there. Buy yourself a good crimpers, wire strippers and a load of assorted crimp connectors. Much cheaper in a motor factors or electrical wholesalers than the likes of Halfords for connectors. Sit down and practice stripping and crimping with a few offcuts of cable. I had boxes and boxes of them connectors in the home house shed until my mother "accidentally" fired them into a skip during a clearout :mad: I told her when I moved out not to touch the shed! Ah well.

Edit: Buy lots of heat shrink!! You'll figure it out eventually

Had a look at your build thread there. Buy yourself a good crimpers, wire strippers and a load of assorted crimp connectors. Much cheaper in a motor factors or electrical wholesalers than the likes of Halfords for connectors. Sit down and practice stripping and crimping with a few offcuts of cable. I had boxes and boxes of them connectors in the home house shed until my mother "accidentally" fired them into a skip during a clearout :mad: I told her when I moved out not to touch the shed! Ah well.

See i have the bits, i just need wire, I've feck all wire, plus i need to figure out how the connectors actually work yknow? so that's my night sorted it seems

Any use?

Also

[Electrician Snotaul] All those crimp connectors are colour coded to the size of cable needed.

Red connector- 0.5mm2 to 1.5mm2

Blue- 1.5mm2 to 2.5mm2

Yellow- 4mm2 to 6mm2

[/Electrician Snotaul]

You will probably come across all those cable sizes as you go on so no harm in learning cable sizes and matching connectors. It pretty easy once you get the hang of it. See if you can get hold of a few off-cuts of 1.5, 2.5, 4 and 6mm2 STRANDED cable and work with them.

Even though I'm an electrician (well I was), I always find it difficult to explain certain things to people online :o
    Much easier when you're with them in person

Any use?

Also

[Electrician Snotaul] All those crimp connectors are colour coded to the size of cable needed.

Red connector- 0.5mm2 to 1.5mm2

Blue- 1.5mm2 to 2.5mm2

Yellow- 4mm2 to 6mm2

[/Electrician Snotaul]

You will probably come across all those cable sizes as you go on so no harm in learning cable sizes and matching connectors. It pretty easy once you get the hang of it. See if you can get hold of a few off-cuts of 1.5, 2.5, 4 and 6mm2 cable and work with them.

Even though I'm an electrician (well I was), I always find it difficult to explain certain things to people online :o
    Much easier when you're with them in person

Haha I'm very grateful! I watched a video there apparently I'm best off using, a non insulated connection with heat shrink tubing around it, as there wont be any shorts or water getting in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

That's true alright I suppose.

VW tried to do with the TSI engines. One supercharger for low rev power and then switch to turbo for high revs. Someone on here said recently they had to get rid of that in the newer TSI engines as it caused alot of problems supposedly.

Lancia have done this, AFAIK they were the first and they used it in Rally. More notably, Nissan used it in the March Super Turbo, a cracking little road car that I must own. :cool:

nissan_march_super_turbo_black_1990.jpg

Btw, the truck stuff is called Compound Turboing, DGT can tell you more if he's around. :)

Haha I'm very grateful! I watched a video there apparently I'm best off using, a non insulated connection with heat shrink tubing around it, as there wont be any shorts or water getting in

That sounds good too. I don't really see much of a difference between using insulated or non insulated once you've heat shrank them. I find that insulated crimps tend to have a tighter connection to be honest (but that depends on the type of crimping tool you use too). Best of luck with it anyway. You'll pick it up in no time. If you think I can be of any help drop me a PM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

I think the diesel locomotives used by Irish Rail do it too.... at least the older ones.

It's a clutched turbosupercharger, IIRC that's driven by the engine at low RPM to provide scavenging, then whistles up to speed at higher RPM's to boost.

That sounds good too. I don't really see much of a difference between using insulated or non insulated once you've heat shrank them. I find that insulated crimps tend to have a tighter connection to be honest (but that depends on the type of crimping tool you use too). Best of luck with it anyway. You'll pick it up in no time. If you think I can be of any help drop me a PM

I've one of them draper multi tool things one of these exact yokes

draper-crimping-tool-00083997M.jpg

And it's not crimping the connection solid, I can nearly talk the wire back out :( so i'll figure something out, hopefully i will, id like to get the hang of wiring, also seriously appreciate the help :) If i can be of any use either, gimme a shout

I've one of them draper multi tool things one of these exact yokes

draper-crimping-tool-00083997M.jpg

And it's not crimping the connection solid, I can nearly talk the wire back out :( so i'll figure something out, hopefully i will, id like to get the hang of wiring, also seriously appreciate the help :) If i can be of any use either, gimme a shout
    Cheers dude. Will do!

No offence but I despise those type of crimpers but they might do the job on non insulated crimps. I prefer a ratchet crimpers such as

LY-30J-Ratchet-Crimping-Tools550.jpg

If the wire is still a bit loose with the crimper you're using it could mean that the crimp connector is too big. Try a smaller size or you can try a slight cowboy method of crimping it as tight as you can and then using a pliers to give it that extra squeeze to secure it. Try not make s**t of the connector though :p

No offence but I despise those type of crimpers but they might do the job on non insulated crimps. I prefer a ratchet crimpers such as

LY-30J-Ratchet-Crimping-Tools550.jpg

Cheers dude. Will do!

If the wire is still a bit loose with the crimper you're using it could mean that the crimp connector is too big. Try a smaller size or you can try a slight cowboy method of crimping it as tight as you can and then using a pliers to give it that extra squeeze to secure it. Try not make s**t of the connector though :p

A friend of mine who is a hgv mechanic swore by them so i figured sure why not, but I'll look into getting one of them, knowing my luck I'll make bits of the connector though, heres a stupid question, does the wire need to be touching in the connector or does the connector act as like a bridge to both pieces?

Get one off ebay for a few quid.

No such thing as a stupid question when it comes to electricity.

As in should the wire be touching its connection point once its crimped? No. A good crimped connection looks like this (the left one) whether it be a spade connector (which you're using), a lug (pictured) or any connector for that matter

5138de3cce395f141b000000.jpg

The bare copper shouldn't be exposed at all

Get one off ebay for a few quid.

No such thing as a stupid question when it comes to electricity.

As in should the wire be touching its connection point once its crimped? No. A good crimped connection looks like this whether it be a spade connector (which you're using), a lug (pictured) or any connector for that matter

5138de3cce395f141b000000.jpg

The bare copper shouldn't be exposed at all

Perfect :) yeah that's pretty much what I was getting at, like here's one i just done, i think it's alright

2d78xo8.jpg

Perfect :) yeah that's pretty much what I was getting at, like here's one i just done, i think it's alright

2d78xo8.jpg

Thats nearly spot on. Crimp the bottom part too. I should have mentioned that earlier. You'll need to crimp twice with your crimping tool. Once with a ratchet crimper. Should look something like this minus the exposed copper

63.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Looks like I am a bit late to this, but my god that Mx5 looks like a fine machine!!!

I know it's early, but I bet it's going to be priced stupidly in Ireland :(.

:mad:

Thats nearly spot on. Crimp the bottom part too. I should have mentioned that earlier. You'll need to crimp twice with your crimping tool. Once with a ratchet crimper. Should look something like this minus the exposed copper

63.jpg

Gotcha, I done one there connecting two wires, which ill have to do for another sensor at the front of the engine, actually I'll have to do both, hard to believe this is the same camera i take all my pictures with, i'm no good at adjusting settings for indoor :o

33kgpk3.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I'd shed a light on it alright

westyarmouth121707_599.jpg

This picture makes me happy for so many resaons :pac:

I also told him to set fire to it earlier, rings me going I found what looks to be a black widow!!

To someone who is terrified of spiders :pac:

It was only a harmless false widow in the finish :cool:

Such a cool spider :D
    14953193130_9da9b5745d_h.jpg

14953294818_c18541276f_h.jpg

Car related as I found it in an Alfa, making it an.... Alfa Spider :pac:

Size of its arse :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Size of its arse :pac:

That's its abdomen :P

dgt wrote: »
    That's its abdomen :P

Like I give a fcuk what it is! :pac: I'm just going to get away from all that now, i'd like to sleep later :pac: