Why can't we just put him down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

Sounds like this guy needs to get laid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭caolfx

...to rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Nope. Read the article. The guy kills and tortures for pleasure. Our "justice" system WILL NOT keep him incarcerated for the rest of his life because some eejits think he's human. He's not. He's a mutation of human. The guy is a violent psychopath. No amount of love and affection as kid would have changed that. He's a threat to society and for as long as he lives he will continue to be. Do you want to be his next victim? Maybe a relative of yours might be? It's not a matter of if, it's when he will next attack and what he'll do to his victim that's in question. Someone like that should either be serving 100 consecutive life sentances on 23 hour lock down, or should be killed. End of. Far too dangerous to leave him roaming the streets. Which, in this country, he will be doing as soon as the bleeding heart brigade get him out of jail.

I'm assuming that your diagnosis is biased on multiple examinations and that you're completely qualified to make them? Otherwise I'll have to assume that you're a moron who actually has no idea what they're talking about.

This person is a human being. They might not be one you'd like, but they are one nonetheless. People always like calling people they don't like animals or monsters. It allows them to act in a inhumane manner towards others. After all, how can you be doing wrong if they aren't human? You can torture another human being and feel absolutely great about it. You can let that viscous little voice inside dictate exactly what you do and ironically act like an animal or monster. Seriously, asking for a man to be killed because of crimes he hasn't committed? That's the most irrational statement it's possible to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Grayson wrote: »
    I'm assuming that your diagnosis is biased on multiple examinations and that you're completely qualified to make them? Otherwise I'll have to assume that you're a moron who actually has no idea what they're talking about.

This person is a human being. They might not be one you'd like, but they are one nonetheless. People always like calling people they don't like animals or monsters. It allows them to act in a inhumane manner towards others. After all, how can you be doing wrong if they aren't human? You can torture another human being and feel absolutely great about it. You can let that viscous little voice inside dictate exactly what you do and ironically act like an animal or monster. Seriously, asking for a man to be killed because of crimes he hasn't committed? That's the most irrational statement it's possible to make.

Em, the bit in bold....

That's exactly what HE did.

The bit underlined....

He has committed crimes, he went on a random stabbing spree and has the prison officers around him afraid for their lives when they have to deal with him. He has a string of offences behind him - violent crimes for which he has been convicted.

What part of that are you missing?

He has no remorse, he takes pleasure out of violently attacking people. Sure, I haven't sat down in a room with him (nor would I ever like to, why would I risk my life like that?) but that screams psychopath. You reckon the most vicious and dangerous violent criminal in the country isn't a psychopath? What planet are you on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Em, the bit in bold....

That's exactly what HE did.

The bit underlined....

He has committed crimes, he went on a random stabbing spree and has the prison officers around him afraid for their lives when they have to deal with him. He has a string of offences behind him - violent crimes for which he has been convicted.

What part of that are you missing?

He has no remorse, he takes pleasure out of violently attacking people. Sure, I haven't sat down in a room with him (nor would I ever like to, why would I risk my life like that?) but that screams psychopath. You reckon the most vicious and dangerous violent criminal in the country isn't a psychopath? What planet are you on?

You read a small article and you want to kill someone. What is wrong with you? Do you realise how sick that is? calling for the death of a human being based on an article in a tabloid newspaper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I see we have our first Left wing Liberal...
    Berserker wrote: »
    Ah yes, it's societies fault. The law abiding public should hang their heads in shame. I suppose capitalism and FF are to blame too?
    Maybe you should both go back and actually read my post and the post I quoted, and you might then understand what I was trying to get at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

,Lets be honest if this was in the middle east he would have been beaten or had his hand chopped off on the first offence or two and that wouldn't be a story since he would be killed if he continued to pull his little shenanigans over there.

Yeah, the Middle East - Fantastic justice system that we should be aiming towards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I had the unfortunate task of dealing with that model citizen a few years ago in a pub. He is literally a wild animal, it took 5 men to sit on him til the gardai arrived. he should be kept in solitary confinement for the rest of his life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,654 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

I thought this thread was going to be about Justin Bieber when I opened it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

This person is a human being.

I strongly disagree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

You read a small article and you want to kill someone. What is wrong with you? Do you realise how sick that is? calling for the death of a human being based on an article in a tabloid newspaper...

I read two articles about an absolute monster who appears to take every opportunity he can to inflict violence and destruction on anyone he can.

I don't specifically want to kill him, I just want him completely removed from society because he's so dangerous. As I said, either have him forever more in 23 hour lockdown in jail, or kill him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I had the unfortunate task of dealing with that model citizen a few years ago in a pub. He is literally a wild animal, it took 5 men to sit on him til the gardai arrived. he should be kept in solitary confinement for the rest of his life

My sympathies. A lynching wouldn't go astray in this case. He should be euthanised and his organs given to people who need them. People like him are incapable of reforming.

not a friend in the world.. and what do they give him? A punch-bag...

what sort of way is this to deal with a very troubled individual.

Apparently its too help calm his anger :rolleyes: In reality, what it is actually probably doing is helping to hone his boxing skills

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭LiveIsLife

The notorious thug has 84 previous convictions, including robberies, 34 assaults and firearms offences.

I can't get my head around how our justice system allows this. 34 assaults and he was free to assault and try to kill more people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

Yeah, the Middle East - Fantastic justice system that we should be aiming towards

Not once condoned the practice of that flawed system just using it as an example.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

LiveIsLife wrote: »
    I can't get my head around how our justice system allows this. 34 assaults and he was free to assault and try to kill more people?

When you have the best of barristers paid by the taxpayers for all your cases you'd get off as well.

The whole justice system is a joke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 igotabagofhemp

Bring back Hanging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Berserker wrote: »
    Ah yes, it's societies fault. The law abiding public should hang their heads in shame. I suppose capitalism and FF are to blame too?

What a waste of resources. 3 or 4 officers in riot gear outside his cell to control him every time the door is opened.

Link
    Hose the bastard down with ice cold water every time the cell door is opened and he is not lying face down waiting to have his restraints applied.

Laid out with a fire hose or tazer every time he fails to act on instructions given by prison staff! What ever happened to Guards and prison staff beating guys like this stupid with a baton in self defence?

nullzero wrote: »
    My sympathies. A lynching wouldn't go astray in this case. He should be euthanised and his organs given to people who need them. People like him are incapable of reforming.
    I fully agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Private Joker

Has anyone read 'Freakonomics ' ? i found it a brilliant book and it explained, why the crime rate in the US dropped when it was expected to rise in the mid 90's . It all stemmed back to the legalisation of abortion in the 70's, this meant that children weren't brought up in a household that effectively didn't want them in the first place .

I'm not saying we should do this as the lack of options for abortion in this country doesn't address the issue but we seem to give incentives to people having children in this country and its the lower class who seem to benefit the most, proportionately, from those incentives. Effectively, having kids is seen as an income stream. child benefit should be capped to 2 kids for those in receipt of social welfare . if you cant afford them don't have them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭cookie24

As a society we all let him down, and should feel some guilt for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

cookie24 wrote: »

Nope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭DLMA23

Lobotomize

cookie24 wrote: »
    He has contributed nothing to society so why should we feel guilty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

He has 30+ convictions for assault.
    He attempted to murder another human being.
    He bragged about this to the gaurds.
    He has over 200 disciplinary breaches against him in prison.
    Plus loads more convictions for robbery etc.

What would you do with him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭cookie24

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Nope

Perhaps not everyone. But when it was clear he was going not going to change his ways, judges should of acted with severe sentencing to deter him from continuing his life of crime.

And as a society, we should be pressing the issue. Surly there is a way (a referendum?) for us to employ a ~5 strike policy? If this guy was facing 20 years on his 5th conviction there is a good chance he would have changed his ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Has anyone read 'Freakonomics ' ? i found it a brilliant book and it explained, why the crime rate in the US dropped when it was expected to rise in the mid 90's . It all stemmed back to the legalisation of abortion in the 70's, this meant that children weren't brought up in a household that effectively didn't want them in the first place .

I'm not saying we should do this as the lack of options for abortion in this country doesn't address the issue but we seem to give incentives to people having children in this country and its the lower class who seem to benefit the most, proportionately, from those incentives. Effectively, having kids is seen as an income stream. child benefit should be capped to 2 kids for those in receipt of social welfare . if you cant afford them don't have them .

It's an interesting read.

There's a bit of a debate over the actual impact of abortion on crime. The crack epidemic of the 1980s is given by some as an example of the cause for the preceding higher crime rates.

Interestingly similar arguments have been made on the effects of using less lead exposure in paint and leaded petrol as being a possible reason for reduced crime levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I'm not in favour of the death penalty, or the right-wing police state fantasy that is usually expanded upon in these kinda threads. But this kinda crap really pushes that... He'll kill some ordinary person soon enough, probably a random attack on the street again.

How on earth is he not locked up for life in prison or a mental institution at this stage. The justice system in this country just does not give a toss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

He had a horrendous upbringing which has been documented in previous reports on him. I read one that described his childhood as "feral". the state didn't intervene and give him the minimum care he deserved.
    The state and society did fail him during his upbringing. His parents failed him too. At some stage he failed himself

Does that excuse his behaviour , no it doesn't
    It probably explains it though and with that knowledge he could be rehabiliated. Surely as a enlightened country we could do that.

"but he has so many chances" - some clown will no doubt say

Spare me that **** - i know f all about rehab in jail I'll admit - but given how lame other state services (which I've experienced) are to the vunerable why would we believe it meets the needs of it's clients.

Or you can just kill him like most of you seem to think is appropriate.
    Forgetting that it's him today and it could one of your loved ones soon thereafter. And most of youclaim to be civilised too.

shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

JC01 wrote: »
    He has 30+ convictions for assault.
    He attempted to murder another human being.
    He bragged about this to the gaurds.
    He has over 200 disciplinary breaches against him in prison.
    Plus loads more convictions for robbery etc.

What would you do with him?

Has anyone tried a hug?