Why can't we just put him down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Because you can't quote properly would be my guess.
    You get 25% off for good behaviour anyway in this country.

All Wright. . . :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

not a friend in the world.. and what do they give him? A punch-bag...

what sort of way is this to deal with a very troubled individual.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    You messed up the BB code and the quote wasn't showing properly. Just fixed it for you, no need to thank me, just your friendly neighborhood mod doing yet another selfless act :p

Thank You. . .
    What's the BB code?
    So I don't do it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Quote tags, bold tags, URL tags are all BB code, you just misplaced a bracket and it messed up the quote, don't worry about it.

Now lets get back on topic before I've to give myself an infraction

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Quote tags, bold tags, URL tags are all BB code, you just misplaced a bracket and it messed up the quote, don't worry about it.

Now lets get back on topic before I've to give myself an infraction

Thanks and sorry for the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Put all similar inmates on an island with lots of cameras, then Battle Royale!

Why aren't these offenders "Tagged".
    Happens on the show in "Coronation Street."
    Should happen for all convicts. IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

what sort of way is this to deal with a very troubled individual.

Using him as a punching bag would be much more fitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Assualted two gardai

In the old days he would have "fallen down the stairs ;)" in the station

Those days are gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Wright has amassed 200 serious breaches of dicipline since he first entered the Irish Prison system in October 2005 and is considered "the angriest man in Ireland"

He's probably a Boardsie:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Heckler wrote: »
    Nope. Some people are an evil waste of oxygen and I'd have no problem if he ceased to exist. Read the report again. Hes no better than a rabid dog. I'm not saying he wasn't failed along the way re: environment, circumstances, family life etc but he is what he is now. An animal.
    So you admit that it's possible that society has failed him, but in the same post you say that society should essentially erase its mistake?

Do you not see a problem with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

El Weirdo wrote: »
    So you admit that it's possible that society has failed him, but in the same post you say that society should essentially erase its mistake?

Contradictions don't bother some people. Being logically consistent is not seen as beneficial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

This guy is going to kill someone when he is released for good behaviour.

In that case just have some guards standing there when he's released. They'll catch him then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

Ah poor lad... Deserves a lot more and a bunch of friends. Let him kill a few random, innocent people - surely it will make him feel a little better :rolleyes:

If that was up to me I would have no problem to tie him to the good, old sparky and flick the switch. I just hope that next time this vicious, sick animal is out it will not be me, my family or any of my friends who will be the target.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Assualted two gardai

In the old days he would have "fallen down the stairs ;)" in the station

Those days are gone

Not in cork prison! The prison officers there will not take any auld guff from a toerag like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Anyone else find a thread about "putting down" a human incredibly creepy?

Nope. Read the article. The guy kills and tortures for pleasure. Our "justice" system WILL NOT keep him incarcerated for the rest of his life because some eejits think he's human. He's not. He's a mutation of human. The guy is a violent psychopath. No amount of love and affection as kid would have changed that. He's a threat to society and for as long as he lives he will continue to be. Do you want to be his next victim? Maybe a relative of yours might be? It's not a matter of if, it's when he will next attack and what he'll do to his victim that's in question. Someone like that should either be serving 100 consecutive life sentances on 23 hour lock down, or should be killed. End of. Far too dangerous to leave him roaming the streets. Which, in this country, he will be doing as soon as the bleeding heart brigade get him out of jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

Heckler wrote: »
    Nope. Some people are an evil waste of oxygen and I'd have no problem if he ceased to exist. Read the report again. Hes no better than a rabid dog. I'm not saying he wasn't failed along the way re: environment, circumstances, family life etc but he is what he is now. An animal.

But the poor lad probably had a terrible childhood. He should be given a council house and a car,you can't expect him to use public transports with all the racism nowadays surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭thror

"Dublin Circuit Court heard that he knifed a Mauritian national, then an Irish man walking with a female companion minutes later."

Can you imagine that happening to you? Walking down the street, going about your business and that animal coming at you with a knife for no reason? I'm actually shuddering just thinking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

krudler wrote: »
    Using him as a punching bag would be much more fitting.

I think that is what has caused the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭knickerbocker

policarp wrote: »
    Why aren't these offenders "Tagged".
    Happens on the show in "Coronation Street."
    Should happen for all convicts. IMO.

Oh, and we could get him a job in 'underworld' and he could share Roy's flat too!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭Yawns

In January, the Herald revealed that Wright had been given his own punchbag in prison in an effort to reduce his violent aggression.

He should be hung up like a punch bag once a week and have some people come let their aggression out on him. Clearly reform isn't working on this lad and many like him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭lanos

This thug is the human equivalent of a rogue pit bull terrier.
    In the UK, these breeds are banned.
    in Ireland, not so.
    Dangerous dogs should be permanently muzzled.
    i suggest a similar treatment for this animal.

or maybe he should be subject to the mental health act 2001
    he is clearly a danger to himself or others
    he should be incarcerated indefinitely

either way, keep him off the streets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭ThinkAboutIt

When will he be let out? Will have to remember his face.

Typing this makes me sad. The Irish "justice system" eh. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭cookie24

Is there a way for extension of a sentence based on bad behavior? And if so, does it ever happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

We should bring back Lobotomy at least for him until we decide how to dispose of this level of depravity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

I see we have our first Left wing Liberal.

The fact that "society" has failed him is laughable since there are many many examples of people who have had far worse childhoods or severe disadvantages in life and gone on to become decent contributing members of society or at least haven't been attacking people like this irrelevant sub human.

If we look throughout the existence of society we can see people have been in far worse living conditions and so on so I don't entertain the notion that society has been failing him especially in this day and age where help is here and I am sure he has been given/attempted to be helped.

I am not one to advocate death but he is obviously beyond help and should be disposed in the most cost effective way,Lets be honest if this was in the middle east he would have been beaten or had his hand chopped off on the first offence or two and that wouldn't be a story since he would be killed if he continued to pull his little shenanigans over there.

The fact he has in the region of 200+ plus must indicate he is making judges/barristers/gov a lot of money and there in leis the problem with this case,the fact that in 2007 he was jailed for a whole host of crimes the fact he was allowed out to attack 2 more people shows how incompetent the irish system is. Not to mention the cost of keeping watch on him at all times, the hospital bills he has amassed on the state for attacks on nurses and prison guards who are working with him.

If he is released which I'm sure is pretty likely given how retarded the Irish government is he will attack again given his track record, lets hope it's not a family member or friend of yours then, because if it is I hope you keep the same opinion and don't contradict yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Ah yes, it's societies fault. The law abiding public should hang their heads in shame. I suppose capitalism and FF are to blame too?

What a waste of resources. 3 or 4 officers in riot gear outside his cell to control him every time the door is opened.

Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

I pity the prison officers. And people say they're overpaid???