YbFocus wrote: » What are you doing Hal!!!!
Hal1 wrote: » Ah just browsing reddit. If only I had the resources to build a project like that :cool:.
YbFocus wrote: » Christ i was like you kept that quiet! I'd rather the feel of one feck off turbo
wotzgoingon wrote: » That's what I was gonna reply to you when you said they would all be on a low setting. One high pressure turbo would probably put out just as much as the three combined on a low setting.
YbFocus wrote: » It's more to do with reduced lag than the same overall power. One big turbo creates lots of lag, where as using 2 (one the same as the single turbo and one smaller to help it spool) reduces lag and helps response
toastedpickles wrote: » So for feeling bad for my shoddy attempt at wiring on the car, I'm now teaching myself now to wire properly using proper stuff
Bpmull wrote: » Bit of insulation tape. be grand :pac:
Noccy_Mondy wrote: » How much did you pay for the wiring pickles? Pickles: Um, I don't know, it came with the car. Shoddy, shoddy, shoddy.
Snotaul Goodman wrote: » Had a look at your build thread there. Buy yourself a good crimpers, wire strippers and a load of assorted crimp connectors. Much cheaper in a motor factors or electrical wholesalers than the likes of Halfords for connectors. Sit down and practice stripping and crimping with a few offcuts of cable. I had boxes and boxes of them connectors in the home house shed until my mother "accidentally" fired them into a skip during a clearout :mad: I told her when I moved out not to touch the shed! Ah well.
toastedpickles wrote: » See i have the bits, i just need wire, I've feck all wire, plus i need to figure out how the connectors actually work yknow? so that's my night sorted it seems
Snotaul Goodman wrote: » Any use? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-WN-lBkjkAc Also [Electrician Snotaul] All those crimp connectors are colour coded to the size of cable needed. Red connector- 0.5mm2 to 1.5mm2 Blue- 1.5mm2 to 2.5mm2 Yellow- 4mm2 to 6mm2 [/Electrician Snotaul] You will probably come across all those cable sizes as you go on so no harm in learning cable sizes and matching connectors. It pretty easy once you get the hang of it. See if you can get hold of a few off-cuts of 1.5, 2.5, 4 and 6mm2 cable and work with them. Even though I'm an electrician (well I was), I always find it difficult to explain certain things to people online Much easier when you're with them in person
wotzgoingon wrote: » That's true alright I suppose. VW tried to do with the TSI engines. One supercharger for low rev power and then switch to turbo for high revs. Someone on here said recently they had to get rid of that in the newer TSI engines as it caused alot of problems supposedly.
toastedpickles wrote: » Haha I'm very grateful! I watched a video there apparently I'm best off using, a non insulated connection with heat shrink tubing around it, as there wont be any shorts or water getting in
Snotaul Goodman wrote: » That sounds good too. I don't really see much of a difference between using insulated or non insulated once you've heat shrank them. I find that insulated crimps tend to have a tighter connection to be honest (but that depends on the type of crimping tool you use too). Best of luck with it anyway. You'll pick it up in no time. If you think I can be of any help drop me a PM
toastedpickles wrote: » I've one of them draper multi tool things one of these exact yokes And it's not crimping the connection solid, I can nearly talk the wire back out so i'll figure something out, hopefully i will, id like to get the hang of wiring, also seriously appreciate the help If i can be of any use either, gimme a shout
Snotaul Goodman wrote: » No offence but I despise those type of crimpers but they might do the job on non insulated crimps. I prefer a ratchet crimpers such as Cheers dude. Will do! If the wire is still a bit loose with the crimper you're using it could mean that the crimp connector is too big. Try a smaller size or you can try a slight cowboy method of crimping it as tight as you can and then using a pliers to give it that extra squeeze to secure it. Try not make s**t of the connector though
toastedpickles wrote: » A friend of mine who is a hgv mechanic swore by them so i figured sure why not, but I'll look into getting one of them, knowing my luck I'll make bits of the connector though, heres a stupid question, does the wire need to be touching in the connector or does the connector act as like a bridge to both pieces?
Snotaul Goodman wrote: » Get one off ebay for a few quid. No such thing as a stupid question when it comes to electricity. As in should the wire be touching its connection point once its crimped? No. A good crimped connection looks like this whether it be a spade connector (which you're using), a lug (pictured) or any connector for that matter The bare copper shouldn't be exposed at all
toastedpickles wrote: » Perfect yeah that's pretty much what I was getting at, like here's one i just done, i think it's alright
Snotaul Goodman wrote: » Thats nearly spot on. Crimp the bottom part too. I should have mentioned that earlier. You'll need to crimp twice with your crimping tool. Once with a ratchet crimper. Should look something like this minus the exposed copper
Snotaul Goodman wrote: » I'd shed a light on it alright
toastedpickles wrote: » This picture makes me happy for so many resaons :pac: I also told him to set fire to it earlier, rings me going I found what looks to be a black widow!! To someone who is terrified of spiders :pac:
toastedpickles wrote: » Size of its arse :pac:
dgt wrote: » That's its abdomen :P