Russel Brand owning Fox News

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

Why do you find that funny?

I didn't. I found it interesting and "funny that he did a better job than Brand". Sentence structure son, learn it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 Golovkin p4p best

I didn't. I found it interesting and "funny that he did a better job than Brand". Sentence structure son, learn it.

Why did you find it interesting, it's normal for people to have abilities that aren't equal.

If everybody looked the same, we'd get tired of lookin' at each other.

Great, now I have that song in my head....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

I didn't like brand until he took on Fox News. Now I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

How much did he buy it off Murdoch for?

I don't read threads anymore.

I didn't like brand until he took on Fox News. Now I do.

AaaaAAAAAaaah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Used to not like him for silly reasons, but actually watching a lot of his videos he comes across as very smart, well spoken and makes great points. Changed my opinion of him completely once you get past a bit of a silly exterior.

I think it's because he started off with that Big Brother ****e. A lot of people immediately thought he was an absolute plonker and hated him then by default. (including myself)

I've seen him do quite a few things in the last 4-5 years, from standup to films to rants online and my opinion has totally flipped.

It is hilarious how he winds up Fox News. Every time they attack him he gets another video out of it and more followers.

Seriously. Eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Clankatron

This thread can be summed up like this:

Celebrity who doesn't need to give the slightest **** about anyone or anything, yet bizarrely, does: "Hey folks, we've let the world go to **** a bit and the scum seem to be getting away with it too! Here's my opinion etc."

Nauseatingly predictable Irish people response: "Shut up, ****in hippie. Dribble etc. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

I'm going to subscribe to Russell on youtube now after watching that.

If its him vs Fox, I will back him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Surly Fox News is only really watched by people who already hold the same values and prejudices? No undecided thinking person would be swayed by their ridiculously obvious propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭squeekyduck

I am not down with this Americanisation slang. For a minute I thought he bought fox news!

Clankatron wrote: »

Celebrity who doesn't need to give the slightest **** about anyone or anything, yet bizarrely, does: "Hey folks, we've let the world go to **** a bit and the scum seem to be getting away with it too! Here's my opinion etc."

Nauseatingly predictable Irish people response: "Shut up, ****in hippie. Dribble etc. "

Not seeing that on this thread.

Do you work for Fox? Did you read any of the other posts?

Also, drivel not dribble.

Not seeing that on this thread.

You should probably read it then.

Watch out guys! :pac:

Do you work for Fox? Did you read any of the other posts?

Also, drivel not dribble.

First, clearly I'm not? What are you on about?

Second, dribble as in drooling/dumb. Not drivel, like your response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,293 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    These guys do a much better job on Fox than Brand ever could.

I find Brand pretentious and he is simply pushing his own communist, anti-American agenda.

Reds under the beds lol :rolleyes:

First, clearly I'm not? What are you on about?

Second, dribble as in drooling/dumb. Not drivel, like your response.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

Nauseatingly predictable Irish people response

Looks like you don't understand how an internet blogging site functions. People bring up topics they want to talk about, if you can't stomach that, then maybe you should just close your account.

Oh look, you figured out memes! That's cute! Well done! Condescension you wanted, was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Fuzzytrooper

I wonder what would happen if Russel Brand literally owned Fox news.

Oh look, you figured out memes! That's cute! Well done! Condescension you wanted, was it?

I like you.

Vandango wrote: »
    Looks like you don't understand how an internet blogging site functions. People bring up topics they want to talk about, if you can't stomach that, then maybe you should just close your account.

Thanks for telling me how an internet forum works. Am I not allowed my opinion, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

If he had a short back and sides and a sensible suit, people would listen to him. But because he's a recovering junkie, now comedian who looks like an extra from a Tim Burton film, he's a joke, no one should mind his trivial nonsense!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Yes, they wrote the shows jingle and have appeared on a few of the shows also.

I think he is an excellent comedian, seen him many times and will do again, hopefully, but imo, I think the guy also happens to be a moron.

An excellent vocabulary does not an intelligent person make.

Anyone that has watched all his videos (which I have) will know that the drum that this guy keeps beating is that people need to take as much power away from corporations and Government as possible and that we should not fear immigration, no matter what the numbers.

He regularly reads the YouTube comments while making a video and will just piss himself laughing when anyone mentions the immigration level (which they do, all the time) and say that the powers that be want you to fear them and focus on them to take your mind off what they are doing with all the money.

His idealistic views on world politics, are pretty much what you would find being bandied around any student bar but most people tend to grow up when they leave college and realize that the world can't be run border-less (as Brand keeps childish suggesting it should be).

Being 'right on' is what drives him. He opened the paper in one video a few weeks back and there was a picture of Stella McCartney and few models and he said something like 'Look at this superficial image where they just want to show you pretty women and are not at all concerned with anything else about the women other than that'. It was complete and utter nonsense as the picture was alongside a story. Would he say the same if it was George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Affleck, Damon etc, pictured in tuxes leaving the Oscars? Of course not.

Brand constantly, and nauseatingly, goes on and on about how the media all have their own particular narrative (and I agree, they do - of course they do) but nobody adheres to a particular predetermined narrative more than Russell Brand does. He sees EVERYTHING thorough his own narrow little pinhole on the world and refuses to see anyone else's point on issues, let alone take them on board. He uses his comedic skills to gloss over the occasions when he is owned and manipulates the viewer into laughing as he does it and so you get tricked into believing he was right but it's only later when you think back on what he actually said, that you realize that the guy was full of **** and that what he said made little or no sense.

Some issues he is right about, for sure, I'm not saying he is wrongheaded on every issue he has tackled, but 90% of the time he is just waffling and regurgitating the same old (at this stage) tired lines about how the people with all the money in the world need to be toppled and when they are, the revolution will set the poverty stricken free. As I say: idealistic student shite. With regards to Fox News, they are clowns at the best of times, but Brand had implied that the black guy was being a traitor to his race, in one of his videos, just by being on Fox News and airing the opinion that he did. They called him a racist and tbf.. they had a point.

Such a load of crap

Czarcasm wrote: »
    For this alone, he should be taken outside and shot with a whole cement truck load of his own shìte.

It's easy to sound more intelligent and interesting than the other guy when you have an articulate vocabulary.

That's why I wouldn't buy into the whole Brand... brand. He's tiresome at best, with an act that gets very old, very quickly. If it weren't for his eccentricity, would he be half the media socialite he is?

I very much doubt it tbh. I like to give credit where it's due though, so for him to get to where he is as opposed to where he came from, I would consider him extremely intelligent in that respect.

Outwitting FOX news and the WBC though? Even I could do that much, and that's not saying a whole lot :pac:

Katy Perry is hot but is a complete gimp. I'd say that's probably where the marital problems were for Brand. Would you stay married to a complete gimp?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

He's one of the most misunderstood geniuses to ever live. Every video of him is incredible. I'd love to meet him one day and have a chat.

The most misunderstood genius ever is Charles Darwin.

I don't even know who this clown is....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Peist2007 wrote: »
    Katy Perry is hot but is a complete gimp. I'd say that's probably where the marital problems were for Brand. Would you stay married to a complete gimp?

Why would you marry a 'complete gimp' in the first place though? I always wondered about that. What the hell did the pair of them talk about?

o1s1n wrote: »
    Why would you marry a 'complete gimp' in the first place though? I always wondered about that. What the hell did the pair of them talk about?

Yeah i agree but maybe the orange ball and leather suit only came out after they got married. Although that doesnt make sense either ;)