Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

The Sunday Times had an article about Ryanair online booking that reminded me of something that grates me everytime I book with them. They add a Travel Insurance charge as default and to uncheck, you have to go through their drop down country list to select "Do Not Insure Me". Why is it discreetly located in a country list and why can they not have a more visible check flag instead? Better still, stop the insurance add on by default!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 buppydogs

Just out of school book shop/ lady in front of me goes to till with books, shop assistant puts her books through, lady walks back to shop floor starts picking up copy books, walks back to till, walks away again picks up colouring pencils, walks back asks where are the magazines, walks away again/ I'm next in queue, poor people 5 people behind me!!! Like wtf... Then walks back & says I've to get the book Hamlet, or is it macbeth, shop assistant says it is for 5th year could be merchant of Ennis, no 2nd class she says, he says Romeo & Juliet- she goes ya that's it/ so he goes to shop floor to get that. Back she comes, now she's a science book!!! Are people on another planet couldn't she have handed him a list in the once place.. Anyway this should be trivial but wasn't when queuing with 2 small kids. Eventually she finished & left. Felt sorry for the guy working there, his head was wrecked for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

That is a sad substitute for a steak. :(

I know :( I must say it was probably the nicest granola bar I ever had! I'd still swap a wagon of those for one tiny steak :o

buppydogs wrote: »
    Just out of school book shop/ lady in front of me goes to till with books, shop assistant puts her books through, lady walks back to shop floor starts picking up copy books, walks back to till, walks away again picks up colouring pencils, walks back asks where are the magazines, walks away again/ I'm next in queue, poor people 5 people behind me!!! Like wtf... Then walks back & says I've to get the book Hamlet, or is it macbeth, shop assistant says it is for 5th year could be merchant of Ennis, no 2nd class she says, he says Romeo & Juliet- she goes ya that's it/ so he goes to shop floor to get that. Back she comes, now she's a science book!!! Are people on another planet couldn't she have handed him a list in the once place.. Anyway this should be trivial but wasn't when queuing with 2 small kids. Eventually she finished & left. Felt sorry for the guy working there, his head was wrecked for sure.

What a cow!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Afraid not, I am partial to a nice whiskey, Jameson. Just a little one now and again, straight. Takes a while to develop the taste for it. Now, for all those American bourbons.....not a chance, awful stuff.
    So to sort out the menfrom the boysdo you or your buddies take it neat... All the time... Sometimes... Diluted mostly with water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

buppydogs wrote: »

I wonder is it any good?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,792 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Not as good as "Two Gentlemen of Omagh".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

It's about a traveller that trades piebald horses.

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Not as good as "Two Gentlemen of Omagh".

I might read it, while listening to Dolly Partons biggest hits:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,792 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

gramar wrote: »
    It's about a traveller that trades piebald horses.

By Spancil-Hill-iam Shakespeare.

On a different topic, I had my bank manager on this morning asking if I needed any loans! Is it 2006 again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Used my online banking to top up someone's phone for them but clicked on the wrong network so they never got the credit but the money has left my account :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Can't do the onion. I love onion but it doesn't love me anymore which is trivially annoying.

I wonder is that a "getting older" thing?
    Foods I love and have always eaten have recently turned against me. Onion, garlic, thyme are the major offenders :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Used my online banking to top up someone's phone for them but clicked on the wrong network so they never got the credit but the money has left my account :(

I did something like that years ago in a shop.

'are you sure that's the number?' I was asked.
    'Oh I am says I, totally sure'
    'Positive?'
    'oh yeah fire away, that's her alright, no mistaking it'

got home no message to confirm the top-up...checked the receipt.
    Wrong fcuking number. Put 20€ on someone elses phone. Dickhead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

gramar wrote: »
    I did something like that years ago in a shop.

'are you sure that's the number?' I was asked.
    'Oh I am says I, totally sure'
    'Positive?'
    'oh yeah fire away, that's her alright, no mistaking it'

got home no message to confirm the top-up...checked the receipt.
    Wrong fcuking number. Put 20€ on someone elses phone. Dickhead.

As if money isn't hard enough to come by :( I cant figure out how it hasn't been refunded yet though because I put the right number but the wrong network so it should "bounce" - there wouldn't be anyone on a different network with the same number would there? :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

czechlin wrote: »
    What a cow!!! :mad:

To be honest, a different c-word comes to mind :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Ignorant people who think its fine to insult someone. I work with a howiya. She has a uniform in work, but I'd imagine she dresses in velour track suits and wears hoops in her free time.

She turns around to me today and said "Jesus you look wicked bad, whats wrong with yeh?" Eh, no I don't, I look fine. Being a natural colour instead of being incinerated looking doesn't mean I'm sick. She's one of those girls who you wouldn't know if they were black or white.

And I've replaced two meals per day with protein shakes, because they fill me up and I'm not inclined to snack on ****e during the day. Of course she has to comment on that, telling me that it's not healthy, while she's waiting on her pop tarts to pop out of the toaster in the staff room.

Simpleton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Big prams.:mad: My GP was on a weeks holiday and only got back today. I left it as late as possible to go to see him this morning and the place was jammed solid. There were 2 seperate couples, each with huge prams, blocking a space that's no more than a metre wide. So people were crammed in against the wall, while others tried to squeeze in and out of a tiny gap.

I waited for the person in with the receptionist to come out then I went in and left the book I needed my blood test results in so I wouldn't needlessly take up an appointment. This cnut bursts in behind me ranting about there being other people ahead of me:confused: Dafuq didn't she go in then when it was her turn? I'm down to my last nerve after the stressful week I had last week so she was seriously pushing it.

I wanted to point out how fugly her tattoo is and ask her whether it's him or her that's so fricking insecure in the relationship that she needs to brand herself with his name in letters so big the tattoo is over a foot long. I didn't even know there was a fecking queue.:mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    As if money isn't hard enough to come by :( I cant figure out how it hasn't been refunded yet though because I put the right number but the wrong network so it should "bounce" - there wouldn't be anyone on a different network with the same number would there? :/

Just out of curiosity, I tried that there (I'm on the Three network, ported over from Vodafone so my number starts with 087) - Not only is someone on 083 with the same number, but also 085 and 086 too!

After that I just stopped because it was too weird and I may get someone calling me later saying they missed a call from me :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Smidge wrote: »
    I wonder is that a "getting older" thing?
    Foods I love and have always eaten have recently turned against me. Onion, garlic, thyme are the major offenders :(

I've wondered the same thing often.

My offenders are onion, hot sauce and peanut butter and I have eaten those all my life.

Cat?:pac:

Sorry, I'm still stuck on the steak... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭BeerSteakBirds

Its happened again. I was forced to make a lodgement to my bank account and credit card.

At the Bank they refused to take my money at a counter and force me to make a lodgement through the machine, a machine which 50% of the time swallows my money and causes a lot of stress.

At another bank I was told I would be charged for my lodgement... So let me get this straight. I give you cash which you can add to your balance sheet/ short term loan to someone else etc and you are gonna freakin charge me for it even though you are so desperate for money you get it off the IMF ? But dont worry folks, the charge is smaller if you user the self service lodgement machines. Last time one swallowed my money and I didnt get it credited to my account for 2 days. I didnt get to charge them though.

Everytime I have parked in College Green Bank of Ireland for the last few weeks, as I drive towards it there seems to be a permanent road works which holds up the whole street. Later inspections revealed these road works to be not really so massive. If this was Germany they would be fixing a capital main street overnight and have it done in one or two nights max. And they would probably lay steel plates over the holes so that traffic would resume as normal during the day.

Trivial things : Banks and how customer service is a thing of the past, The Irish way of doing things or just passively accepting what they are told about how things should be done. I doubt Bank of Ireland is complaining much about the road works outside it's entrance on College Green. Why should they when they are part of a cosy cartel-like fixed market anyway ?

czechlin wrote: »
    Sorry, I'm still stuck on the steak... :D
    Fat Christy would have a better retort. I'm not responsible how rare you like your stake.

gugleguy wrote: »
    Fat Christy would have a better retort. I'm not responsible how rare you like your stake.

Sorry to disappoint gugleguy:P I don't really care how rare my stake is as long as it's hard with a sharp end, gotta watch for them vampires, those blood suckers can be nasty... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

czechlin is your stake called Mr Pointy ? ;)

Eircom.............and the how difficult it is to get them to answer the fcuking phone!!

Press this, press that............................press the butt end of me bollix!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

eisenberg1 not just eircom I hate all those automated answering services.
    oh lord I now sound like my Mother in law :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Trivial things : Banks and how customer service is a thing of the past, The Irish way of doing things or just passively accepting what they are told about how things should be done.

This is not trivial. I'm all for banks becoming tech savy and online banking. I use it a lot. Great system. Sometimes it is just easier to pop into the bank to pay off your credit card. When I attempt to do this and the cashier/bank attendant/thing tells me they cannot take money anymore and I have to use a machine/do it online it drives me nuts. I don't know my credit card pin. I use it for online shopping. I've enough **** to remember. I know you sent me out a letter. I have no idea where that letter is. Just take my money and stop sending me snotty letters about accounts in arrears.

MsBubbles wrote: »
    czechlin is your stake called Mr Pointy ? ;)

That shall remain a secret!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Its happened again. I was forced to make a lodgement to my bank account and credit card...

Banks are 'avin' a right fackin' giraffe, innit. They've figured out that making huge profits here is easy - just gradually reduce to the point of non-existence the actual services provided, and make the gawbeens (myself included, Boy Voted "Most Likely To End Up Trying To Eat His Own Head For A Bet, 1989") pay for the privilege of being taken for a ride. And of course if they end up making a horlicks of that much the idjit government will probably bail them out again. Nice work if you can get it. :pac: