Alcohol restrictions on Dublin-Waterford train services

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭bikeman1

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    They do have, in the same way bouncers remove someone from a club.

As a regular DART user I have seen them lift scumbags off the train.

I know talking to a number of women who would never dream of getting a late night quiet DART for fear of attack. They are now comfortable to use the train, because the security presence has made a huge difference.

So I think it is unfair to suggest they do nothing. Even as a tall strong lad, I wouldn't want to mess with some of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,148 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

bikeman1 wrote: »
    As a regular DART user I have seen them lift scumbags off the train.

I know when the Gardaí are sometimes called to the Luas they spent more time dealing with the STT people then the person who they removed.
    bikeman1 wrote: »
    I know talking to a number of women who would never dream of getting a late night quiet DART for fear of attack. They are now comfortable to use the train, because the security presence has made a huge difference.

So I think it is unfair to suggest they do nothing. Even as a tall strong lad, I wouldn't want to mess with some of them!

That's the problem. The average law abiding person is afraid of them because they look big and are tough. The average scumbag doesn't as they know they'll have a free legal aid solicitor to sue them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,012 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

The ones that IE now employ seem to have a lot more Irish people, not being racist or anything but the scum will respect Irish more and they are better at dealing with these type of low lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,055 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    The ones that IE now employ seem to have a lot more Irish people, not being racist or anything but the scum will respect Irish more and they are better at dealing with these type of low lives.

I cant see how being Irish makes them being better at dealing with low lives. 2 points, 1 Apart from one or two, its the same lads working for the new company and most were Irish anyway. 2 You dont know the work history of the non irish lads to say that they are inferior to the irish lads in dealing with low lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,922 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

not being racist or anything but
    one can write a point mentioning foreign nationals without telling everyone how their not racist, just saying

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

I cant see how being Irish makes them being better at dealing with low lives. 2 points, 1 Apart from one or two, its the same lads working for the new company and most were Irish anyway. 2 You dint know the work history of the non Irish lads to say that they are inferior to the Irish lads in dealing with low lives.

1 if most are still the same then why didn't they stay with STT and why if there is little change have IE replaced STT with this one. Only thing I can think of is less cost?

What I meant about being Irish dealing with Irish from seem many incidents, Irish ones don't get as much **** off them. Such as raciest and I just feel that Irish ones will do more, I have saw some not all of the others just get off trams and not deal with the problem.

Its the same with RPU staff on the Luas, very few Irish ones get much hassle compared to others.
    one can write a point mentioning foreign nationals without telling everyone how their not racist, just saying

With the way this country is going so politically correct can you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,922 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

you absolutely can, as you can guess from my posts here i write what i feel and if theirs a back-clash so be it, i don't buy in to this PC crap at all, i respect those who respect me and disrespect those who think they can treat me like crap, a good way to live IMO, anyway, i'l leave it at that

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,055 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

1 if most are still the same then why didn't they stay with STT and why if there is little change have IE replaced STT with this one. Only thing I can think of is less cost?

What I meant about being Irish dealing with Irish from seem many incidents, Irish ones don't get as much **** off them. Such as raciest and I just feel that Irish ones will do more, I have saw some not all of the others just get off trams and not deal with the problem.

Its the same with RPU staff on the Luas, very few Irish ones get much hassle compared to others.

Cost is right. Brinks got the contract and took on most of the STT staff.

If the Irish staff gets less hassle just because they are irish then that only shows up the racist side of Irish society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,990 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Ridiculous policy altogether that only reinforces the old "Irish alcoholic" stereotype. It's 2013 FFS!

Should be no alcohol served/consumed on ANY form of public transport - anyone caught drinking should be ejected at the next station.

Why? In case they can't handle it and get drunk? Seriously, adults need to be treated as adults, and not protected from themselves by nannyism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,320 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Cost is right. Brinks got the contract and took on most of the STT staff.

There is some employment law thing that more or less obliges companies to take on the old staff on the same terms for a contract service like this. Brinks would have had to retain the old guys on this basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭eejoynt

its called TUPE - transfer of undertakings protection of employment and it derives from eu law
    to summarise a very complex instrument in tweet length
    if you win the contract you must take over the staff that go with it on their old wages, t& Cs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Ban the Beers on trains? Hell no.

I love my train beers when heading up to Dublin for a gig. Whats wrong with two mates sharing a 6 pack over a 2 hour journey?

Then again if people are gonna get noisey or causing hassle for other train users then something should be done. The same way something should be done about noisey kids on trains or people who listen to their music through the speakers on thier phones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

I love my train beers when heading up to Dublin for a gig. Whats wrong with two mates sharing a 6 pack over a 2 hour journey?

Then again if people are gonna get noisey or causing hassle for other train users then something should be done. The same way something should be done about noisey kids on trains or people who listen to their music through the speakers on thier phones.

Your dead right.
    Once it affects other passengers, this measure is inevitable and probably for the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

What's to be done though when there is no staff member on board or available. The intercoms to the train driver are only for emergencies and what will the drivers do anyway?

No need for you to worry. The Waterford trains attracts many skangers from Dublin who couldn't afford to get a Cork train so that won't be an issue. If Waterford services attracted a higher class there would be no ban in place. Was enforced very well on Friday afternoon.
    What's to be done though when there is no staff member on board or available. The intercoms to the train driver are only for emergencies and what will the drivers do anyway?

If there are no other staff members onboard, passengers are premitted to use the emergancy intercoms to alert the driver to a problem onboard. Drivers can't do much and will most likely leave it untl they get to the following station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭jasonbourne.cs

to be honest not really surprised with the ban , I have been on the 1740 and 1840 trains numerous times from Dublin and have witnessed junkies / knackers rock up with a bag of cans when they are barely able to stand as is !

usually with a gaggle of kids or a buggy as well , that they let run wild while they have a few tins...... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,643 ✭✭✭✭cson

On the 1630 to Galway and those flyers were on the tables.

Bit **** if its policy on every service; I'd be fond of a beer on the train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭stehyl15

We need thougher ticket inpectors and there be no need for security or transport police and guards would there on standby to help like i was on a regional train in italy who dont go around for fines just kick messers (usually blacks) off not being rascist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Few cans and a game of cards is the only reason not to drive
    Haven't took a train in Ireland since 2007 but up till then it was standard to have few cans and a laugh on the train
    We shared and didn't get plastered maybe it was abused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

Tigger wrote: »
    We shared and didn't get plastered maybe it was abused

Dublin stag/hen parties going to Carlow/KK/Waterford and returning Sunday.

They are a good reason to avoid outward trains on Friday midday on and Sundays returning.