9yo accidentally kills gun instructor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

GerB40 wrote: »
    I hope this isn't in bad taste but do you mind if I ask, where did you fire an Uzi? I'm assuming America but any closer to home would slightly worry me.

Surprisingly no, not America, though I do try to get in some handgun practice there whenever I'm over. I worked in Cambodia about 14/15 years ago when the country was still in recovery and quite dangerous, and you could get your hands on AK's, M-16's, Uzi's etc if you wanted to shoot. Uzi is a horrible gun to shoot IMHO, rapid rate of fire means that (a) it's hard to control - the nose of the gun rises rapidly, and (b) it jams - a lot.

I don't consider myself a gun nut by any means - I see it as just another skill to learn, and I've been lucky enough to have received (proper) training at a police academy on everything up to full auto (M4 in this case).

Gun discipline and gun mentality in the US makes me cry by comparison. Beer, hell no, you're not responsible enough to drink until you're 21". Gun on the other hand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

I blame the NRA since it's legal for a 9 year old to fire a gun at a gun range.

Jesus Christ. That's insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,177 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

The child's parents should face charges for bringing her there in the first place.

ryanf1 wrote: »
    The child's parents should face charges for bringing her there in the first place.

How does that work? If the law states that it's perfectly legal for a 9 year old to shoot an Uzi under an instructor's supervision at a gun range, then it's the law that's wrong, not the parents...

Questionable parenting skills, perhaps? But charges? Of what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

The only thing to stop a 9 year old girl with a gun is another 9 year old girl with a gun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

The whole situation is completely insane. Surely, a 9 year old has no business firing a gun, just like they have no business driving a car, even under supervision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Bullets and Burgers

Do you want fries with that bullet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Wossack

The only thing to stop a 9 year old girl with a gun is another 9 year old girl with a gun

or a four and a half year old with 2 guns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

ryanf1 wrote: »

It wasn't smart, but it wasn't illegal. They're obviously gun toters, who wanted to make a video of their 9 year old firing an automatic weapon, to impress their friends and family.

You can find a thousand videos on youtube of young children firing weapons under their parents supervision.

This is a tragedy but what they did was legal. Their daughter was being tutored by a gun range expert who underestimated the power of the weapon recoil vs the child's grip and whilst he tried to stay close for safety reasons, this ended up causing his demise.

Sad sad story and my heart goes out to all the familys/friends affected but the trouble here is the gun laws, not anyone person or persons in particular. It shouldn't be legal for a child to fire a weapon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Very sad. Can you imagine a 9 year old girl trying to deal with what has happened?

I suppose in a country with such lax attitudes to guns, and minors shooting uzis ( :eek: ), these kind of events have to be expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

The place was called 'Bullets and Burgers'. A lovely day out for the family :rolleyes:

I can't even begin to understand how US law allows children that young to handle deadly automatic weapons. The gun culture has just gone crazy over there.

Bullets and Burgers?? Well fúck me. I knew America was in trouble but they're verging on becoming a rogue state now. Armed militias patrol the southern border, young lads are being shot by unhinged police for being black. They're even funding Israels attempt to wipe Palestine off the map.
    And this is the greatest country in the world? The propaganda machine (fox news for example) are certainly doing their job well.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Wossack wrote: »
    or a four and a half year old with 2 guns

Akimbo UZI's all around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

That's part of the school curriculum surely?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Bullets and Burgers sounds like something from GTA

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Its okay, the best way to get over it is to just get up and start again. I'm sure they just brought in another instructor and let her start from the beginning...

Bullets and Burgers sounds like something from GTA

Bullets and Burgers.

In 'murica, only one of these things gets to be regulated.

Kinder eggs are still too dangerous for kids though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

I blame the Uzi. After all, guns don't kill people, it's people who kill people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

The gun range has released a statement:

We have decided to rename the range to; Bullets, Burgers and Bandages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,159 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

dan1895 wrote: »

Why oh why would a 9 year need to be given an Uzi? I feel sorry for the instructor but it is not normal for a little girl to be doing such activities.

You couldn't be more wrong. If she didn't have that gun, the King of England could just walk in there any time he wants, and start shoving her around.
    Do you want that? Huh? Do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

mad muffin wrote: »
    The gun range has released a statement:

We have decided to rename the range to; Bullets, Burgers and Bandages.

All jokes aside they did release a statement saying that they have reviewed their policy and will be putting better restrictions in place.
    Now you have to be 12 yrs or at least 5ft to fire these type of weapons!!
    Yes it still is a joke.
    The greatest threat to American society isn't terrorism it is the Americans themselves.
    Go to a paintball range here everyone is over 16 I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭The Purveyor of Truth

Or... you :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

All jokes aside they did release a statement saying that they have reviewed their policy and will be putting better restrictions in place.
    Now you have to be 12 yrs or at least 5ft to fire these type of weapons!!
    Yes it still is a joke.
    The greatest threat to American society isn't terrorism it is the Americans themselves.
    Go to a paintball range here everyone is over 16 I'd say.

Kids can be feckin tempremental at times. Adults can too, but less so. So what do you do with a 9y/o having a hissy fit with a sub machine gun?

"Yes we will go to McD's again and the zoo, and you can have that bike and drive the car home."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Surprised the pro-gun lot haven't shown up to throw statistics at us.

"Only 2% of 9 year olds with Uzi's fatally shoot someone but 5% of 9 years olds with Uzi's stop criminals so it's actually ok to give 9 year olds Uzi's"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

You can't drive until you're 16 and you can't drink until you're 21 but you can shoot fully automatic weapons from birth. Only in America...

Why should any 9 year old need to be trained in shooting a submachine gun anyway? The mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

You can't drive until you're 16 and you can't drink until you're 21 but you can shoot fully automatic weapons from birth. Only in America...

Why should any 9 year old need to be trained in shooting a submachine gun anyway? The mind boggles.
    Why does anybody need a submachine gun actually? Leaving aside all the self-defence justification, surely a fully automatic anything is pure overkill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭irishbarb

I was watching a YouTube video of a young fella in Utah recording himself driving to move in to his college dorm. He was talking about how he had everything packed up in his truck, including his SIX guns. 'Murica.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,944 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Why does anybody need a submachine gun actually? Leaving aside all the self-defence justification, surely a fully automatic anything is pure overkill.

You've never hunted American deer. They tend to be extremely vicious, some even shoot back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

How exactly was she strong enough to control the muzzle climb on that? What was he thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Remmy wrote: »
    How exactly was she strong enough to control the muzzle climb on that?

She obviously wasn't...