Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

9yo accidentally kills gun instructor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

dan1895 wrote: »

Why oh why would a 9 year need to be given an Uzi?.

To Stay Free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

http://www.newstalk.ie/Nineyearold-girl-accidentally-kills-gun-instructor-with-Uzi

Why oh why would a 9 year need to be given an Uzi? I feel sorry for the instructor but it is not normal for a little girl to be doing such activities. Surely someone would have known she would not be strong enough to handle such a weapon.

America has lost it's way because the right wingers are too powerful..
    It's obviously tragic but observe the deafening silence that'll inevitably come from the NRA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

9 year old....Uzi type machine gun....fatal accident happens....me not surprised.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

She was just trying to lower crime 20%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

So sad. A girl of that age should be sourcing more politically acceptable weapons than the Israeli Uzi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

Give the girl her due, it was one hell of a trick shot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

http://www.newstalk.ie/Nineyearold-girl-accidentally-kills-gun-instructor-with-Uzi

Why oh why would a 9 year need to be given an Uzi? I feel sorry for the instructor but it is not normal for a little girl to be doing such activities. Surely someone would have known she would not be strong enough to handle such a weapon.

I'd think it's not a normal activity for any child, regardless of gender. That poor child will have to live the rest of her life with what has happened and will most likely blame herself.

America, eh? You can't drink until you're 21 but they make weapons specifically designed to kill in child's sizes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

It's a pity the instructor wasn't carrying a gun too so he could defend himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Why does a 9 year old need to know how to shoot an Uzi? In what possible situation is that going to be useful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

The instructors stupidity killed him. And the bullet of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Poor child will probably be traumatised for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Why does a 9 year old need to know how to shoot an Uzi? In what possible situation is that going to be useful.

Invasion of Syria?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

When she's home alone & all the paedos break in to rape her of course, think they're adding it to the constitution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

She was going on holidays to Rotherham!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Guns don't kill people, toddlers do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

tallus wrote: »
    Poor child will probably be traumatised for life.

Will still own a gun though no doubt when she is older!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Murica :rolleyes:
    you just knew where it was even before opening the link.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

A trained gun instructor (assuming he is actually trained...) allowing a 9 year old girl to fire an automatic weapon? Entirely his own fault tbh. Thank god the girl wasn't injured too, though she has to live with the fact she killed somebody due to their own stupidity.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

What 9 year old needs to know how to fire a gun?

Poor thing will be traumatized for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

A trained gun instructor (assuming he is actually trained...) allowing a 9 year old girl to fire an automatic weapon? Entirely his own fault tbh. Thank god the girl wasn't injured too, though she has to live with the fact she killed somebody due to their own stupidity.

I blame the NRA since it's legal for a 9 year old to fire a gun at a gun range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

There are so many far too mushy culpable idiots involved in this story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

"Now Suzie, I know you wanted a dog, but we know you're too irresponsible to handle taking care of it. So have this Uzi instead."

Got to love a country where there are age limits on driving and buying alcohol for the greater good, but not, apparently, on emptying a clip from a fully automatic weapon. I've fired Uzis at the range before, and the speed at which that thing can empty a clip is scary - no way in hell a 9 year old should have had it in her hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Sur did ya see the show on kids with guns in America.

I think the girl was 5/6 and father bought her her first gun. A 44 rifle and couldn't understand why she like it.

Gun instructor never sed maybe too young. He sed maybe a 22 would be better for a first rifle.

Another had his small daughter firing a mini gun. And I don't mean a small gun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Such a tragedy.

Quite misguided of anyone to think that giving a 9yo access to an uzi is a sensible, responsible thing to do. Even pistol or rifle shooting is an irresponsible activity for a 9yo, but there's no excuse for allowing her to use an automatic weapon loaded with live ammo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

"Now that you've fired a single shot without the recoil hitting your face, I think you're fully qualified to fire the weapon in fully automatic mode".

Entire American school of thought around gun safety summed up in one video.

Poor little girl :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

This is moments before she shot him

mike_ie wrote: »
    "Now Suzie, I know you wanted a dog, but we know you're too irresponsible to handle taking care of it. So have this Uzi instead."

Got to love a country where there are age limits on driving and buying alcohol for the greater good, but not, apparently, on emptying a clip from a fully automatic weapon. I've fired Uzis at the range before, and the speed at which that thing can empty a clip is scary - no way in hell a 9 year old should have had it in her hands.

I hope this isn't in bad taste but do you mind if I ask, where did you fire an Uzi? I'm assuming America but any closer to home would slightly worry me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

My brother once let me have a go of his shotgun. Immediately that he handed it to me I was overwhelmed by the realisation of how easy it would be to kill him. All I had to do was have my finger in the wrong place, or stumble and fall, and my brother would be wiped off the face of the planet. I took a couple of shots and gave it back to him, but the feeling has never left me. Though I'd use a gun again (he promised to take me to get some rabbits), it was terrifying, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

The place was called 'Bullets and Burgers'. A lovely day out for the family :rolleyes:

I can't even begin to understand how US law allows children that young to handle deadly automatic weapons. The gun culture has just gone crazy over there.

GerB40 wrote: »
    I hope this isn't in bad taste but do you mind if I ask, where did you fire an Uzi? I'm assuming America but any closer to home would slightly worry me.

Surprisingly no, not America, though I do try to get in some handgun practice there whenever I'm over. I worked in Cambodia about 14/15 years ago when the country was still in recovery and quite dangerous, and you could get your hands on AK's, M-16's, Uzi's etc if you wanted to shoot. Uzi is a horrible gun to shoot IMHO, rapid rate of fire means that (a) it's hard to control - the nose of the gun rises rapidly, and (b) it jams - a lot.

I don't consider myself a gun nut by any means - I see it as just another skill to learn, and I've been lucky enough to have received (proper) training at a police academy on everything up to full auto (M4 in this case).

Gun discipline and gun mentality in the US makes me cry by comparison. Beer, hell no, you're not responsible enough to drink until you're 21". Gun on the other hand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Jesus Christ. That's insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

The child's parents should face charges for bringing her there in the first place.

ryanf1 wrote: »
    The child's parents should face charges for bringing her there in the first place.

How does that work? If the law states that it's perfectly legal for a 9 year old to shoot an Uzi under an instructor's supervision at a gun range, then it's the law that's wrong, not the parents...

Questionable parenting skills, perhaps? But charges? Of what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

The only thing to stop a 9 year old girl with a gun is another 9 year old girl with a gun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

The whole situation is completely insane. Surely, a 9 year old has no business firing a gun, just like they have no business driving a car, even under supervision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Bullets and Burgers

Do you want fries with that bullet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

The only thing to stop a 9 year old girl with a gun is another 9 year old girl with a gun

or a four and a half year old with 2 guns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

ryanf1 wrote: »

It wasn't smart, but it wasn't illegal. They're obviously gun toters, who wanted to make a video of their 9 year old firing an automatic weapon, to impress their friends and family.

You can find a thousand videos on youtube of young children firing weapons under their parents supervision.

This is a tragedy but what they did was legal. Their daughter was being tutored by a gun range expert who underestimated the power of the weapon recoil vs the child's grip and whilst he tried to stay close for safety reasons, this ended up causing his demise.

Sad sad story and my heart goes out to all the familys/friends affected but the trouble here is the gun laws, not anyone person or persons in particular. It shouldn't be legal for a child to fire a weapon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Very sad. Can you imagine a 9 year old girl trying to deal with what has happened?

I suppose in a country with such lax attitudes to guns, and minors shooting uzis ( :eek: ), these kind of events have to be expected.

The place was called 'Bullets and Burgers'. A lovely day out for the family :rolleyes:

I can't even begin to understand how US law allows children that young to handle deadly automatic weapons. The gun culture has just gone crazy over there.

Bullets and Burgers?? Well fúck me. I knew America was in trouble but they're verging on becoming a rogue state now. Armed militias patrol the southern border, young lads are being shot by unhinged police for being black. They're even funding Israels attempt to wipe Palestine off the map.
    And this is the greatest country in the world? The propaganda machine (fox news for example) are certainly doing their job well.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Wossack wrote: »
    or a four and a half year old with 2 guns

Akimbo UZI's all around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

That's part of the school curriculum surely?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Bullets and Burgers sounds like something from GTA

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Its okay, the best way to get over it is to just get up and start again. I'm sure they just brought in another instructor and let her start from the beginning...

Bullets and Burgers sounds like something from GTA

Bullets and Burgers.

In 'murica, only one of these things gets to be regulated.

Kinder eggs are still too dangerous for kids though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

I blame the Uzi. After all, guns don't kill people, it's people who kill people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

The gun range has released a statement:

We have decided to rename the range to; Bullets, Burgers and Bandages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,519 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Why oh why would a 9 year need to be given an Uzi? I feel sorry for the instructor but it is not normal for a little girl to be doing such activities.

You couldn't be more wrong. If she didn't have that gun, the King of England could just walk in there any time he wants, and start shoving her around.
    Do you want that? Huh? Do you?