Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

When people say "An empty bottle of whiskey/coke/shampoo/whatever the fcuk"

Surely its "An empty coke bottle" .....

Anyone? please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

The word "delimit" - I know what it means but somehow it seems counter-intuituve. If you think of the meaning of "limit" one would imagine that putting a "de" before it should negative the meaning, so "delimit" should be about removing limits as opposed to prescribing them. Sigh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

That would be "unlimit". :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

whirlpool wrote: »
    One of my friends who I hang out with regularly. She's a mature, smart, funny woman - which is what makes it even more surprising to me when she sneezes into her bare hand. Not only does she sneeze into her hand, but she never even washes it after, or so much as makes use of a tissue, before touching anything else. And this happens all the time when she's over in my house. And then gives me a hug when we're saying goodbye.

It's bothers THE LIVING CRAP outta me.

Ugh. I hate that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Have to collect a prescription from doctor's surgery this morning. One receptionist is such a pain! She does this peculiar thing, shuffles papers from hand to hand as you stand at the desk, not looking at them, just making a production out of finding the feckin thing, even though it is always there. All of the others just glance, and hand it out. It's like her little power trip. Big production, asking all of your details, all over again. She was stymied one day when I went in, and as she was about to start, the doctor came by, called me by name, and picked up the required bit of paper, and handed it to me without any further ado. :pac:
    She is awful on the phone as well, I've heard her in action more than once.
    Trivial, but I much prefer when it's one of the others, (who are all really nice), that is there, not her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

I work for a family run firm and the boss's layabout son comes in on the scrounge.

He's a mouthbreather which drives me mad and he's a smoker so he sounds like an overweight darth vader.

On top of that his brings in his dog who has the whole office stinking of wet dog inspite of me spraying air freshner liberally and open windows.

He's gone off and left the stench behind. grrrr

OldNotWIse wrote: »

Ah, but:
    also used as a prefix in Latin usually meaning "down, off, away, from among, down from," but also "down to the bottom, totally" hence "completely" (intensive or completive), which is its sense in many English words.

Also, no, unlimit is not a word. I was just kidding :p. But I can't really think of a place where such a verb would be appropriate. I'd have thought you would never 'unlimit' something, the action you would be performing would be to 'remove' the limit which had been put in place previously.

Ah, but:

Also, no, unlimit is not a word. I was just kidding :p. But I can't really think of a place where such a verb would be appropriate. I'd have thought you would never 'unlimit' something, the action you would be performing would be to 'remove' the limit which had been put in place previously.

I know that! I never suggested unlimit, I was talking about delimit :mad: :o

Perhaps the origin might shed some light.

mid 19th century: from French délimiter, from Latin delimitare, from de-'down, completely' + limitare (from limes, limit-'boundary, limit').

Oh God this thing is actually consuming me.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Perhaps the origin might shed some light.

mid 19th century: from French délimiter, from Latin delimitare, from de-'down, completely' + limitare (from limes, limit-'boundary, limit').

Oh God this thing is actually consuming me.... :(

ONW, go sit under a tree and write haiku for a while! :D

I know that! I never suggested unlimit, I was talking about delimit :mad: :o

So was I...

So was I...

When you said, "But I can't really think of a place where such a verb would be appropriate." I thought you were talking about unlimit... If you were talking about delimit, there are plenty of places where it would be appropriate. It's not the meaning I am annoyed by it's the word itself :(

I think I need a break now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

When you said, "But I can't really think of a place where such a verb would be appropriate." I thought you were talking about unlimit... If you were talking about delimit, there are plenty of places where it would be appropriate. It's not the meaning I am annoyed by it's the word itself :(

You've reached de limit...

/runs :p

Czarcasm wrote: »
    You've reached de limit...

/runs :p

Back here ye little... :D

I was subbing in 'unlimit' for what you were suggesting 'delimit' should mean, because 'delimit' doesn't mean that so it wouldn't have made any sense. I can't think of anywhere that 'delimit' would be appropriate even if we were to change it's meaning. It doesn't matter, let's move on. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭WILL NEVER LOG OFF

i agree on delimit, but makes sense if you think about it

de=of, or outside the 'wholeness' of something
    limit=set a boundary

same principle in delineate, describe

I was subbing in 'unlimit' for what you were suggesting 'delimit' should mean, because 'delimit' doesn't mean that so it wouldn't have made any sense. I can't think of anywhere that 'delimit' would be appropriate even if we were to change it's meaning. It doesn't matter, let's move on. ;)

No! I dont think it should mean that, I just said that putting "de" as a prefix would usually lead to that meaning and hence why it doesnt make any sense. This makes me want to cry :(

# uname -a
    AIX lameduck 1 6 00C7A4264C00
    # ulimit
    unlimited
    # 

I trust that settles it. :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    # uname -a
    AIX lameduck 1 6 00C7A4264C00
    # ulimit
    unlimited
    # 

I trust that settles it. :D

Feck off with your Linux you hipster. :pac:

Bleedin hipsters :P

Feck off with your Linux you hipster. :pac:

I wouldn't have Linux in my way. That's an IBM POWER machine running AIX, built in Texas y'all. You can smell the Longhorn Steer offa it. :cool:

yeeee haaaa ! jimgoose.

jimgoose wrote: »
    I wouldn't have Linux in my way. That's an IBM POWER machine running AIX, built in Texas y'all. You can smell the Longhorn Steer offa it. :cool:

If I start thinking you're a nerd, you know you're in trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Zip up all you limited so and so's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

I even incorporated the pun from Iomega discs there. For the nerds.

to change topic, Yer Man in the upc ad he's getting on my wick. The stupid smug look on his face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Gongoozler wrote: »
    But... Maybe there's nothing there...? Lots of sneezes don't produce anything.

These ones are definitely producing. Trust me. *shudder*

It's vile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    When people say "An empty bottle of whiskey/coke/shampoo/whatever the fcuk"

Surely its "An empty coke bottle" .....

Anyone? please?

That doesn't bother me but I felt you needed the support :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

Still waiting for news on the interview....

He said I should know by this morning... so I'm guessing I'm not lucky.

The agency said they would let me know either way straight away but they always say that... so I'm loosing faith and I'm on tenderhooks looking at my phone all day and afraid to touch it.

................................... SIGH ................................................