Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭jprboy

..... and the Auld Triangle, went jingle....... BOOM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Id go into the local station and just let them no...whatever about the alloy, those tyres were lethal when they were first put on the car, never mind now when they're balder than bald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Twice was I within inches of reversing into a car and a wall last night. Only reason I didn't was the shouting from my backseat passengers :o I've gotten sooo used to parking sensors, to the extent that I didn't even look behind me, just wait for the beep (obviously still using my mirrors, just not turning around). Better get used to old school parking :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

So I'm at the local shop for booze and pizza. As I get out of the car, I see this in the car beside me....

14834259710_92fb461217_h.jpg

Mauldy food, spilled drinks, papers. Flies inside buzzing. The smell in there must be unholy at minimum :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭sblythe

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I'd report that to the Gardai before she kills herself, her child or someone else.

Cvnt. :mad:
    That's horrendous, please report it to the guards its far beyond dangerous.
    I hope you got the registration. Seriously I think you are almost certainly saving a life or preventing an accident by reporting that.
    Id go into the local station and just let them no...whatever about the alloy, those tyres were lethal when they were first put on the car, never mind now when they're balder than bald

I have just reported this to my local Garda station down the road. The Guard was pretty shocked and he even called a few colleagues to look at the photos. They've assured me that they are keeping an eye out for the car this evening as its not in a fit state to be on the roads. It honestly has calmed me down a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

My Dad asked me to have a look at his Mk2 Octavia (1.4 petrol) earlier. It hasn't been driven in a few weeks and the engine management light lit up when he started it recently.

I started today and sounded quite rough. I did a scan on it and it was showing a misfire on cylinder 2. Any idea what that might be? He thought spark plug. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Was just going to say coilpack, seems a fairly common fault on the vag stable - going from stories on here anyway.
    Having never owned a vag petrol meself I can't comment further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I have had two cars where coil packs have gone so it must be common accross most cars. 1.4 focus and mechanic said it was a common problem with them and then my current car Mirage Asti and from online that is a common problem with them also. But if you think abouut it they do, do a lot of the work involved in driving an engine. And as far as I know they are electronic so they would fail eventually over time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Same on mine, both cars actually, the old astra and my 9-5

Omnomnom coilpacks

Cool, yeah I thought it might be that alright. Just recall hearing about coilpacks going on Octavias. Hopefully it's not too pricey. The car is due for a service anyways.

OSI wrote: »
    Can pick up a coil pack online for €25+ and it's a 3 minute job.

Suggestions on where to get that? I saw Micks Garage have them but heard they're a bit ropey to deal with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,426 ✭✭✭testicle

I'm currently waiting on a ferry home with my new car at Holyhead. Picked it up yesterday evening and I am very happy with it. I had planned to bring home a Honda CRZ but instead ended up with 1.6 turbo, 200 BHP, 6 speed and French. Can't wait to get home, because this place is dead :/

Ironically I've just bought a CRZ !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

The whole people buying diesels for the wrong type of driving and not knowing any of the potential problems seems to have gone to the other extreme. Was out in a friend of my parents and he knows I'm into cars so said to me he was thinking of selling his 06 passat tdi. He's had it from new minded it fairly well and it has literally caused him no problems at all. So I was surprised he was considering getting a fiesta I said why would he bother when he has a car that is in good condition and he knows it's past. Basically he was afraid that the dmf would go in it. I said was there any juddering or issues with the clutch he said know it drives perfectly but one of the lads said they constantly go in diesels and cost 3000 euro to replace :eek:

He was relieved when I told him that would cost around 850 euro to replace with clutch. And the fact that they don't just get in the car one day and they suddenly go that clutch would start to get juddery and you'd know it was happening.

Seems to only ever be one extreme to another people either know nothing or know some vague extremely exaggerated description of the truth. Btw there is 200k km on that passat original clutch dmf just shows what they can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Taking the Suzuki out for a spin...

tAK9y5A.jpg

Quick possible diagnosis here? Battery light was on after getting the focus, brought it back to the dealer, he said it was the alternator, and they put a new one in, so I'm told anyway. That was about 2 weeks ago. All was fine up until yesterday, got a new battery, and after about 20 mins of driving the battery light comes on, takes 20 mins at least for it to show up. Car started fine today, but wasn't driving it long enough to see if the light is back on, probably is. Alternator still dodgy?

Could be a loose connection on the alternator, after that I'm clueless, a thing I've learned is start at the known source of the problem and work from there, connections wires, so on and so forth

Yay! Haven't got time for nothing now, couldn't it have happened a week ago :rolleyes:

Know dem feels, time is slowly closing on me too, I want to get my 900 running by the end of next week, still dont have the engine :o

You could just stick a multimeter on the battery see what kind of voltage your getting when the car is running should be around 14 volts even under load so turn on lights, fan etc. maybe it's just on the way out and is ok when there is no major load but when you have lights on etc it can't supply enough power.

Bpmull wrote: »
    You could just stick a multimeter on the battery see what kind of voltage your getting when the car is running should be around 14 volts even under load so turn on lights, fan etc. maybe it's just on the way out and is ok when there is no major load but when you have lights on etc it can't supply enough power.

Which is on the way out? Both have been replaced within the past couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Check the earth's. They can get rusty. Also wondering if they used the correct rated alternator. I think the focus petrol 1.6 uses an 80amp. The derv uses a higher amperage. Oh and check the condition of the 3 pin connector on the alternator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Dartz

So, a few days ago I buzzed the engine on a renault megane with a bad gearchange.

I thought I got away with it too until this morning, when the mammy calls on the phone all flustered because the car just shuddered and cut out on her, and wouldn't turn over again.

I immediately have visions of a bent valve finally deciding to go '**** it' and drop in the engine.

And hour or so later the car arrives home on the back of a truck. I try to start it.

Keycard error.

Find the second keycard. Slot it in. It clatters to life, none the worse for wear.

Turns out, she stalled it on a roundabout by putting it in fifth, when she wanted third. Since she usually lugs the thing along at like 2rpm anyway, it just said '**** it' and shuddered to a halt.

EDIT: Because this is really annoying me.

If you hire a small business to do 30k's worth of work in your brand new home - then hold out on paying the business in the hope that they'll go under from having to pay for all the gear they installed and contractors who did the installing, so the bill will disappear.

You're a ****ing Scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

I'm picking up an MG ZR van later this morning. Only have it for a few hours, but I never realised these were produced as vans!

1.8 160 bhp engine available and everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

GvidoR find your bulbs Rd2

So was back up the country on best man duty over the weekend. Checked bulbs and they were still there men! So we took them and repositioned them :)

So GvidoR, the following is a pic of the roundabout outside tesco in carrick on Shannon.

Good hunting :D

319627.jpg

Which is on the way out? Both have been replaced within the past couple of weeks.

Well if your not getting around 14 volts under load then the alternator could be on the way out. Was it a refurb they replaced it with, or just one out of a scrap focus ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

No fog lights on anywhere today at all :O Oh and the Avensis doesn't understand that I need my auto lights on when its foggy and bright :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

YbFocus wrote: »
    GvidoR find your bulbs Rd2

So was back up the country on best man duty over the weekend. Checked bulbs and they were still there men! So we took them and repositioned them :)

So GvidoR, the following is a pic of the roundabout outside tesco in carrick on Shannon.

Good hunting :D

I haven't seen him online for ages. But I suppose that happened me as well during the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I haven't seen him online for ages. But I suppose that happened me as well during the summer.

He was always on and he seems to have vanished!

YbFocus wrote: »
    He was always on and he seems to have vanished!

The curious case of gvidor