Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

This Kerry lineup is geared towards brining on the big guns at 50 mins or so into the game.
    Mayo should from the start punish the cheek of Fitzmaurice for putting on his young guns. With a push we can force them into early changes. I really think cillian Conner will have a man of the match performance to dominate upfront early on.

Kerry must reAlly think they are in a perfect position to repeat 2006.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

This Kerry lineup is geared towards brining on the big guns at 50 mins or so into the game.
    Mayo should from the start punish the cheek of Fitzmaurice for putting on his young guns. With a push we can force them into early changes. I really think cillian Conner will have a man of the match performance to dominate upfront early on.

Well now in all fairness the changes kerry have made have all been forced with Sheehan injured in the last game, Dec o sull knees wont last 70 min and Killian young is out of form being replaced by Crowley who is playing much better. Also their is no one down here in Kerry who think this will be a repeat of 06. Most people I have spoken think this could be a very close game and a hard one to call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,377 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

To be fair that's a bit OTT.

For the last few years Kerry have lacked a good bench.
    Primarily in my opinion because managers were too reluctant to play young guys over the old stalwarts and as a result the young guys on the bench got no game experience.

Fitzmaurice through a combination of retirement and injury has been forced to use the young guys and leave the experienced players on the bench, giving the 'illusion' of a strong bench.

Now it is an improved bench from previous years but its still got its problems.
    Declan O Sullivan can only run in straight lines as a Kerry poster mentioned on one thread.
    Star has not preformed in a Kerry jersey since the 2011.
    Darran O Sullivan has had long term injuries.
    BJK has struggled to make this squad over the past few years.

There seems to be this idea that Kerry will spring these guys and that will be the winning of the game.
    I don't think that is going to be the case. I think thses guys will have minimal impact and they may have to appear much earlier than planned

Mayos bench is not fantastic either, it is lacking good defenders and Freeman is the only decent forward, but it has strength in the middle with Moran and Gibbons.
    And the middle is possibly the area that will need fresh bodies earlier than any other.

Plus Mayos bench is fit.

Agree with the fitness . But Sheehan and osullivan are the suppliers of good ball to the odonagues and ff line. Free taking is a big loss for Kerry.
    Seriously though we have to push up on this team and control possession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

I really don't get this notion that seems to have developed of finishing with your strongest team?? Admittedly both those changes Declan O Sullivan and Bryan Sheehan are enforced,massive losses in my book..Who will be taking the frees?JOD,Johnny Buckley...he was quite flakey with same after the imperious Sheehan went off injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

seligehgit wrote: »
    I really don't get this notion that seems to have developed of finishing with your strongest team?? Admittedly both those changes Declan O Sullivan and Bryan Sheehan are enforced,massive losses in my book..Who will be taking the frees?JOD,Johnny Buckley...he was quite flakey with same after the imperious Sheehan went off injured.
    Agree that this 'Finish with your strongest team' has got out of hand as an attempt at accepted wisdom. "They say you should always finish with your strongest team" started only in relation to Dublin n Dean Rock n Kevin Mcmanamon, two players who were not as mobile those seasons as the players they replaced. Some players are likely not played for first 50 mins as the training data shows they're not as mobile to help win the posession battle. Players in the top five counties are monitored super closely nowadays. But I think the one gap left in the top five is in-game monitoring to assess who is playing well and who should come on. In the near future substitutions will be automatically decided by software on a tablet device in mgmt teams hands. PreGame data will have been entered and tactics will have been entered including all known data about the opposition. Likely only two or three seasons away. Your strongest team is the strongest effect of whatever players for whatever number of minutes. They don't necessarily have to play the last 20 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Already proven with actual stats by poster here that Andy Moran was the biggest contributor to Mayos purple patch at start of the second half. Two assists, won a scored free in a good position and scored himself where he had to get space on his left foot to shoot with a neat turn. Also won 7/9 50:50 balls passed his way in a defence playing blanket and had a 92% pass completion from his posessions while against a blanket defence where passing options are hard to find from full forward. Slipped to ground three times in the game one of which was a free that he was given. So what your actually talking about is that when a player has that level of contribution that two slips to the ground n slowing down play is playing badly. It was a blanket defence shooting options are not easily available and neither are passing options. This has been proven at this stage, he made a big contribution to our win. His substitution almost cost us the game in fact. People have a bias about his performances of 'Andy Moran too slow now' due to his injuries. So when he slips twice ineffectively (no free) people remember those events as proof he is playing poor. A 50:50 ball won, retained and passed on successfully at full forward against a blanket is outstanding play. Unfortunately for Andy Moran people don't look very deep into contribution beyond scores that player scored. Btw not my stats a previous poster looked back at the game n noted all those.
    I still stand buy what I said he slows up the game two much in my eyes,not every one has access to stats they go by what they see on the field.
    He would be far better use when Kerry bring on there subs to bring him on as or bench is weak.

The thing that worries me is that this game could come down to a stupid tackle which results in a black card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

naughto wrote: »
    I still stand buy what I said he slows up the game two much in my eyes,not every one has access to stats they go by what they see on the field.
    He would be far better use when Kerry bring on there subs to bring him on as or bench is weak.

The thing that worries me is that this game could come down to a stupid tackle which results in a black card

to be fair the stats produced were from someone watching the game 3 times back and taking notes.
    That's what would expect Horan and his backroom team to be doing also, and basing their decisions on peoples performances rather.

As it happens - I would have had a similar impression of Andy's contribution on the day also but sometimes we just don't see what else goes on. Andy was a terrific scorer a few years back but his role appears to be more of a creator. Dillon similarly - watch the next day how many assists both create.

Hopefully we'll be coming back here saying how decisions of starting 15's and substitutions were justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Just a heads up guys. As you know the rail strikes will affect a lot of Mayo fans travelling to the match on Sunday. Mayo Club 51 have a post up about parking and buses travelling to the match. If anyone here has any additional info then please let them know and they will add it to the website, thanks.

http://mayoclub51.com/transport-to-croke-park-this-sunday/

As always make sure to bring a #seaofgreenandred to Croker Sunday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Just a heads up lads. The Longford marathon is on this sunday so the roundabout for the town bypass will be closed for a bit to allow runners through.
    I know ye got stuck there for a while the same time last year, ye will probably be on the road a bit earlier this time round with the minors playing so mightn't affect ye.

Don't forget feeliys in rathowen. Midwest were broadcasting there for last years semi final and there was significant delays. Rubbernecking .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭cpg093

Would anyone have any idea of the type of tickets the ticket office in dublin would have for sale in the morning? The tickets on ticket master don't seem that good. Thanks

The only thing that is guaranteed tomorrow is that if Mayo lose a certain lurker from Donegal will be first on here with one comments about choking.

Ignore her/him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

The only thing that is guaranteed tomorrow is that if Mayo lose a certain lurker from Donegal will be first on here with one comments about choking.

Ignore her/him.

He/She will have a point. Its do or die with Mayo team tomorrow. The latter being the most likely outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

I booked parking in Q Clearys online today just in case, €13, Its an easy walk to HQ from there. If you buy parking on the day its €8 with ticket but I wasn't going to chance it. I'm now bursting with excitement. :D big day coming up. Hope to see the minors too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Amprodude wrote: »
    He/She will have a point. Its do or die with Mayo team tomorrow. The latter being the most likely outcome.

No one is going to die tomorrow. If we lose we'll pick ourselves up and crack on, like we've done so many times over the years. It doesn't take a genius to predict a team is going to lose, you don't see many Mayo posters going into the Cork thread and calling them chokers and losers and whatnot, give it a rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

You've made yourself clear, you hope Mayo lose tomorrow, we get it.

If Mayo do indeed lose tomorrow you'll be on here trying to make out you're pundit of the year.

Oh I should have mentioned that there might be one from Cork also, a more recent lurker mind.

Ignore her/him also.

Oh I should have mentioned that there might be one from Cork also, a more recent lurker mind.

Ignore her/him also.

I hope im wrong but very unlikely. Mayo will lose game in first 25mins like last 2AIs and will be playing catch up. JOD and O Brien to rattle the net few times in first 15 mins. Kerry to win by 8+ points. Horan reign will be over tomorrow night and Kerry will be into the final easy enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

I hope im wrong but very unlikely. Mayo will lose game in first 25mins like last 2AIs and will be playing catch up. JOD and O Brien to rattle the net few times in first 15 mins. Kerry to win by 8+ points. Horan reign will be over tomorrow night and Kerry will be into the final easy enough.

LOLOLOLOLOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,678 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Dublin only won last years AI at the end not the first 25, was only saying to some fellow Dubs today that I hope Kerry win because Mayo losing finals has to end some time because I'm sure that, like the players they don't believe the hoodoo nonsense and must win one soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭glic71rods46t0

Wow..... Peter Canavan goes for a mayo win but Amprodude isn't guessing . He know his stuff better than Canavan. ....u should make a fortune at 6/5 on kerry .....put the house on it mate and you'll be rich for sure. Any chance of the lotto numbers while you're at it?

Id be rich if Mayo won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

No matter how much scrutiny, criticism and all the rest of the BS the 'auld bottlers and chokers' of Mayo receive, it comes down to simple facts.

Mayo 2014' are off the back of quadruple retention of the Nestor cup, in an All Ireland semi final for the FOURTH year in succession and on the cusp of an All Ireland final for the THIRD year in succession.

Hard to fathom from us mere mortals the depths this team has gone to achieve even that.

http://vimeo.com/73032524
    Courtesy of Mayo Mick, nice video from last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Best of luck to Mayo tomorrow from the Royal County. I think it is going to be a good game, how you handle O'Donaghue will be key.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Pretty sure that Mayo had a pretty good handle on Dublin for most of last year's final. They lost it at the end. So that kinda throws your analysis out the window.

For what it's worth, I think tomorrow's match will be a cracker. Has the potential to be the match of the championship. Should be a nice, free-flowing style to it. It's hard to call it, but fingers crossed for Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Choccie Lover

I'm already feeling jittery about the match tomorrow! Should be a good 'un. Maigh Eo abu!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Mayo Club 51

Safe travelling to all Mayo supporters tomorrow. Give yourself plenty of time and "arrive alive"! We have a lot of info up on our website about parking and traffic restrictions tomorrow. We would also urge all Mayo fans to bring flags and make Croke Park a #seaofgreenandred

mayoclub51.com

No one is going to die tomorrow. If we lose we'll pick ourselves up and crack on, like we've done so many times over the years. It doesn't take a genius to predict a team is going to lose, you don't see many Mayo posters going into the Cork thread and calling them chokers and losers and whatnot, give it a rest.

Just to note, you would have every right to call into the Cork forum and say we are chokers because we are. Our hurlers are now chokers too along with our footballers. No problem saying it. Btw I hope Mayo win tomorrow I will be supporting you but I dont think the Mayo team have enough to win especially up in the forward line. Hope Im wrong and if im wrong I will come here tommorrow and congrats the Mayo team.

ColeTrain wrote: »
    You've made yourself clear, you hope Mayo lose tomorrow, we get it.

If Mayo do indeed lose tomorrow you'll be on here trying to make out you're pundit of the year.

Not pundit of the year but possibly poster of the year? :D