Alcohol Abuse Test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

This thread has put me in the mood for a few drinks, must see who's around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Got 7 yes answers so I'm supposed to go and see a professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

I'd say the test was written by a professional

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

anncoates wrote: »
    Got 7 yes answers so I'm supposed to go and see a professional.

Yeah, a barman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The problem with some of the questions is the vagueness. Like trying to cut down on drinking, looking forward to a pint or regretting drinking could be applicable to a normal drinker or a serious drinking depending on the scale or the person involved

The one about seeing things that are not there after a few days drinking is pretty much unequivocal to be fair .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

MadYaker wrote: »
    If this is true you are an alcoholic ...

I am.
    Holsten wrote: »
    That test is absolute bollox.

It is.
    I hope that's a strong homebrew you're making.

It is.

Plus, of course, once ye become a 'career drinker', the alcohol builds up in the blood till it never quite gets flushed. I could Never drive a motor, eg. My blood level would always be over the limit.

I need a drink, within an hour of getting up. Yet, I function better With the drink. I'd rattle apart without it! :eek: But, sure; I'm grand.

What I'm trying to convey to OP is; If the speed of Your ride is starting to scare ye? Get yeself off that ride. Being scared of what we're doing is very healthy ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

danslevent wrote: »
    I just feel like I may be developing a bit of a problem because I want to cut down, but then don't and I love drinking alone. I know that may be weird, but I find nothing more relaxing than wine and a book or watching tv.

When you've got to close one eye to focus ......... then you know you're doing it right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I got 10 but that test is crap. It'd be a bot better if they had a "often/sometimes/rarely/never" set up like.

2. Can you handle more alcohol now than when you first started to drink?
    I started drinking when I was about 14, I hardly think not being langered after three smirnoff ices is an alarm bell
    7. Do you sometimes feel a little guilty about your drinking? Is this test written to deliberately antagonise people from an Irish Catholic background or WHAT?!
    8. Has a family member or close friend express concern or complained about your drinking? Again, have they ever met an Irish mammy?
    12. When you’re sober, do you sometimes regret things you did or said while drinking? Ah for god's sake.

Those are just the most stupid ones. Stupid test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Ok, did it, now how can I trade in my points in the local pub for pints??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I got 2...

"Do you usually have a reason for the occasions when you drink heavily?" - Well, yes, I would have to have a reason to have a drink. Why would you drink when there's no occasion?

"Have any of your blood relatives ever had a problem with alcohol?" - And uncle of mine drank himself to death pretty much. Which is why I hardly ever drink. I like a glass of wine once a month when meeting friends, or sharing a pint with the husband once a week or so.

I was at a wedding recently and noticed that I'm getting tipsy on the second glass of wine, so I make sure not to have seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

If you answered “yes” to between 2 and 8 questions, you should consider arranging a personal meeting with a professional who has experience in the evaluation of alcohol problems. You should consider contacting the NCADD affiliate office nearest to you. A representative will be happy to assist you in the scheduling of a professional evaluation.
    Got a 2, they would laugh me out of the place! I hope no one got paid to make that test.

"what makes you think you might be an alcoholic?"
    "ehm, I sometimes drink alcohol, I guess?"

Got 10 but in fairness two of the questions I answered no to were do you drink extra drinks unknown to your friends and do you want to wait drinking longer than your friends. Sure we all drink until we are bananas and the extra drinks at the bar aren't very hidden when we are all having them!

The question about do you have a reason for the occasions you drink heavily is a very stupid question. I answered no and thought that would be the "wrong" answer as I'd go out on the beer for any excuse which you would think is worse than only getting drunk for "occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

Although I think my problem is binge drinking, sometimes I find it hard to stop rather than craving a drink.

That's really not a good thing in fairness. Although I agree some of the questions, particularly the wording, are a little odd.

I scored 2 by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

7. Do you sometimes feel a little guilty about your drinking? Is this test written to deliberately antagonise people from an Irish Catholic background or WHAT?!
    8. Has a family member or close friend express concern or complained about your drinking? Again, have they ever met an Irish mammy?
    12. When you’re sober, do you sometimes regret things you did or said while drinking? Ah for god's sake.

How are they stupid questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

I need the help of a professional.

The way I look at it, I love beer, would be lost without a couple of sensible sessions per week, but I hate getting blotto and I control my intake very well. So I am happy enough with that.

So the NCADD can go and ****e.

I got 10 but that test is crap. It'd be a bot better if they had a "often/sometimes/rarely/never" set up like.

2. Can you handle more alcohol now than when you first started to drink?
    I started drinking when I was about 14, I hardly think not being langered after three smirnoff ices is an alarm bell

I love the self-fulfilling ones. If you're married and your spouse says you have a drinking problem they're correct by definition. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I got six and was told see a professional in alchohol treatment? what? Here were my answers. I'd imagine the blackout drinking and having a drink first thing in the morning and having the shakes would be a lot more worrying than the ones I got.

2. Can you handle more alcohol now than when you first started to drink
    Obviously, when I was 17 or 18 was a long time ago

11. Do you usually have a reason for the occasions when you drink heavily?
    Weddings? "heavily" is a broad term as well

12. When you’re sober, do you sometimes regret things you did or said while drinking?
    No I totally meant it when I suggested we fly to Asia and open a bar

21. Have you recently noticed that you can’t drink as much as you used to?
    Can't and don't, my nights of going out every weekend are long behind me

25. Do you ever feel depressed or anxious before, during or after periods of heavy drinking?
    That's called a hangover you idiots

26. Have any of your blood relatives ever had a problem with alcohol?
    Does an uncle we don't talk to anymore count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

I think everyone who got 10 or higher should head out on the tear. Shur it'd be great craic altogether, what with us all being mad alcos and all.

Is Friday good for everybody?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

if you know you are going to be over-doing it, be sure to take Milk Thistle beforehand, and before you go to sleep.. it will save your liver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Bootsy.

I got 19! Feck. I am trying though. It's been over 24 hours now! I have to save all my pennies for Electric Picnic. Obviously that's gonna be a mad one but I definitely have to start getting sensible after that. Although there's not much craic in sensible so we'll see ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

I scored 23....That's why I stopped drinking over a year ago...Such a relief not drinking anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭SmilingLurker

I scored a mere 2. I Need practice....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

7. A borderline serious alcohol dependence. Interesting. The test is clearly ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

"Do you usually have a reason for the occasions when you drink heavily?"

Monday - New Weeks Day
    Tuesday - Midweeks Eve
    Wednesday - Midweeks Day
    Thursday - Weekends Eve
    Friday/Saturday/Sunday - Weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I got 12. My routine for the past few years has usually been a big session on the Saturday followed by a "few" pints on the Sunday which has usually led to me getting langers solid throughout the weekend. It's a waste of time, honestly. I think this getting p*ssed every weekend lark as a matter of standard is simply an ingrained habit more than anything.

I'm trying to limit my boozing now to an occasion or an event as opposed to automatically hitting the pub every Saturday after work. I've been doing that for the past two months and I've saved an absolute fortune as well as not feeling like a pregnant, depressed walrus every Monday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 429 ✭✭Export

I'm with whoever suggested cashing in their points for pints. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Hmm, 6 here. As someone who enjoys a gallon a' porter a twice-a-week or so I'm disinclined to take much notice of these things that pronounce one an alcoholic because you once snogged a young wan who worked behind a bar! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,105 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Gimme a break, this kind of unscientific nonsense might only further harm the resolve of someone with a problem, or unnecessarily worry others.

The answers to two of my questions cancel each other out -

2. Can you handle more alcohol now than when you first started to drink? Yes (because I was 17 and about 10 stone)

21. Have you recently noticed that you can’t drink as much as you used to? Yes (because I peaked with after work drinks when I was in my mid 20s and Im not inclined to drink like that any more. I probably could drink 8 or 9 pints but know exactly how id feel the following day, so I dont)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭peckerhead

A few of those question fall under the category of, "When did you stop beating your wife?".
    Agreed. Here's two of my own:

1. Do you ever feel compelled to take online tests to see if you have a drink problem?
    2. Do you tend to get defensive when the results suggest that you might?

And to the poster who asked about increasingly preferring to drink alone, just two words, borne of experience.

Watch that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

I have to be honest and say that a lot of the responses here bother me.

Sure, the questionnaire is far from perfect, but the dismissive attitude of some posters with regard to their own drinking habits is a bit disturbing.