Irish Jihadi Threat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

yoozername wrote: »
    Warped sense of logic here. If he has anything to do with the MB, he's guilty. By their own admission, they were there in support of the MB. In case you don't know, the MB are Nazi-affiliated filth, with a particular penchant for massacring Copts. Why support him and his ilk?

I thought the Nazis went out of business about the time of the Nuremberg Trials.

I don't know him. I don't know his ilk. I suggested a fair trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭yoozername

I thought the Nazis went out of business about the time of the Nuremberg Trials.

I don't know him. I don't know his ilk. I suggested a fair trial.

They did, but the MB took up their mantle.

Fair trials, in the Western sense, don't exist in much of the muslim world, he's unlikely to get one. Fair trials would absolutely not exist under the MB (that he supports), so why cry for him? Good riddance to bad rubbish.

Thanks, I'm imagining Hermann Goring in a burka and its doing nothing for my digestion. :D

The MB took up the Nazi mantle, not the other way round :)

****, now i have goosestepping Arabs singing "Springtime for Hitler". Put the kids to bed, Mary, its getting chronic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

Wasn't there a kid from Navan who went of to Syria and was killed

Hopefully.

youtube! wrote: »
    Hopefully.

Welcome, is that Dylan Moan or Tommy Tiernan ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Well they are doing a bang up job of getting the western media on their side anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

What side are they fighting on? I remember hearing about Irish lads going to Syria to fight on the side of the rebels. The same rebels that the West were supporting at the time.

Same thing for Libya.. a few Irish people went over to fight against Ghadaffi and establish an Islamic state.

If countries are worried about young men heading off to fight in wars they feel are necessary, then they should stop financially and militarily supporting the same groups themselves. You can't play geopolitics like that and then cry foul and become hysterical when the chickens come home to roost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

ken76 wrote: »
    But he has connections to the muslim brotherhood

The Muslim Brotherhood were democratically elected by the people of Egypt. Are you against democracy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Phoenix wrote: »
    There is a recent case of a Calgarian who recently was killed fighting for ISIS many people here are asking themselves why?what caused this young man and many others to leave Canada and go to Iraq to participate in such barbarity

I wonder if many americans thought the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

Simple solution is to throw them out of the country and strip any refugee privilege or Irish citizenship they may have.

And review this daft open door policy

Dont see the relation to the US and Canada considering Canada didnt declare war on Iraq and didnt have direct participation in the war

I wasn't being picky,Canadians are not the bad guys, I was just thinking out loud.

It seems obvious to me that isis are the result of the american intervention in iraq which left a vacuum, did ordinary Americans ever really consider the long term effects of their wars on the people who have to live their lives in these places.

RustyNut wrote: »
    The Muslim Brotherhood were democratically elected by the people of Egypt. Are you against democracy?

BOOM! There's no coming back from that one... huh.

You could just as easily say Hitler was democratically elected - are you in favour of Hitler?

Stupid, no?

I wasn't being picky,Canadians are not the bad guys, I was just thinking out loud.

It seems obvious to me that isis are the result of the american intervention in iraq which left a vacuum, did ordinary Americans ever really consider the long term effects of their wars on the people who have to live their lives in these places.

Yes, it turned out to be a disastrous intervention in Iraq, and ISIS is one of the heads of the hydra that had been caged. However, please spare a thought for the thousands who met a gruesome end under the other son of a bitch, Saddam. Those people wondered what the rest of the world was doing to allow him continue. But we have since learned that the muslim world doesn't favour democracy, and needs dictators to maintain at least a veneer of peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

There is a recent case of a Calgarian who recently was killed fighting for ISIS many people here are asking themselves why?what caused this young man and many others to leave Canada and go to Iraq to participate in such barbarity

I read an article on the British citizens that go over to fight for ISIS. Most of them were early/mid twenties that were unemployed/in crap jobs. They are being lured by the adventure and the ability to large it up over there as some sort of freedom fighter . Back in the UK they are useless wasters.

BOOM! There's no coming back from that one... huh.

You could just as easily say Hitler was democratically elected - are you in favour of Hitler?

Stupid, no?

So in your opinion when is democracy not a good idea? When you don't like the result?

Yes, when those elected would kill and oppress those in the minority. I think it's pretty simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Internment is the answer. Stop it before it happens. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Remmy wrote: »
    I read an article on the British citizens that go over to fight for ISIS. Most of them were early/mid twenties that were unemployed/in crap jobs. They are being lured by the adventure and the ability to large it up over there as some sort of freedom fighter . Back in the UK they are useless wasters.

its the 72 virgins that their more interested in

Help!!!! wrote: »

i.imgur.com/f6wfC.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭geret

Help!!!! wrote: »

no virgins though if you get shot by a woman,

isis don't like going up against all female batallions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

He lived in Ireland. The pub he drank in will at one time or another have had a RIRA member in it too. The lad needs a fair trial. Thats all anyone is asking on that matter. Not exactly the earth.

The son of a Muslim cleric and he a Muslim too, I don't think he as a Muslim drinks alcohol.

Yes to the fair trial for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

And review this daft open door policy

What open door policy?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Send them to Dundalk. We have a group of "fans" who refer to themselves as the Muja

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

Nodin wrote: »
    What open door policy?

A policy that has lead the government to having no idea how many immigrants are in the country

That open door policy .

Australia faring better though .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

A policy that has lead the government to having no idea how many immigrants are in the country even to margin if error if 20 percent

That open door policy .

Are you referring to free movement within the EU? There was a referendum on various treaties leading up to that, if you might recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Wulfie

ken76 wrote: »
    This is scary, they should be stripped of passports

From todays Irish Indo

"Thirty jihadi fighters are using Ireland as a base while travelling regularly to conflict zones in Syria and Iraq, according to Garda intelligence

One suspected Islamic State fighter, who describes himself as Irish-Nigerian, has been using social media to urge fellow Muslims to travel from Europe and elsewhere to fight in Iraq and Syria.

The fighter, who appears to be a teenager or in his early 20s, has posted photographs on social media of himself in Syria wearing combat gear and carrying machine guns.

He used a publicly accessible message board to urge fellow Muslims to take up arms and gave advice on how to get to Syria without raising the suspicions of western intelligence agencies. The same fighter has also been seeking to recruit people on an encrypted messaging service. He advised potential fighters to travel to Syria via Turkey, but to fly to another country first and buy a return ticket so as not to arouse suspicion.

Cant post links for some reason

I misread the thread title as , jihadist thread, like a thread were jihadis could just chill and shoot the breeze.

All i see is barrage of words .