Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Jihadi Threat

• 21-08-2014 12:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭

This is scary, they should be stripped of passports

From todays Irish Indo

"Thirty jihadi fighters are using Ireland as a base while travelling regularly to conflict zones in Syria and Iraq, according to Garda intelligence

One suspected Islamic State fighter, who describes himself as Irish-Nigerian, has been using social media to urge fellow Muslims to travel from Europe and elsewhere to fight in Iraq and Syria.

The fighter, who appears to be a teenager or in his early 20s, has posted photographs on social media of himself in Syria wearing combat gear and carrying machine guns.

He used a publicly accessible message board to urge fellow Muslims to take up arms and gave advice on how to get to Syria without raising the suspicions of western intelligence agencies. The same fighter has also been seeking to recruit people on an encrypted messaging service. He advised potential fighters to travel to Syria via Turkey, but to fly to another country first and buy a return ticket so as not to arouse suspicion.

Cant post links for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

CoD era of kids...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

500 UK citizens off to war. Rule of thumb. Divide by ten to get Irish number. Knock off twenty to include Northern Ireland. Go to print with the figure of 30. Irish Indo journalism. It's that easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

Meh let them off over there to get blown to bits by the Americans. Better than having that mentality taking hold here as it has in the UK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

At least this attracts idiots to do something life threatening and with any luck they won't be coming back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Of course we are a target even if we are not near the top. Western culture, our assistance to the US war effort(Shannon airport) not to mention our links and co-operation with the UK, our involvment in UN missions to Muslim countries etc...

Lets hope nothing happens but security services are keeping a close eye on
    those they perceive to be following hardline Islam. I hope!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

ken76 wrote: »

From todays Irish Indo

"Thirty jihadi fighters are using Ireland as a base while travelling regularly to conflict zones in Syria and Iraq, according to Garda intelligence

That's longer than the usual Mullingar commute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

Simple solution is to throw them out of the country and strip any refugee privilege or Irish citizenship they may have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

If they come back, they better bring some fcuking sun. It's bloody freezing here

If no sun can be brought back, I'll settle for toblerone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 LostDamo

Unclear why they should be stripped of passports. Plenty of Irish have gone off to fight in wars before and been honoured for it - ww1, ww2, Spanish civil war......oh wait u think all Irish should have same belief system as you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

500 UK citizens off to war. Rule of thumb. Divide by ten to get Irish number. Knock off twenty to include Northern Ireland. Go to print with the figure of 30. Irish Indo journalism. It's that easy.

You were doing well until you mentioned this.

A percentage of these flakes will make it back to both here and the UK. With training and a peanut brain. Both the security services here and abroad fear what will happen when somebody looks at them the wrong way.
    That's why Cameron broke off the family holiday. He doesn't give a monkeys about them going out. Its making sure they can't come back that's worrying people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

As long as they are not blowing us up, I couldn't give much of a monkeys tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

Wasn't there a kid from Navan who went of to Syria and was killed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭niamh.foley

LostDamo wrote: »
    Plenty of Irish have gone off to fight in wars before and been honoured for it - ww1, ww2, Spanish civil warsystem as you

It is only now Irish people are being Honoured for there part in WW1, they were living in fear when they came back home after WW1.

Many Irish Soilders left the Irish army to join the British Army to fight in WW2, were classed as deserters and warrants for there arrest were up held on return to Ireland.

So no, Irish people were not Honoured for there part in the Wars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Unclear why they should be stripped of passports. Plenty of Irish have gone off to fight in wars before and been honoured for it - ww1, ww2, Spanish civil war......oh wait u think all Irish should have same belief system as you

With any luck they'll suffer the same fate as O'Duffy's eejits in Spain..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Let them go fight if they wish. Just make sure they don't return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

Well you know the fact they are beheading innocent journalists, are against western culture, follow backwards extreme religious values much worse than Catholicism ever was, add nothing of value to our culture, are murdering innocent Christians and Muslims in their own countries, are only a small minority in our country wanting to enforce their religion and cause more violence across the middle east (As opposed to WW1 and WW2 where the Irish fought mainly to stop the German spread across Europe and preserve the cultures of other countries), hold values and morals completely different to mine, and finally may end up beheading an Irish soldier in our own country if he decides he wants to help maintain peace in these lands. Yes I completely think that these men should be stripped of their passports.

Are you having a laugh. As you said they where going to a war back in those days, but this is a genocide. The IS are beheading people just because they are not Muslim and they hate everything western etc

Now do we want these savages back in our society? what would stop them to behead someone on the street of dublin once they get home. In case you didn't notice IRELAND is a western country so of course we would be a target. The solider in the wars you noted where not a danger to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

With any luck they'll suffer the same fate as O'Duffy's eejits in Spain..:)

Feckoff. bullying mass jihad is the same thing the left were doing in Spain and all over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭LiveIsLife

Of course we are a target even if we are not near the top. Western culture, our assistance to the US war effort(Shannon airport) not to mention our links and co-operation with the UK, our involvment in UN missions to Muslim countries etc...

Lets hope nothing happens but security services are keeping a close eye on
    those they perceive to be following hardline Islam. I hope!!!

We'd be a target because we're from the West. I doubt most of them could tell us apart from the UK, let alone narrow down their reasoning to target us to Shannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Anyone remember Lee Rigby..
    Anyone with a mindset to go and kill a unarmed person in the name of religion is a person this country can well do with out..
    I can't say i would be overly surprised if a similar killing occurs on our streets.

A tough stance is what is required and good solid intelligence. (Not cutting garda numbers :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

From todays Irish Indo

One suspected Islamic State fighter, who describes himself as Irish-Nigerian, has been using social media to urge fellow Muslims to travel from Europe and elsewhere to fight in Iraq and Syria.

The fighter, who appears to be a teenager or in his early 20s, has posted photographs on social media of himself in Syria wearing combat gear and carrying machine guns.

He used a publicly accessible message board to urge fellow Muslims to take up arms and gave advice on how to get to Syria without raising the suspicions of western intelligence agencies. The same fighter has also been seeking to recruit people on an encrypted messaging service. He advised potential fighters to travel to Syria via Turkey, but to fly to another country first and buy a return ticket so as not to arouse suspicion.

Have they committed any offences here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

RustyNut wrote: »
    Have they committed any offences here?

Bein muslim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Terrorist training camps? In Ireland? I wonder where they got that idea from....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Chance The Fapper

waraf wrote: »
    Terrorist training camps? In Ireland? I wonder where they got that idea from....

Do you plan to elaborate?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

The Minister for Defence confirmed that 25 - 30 Irish resents were fighting in Syria as far back as last February. The figure is most likely higher now. That is the figure the Independent is likely referring to.
    Minister Shatter: Across Europe there are various estimates as to the numbers from different EU member states who have travelled to participate in this conflict. We estimate between 25 and 30 Irish residents have travelled there for that purpose. Some have lost their lives in this conflict.

A whole range of particular issues arise for this State and the EU member states. It is a matter of great concern across Europe as to when individuals who participated in the conflict under the flag of fundamentalist and extreme organisations return to the European Union. Having been radicalised by those with whom they are engaged, they may pose certain threats within member states. Some were already radicalised before they travelled to participate in the conflict.

https://www.kildarestreet.com/debates/?id=2014-02-05a.123#g130

You can be sure that this is something the Government, Gardai and Defence Forces are monitoring quite closely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I dont think we should get too ahead of ourselves here saying that there are going to be beheadings in the middle of o'connell street if some of these return.The aim of those going to syria ISN'T to return. There's more chances of beheadings being carried out here now by exetremists who havent gone to syria than those who have.

But in the grand scheme of things,thats not going to happen any time soon.If anything, muslims are quite sympathetic to Ireland in comparison to other western countries.

Also lets not forget either that the beheading in london was for the most part a political target (enemy soldier) for propaganda reasons.Mary working in the IFSC doesn't have much to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

I brought this point up yesterday.

It only takes a few idiots to try make a name for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Do you plan to elaborate?

Sorry, maybe I should have been more specific. I was referring to republican paramilitary training camps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭ken76

Whether they have done anything here yet is immaterial, If they plan to go off behead people rape women, bury kids alive , we have a responsibility if they are Irish citizens , (I use that term loosely)as I would guess that most got their citizenship through naturalization, it should be removed from them if they are planning to go and commit terror. Does it matter where they commit the offence? Or should we only react when it happens here

I dont think we should get too ahead of ourselves here saying that there are going to be beheadings in the middle of o'connell street if some of these return.The aim of those going to syria ISN'T to return. There's more chances of beheadings being carried out here now by exetremists who havent gone to syria than those who have.

But in the grand scheme of things,thats not going to happen any time soon.If anything, muslims are quite sympathetic to Ireland in comparison to other western countries.

Also lets not forget either that the beheading in london was for the most part a political target (enemy soldier) for propaganda reasons.Mary working in the IFSC doesn't have much to worry about.

I'm not too sure about that. They see every non Muslim as an infidel. I'm sure you've seen the pics of the 2-4 year old Christian girl that they beheaded in Iraq

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I dont think we should get too ahead of ourselves here saying that there are going to be beheadings in the middle of o'connell street if some of these return..........

No more than usual at any rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Yes I completely think that these men should be stripped of their passports.

They should be stripped of their heads in my opinion if they believe in that kind of $h!tie in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

From todays Irish Indo

I totally agree, they should be stripped of their passports and if it was possible their citizenship of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

To compare these animals to the Irishmen who fought in WW1 is disgusting

Yeah in fairness I think he should be banned for that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Whether they have done anything here yet is immaterial, If they plan to go off behead people rape women, bury kids alive , we have a responsibility if they are Irish citizens , (I use that term loosely)as I would guess that most got their citizenship through naturalization, it should be removed from them if they are planning to go and commit terror. Does it matter where they commit the offence? Or should we only react when it happens here

Any facts to back up these claims?

They are not going over there to collect sand....

watch this;
    /watch?v=AUjHb4C7b94

Well they are hardly going on a lads package holiday, but if you think otherwise, I despair

Weren't the anti-Assad guys the good guys up til some time this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

They are freedom fighters until they cross the border.

I think IS was formed as a result but it's a different group. I believe anti-Assad is actually fighting against IS in Syria. Also the talban want noting to do with IS because they think they are too extreme, now that tells you something haha

The mainstream Syrian rebels are even fighting against these guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭yoozername

Phew! So as long as we keep the muslims sympathetic to Ireland, we'll be ok, right? Keep the head down, and mouth shut, understood. I'm sure the 29 Marys killed in the WTC didn't think they had much to worry about, but if you say we're ok, then that's a load off.

There were two muslims (she had a hijab, he had a good tan) in the queue ahead of me just now in Lidl. She was calling him a lazy prick because he wouldn't skip back and get a larger bag of spuds. He lost and went back to get it.
    I'm an intelligence expert so I'll guess that was for a bomb they're building. Couldn't be because she's sick to **** of dragging his lazy butt around the place and doing his thinking for him. That'd be a normal Irish couple.

There were two muslims (she had a hijab, he had a good tan) in the queue ahead of me just now in Lidl. She was calling him a lazy prick because he wouldn't skip back and get a larger bag of spuds. He lost and went back to get it.
    I'm an intelligence expert so I'll guess that was for a bomb they're building. Couldn't be because she's sick to **** of dragging his lazy butt around the place and doing his thinking for him. That'd be a normal Irish couple.

Huh?

yoozername wrote: »
    Huh?

Paranoia.

Paranoia.

"It's not paranoia if they are out to get you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

The article suggests that 'some' of these Jihadist have Irish passports, that would imply that 'some do not', which leaves me baffled as to why somebody that's not an Irish citizen is living here and being monitored instead for being tossed on the first plane out of this country.
    As for those that do have Irish passports, they seem to have pledged their allegiance to an new fledgling state (IS), perhaps that will issue them a passport when we cancel theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭geret

are we still trying to free the irish "hero" from Egypt?