Irish Jihadi Threat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

I dont think we should get too ahead of ourselves here saying that there are going to be beheadings in the middle of o'connell street if some of these return.The aim of those going to syria ISN'T to return. There's more chances of beheadings being carried out here now by exetremists who havent gone to syria than those who have.

But in the grand scheme of things,thats not going to happen any time soon.If anything, muslims are quite sympathetic to Ireland in comparison to other western countries.

Also lets not forget either that the beheading in london was for the most part a political target (enemy soldier) for propaganda reasons.Mary working in the IFSC doesn't have much to worry about.

I'm not too sure about that. They see every non Muslim as an infidel. I'm sure you've seen the pics of the 2-4 year old Christian girl that they beheaded in Iraq

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I dont think we should get too ahead of ourselves here saying that there are going to be beheadings in the middle of o'connell street if some of these return..........

No more than usual at any rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Yes I completely think that these men should be stripped of their passports.

They should be stripped of their heads in my opinion if they believe in that kind of $h!tie in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

ken76 wrote: »
    This is scary, they should be stripped of passports

From todays Irish Indo

"Thirty jihadi fighters are using Ireland as a base while travelling regularly to conflict zones in Syria and Iraq, according to Garda intelligence

One suspected Islamic State fighter, who describes himself as Irish-Nigerian, has been using social media to urge fellow Muslims to travel from Europe and elsewhere to fight in Iraq and Syria.

The fighter, who appears to be a teenager or in his early 20s, has posted photographs on social media of himself in Syria wearing combat gear and carrying machine guns.

He used a publicly accessible message board to urge fellow Muslims to take up arms and gave advice on how to get to Syria without raising the suspicions of western intelligence agencies. The same fighter has also been seeking to recruit people on an encrypted messaging service. He advised potential fighters to travel to Syria via Turkey, but to fly to another country first and buy a return ticket so as not to arouse suspicion.

Cant post links for some reason

I totally agree, they should be stripped of their passports and if it was possible their citizenship of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

To compare these animals to the Irishmen who fought in WW1 is disgusting

Yeah in fairness I think he should be banned for that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Whether they have done anything here yet is immaterial, If they plan to go off behead people rape women, bury kids alive , we have a responsibility if they are Irish citizens , (I use that term loosely)as I would guess that most got their citizenship through naturalization, it should be removed from them if they are planning to go and commit terror. Does it matter where they commit the offence? Or should we only react when it happens here

Any facts to back up these claims?

RustyNut wrote: »

They are not going over there to collect sand....

watch this;
    /watch?v=AUjHb4C7b94

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭ken76

RustyNut wrote: »

Well they are hardly going on a lads package holiday, but if you think otherwise, I despair

Weren't the anti-Assad guys the good guys up til some time this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

They are freedom fighters until they cross the border.

I think IS was formed as a result but it's a different group. I believe anti-Assad is actually fighting against IS in Syria. Also the talban want noting to do with IS because they think they are too extreme, now that tells you something haha

The mainstream Syrian rebels are even fighting against these guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭yoozername

But in the grand scheme of things,thats not going to happen any time soon.If anything, muslims are quite sympathetic to Ireland in comparison to other western countries.

Also lets not forget either that the beheading in london was for the most part a political target (enemy soldier) for propaganda reasons.Mary working in the IFSC doesn't have much to worry about.

Phew! So as long as we keep the muslims sympathetic to Ireland, we'll be ok, right? Keep the head down, and mouth shut, understood. I'm sure the 29 Marys killed in the WTC didn't think they had much to worry about, but if you say we're ok, then that's a load off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

There were two muslims (she had a hijab, he had a good tan) in the queue ahead of me just now in Lidl. She was calling him a lazy prick because he wouldn't skip back and get a larger bag of spuds. He lost and went back to get it.
    I'm an intelligence expert so I'll guess that was for a bomb they're building. Couldn't be because she's sick to **** of dragging his lazy butt around the place and doing his thinking for him. That'd be a normal Irish couple.

There were two muslims (she had a hijab, he had a good tan) in the queue ahead of me just now in Lidl. She was calling him a lazy prick because he wouldn't skip back and get a larger bag of spuds. He lost and went back to get it.
    I'm an intelligence expert so I'll guess that was for a bomb they're building. Couldn't be because she's sick to **** of dragging his lazy butt around the place and doing his thinking for him. That'd be a normal Irish couple.

Huh?

yoozername wrote: »
    Huh?

Paranoia.

Paranoia.

"It's not paranoia if they are out to get you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭conorhal

The article suggests that 'some' of these Jihadist have Irish passports, that would imply that 'some do not', which leaves me baffled as to why somebody that's not an Irish citizen is living here and being monitored instead for being tossed on the first plane out of this country.
    As for those that do have Irish passports, they seem to have pledged their allegiance to an new fledgling state (IS), perhaps that will issue them a passport when we cancel theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭geret

are we still trying to free the irish "hero" from Egypt?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 700 ✭✭✭mikeyjames9

A percentage of these flakes will make it back to both here and the UK. With training and a peanut brain. Both the security services here and abroad fear what will happen when somebody looks at them the wrong way.
    That's why Cameron broke off the family holiday. He doesn't give a monkeys about them going out. Its making sure they can't come back that's worrying people.

over half of the 500 who left UK to join IS have since returned

according to intelligence sources

geret wrote: »

He had nothing to do with ISIS. Completely unrelated.

lol

He had nothing to do with ISIS. Completely unrelated.

But he has connections to the muslim brotherhood

He lived in Ireland. The pub he drank in will at one time or another have had a RIRA member in it too. The lad needs a fair trial. Thats all anyone is asking on that matter. Not exactly the earth.

sure the poor créatúr was only there to say hello to his granny and give her a hand on the farm, and sure the next thing, wouldn't you know it, he's caught up in the middle of a rally in support of the 'Brotherhood as they burn the churches and massacre the Copts, the poor divil, looks like a grand lad, shockin' so it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭geret

He lived in Ireland. The pub he drank in will at one time or another have had a RIRA member in it too. The lad needs a fair trial. Thats all anyone is asking on that matter. Not exactly the earth.

uh, oh...it seems the a fair trial isn't enough

http:// www. breakingnews.ie/ireland/trial-of-irish-egyptian-teenager-to-take-place-in-cairo-today-638906.html
    Ibrahim's sister Nusayba however said that calling for a fair trial isn't enough, and the Irish Government should be doing more.

anyone associating with fundamental terrorists should not be welcomed back

I wouldn't start a witchhunt. First they come for your enemies. Then your friends. When they come for you there's nobody left to complain to.
    Someone more useful than me said that more eloquently.

By the way - if he was an Irish lad who was accused of blowing up, say a pub in Birmingham...would you be as quick to condemn ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

anyone associating with fundamental terrorists should not be welcomed back

That would cover most of the israeli diplomatic staff so.

I wouldn't start a witchhunt. First they come for your enemies. Then your friends. When they come for you there's nobody left to complain to.
    Someone more useful than me said that more eloquently.

By the way - if he was an Irish lad who was accused of blowing up, say a pub in Birmingham...would you be as quick to condemn ?

Warped sense of logic here. Who's the "they" you're talking about? The Muslim Brotherhood?!

If he has anything to do with the MB, he's guilty. By their own admission, they were there in support of the MB. In case you don't know, the MB are Nazi-affiliated filth, with a particular penchant for massacring Copts. Why support him and his ilk?