Tango one is down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Have a look at the pictures in this link.
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/08/18/aftermath/

That is the junction of oxford road and Charleston road in the period just after he was shot.

That is not cowper downs where he lived with his wife.

Yeah, I'm not up on the neighbourhood. Its some of the comments on that article. You'd swear he was JFK or John Lennon. I don't give a monkeys where he got shot. No more that I care where the rubbish I threw out this morning went.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I don't give a monkeys where he got shot. No more that I care where the rubbish I threw out this morning went.
    Then why state that he got done on the road outside his house, and that the movie got the locations right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Some of us are 40ish and above and living in Dublin. It's not a shocking statistic. Breaking news, Dublin is a small town.

I'm fortyish, live in dublin and grew in a neighborhood alongside some of this fellas relatives and I can't say I know a whole lot about that scene other than what I read in the newspapers

I'm implying most of the people on here giving it loads here are probably in the same boat, just reciting what they read in the press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

I overheard from one of the skobie, scaldy,scummy dirtbags in O'Connell street that Cahill was in talks to play Nidge’s Grandad when it happened, shame.

smash wrote: »
    Then why state that he got done on the road outside his house, and that the movie got the locations right?

Read the thread. The "outside the house" debate is between two other people. I knew he owned a couple of houses and was killed outside one of them and yes.... the movie got that part right. Braveheart was set in Scotland but mainly shot here. Saving Private Ryan did the beach scenes in Wexford. Movies tend to do that.

Bambi wrote: »
    I'm fortyish, live in dublin and grew in a neighborhood alongside some of this fellas relatives and I can't say I know a whole lot about that scene other than what I read in the newspapers

I'm implying most of the people on here giving it loads here are probably in the same boat, just reciting what they read in the press.

Living on Cork Street, read the papers. Thats that. I know one or two things through "things you hear down the pub". We both know how much thats worth. Simple point, this clown was not Robin Hood. Robin Williams died last week...now there's a life worth remembering. And yeah, I thought the Mickey Mouse underpants joke outside the High court was funny too. Then I started to hear tales about the intimidation he inflicted on people. And they were the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

He owned both houses. Was banging both sisters.

did it not turn out sometime later he also had a child with a third sister?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

For a man who liked to stick the two fingers up at the establishment as to his criminally acquired wealth he died behind the wheel of a fairly low cost motor :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Thread title had me thinking that a fake tanned bird had fallen over in Krystle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

My Wifes Grandmother lives in Rathmines and has done all her life, she swears the place was never as safe in terms of petty crimes as when the General was knocking about. That said though it could just be that we now have evolved with a different more ruthless type of criminal. Like yer man Dunne said would come along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

For a man who liked to stick the two fingers up at the establishment as to his criminally acquired wealth he died behind the wheel of a fairly low cost motor :confused:

Looked like a nice day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Thread title had me thinking that a fake tanned bird had fallen over in Krystle.

I thought it was a Bargain Alert!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

Not sure if the other sister lived there but I was under the impression he lived/spent the night in Swan's court because he was collecting social welfare or something.

Swan's court is actually on the site of the notorious Mount Pleasant buildings, Cahill himself was a tenant of the Holyfield buildings in Rathmines. Where were they? Where Tesco is now?

(As you might guess I'm more interested in social history of the area than 'ODC' Cahill, although like it or not he is part of the social history).

Not sure if the other sister lived there but I was under the impression he lived/spent the night in Swan's court because he was collecting social welfare or something.

Swan's court is actually on the site of the notorious Mount Pleasant buildings, Cahill himself was a tenant of the Holyfield buildings in Rathmines. Where were they? Where Tesco is now?

(As you might guess I'm more interested in social history of the area than 'ODC' Cahill, although like it or not he is part of the social history).

He was claiming down in Werburgh St. when RTE hijacked him for a Today Tonight thing (Millionaire Gangster Claiming Dole Shock). It'll be on YouTube. But that exchange closed probably before he did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Not sure about his reason for been where he was, but his dole office was the old church on Victoria street in Portobello.
    He was brought up in the Hollyfield buildings which were demolished in the 70s. Cahill actually took the council to court to try to preserve them. I am not sure where they were located though...

^ We've nailed him for dole fraud. :eek: Who wudda thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Read the thread. The "outside the house" debate is between two other people. I knew he owned a couple of houses and was killed outside one of them and yes.... the movie got that part right.

But like myself and another person have said already... He was not killed outside one of his houses!

He's dead. I piss on his grave and **** his memory. Like I said I don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭wiseoldelf34

paulie the hack made a ball of money out of him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Ah yes, the provos, big hard men

ah we can let them off on this one.

naughty provos. bold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭wiseoldelf34

my favourite part was when he shot the guy from the dole for cutting his scratcher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

My cousin got arrested for the shooting :D

In the initial chaos after it, the Guards circulated a description (on the Garda radio net) of a possible description of the bike.

Said cousin rode a similar bike and liked to go faaaaaaast.....he was spotted haring through Donnybrook, stopped and taken away to help the Guards with their inquiries.......for six hours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 305 ✭✭Jimminy Mc Fukhead

A proficient burglar and armed robber Cahill lacked a strategic outlook.
    By appearing on television in mickey mouse boxer shorts and a balaclava and mocking the authorities he brought upon himself 24 hour surveillence and was never able to make money again. His greatest victories thereafter involved temporarily giving his surveillance the slip. But he could never get the time alone to plan or carry out any job. Time was needed to watch places, organise jobs, meet with inside guys - all of which he could never do in his later years. The Beit paintings contributed to this. A project that netted him zero return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

realies wrote: »
    Are today's criminals any better ?

Worse, probably. Larry Dunne, a near contemporary of Cahill's, warned a garda that if they thought he was bad wait for the next generation (Apres moi, la deluge!). And I say that not to defend Cahill or Dunne, far from it.

A proficient burglar and armed robber Cahill lacked a strategic outlook.
    By appearing on television in mickey mouse boxer shorts and a balaclava and mocking the authorities he brought upon himself 24 hour surveillence and was never able to make money again. His greatest victories thereafter involved temporarily giving his surveillance the slip. But he could never get the time alone to plan or carry out any job. Time was needed to watch places, organise jobs, meet with inside guys - all of which he could never do in his later years. The Beit paintings contributed to this. A project that netted him zero return.

Cahill lacked a strategic outlook? Seriously - it's not Bill Gates, or Jeff Bezos were talking about.

I'm guessing if he possessed a 'strategic outlook' (as well as a conscience) he wouldn't have entered on his parasitic life of crime and exploitation in the first place!

Plus - "His greatest victories thereafter involved temporarily giving his surveillance the slip." - you mean he had other 'victories' before this? Do tell, what were these 'victories'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Wasn't this thread done (and locked!) last night?

You'd think he was some sort of hero reading some of the posts here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

A thug. Lol at anyone who glorifies him. Either complete scumbags or people from comfortable, privileged backgrounds with a gangster fixation.
    Ah yes, the provos, big hard men
    Well they would have been hard men, yeh. Any view on the UVF, also mentioned in the post?

Jawgap wrote: »
    Plus - "His greatest victories thereafter involved temporarily giving his surveillance the slip." - you mean he had other 'victories' before this? Do tell, what were these 'victories'?

To name one - the O Connors jewellery heist. While morally reprehensible within the province of his own lowly profession was a successful operation.

Another victory would be that while engaging in discussion and debate he wasn't excitable, histrionic or quarrelsome.

To name one - the O Connors jewellery heist. While morally reprehensible within the province of his own lowly profession was a successful operation.

I'm sure the people who lost their jobs when the place had to close because of his actions were 'delighted' to revel in his 'victory.'
    Another victory would be that while engaging in discussion and debate he wasn't excitable, histrionic or quarrelsome.

Good to hear he was quite the rhetorician......he hid it well :rolleyes:

Jawgap wrote: »
    I'm sure the people who lost their jobs when the place had to close because of his actions were 'delighted' to revel in his 'victory.'

Of course they weren't delighted. Did I say they would be?

Unfortunately Jawgp you lack the intellect to comprehend that any action in this world can be simultaneously morally deficient and competently executed.
    Good to hear he was quite the rhetorician......he hid it well :rolleyes:

I see everything has to be explained to you - slowly. I wasn't talking about him being excitable. It was an obviously too subtle reference to you getting your knickers in a twist.