Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tango one is down

• 19-08-2014 11:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭

Just listening to rte1 and reading in today's Irish independent.

Today he is all but forgetten but this week 20 years ago the man known as The General was dominating the news.

It was just before 3.20pm on the previous afternoon that a hitman posing as a corporation worker ended the reign 
of Ireland's most feared - and colourful - criminal mastermind.

At the time of his dramatic demise, The General was the undisputed godfather of the Irish underworld who had been responsible for some of the biggest heists in the State's history.

Also referred to by the codename 'Tango One', he waged an unrelenting war against the Gardai.
    The criminal underworld and the Provos went to the brink of war when the Republicans tried to extort some of the spoils from Cahill, who famously rebuffed them with the words: "If you want gold then go out and rob your own gold like we did."

The situation was calmed down when gardai arrested an entire IRA active service unit after they had kidnapped one of Cahill's lieutenants, Martin 'The Viper' Foley.

Such was his notoriety that he was the subject of no less than three movies and a bestselling book. John Boorman's award-winning movie, The General, launched the Hollywood career of Brendan Gleeson. And I may add Paul Williams career as well.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gangland-has-completely-changed-since-the-general-was-shot-dead-20-years-ago-30517377.html

In them days it was all the general,the monk and the penguin ,it sounds like a bedtime story :-) Are today's criminals any better ? Or has anything changed at all,The general has been described as a hero/villain. what your opinions on him ?

My opinion is that the Martin Cahill story is turning into him being a Robin Hood type person,he was an eccentric man other wise just another criminal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Sales of 4" nails never recovered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

realies wrote: »
    The general has been described as a hero/villain. what your opinions on him ?

He had a lot of honest working people living in fear. He was never a hero, he was never a 'robin hood' and he certainly was no 'ordinary decent criminal'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

He was a dirty scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The criminal underworld and the Provos went to the brink of war when the Republicans tried to extort some of the spoils from Cahill, who famously rebuffed them with the words: "If you want gold then go out and rob your own gold like we did."

Yep. And he regretted that when they riddled him outside his house with a .357 magnum.

Martin Cahill was a scumbag and a thug who was far from a Robin Hood character. While not a direct seller of drugs himself he had money tied up in that business and was totally and utterly amoral, like the rest of them to be honest. He wasn't some noble breed of criminal. Members of his gang were even worse.

One of his men was molesting and raping and his own daughter and Cahill threatened to have the family killed when they went to the police; they later had to go to the INLA for protection. Another of his lieutenants, Martin Foley, is a notorious scumbag as well. On top of this Cahill also tried to extort and bully hotdog vendors in Dublin, seriously assaulting a number of working class men who worked hard to make a living. Worst of all, he was collaborating with the UVF who were up to their neck in sectarian murder and who had recently tried to blow up a pub full of people in Dublin.

I'm from a council estate and can say with certainty that this concept of the "ODC" is nothing but a myth. They more often than not are violent, sociopathic tramps who make life a misery for the decent people around them.

Good riddance to Cahill and anyone like him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Complete total and utter scumbag. We are wasting bytes talking about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

heard on the radio one of the rags were doing some special on Cahill, and was wondering why

20 years on? doesnt deserve to be remembered 1 month on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Cahill was a violent idiot who tried playing both sides off each other up North. The surprise wasn't that he got shot, its that it should have happened ten years earlier. Whether it was the IRA / UVF / The Guards / half the heads in Dublin that did him in doesn't bother anybody.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I lived in an estate with a lot of senior gardai lived. On my road alone there was a couple of superintendents. He slashed all the tyres on the road. Cost my dad a fortune. Whats worse I couldnt get to my football match the next day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

Brink of war my arse, I'm afraid you're reading too much works of fiction. Cahill made the fatal mistake of involving himself with the UVF. And after the UVF tried to bomb the Widows Scallan's pub in May 1994. Cahill got the bullet 3 months later.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Yep. And he regretted that when they riddled him outside his house with a .357 magnum.

Except that didn't happen. He wasn't killed outside his house!

Brink of war my arse, I'm afraid you're reading too much works of fiction.

The aura certain journos try to create around some scumbags is pretty hilarious. More hilarious that people swallow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

More interested in how much Ranelagh (where Cahill was shot) has changed in 20 years. Not that it was generally rough then, but there were a lot of bedsits and other rented accommodation, always a few homeless people around the triangle a ****ty night club called night owls and Jason's snooker hall. Now look at the place. Despite the recession the Ranelaghfication of the city continues, it's spread from D six to D eight and now Manor Street. Meanwhile the Martin Cahills of this world are more likely to be found outside the M50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

thought this was gonna be about a messed up US marine helicopter mission gone wrong :(

More interested in how much Ranelagh (where Cahill was shot) has changed in 20 years. Not that it was generally rough then, but there were a lot of bedsits and other rented accommodation, always a few homeless people around the triangle a ****ty night club called night owls and Jason's snooker hall. Now look at the place. Despite the recession the Ranelaghfication of the city continues, it's spread from D six to D eight and now Manor Street. Meanwhile the Martin Cahills of this world are more likely to be found outside the M50.

Rathmines has not changed a bit though....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

Such was his notoriety that he was the subject of no less than three movies and a bestselling book. John Boorman's award-winning movie, The General, launched the Hollywood career of Brendan Gleeson. And I may add Paul Williams career as well.

I've seen The General and Ordinary Decent Criminal but what the third one?

Beano wrote: »
    I've seen The General and Ordinary Decent Criminal but what the third one?

The little toerag even has his own IMDB page.

http://www.imdb.com/character/ch0019386/

Download them illegally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

The little toerag even has his own IMDB page.

http://www.imdb.com/character/ch0019386/

Download them illegally.

I will. Its what he would have wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Martin Cahill was a scumbag and a thug who was far from a Robin Hood character. While not a direct seller of drugs himself he had money tied up in that business and was totally and utterly amoral, like the rest of them to be honest. He wasn't some noble breed of criminal. Members of his gang were even worse.

One of his men was molesting and raping and his own daughter and Cahill threatened to have the family killed when they went to the police; they later had to go to the INLA for protection. Another of his lieutenants, Martin Foley, is a notorious scumbag as well. On top of this Cahill also tried to extort and bully hotdog vendors in Dublin, seriously assaulting a number of working class men who worked hard to make a living. Worst of all, he was collaborating with the UVF who were up to their neck in sectarian murder and who had recently tried to blow up a pub full of people in Dublin.

I'm from a council estate and can say with certainty that this concept of the "ODC" is nothing but a myth. They more often than not are violent, sociopathic tramps who make life a misery for the decent people around them.

Good riddance to Cahill and anyone like him.

Ah yes, the provos, big hard men

Nope, exactly the same as MC, cowardly bullying thugs. Any UVF supporters can jump into the same boat. If it sinks, meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

He was a fúcking scumbag. My uncle was on the Garda team trying to take him down and my other uncles (who had nothing to do with the guards) car was burnt out outside his house. With a letter through the letterbox telling him to get his brother off his back. Pure scum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm amazed there are so many posters on boards who were moving in martin cahills circles 20 years ago.

Impressive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

All the so called ODC's are just extortionate scumbags at the end of the day.Used to work for a charity based in the North Inner City in the mid 90's,and a diminutive,very well known crime figure,well liked and regarded as an ODC in the area (name rhymes with funk) repeatedly threatened to burn our offices to the ground unless we paid him protection money.Just moved offices in the end.

Bambi wrote: »
    I'm amazed there are so many posters on boards who were moving in martin cahills circles 20 years ago.

Impressive

Some of us are 40ish and above and living in Dublin. It's not a shocking statistic. Breaking news, Dublin is a small town.

All the so called ODC's are just extortionate scumbags at the end of the day.Used to work for a charity based in the North Inner City in the mid 90's,and a diminutive,very well known crime figure,well liked and regarded as an ODC in the area (name rhymes with funk) repeatedly threatened to burn our offices to the ground unless we paid him protection money.Just moved offices in the end.

Is Gerry H. still in the taxi business ? Just to prove the above point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

smash wrote: »
    Except that didn't happen. He wasn't killed outside his house!

It did really. He had just gotten into his car and was shot less than a minute's drive down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

It did really. He had just gotten into his car and was shot less than a minute's drive down the road.

So not outside his house then?

No he wasn't. He lived in Cowper Downs in Rathmines and frequented another house in Swan Grove in Rathmines(his wife's sister). He was shot on Charleston Road heading from Ranelagh towards Rathmines. The movie didn't tell the truth.

He owned both houses. Was banging both sisters. And got done on the road outside his house. If the CAB had been in existence at the time, he wouldn't have owned the house. The movie that Boorman (Gleeson starring in) made had a few errors in but they got the sisters and the locations right.

Have a look at the pictures in this link.
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/08/18/aftermath/

That is the junction of oxford road and Charleston road in the period just after he was shot.

That is not cowper downs where he lived with his wife.

Here's where he was done:
    http://comeheretome.files.wordpress.com/2014/02/general.jpeg

Charleston road, Ranelagh.

Have a look at the pictures in this link.

That is the junction of oxford road and Charleston road in the period just after he was shot.

That is not cowper downs where he lived with his wife.

Yeah, I'm not up on the neighbourhood. Its some of the comments on that article. You'd swear he was JFK or John Lennon. I don't give a monkeys where he got shot. No more that I care where the rubbish I threw out this morning went.

I don't give a monkeys where he got shot. No more that I care where the rubbish I threw out this morning went.
    Then why state that he got done on the road outside his house, and that the movie got the locations right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Some of us are 40ish and above and living in Dublin. It's not a shocking statistic. Breaking news, Dublin is a small town.

I'm fortyish, live in dublin and grew in a neighborhood alongside some of this fellas relatives and I can't say I know a whole lot about that scene other than what I read in the newspapers

I'm implying most of the people on here giving it loads here are probably in the same boat, just reciting what they read in the press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

I overheard from one of the skobie, scaldy,scummy dirtbags in O'Connell street that Cahill was in talks to play Nidge’s Grandad when it happened, shame.

Then why state that he got done on the road outside his house, and that the movie got the locations right?

Read the thread. The "outside the house" debate is between two other people. I knew he owned a couple of houses and was killed outside one of them and yes.... the movie got that part right. Braveheart was set in Scotland but mainly shot here. Saving Private Ryan did the beach scenes in Wexford. Movies tend to do that.

Bambi wrote: »
    I'm fortyish, live in dublin and grew in a neighborhood alongside some of this fellas relatives and I can't say I know a whole lot about that scene other than what I read in the newspapers

I'm implying most of the people on here giving it loads here are probably in the same boat, just reciting what they read in the press.

Living on Cork Street, read the papers. Thats that. I know one or two things through "things you hear down the pub". We both know how much thats worth. Simple point, this clown was not Robin Hood. Robin Williams died last week...now there's a life worth remembering. And yeah, I thought the Mickey Mouse underpants joke outside the High court was funny too. Then I started to hear tales about the intimidation he inflicted on people. And they were the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

He owned both houses. Was banging both sisters.

did it not turn out sometime later he also had a child with a third sister?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

For a man who liked to stick the two fingers up at the establishment as to his criminally acquired wealth he died behind the wheel of a fairly low cost motor :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Thread title had me thinking that a fake tanned bird had fallen over in Krystle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

My Wifes Grandmother lives in Rathmines and has done all her life, she swears the place was never as safe in terms of petty crimes as when the General was knocking about. That said though it could just be that we now have evolved with a different more ruthless type of criminal. Like yer man Dunne said would come along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

For a man who liked to stick the two fingers up at the establishment as to his criminally acquired wealth he died behind the wheel of a fairly low cost motor :confused:

Looked like a nice day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Thread title had me thinking that a fake tanned bird had fallen over in Krystle.

I thought it was a Bargain Alert!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

Not sure if the other sister lived there but I was under the impression he lived/spent the night in Swan's court because he was collecting social welfare or something.

Swan's court is actually on the site of the notorious Mount Pleasant buildings, Cahill himself was a tenant of the Holyfield buildings in Rathmines. Where were they? Where Tesco is now?

(As you might guess I'm more interested in social history of the area than 'ODC' Cahill, although like it or not he is part of the social history).

Not sure if the other sister lived there but I was under the impression he lived/spent the night in Swan's court because he was collecting social welfare or something.

Swan's court is actually on the site of the notorious Mount Pleasant buildings, Cahill himself was a tenant of the Holyfield buildings in Rathmines. Where were they? Where Tesco is now?

(As you might guess I'm more interested in social history of the area than 'ODC' Cahill, although like it or not he is part of the social history).

He was claiming down in Werburgh St. when RTE hijacked him for a Today Tonight thing (Millionaire Gangster Claiming Dole Shock). It'll be on YouTube. But that exchange closed probably before he did.

Not sure about his reason for been where he was, but his dole office was the old church on Victoria street in Portobello.
    He was brought up in the Hollyfield buildings which were demolished in the 70s. Cahill actually took the council to court to try to preserve them. I am not sure where they were located though...

^ We've nailed him for dole fraud. :eek: Who wudda thought.

Read the thread. The "outside the house" debate is between two other people. I knew he owned a couple of houses and was killed outside one of them and yes.... the movie got that part right.

But like myself and another person have said already... He was not killed outside one of his houses!

He's dead. I piss on his grave and **** his memory. Like I said I don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭wiseoldelf34

paulie the hack made a ball of money out of him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

ah we can let them off on this one.

naughty provos. bold.