If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Beef General Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Charliebull

LivInt20 wrote: »
    Quality export quality Bull weanlings make just €900 in Ballymote last night.

Shocking stuff.

It was pretty depressing alright

Did you bring your boys in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Why are lads with weanlings selling if things are so bad? Afraid of things getting worse once the glut comes on in sept? Must be costing very little to be keeping these weanlings at home currently? Grass is very plentiful around here..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Damo810 wrote: »
    Why are lads with weanlings selling if things are so bad? Afraid of things getting worse once the glut comes on in sept? Must be costing very little to be keeping these weanlings at home currently? Grass is very plentiful around here..

Ppl need money I suppose. SFP is a couple of months away. Contractors, millers etc. all looking for money too, and trying to get some in.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Drafted lastest bunch for factory in six weeks meal and best of grass from now delighted with gain over summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,897 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

580 kg fr bulls,hol freisan type,fleshy but in need of intensive finishing .goingvto mart Tuesday ,will they make 1.50/1.60 kg.february/march 2013 born

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

mahoney_j wrote: »
    580 kg fr bulls,hol freisan type,fleshy but in need of intensive finishing .goingvto mart Tuesday ,will they make 1.50/1.60 kg.february/march 2013 born

That's some weight for 1 1/2 yr old friesans. They must have a lot ate!

Have 3 ,theyvwere reared up to June 1 to be sold as breeding bulls,1 was I fertile and no buyers for 2.they were well fed up to date.ob quality grass since and 3 kg rolled barley for last 2 weeks.getting too big and hard to manage now so there out of here.was going to put them in and finish myself but with beef market the way it is and fact I rarely go to the factory I reckon I'd be easy pickings for a factory agent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,112 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Lads i posted here couple months back factories were pushing for 3.60. Got from reliable source.

bad news is was chatting same lad today.
    next target is 3.30-3.40 and no way is it going up is the story.
    sorry not to have good news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,638 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

TUBBY wrote: »
    Lads i posted here couple months back factories were pushing for 3.60. Got from reliable source.

bad news is was chatting same lad today.
    next target is 3.30-3.40 and no way is it going up is the story.
    sorry not to have good news.

Don't worry. Can't say I'm terrible surprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,243 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I wonder what's the long term strategy with this impossible downward pressure on price..

I don't think its as simple as they just want to pay crap money for their raw material, I mean its perfectly obvious that the volume of animals available will drop like a stone thus causing the need for them to bid strongly in the future for Irish grown animals..

Are they much further along the road of being in a position to secure their own animal supply from owned/leased farms and so aren't afraid of numbers falling from real farms.

Are they confident that the market just doesn't care where the carcass comes from as long as its cheap hitting the shelves... And so all these whispers about truck load after truck load of Polish beef being brought in will fill the hole in numbers.

What else are they maneuvering the market towards? I get the feeling this is a strategic push and not just pushing prices down..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Surely the minister for tanks and tractors knows all about it doesn't his brother work for a well know beef baron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

The processors were caught flat footed by the horsemeat scandal they were operating a high volume low margin business dumping Irish beef and whatever else on the UK multiples .The barrage of inspections ,renegotiated and lost contracts which followed has forced them to reassess the model ,now they have to supply the correct quality and this entails smaller carcases ,no bulls and traditional breeds .
    The weekly demand is lower and a lot of our product does not meet the criteria hence huge pressure on prices ,couple this with the fact that the processors see the opportunity in dairy bred traditional breeds to finish young in volume the future for those who are not adaptable is not so rosy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Have 3 ,theyvwere reared up to June 1 to be sold as breeding bulls,1 was I fertile and no buyers for 2.they were well fed up to date.ob quality grass since and 3 kg rolled barley for last 2 weeks.getting too big and hard to manage now so there out of here.was going to put them in and finish myself but with beef market the way it is and fact I rarely go to the factory I reckon I'd be easy pickings for a factory agent

Sorry but I'd have no idea of their value MJ, but if they were mine, in such good order I'd take them to the mart. When u have good stuff sell in the mart, when u have bad stuff sell at home.

No bother,there off to mart in morning anyway so I'll update tomorrow night fingers crossed for a decent sale!!.obe of them is turning very nasty and likes to show his authority so he ain't comming back home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

No bother,there off to mart in morning anyway so I'll update tomorrow night fingers crossed for a decent sale!!.obe of them is turning very nasty and likes to show his authority so he ain't comming back home
    I had an ex girlfriend like that

1.52 a kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Saint Sonner

I'm total farm noob:

When should you be treating suckler cattle with inter-mammary syringes? When should you be using any other products such as de wormer etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Another lovely cheerful headline!!

Are Tesco that big of a player in the market?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Muckit wrote: »

Probably revenge for farmers disrupting their supermarkets over the last few weeks....got fairly hot in Portlaoise a fortnight ago...guards an all on the scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Muckit wrote: »

it does seem that way doesnt it, at this rate beef farming will be a thing of the past,

how much is meal at the moment, is it even worth buying it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Toplink

is it even worth buying it

Probably not to be honest.

Sold rwh heifer 490kg 800 euro. Eldest lads santa present from 2012 in mart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

whelan2 wrote: »
    We'll done, will he invest in another?

I remember you asking about that at the time... its great he enjoyed keeping her.. was he there in the box when she was selling ??

_Brian wrote: »
    I remember you asking about that at the time... its great he enjoyed keeping her.. was he there in the box when she was selling ??
    ye he brought her down this morning, got her numbered and all. I asked him thiis morning how much would she make and he said hopefully 200 euro, he's delighted:D

Great stuff.. I remember being in the box with my dad for the selling of my first animal many years ago.. so exciting.. And if he was only expecting €200 he now thinks there is a killing to be made in beef compared to that twice a day milking carry on.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,638 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Great to see their faces at that craic alright