Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Note in OP, 25/08

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

You can disagree all you want. A forward wasn't needed at the time RvP became available but he was another player you couldn't turn your nose up at.

That's the problem with United at the moment, signing players who aren't needed instead of strengthening the correct areas.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

As another poster wisely highlighted, we desperately need midfielders, yet we managed to end up paying Chelsea £37m for surplus to requirements Mata so they could then get Fabregas for £30m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

twam2008 wrote: »
    In fairness the Spaniards riot on the streets when they win things :)
    Some fine ladies though... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

irishfeen wrote: »
    It's ironic how Sir Alex Fergusons stature as a manager is growing day by day as United's decline sets in... Was talking to a Spanish mate who is a big Real supporter today and he cannot believe how far United have slipped since he left (he even said if this was Real there probably would be rioting on the streets) - this for the most is the team that ran RM so very close in Fergusons last campaign.

He and his circle of buddy's who go to the matches could not understand how Ferguson over the years used to turn relatively cheap, good players (even sometimes average players) into league and even CL winners - they thought he just got rather lucky with the standard of the PL/CL for years. They now after seeing how things have fell apart since absolutely laud SAF for what he achieved at United - every time we fall in stature SAFs statute rises.

Just such a pity that he left your squad in such a parlous state. Ageing CBs, dodgy wide men, crumbly midfielders. Sure he got the most out of them but he was rather like the chap who sell you a car with lovely shiny paint and wheels but shot engine bearings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Just such a pity that he left your squad in such a parlous state. Ageing CBs, dodgy wide men, crumbly midfielders. Sure he got the most out of them but he was rather like the chap who sell you a car with lovely shiny paint and wheels but shot engine bearings.

Yeah, that Fergie lad really was awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Arsenal fan here. I think Utd will be definitely challenging this season, especially with no european football as a distraction, although in saying that LVG should scrap that 3-5-2 system for a 4-5-1. I would also think of transforming Rooney into box to box midfielder in the mould of Ramsey and have Mata playing just ahead of him in behind RVP. Mata is a world class attacking midfielder madness hearing some fans calling him a flop, its just when he gets the ball nothing seems to be happening ahead of him as Rooney always seems to be dropping too deep, he needs an out and out striker to play off to be seen to full effect imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭hurlingman97

Half time in 2011 champions league final on SS5 if anyones interested.

Sorry if already posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Just such a pity that he left your squad in such a parlous state. Ageing CBs, dodgy wide men, crumbly midfielders. Sure he got the most of of them but he was rather like the chap who sell you a car with lovely shiny paint and wheels but shot engine bearings.
    You see he won the league - he left the Champions of England ... He to people outside not knowing the squad too well left the best team in England - as I said his stature outside the United fan base is increasing day by day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

I dont have an issue buying mata for 37M but i do have an issue haggling over 5/10/15M when it comes to getting the midfield sorted. While I dont think that the mata transfer had an effect on the money pitched for other signings i shows the misguided transfer policy, not saying mata hasnt been goot but he didnt improve the squad by 37M when you consider that shinji now has less use.

Edit: Sitting in a mata jersey atm, so I do really REALLY like him as a player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

As another poster wisely highlighted, we desperately need midfielders, yet we managed to end up paying Chelsea £37m for surplus to requirements Mata so they could then get Fabregas for £30m.

Tbf Chelsea hit the jackpot this year in transfers
    37 million for mata a player not getting his place
    30 for lukaku a striker who could get into the first team either ( I know he had a good season for Everton)
    50 million for luiz ............. We all know that story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Hococop wrote: »
    30 for lukaku a striker who could get into the first team either ( I know he had a good season for Everton)

£18M for De Bruyne too.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Arsenal fan here. I think Utd will be definitely challenging this season, especially with no european football as a distraction, although in saying that LVG should scrap that 3-5-2 system for a 4-5-1. I would also think of transforming Rooney into box to box midfielder in the mould of Ramsey and have Mata playing just ahead of him in behind RVP. Mata is a world class attacking midfielder madness hearing some fans calling him a flop, its just when he gets the ball nothing seems to be happening ahead of him as Rooney always seems to be dropping too deep, he needs an out and out striker to play off to be seen to full effect imo.

Ronney should be up top and nowhere else. We have the same problem in galway with Joe Canning, some lads on about getting him out the field to be more involved when he is lethal around the box causing havoc up front. Utd have the luxury of being able to bring in players for the middle of the pitch and should use that ability not pushing a top grade forward into an ok headless MF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

TheTownie wrote: »
    £18M for De Bruyne too.

They've spent less than 40m net over the last two seasons even with all the players they brought in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,561 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Losing Lampard to City like that for free even if it is only for a few months would have took the shine off those sales for Chelsea.

Lukaku was bad business on their part I'm convinced.

In fairness Chelsea have been trying properly to get their house in order. They should be more reasonable now that they won the CL and roman is sated for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Ronney should be up top and nowhere else. We have the same problem in galway with Joe Canning, some lads on about getting him out the field to be more involved when he is lethal around the box causing havoc up front. Utd have the luxury of being able to bring in players for the middle of the pitch and should use that ability not pushing a top grade forward into an ok headless MF

He isn't an out an out striker, I reckon he would score 15-20 goals from the midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

thinking of putting in a CV to see if I can replace Ed.

you know much about tyres, noodles and non alcoholic bear? if so...

you will fit the job perfectly :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Will I amnt from the previous thread:
    United seem to have a problem with getting rid of attacking players. That's as much the cause of squad imbalance if you ask me.
    Bring in Di Maria and get rid of Young, even Nani. Kagawa, as much as I like him could have gone when Mata came in. Anderson is still there FFS.

I agree that there is a strange inability to move on players that we no longer need. But that is not the reason we have ended up with an unbalanced team imo.

Look at trying to fit Mata, Rooney and RvP all into the same team. That is imbalance right there. If we wanted to make the best team we would probably drop one of Rooney and RVP. Neither of them would put up with that for very long and so we would end up wasting money and causing unnecessary hassle in the dressing room. We might be able to make the 3412 work with those three, but it is a big upheaval (changing formation) and there's a fair risk that it won't even be that effective.

Di Maria would be a great option on the wing if we go with wingers, or as one of the front two if we go with wing-backs. But if we go with wing-backs and play him up front, then we need to bench one of Rooney or RVP. And the only reason we were going with wing-backs in the first place was so that we could fit all of Mata, Rooney and RvP into the same team. That is a mess.

That mess wastes money, hampers cohesion on the pitch and spirit in the dressing room and makes it almost impossible for youth prospects to get the room to develop.

Imo we should buy the best players to fit the team, not just the best players available. No matter how good they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Do ye think Utd missed a trick with Garay?
    Like Herrera and Shaw he was a player heavily linked in Moyes time. Wasn't his fee to Zenit only something like 15m too?

No use crying over spilt milk but he would have ticked a lot of boxes.

Ah sure my regret will be redundant shortly anyways in 2 weeks time when he have 3 top players brought in :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭twam2008

Lukaku was bad business on their part I'm convinced.

In fairness Chelsea have been trying properly to get their house in order. They should be more reasonable now that they won the CL and roman is sated for now.

I've a couple of Everton mates, and they didn't want him. He is quite an inconsistent player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

twam2008 wrote: »
    I've a couple of Everton mates, and they didn't want him. He is quite an inconsistent player.

A bonkers price to pay for him alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

you know much about tyres, noodles and non alcoholic bear? if so...

you will fit the job perfectly :pac:

I love my yogurt, Muller it is....:D

EVENFLOW

Do ye think Utd missed a trick with Garay?
    Like Herrera and Shaw he was a player heavily linked in Moyes time. Wasn't his fee to Zenit only something like 15m too?

No use crying over spilt milk but he would have ticked a lot of boxes.

Ah sure my regret will be redundant shortly anyways in 2 weeks time when he have 3 top players brought in :pac:

Yeah he was very good value. But if we get Benatia for some sort of sane price then it's all good.

All the Garay links last year came from one Portuguese newspaper and the player himself btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

we need pace: Di Maria or Cuadrado( more getable for less money)

Box to box midfielder: Vidal or Strootman in January

Defenders: Benatia( not looing good atm looks to be joining Bayern) Rojo maybe he has the physicality to play in the Premier League. Blind I wouldn't like to see join

Gringo180 wrote: »
    He isn't an out an out striker, I reckon he would score 15-20 goals from the midfield.

No protection from the midfield though. He his best as an out and out striker though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

wadacrack wrote: »
    we need pace: Di Maria or Cuadrado( more getable for less money)

Box to box midfielder: Vidal or Strootman in January

Defenders: Benatia( not looing good atm looks to be joining Bayern) Rojo maybe he has the physicality to play in the Premier League. Blind I wouldn't like to see join

Any reason for not wanting blind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭twam2008

I think Blind looks class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Could cover LB and DM. Always nice to have utility players

irishfeen wrote: »
    It's ironic how Sir Alex Fergusons stature as a manager is growing day by day as United's decline sets in... Was talking to a Spanish mate who is a big Real supporter today and he cannot believe how far United have slipped since he left (he even said if this was Real there probably would be rioting on the streets) - this for the most is the team that ran RM so very close in Fergusons last campaign.

He and his circle of buddy's who go to the matches could not understand how Ferguson over the years used to turn relatively cheap, good players (even sometimes average players) into league and even CL winners - they thought he just got rather lucky with the standard of the PL/CL for years. They now after seeing how things have fell apart since absolutely laud SAF for what he achieved at United - every time we fall in stature SAFs statute rises.

There's no doubt that Fergie was one of the best managers of all time and got more out of his squads than 99% of managers could have. But, if the Spanish lads used to only think that Fergie was getting lucky with the quality of the opposition and that United only had good and average players, then their opinions really aren't worth paying attention to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

I would also love if we got Blind. Cracking player and covers a lot of ground.