Are'nt the Gardai great sure...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Do Gardai not have discretion on their side at all these days? They give chase to a doctor with a spliff but ignore the already departed shooting up heroin in public..
    And have you actually seen a Garda actually observe someone inject heroin in public and do nothing? I'm not aware that things have gotten to the point where the policy is to actually ignore the problem when it's actually directly observed. The issue is that they are allowed to stay in particular areas where the offence takes place but not in the presence of a Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

catallus;91749914]And €50 worth of cannabis isn't a "small amount" either.

For all intents and purposes it is the smallest denomination it is possible to purchase in the country today. Or so I've heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

For all intents and purposes it is the smallest denomination it is possible to purchase in the country today. Or so I've heard.

25 or the makins lad im strung out :D

And IMO a guard that doesn't know how to deal with a junkie shouldn't be on the job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Most of the lads openly dealing on O'Connell St and other areas in town aren't dealing heroin/crack etc, but are selling prescription pills which aren't illegal to possess afaik.All the Guards can do is confiscate the pills unless the possessor has a valid script.

The prescription pills (mainly benzos) they're dealing are still controlled and it's illegal to deal them. Possession without proof of intent to supply wouldn't be worth the Gardaí's time.

But a big day out over a spliff is???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Also,I was looking for Gardiner Place in town earlier this afternoon, and the two guards I approached on Parnell Street looked the directions up on their phones and told me which way to go.I've lived in London and NY overcthe last few years, and you'd never get that sort of help from the cops over there.

Basically don't be a prick and the guards won't treat you like one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

djflawless wrote: »

If so it's not the fault of the Guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

The garda do their job and arrest a criminal, they're in the wrong

They don't arrest a criminal they're in the wrong

Is there anyway for them to win at all?

djflawless wrote: »
    Yes. Unless there's more to this and he was targeted for a reason that was kept out of court, that idiot (and I repeat idiot) had a big day out for attempting to dispose of the evidence then running from the Gardaí. He threw away any chance of discretion on their part.

None of this appears to be the Gardaí's fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

My local Guards are the best at Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    The garda do their job and arrest a criminal, they're in the wrong

They don't arrest a criminal they're in the wrong

Is there anyway for them to win at all?

By arresting every criminal act they see?

The whole point of this thread is that the Gardaí are often said to ignore dangerous criminals and instead pick out easy targets like some fella rolling a spliff on the street, not whether the guards were right or wrong to arrest this guy.

By arresting every criminal act they see?

The whole point of this thread is that the Gardaí are often said to ignore dangerous criminals and instead pick out easy targets like some fella rolling a spliff on the street, not whether the guards were right or wrong to arrest this guy.
    Something nice and handy for the records/meeting an arrest quota is my opinion
    But then again, its AH so I'm wrong, the guards are great,sure the young lad ran!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

The guards are horrendously under equipped to deal with violent criminals such as heroin addicts, to be honest I don't blame them for not approaching them more often.
    You just categorised yourself with the bit I bolded in your post, and not in a good way...

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    You just categorised yourself with the bit I bolded in your post, and not in a good way...

Ehm, what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Ehm, what?

It's pretty self-explanatory, come on!

catallus wrote: »
    It's pretty self-explanatory, come on!

Nope, still not getting it.. :pac:

Here's a hint: it's not in a good way?

"a good way"

?

try pressing the reset button lads.

You still have to explain this dream you're having.

Here's a hint: it's not in a good way?

"a good way"

?

Is it something to do with me calling heroin addicts violent? I don't know, it's late and I'm tired. Leave me be. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

wazky wrote: »
    Hey Ming, any contact for some homegrown?

I'm in Brussels at the moment, but when I get back I'll see what I can do.

It's hard fecking work trying to legalise it, but the amount of garbage I have to listen to regarding the turf situation here in Brussels is bad enough.

I'll get back to you when I figure out how to convince Brussels to accept our farmers free linage to cut turf in our own country from badly integrated laws from the EU.

I'm off... I hear the cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭italodisco

Another thread on how terrible the gardai are lol

Really sick of socialist / professional protester do-gooder types moaning on about garda brutality

Go live in a country like Spain or Germany and see how it works out for ya , where cops use actual force to deal with people ..

Garda here are absolute pansy boys , if they started doing their job properly you'd complain aswell ....

Or give them the task of dealing with criminals. How long would they last, I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,830 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

I'm a bit shocked reading that article about the doctor possibly losing his job. Fair enough he was pretty stupid doing it in public and then running away from the gardaí, but for such serious consequences for what IMO is not such a serious crime (first offence as well) is insane. Harsh to label the gardaí in general, like all professions it largely comes down to the individual, I've met some very sound gardaí and some very unsound ones, likewise have I met some sound builders and dickh*ad builders, I can't say all builders are a bad bunch.

Overall though I think it's clear that they generally go for the easy targets, it's infuriating to think there are so many people on the streets doing much much worse than what this young man did and getting no punishment for it. Surely in this case a warning would have sufficed? If they had of taken it off him and told him if he is ever caught again that he would be brought to court and probably lose his job I'm sure he would have been much more careful in future, whereas if he loses his licence and can never work as a doctor again in reality he will probably have less to lose if he was caught smoking a joint again.

In a lot of these threads it seems to come down to morals, what do people view as worse, someone smoking a joint or someone hitting someone else a box? I've no idea which in the view of the law is worse, but I would definitely think the second one is a lot worse, yet in most cases I'd imagine the punishment would be less severe.

You still have to explain this dream you're having.

Im still awake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Is it something to do with me calling heroin addicts violent? I don't know, it's late and I'm tired. Leave me be. :P
    fooot tysfi. Can you HEAR ME NOW? How about NOW?

Failing is OK, as long as you learn from it. Hot-failing is OK too, as long as you don't get too badly burned.

Not your ornery onager

^^^

See???

Self Explanatory!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Ruined the poor mans life for the sake of a spliff

It's a bit much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Pablodreamsofnew

In west Philadelphia born and raised
    On the playground was where I spent most of my days