Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are'nt the Gardai great sure...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Yawn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭same ol sh1te

Ruined the poor mans life for the sake of a spliff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Hey Ming, any contact for some homegrown?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I'd say the only reason that doctor made it the whole way to court was because he tried to fling his stash into the canal and do a runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

jetsonx wrote: »
    They arrest a chap having a spliff beside a canal in leafy Dublin suburb.

But when you (or our poor tourists) go to Dublin City Centre (Dublin 1) the place is awash with junkies where the Gardai have the tacit policy in place of just ignoring them.

And we all know the real reason behind this: arresting junkies is hassle.
    Our police force don't like sort of grubby work. Instead, the pick their targets carefully. The like nice docile targets. So when they are not beating up buskers in Temple Bar,they can be found beating up epileptics. (again, nice easy targets).

This form of lazy policing is really not what our capital city or country needs. Discuss...

Sources:

Buskers in Temple Bar been beaten up:
    http://www.thestar.ie/star/busker-row-racks-up-loads-of-hits-7461/

Gardai beating up Epileptic:
    http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/video-gsoc-probe-launched-after-3887270

Gardai arresting dude for having a spliff:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/young-doctor-ran-from-gardai-after-drugs-find-court-hears-30510605.html
    Did they let you finish your spliff op?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

I'd say it's probably a bit more complicated than that, but I do feel bad for the spliff guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

A stoned doctor?! No thanks.

catallus wrote: »
    A stoned doctor?! No thanks.
    Yeh I saw my GP having a pint. Never going back to him again - ****ing alco!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Magaggie wrote: »
    I'd say it's probably a bit more complicated than that, but I do feel bad for the spliff guy.

Sometimes it is, and sometimes somebody with a bit of power is acting the bollocks. It's the latter that gives gardai the bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Probably isn't though. Gardai do prefer softer targets. I see them everyday walking right by the junkie crews hassling people at the luas, and have known people to be arrested for peacefully smoking a joint at a festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

They're a disgrace to the badge. They are disgruntled because they finally had to pay something towards their gold plated pension. You can never cut the wages of a public servant without consequences, and it's especially true of gardai. They have been on a work to rule for around 6 years now. This means lazy policing, deliberately letting the situation get worse etc. It's all a tactic to force the Minister to give them more money. Everyone else in the private sector has to suck it up and accept lower income and less staff to do the job, but these charlarans won't.

Ally Dick wrote: »
    They're a disgrace to the badge. They are disgruntled because they finally had to pay something towards their gold plated pension.
    Ah here, which guards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

"An intelligent way to escape". Hilarious. Not really. Dumb comment. I feel a bit sorry for the guy to be honest. Inoccuous and unlucky and definitely a harmless thing from my reading of it. Isn't deserving for this to blight his future employment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

They're a disgrace to the badge. They are disgruntled because they finally had to pay something towards their gold plated pension. You can never cut the wages of a public servant without consequences, and it's especially true of gardai. They have been on a work to rule for around 6 years now. This means lazy policing, deliberately letting the situation get worse etc. It's all a tactic to force the Minister to give them more money. Everyone else in the private sector has to suck it up and accept lower income and less staff to do the job, but these charlarans won't.
    You hit the nail on the head there.
    They say there are no garda on the streets because staff cutbacks.I find it hard to believe we have 13 thousand of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Here we go again. Damned if they do, damned if they don't. Yawn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Nonsense.

He said the defendant's employer had been informed of the proceedings "by way of an anonymous e-mail".

"That is very malicious, isn't it?" Judge Dunne said.

That IS very malicious

With all the stress docs can be under I wouldn't be surprised if loads of them do it

bluewolf wrote: »
    That IS very malicious

With all the stress docs can be under I wouldn't be surprised if loads of them do it

Malicious, agreed.

Are doctors not made to undergo drug-tests?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

jetsonx wrote: »
    Discuss...

Sources:

Buskers in Temple Bar been beaten up:
    http://www.thestar.ie/star/busker-row-racks-up-loads-of-hits-7461/
    These dossers, wasters and anti-social degenerates need to be beaten off the streets to make way for decent people who can make sentences without all the swearing and cursing.

Gardai beating up Epileptic:
    http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/video-gsoc-probe-launched-after-3887270
    This was most likely staged and when found out the organisation responsible for the protest should be sued by the state for all costs relating to policing the event and catering for this guys fake seizure/fit.

Gardai arresting dude for having a spliff:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/young-doctor-ran-from-gardai-after-drugs-find-court-hears-30510605.html
    Who in their right mind wants a doctor who is a zombie headed waster off his head on weed and ptting people in danger?
    Ruined the poor mans life for the sake of a spliff
    Sad Eejit ruined his own life because he is a fool who chose an illegal drug over his future!
    Yeh I saw my GP having a pint. Never going back to him again - ****ing alco!
    Since when is a pint an illegal substance?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Someone arrested for doing something illegal? What's the world coming to.

More arrests for people doing illegal crap I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Malicious, agreed.

Are doctors not made to undergo drug-tests ?

Well of course.

Sure if they weren't, they'd be prescribing something like imodium, for a sore knee. Fcuk sake like. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Glad the op highlighted they are only in Dublin 1. That barrier we installed to prevent them crossing the Liffey has worked.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Who in their right mind wants a doctor who is a zombie headed waster off his head on weed and ptting people in danger?

Sad Eejit ruined his own life because he is a fool who chose an illegal drug over his future!

So much WTF about this it's scary

What's WTF?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

That IS very malicious

That email needs investigation. If a cop did it, can them.

Three extraordinarily bad arguments.

What's WTF?

Google it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

What's WTF?

It means wet tight fart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Dinosaur Controller

That's irrelevant. Both substances reduce ones ability to perform.

You're assuming because he had a joint at the canal he'd be sparking up before surgery. So I guess if a doctor is having a beer at home it means he'll down a few before he goes to work to treat people...

Because the fact he smokes weed means that he's a zombie-headed waster off his head when at work? So therefore, if he has a pint on a Friday night, that means he's drunk all the time while at work? Because that is the "logic" of what you're saying.
    I see you read my post making fun of the stupidity of saying someone who smokes a spliff is therefore a stoner. And now that you realise that stupidity, you move the goalposts to the legality argument. Always happens without fail when the parallels with alcohol are pointed out. :pac:
    What difference does it being illegal make? That still doesn't mean therefore that he's stoned off his head all the time.
    5starpool wrote: »

The point, which was surely made clearly, is that heroin addicts aren't accosted so easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Was he holding a clinic on the banks of the canal?

Not really following the thread are we?

I'll try again.

What's WTF about it? And what's so scary?

I'll try again.

I took the liberty of pointing out what was so wtf about it: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=91747673&postcount=31

Your post makes little objective sense.

I'm hoping Sameolsh1te (towards whom,btw, I directed my question) can do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

I'm not mad about the Gardai I must admit.

I never wanted to be a Garda and indeed would have made a ****e one at that.

They are unhappy about having their money cut. And yes, they still have a job for life, good hours and a decent pension. But, when you take money off people, no matter what the starting point is they will be pi55ed off. It annoys me as someone working on half the money as before with my pension gone and always looking over my shoulder for the grim reaper - thank fcuk he hasn't caught me yet.

However, they are having to cover more ground, are under scrutiny for all they do - cant even give a gouger a good clip around the ear these days. They are often in the line of fire from criminals who have the law on their side for the most part - every arrest must be done to the book or that word "technicality" comes to the rescue of some scroat!! The scumbags taking over the city and country, destroying the place have the upper hand most of the time because the Gardai have their hands tied by protocol and red tape.

The culture of "sorting mates out" is reducing and for sure the organization is improving The numbers are getting fewer at a time when the requirement for the Gardai as a service is increasing - that's not the individual members fault.

Dont blame the Gardai for the **** state that the streets have become, blame the law makers who basically say its ok for a scumbag to be a scumbag!

Again, I've met a few Gardai that I'm not fond for various reasons, but give them a break - as a whole they're not a bad bunch with a **** job to do!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

I'd rather a doctor having an odd joint and relaxing once in a while, than one whose wound up tighter than a Nun in a whorehouse, he's a victim of a worthless jobsworth with nothing better to do than show some poor ****er the might of the justice system in Ireland for smoking a joint

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Not really following the thread are we?

Someone giving out about the guards that I commented on, with some after hours type stuff that I glossed over in between.

I'm hoping Sameolsh1te (towards whom,btw, I directed my question) can do better.

Her post was excellent. You on the other hand havent made it clear whether you want someone to explain what is WTF about a post, or what WTF actually means.

You then throw a strop when not answerd by a particular poster.

I'll try again.

Because it's an attitude that belongs in the middle ages, Ireland as a modern nation has a long way to go

Being a cannabis-smoker does not automatically mean being stoned while at work. Just as being a drinker of alcohol beverages does not mean being drunk while at work/an alcoholic.
    By saying the above btw, it does not mean I'm endorsing smoking cannabis and I think the guy was a dope to do so in a public place - he only has himself to blame for that. But the "You're a drug abuser/addict if you use at all" bullsh-t people spout about drug use deserves to be debunked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Well done to the filth.

Someone giving out about the guards that I commented on, with some after hours type stuff that I glossed over in between.

Still not following the thread. Or the OP.

The OP did not say "This guy should not be arrested". He is not suggesting anarchy. He is accusing the Gardai of picking easy targets.

Saying "More arrests of illegality" is totally to miss the point.

Her post was excellent. You on the other hand havent made it clear whether you want someone to explain what is WTF about a post, or what WTF actually means.

You then throw a strop when not answerd by a particular poster.

It was perfectly clear what I was asking.
    Because it's an attitude that belongs in the middle ages, Ireland as a modern nation has a long way to go

Middle Ages? WTF are you on about?!
    Being a cannabis-smoker does not automatically mean being stoned while at work. Just as being a drinker of alcohol beverages does not mean being drunk while at work/an alcoholic.

Cannabis is an illegal substance. Stop bad-mouthing drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

No need for them to be under stress to be doing it =p

The biggest stressor is probably having burly gobshites chase and threaten you for making the informed decision to have the odd joint.

He could have had a feed of drink, dangerously stumbled home past a dozen junkies and half a dozen ignorant gardai without a problem.

Middle Ages? WTF are you on about?!

Cannabis is an illegal substance. Stop bad-mouthing drink!

Illegality is not the issue. A substance either stops the doctor from doing his job or it doesn't. This is off topic.

You asked what is WTF. It's an initialism for What the Fcuk.

You then asked something totally different.

Cannabis is an illegal substance.
    But that's separate to whether a person uses it in moderation or is an addict.

To put the OP's point more succinctly for the reading challenged.

Why are the Gardai arresting people for "suspicious looking" smokes in the leafy suburbs when it's pretty much legal to shoot up while taking a sh1t on the street in the touristy parts of the city centre.

This isn't how most of the world works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Ah now, to be fair. Could be a bit of a case of the boy who cried wolf there there, catallus.

Gards aren't perfect, aren't the worst. but they definitely do go for easy targets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

To put the OP's point more succinctly for the reading challenged.

Why are the Gardai arresting people for "suspicious looking" smokes in the leafy suburbs when it's pretty much legal to shoot up while taking a sh1t on the street in the touristy parts of the city centre.

This isn't how most of the world works.

In my job I always do the easiest things first.
    If I was a garda I would arrest the small guy first and hope the big lad goes away of his own free will.
    A lad I know on a collection round always takes the lightest boxes first too. Human nature.