Are'nt the Gardai great sure...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Moral policing at its most profoundly stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

If that was a junkie smoking that spliff I wonder would they arrest him ? :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

catallus wrote: »

If one can't lose a medical licence for engaging in dangerous criminal behaviour then they should let us all have one.

Moronic post of the day goes too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

If that was a junkie smoking that spliff I wonder would they have arrested him ? :rolleyes:

From reading the court cases in the papers it seems that most junkies have been arrested many times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

catallus wrote: »
    The doctor ran away from them, which, according to the report linked to in the OP, the judge described as being "an intelligent attempt to escape"

If one can't lose a medical licence for engaging in dangerous criminal behaviour then they should let us all have one.
    'dangerous criminal behaviour'? WTF?

Can I get some of what you're on? Presuming it is legal, of course, m'lud.

Methinks yon Catullus doth protest too much.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Magaggie wrote: »
    Catallus is someone who, how should I put it... doesn't always truly believe what he says. The hysteria is put on. ;)

I always kind of think of him like the zany uncle character in a sitcom, who at the end of the episode/thread does something like pull an empty boot out of his pocket, slap it on the table, says something like "well, that's the last time I try and buy a record" and then everyone goes "caaaaaaaaaatalluss :rolleyes::D" and then the frame freezes and the credits start.

Not Your Ornery Onager

If that was a junkie smoking that spliff I wonder would they arrest him ? :rolleyes:
    He hadn't even got around to lighting his 'suspicious cigarette'.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

My philosophy is don't break the law or be an asshole for the sake of being an asshole and you won't have too much bother with the old Gardai.

30 years and despite many a night and day enjoying myself and plenty dealings with the Gardai I've not had one bad experience with them. Amazing isn't it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭jetsonx

No, because the junkie would put up too much of a fight: that would present the Gardai way too much work. Docile targets are preferred.

As another poster has said so aptly "shooting fish-in-a-barrel". That is what "policing" has come to in this country.

In fact, the Gardai logo should be replaced with a picture of a fish in a barrel being shot at. It would represent their standard of their work much better
    me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭nilsonmickey

Another pointless thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

From reading the court cases in the papers it seems that most junkies have been arrested many times.
    I imagine the junkies who have court cases that make their way to the papers might be prone to doing doing a lot of arrestable offences beyond shooting up though. Wouldn't be hard to rack up a good few offences while still getting away with loads of ones. Plus they'd be easy enough to arrest in some states compared to others (e.g. unconscious on grafton street or something like that).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

My philosophy is don't break the law or be an asshole for the sake of being an asshole and you won't have too much bother with the old Gardai.

30 years and despite many a night and day enjoying myself and plenty dealings with the Gardai I've not had one bad experience with them. Amazing isn't it ?
    But I don't think this is just a "Fuq tha pigs" thread; the point being made is that some people are constantly breaking the law/acting the asshole and are kinda left to it, e.g. heroin addicts being intimidating in Dublin city centre. I don't think the guards have the resources to deal with all the petty trouble-making of that kind tbh, but seem well able when it comes to something that's an easy target. And that's fine - all law-breaking needs to be acted upon. But I emphasise *all*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,628 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I asked a garda the same question recently. He said that the penalty points debacle ended discretion and that everything is being watched by the media and the authorities in the force..

People who are forever calling for zero tolerance - be careful what you wish for.

But I don't think this is just a "Fuq tha pigs" thread; the point being made is that some people are constantly breaking the law/acting the asshole and are kinda left to it, e.g. heroin addicts being intimidating in Dublin city centre. I don't think the guards have the resources to deal with all the petty trouble-making of that kind tbh, but seem well able when it comes to something that's an easy target. And that's fine - all law-breaking needs to be acted upon. But I emphasise *all*.

And where's the evidence of this ? The OP uses one article about a guy who was seen throwing away a spliff, legging it and then caught with 50 quid of weed on him. Gardai doing what they are paid to do and they are being demonised for it.

The "beating up" of the epileptic was discussed plenty in another thread. He was an idiot in the middle of the road during a protest refusing to move. The Gardai moved him, and his head grazed the ground for all of two seconds.

The "beating up" of the buskers is the same. Perhaps badly handled but attempting to do their jobs in the face of utter idiots hell bent on causing hassle because they are not let do whatever they want. The "beating up" shíte is pure horseshít. But wouldn't do the OP to discuss this rationally, because it is an actual "fuq da pigs thread" as these threads always are without any hint of a reasonable argument. Couple incidents, fuq da pigs, they are all bastards. Heard it all before.

Would you not agree heroin addicts appear to roam freely despite their lawbreaking? Yeh they get arrested but it doesn't deter them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭bigroad

I think one of the main points of this whole thing is the e mail sent to his workplace.
    The rest of it is breaking the law and getting caught.
    To me it looks like someone has a chip on their shoulder ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Esel wrote: »
    He hadn't even got around to lighting his 'suspicious cigarette'.

Ah but his victims can sleep soundly in their beds knowing he has been brought to justice.

Would you not agree heroin addicts appear to roam freely despite their lawbreaking? Yeh they get arrested but it doesn't deter them.

What do you want the Gardai to do exactly ? In this thread they have been called lazy for not arresting everyone, accused of assault for arresting time wasting idiots, accused of going for soft targets because they arrested a doctor with a bag of weed and now your being critical of them arresting junkies because it doesn't deter them.

The Gardai can never win.

What do you want the Gardai to do exactly ? In this thread they have been called lazy for not arresting everyone, accused of assault for arresting time wasting idiots, accused of going for soft targets because they arrested a doctor with a bag of weed and now your being critical of them arresting junkies because it doesn't deter them.

The thread was started to say they seem much more vigilant when it comes to soft targets, less so when it comes to the grittier ones. The point being made was, not that the soft targets shouldn't be arrested, but just that there should be consistency. I doubt it's as straightforward as that too, and I'm not a "fuq tha pigs" person at all and I know they are under-resourced, but I agree there seems to be an element of what the OP is saying all right.

Not Your Ornery Onager

Maybe not, but they know how to pick their battles.

A habitual street-opiate user or a regular-looking J Soap - who would you prefer to have in the back of the cab, Joe?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Lucas Castroman

Clearly a case of a guard with a chip on his shoulder. This guy should return the favour in the course of his medical practice and treat every guard like sh*t.

Not Your Ornery Onager

bigroad wrote: »
    I think one of the main points of this whole thing is the e mail sent to his workplace.
    The rest of it is breaking the law and getting caught.
    To me it looks like someone has a chip on their shoulder ,
    An 'anonymous' e-mail, no less... I wonder how net-savvy the sender of that was?

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

The problem for the Gardaí is that arresting those "junkies" has no effect other than temporarily removing them from the street. They confiscate a minor quantity of drugs, put a lot of time into processing the offender and then the court system can't really do much with them. Net result - huge amounts of Garda time spent achieving nothing. It must piss the lads in blue off no end that they can't do anything about illegal/antisocial activities taking place under their noses but it's a waste of their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

In conversation with a young-ish Garda from the home town who's now working in Dublin, on the obvious dealing and anti-social behaviour from our home grown addicts - the Garda believe it or not are not blind to it, but as any work they may want to do to stop/search/move them on is regularly undermined on the day of the court appearance they obviously don't all make it as priority after a year or so of same. A resigned 'it's just not worth it' said it all.

The thread was started to say they seem much more vigilant when it comes to soft targets, less so when it comes to the grittier ones. The point being made was, not that the soft targets shouldn't be arrested, but just that there should be consistency. I doubt it's as straightforward as that too, and I'm not a "fuq tha pigs" person at all and I know they are under-resourced, but I agree there seems to be an element of what the OP is saying all right.

The OP describes those three incidents on which he's basing all this on as the Gardai beating up an epileptic, Gardai beating up buskers and a chap arrested for smoking a spliff. While junkies roam free with the Gardai not bothered going near them because of the hassle. And then declaring this lazy policing.

Firstly nobody was beaten up and those two situations were hardly free of hassle. Dealing with people refusing to cooperate in the face of abuse from crowds of people and then more abuse and accusations of assault when they have to use force. The "chap arrested for having a spliff" was a 29 year old man arrested for legging it from the Gardai and then being caught with a bag of weed on him. Lastly junkies are not ignored by Gardai.

I never said you were a fuq da pigs person but the OP clearly is given the shíte in the OP and this thread is just another one of those threads with he Gardai being bashed whether they do or they don't. Like I said I've heard it all before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

Just imagine dealing with 'that' on a daily basis with f'all sentencing. :(

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=102_1396735416

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

To be fair to the Gardai I did see one tracksuit wearing scumbag in cuffs on Westmoreland St yesterday afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

In my experience Gardai are generally sound. A lot of stuff you see in the press only shows one side of the story, and for every dishonest journalist there are hundreds of people looking for a stick to beat the gardai with.

I don't approve of the arresting people for having a few joints at a festival though. But the guy who's drank 10 cans and is pissing on people's tents and generally being a dick gets left alone because his drug of choice is legal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

The thousands of junkies arrested weekly don't make the headlines but we all know that a doctor caught with drugs was and is always going to make the news!

Gardai are arresting the real criminals but only the wealthy doctor types get reported in the papers because the junkies are so common there is no interest and they don't sell many copies of the Mirror or sun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

The problem for the Gardaí is that arresting those "junkies" has no effect other than temporarily removing them from the street. They confiscate a minor quantity of drugs, put a lot of time into processing the offender and then the court system can't really do much with them. Net result - huge amounts of Garda time spent achieving nothing. It must piss the lads in blue off no end that they can't do anything about illegal/antisocial activities taking place under their noses but it's a waste of their time.

As opposed to arresting this lad. Which, it seems, wasn't. I guess. Much as it looks like a waste of time to a lot of other people.