Are'nt the Gardai great sure...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Who in their right mind wants a doctor who is a zombie headed waster off his head on weed and ptting people in danger?

Sad Eejit ruined his own life because he is a fool who chose an illegal drug over his future!

Since when is a pint an illegal substance?

Was he holding a clinic on the banks of the canal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

5starpool wrote: »
    Someone arrested for doing something illegal? What's the world coming to.

More arrests for people doing illegal crap I say.

Not really following the thread are we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

So much WTF about this it's scary

I'll try again.

What's WTF about it? And what's so scary?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

catallus wrote: »

I'll try again.

I took the liberty of pointing out what was so wtf about it: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=91747673&postcount=31

Magaggie wrote: »
    I took the liberty of pointing out what was so wtf about it: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=91747673&postcount=31

Your post makes little objective sense.

I'm hoping Sameolsh1te (towards whom,btw, I directed my question) can do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

I'm not mad about the Gardai I must admit.

I never wanted to be a Garda and indeed would have made a ****e one at that.

They are unhappy about having their money cut. And yes, they still have a job for life, good hours and a decent pension. But, when you take money off people, no matter what the starting point is they will be pi55ed off. It annoys me as someone working on half the money as before with my pension gone and always looking over my shoulder for the grim reaper - thank fcuk he hasn't caught me yet.

However, they are having to cover more ground, are under scrutiny for all they do - cant even give a gouger a good clip around the ear these days. They are often in the line of fire from criminals who have the law on their side for the most part - every arrest must be done to the book or that word "technicality" comes to the rescue of some scroat!! The scumbags taking over the city and country, destroying the place have the upper hand most of the time because the Gardai have their hands tied by protocol and red tape.

The culture of "sorting mates out" is reducing and for sure the organization is improving The numbers are getting fewer at a time when the requirement for the Gardai as a service is increasing - that's not the individual members fault.

Dont blame the Gardai for the **** state that the streets have become, blame the law makers who basically say its ok for a scumbag to be a scumbag!

Again, I've met a few Gardai that I'm not fond for various reasons, but give them a break - as a whole they're not a bad bunch with a **** job to do!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

I'd rather a doctor having an odd joint and relaxing once in a while, than one whose wound up tighter than a Nun in a whorehouse, he's a victim of a worthless jobsworth with nothing better to do than show some poor ****er the might of the justice system in Ireland for smoking a joint

• Subscribers Posts: 32,937 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Not really following the thread are we?

Someone giving out about the guards that I commented on, with some after hours type stuff that I glossed over in between.

I'm hoping Sameolsh1te (towards whom,btw, I directed my question) can do better.

Her post was excellent. You on the other hand havent made it clear whether you want someone to explain what is WTF about a post, or what WTF actually means.

You then throw a strop when not answerd by a particular poster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭same ol sh1te

I'll try again.

Because it's an attitude that belongs in the middle ages, Ireland as a modern nation has a long way to go

Being a cannabis-smoker does not automatically mean being stoned while at work. Just as being a drinker of alcohol beverages does not mean being drunk while at work/an alcoholic.
    By saying the above btw, it does not mean I'm endorsing smoking cannabis and I think the guy was a dope to do so in a public place - he only has himself to blame for that. But the "You're a drug abuser/addict if you use at all" bullsh-t people spout about drug use deserves to be debunked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Well done to the filth.

5starpool wrote: »
    Someone giving out about the guards that I commented on, with some after hours type stuff that I glossed over in between.

Still not following the thread. Or the OP.

The OP did not say "This guy should not be arrested". He is not suggesting anarchy. He is accusing the Gardai of picking easy targets.

Saying "More arrests of illegality" is totally to miss the point.

Her post was excellent. You on the other hand havent made it clear whether you want someone to explain what is WTF about a post, or what WTF actually means.

You then throw a strop when not answerd by a particular poster.

It was perfectly clear what I was asking.
    Because it's an attitude that belongs in the middle ages, Ireland as a modern nation has a long way to go

Middle Ages? WTF are you on about?!
    Magaggie wrote: »
    Being a cannabis-smoker does not automatically mean being stoned while at work. Just as being a drinker of alcohol beverages does not mean being drunk while at work/an alcoholic.

Cannabis is an illegal substance. Stop bad-mouthing drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

bluewolf wrote: »

With all the stress docs can be under I wouldn't be surprised if loads of them do it

No need for them to be under stress to be doing it =p

The biggest stressor is probably having burly gobshites chase and threaten you for making the informed decision to have the odd joint.

He could have had a feed of drink, dangerously stumbled home past a dozen junkies and half a dozen ignorant gardai without a problem.

Middle Ages? WTF are you on about?!

Cannabis is an illegal substance. Stop bad-mouthing drink!

Illegality is not the issue. A substance either stops the doctor from doing his job or it doesn't. This is off topic.

You asked what is WTF. It's an initialism for What the Fcuk.

You then asked something totally different.

Cannabis is an illegal substance.
    But that's separate to whether a person uses it in moderation or is an addict.

To put the OP's point more succinctly for the reading challenged.

Why are the Gardai arresting people for "suspicious looking" smokes in the leafy suburbs when it's pretty much legal to shoot up while taking a sh1t on the street in the touristy parts of the city centre.

This isn't how most of the world works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Ah now, to be fair. Could be a bit of a case of the boy who cried wolf there there, catallus.

Gards aren't perfect, aren't the worst. but they definitely do go for easy targets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

To put the OP's point more succinctly for the reading challenged.

Why are the Gardai arresting people for "suspicious looking" smokes in the leafy suburbs when it's pretty much legal to shoot up while taking a sh1t on the street in the touristy parts of the city centre.

This isn't how most of the world works.

In my job I always do the easiest things first.
    If I was a garda I would arrest the small guy first and hope the big lad goes away of his own free will.
    A lad I know on a collection round always takes the lightest boxes first too. Human nature.

Ah now, to be fair. Could be a bit of a case of the boy who cried wolf there there, catallus.

Gards aren't perfect, aren't the worst. but they definitely do go for easy targets.

WTF has "boy who cried wolf" got to do with anything???! Are ye all high??

"Easy Targets"???

Am I the only one who reads the news around here? It's packed, every day, with stories about criminals, including all sorts of drug-users, being brought before the courts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

I know a retired consultant from Dublin who trained in Toronto in the early 70s. He told me many of the Canadian student doctors back then were into smoking, he preferred a few drinks... which they didn't. Each to their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

WTF has "boy who cried wolf" got to do with anything???! Are ye all high??

I am, kind of :D You're getting hysterical and REALLY harshing my buzz though. Uncool. I'm going to go read a book with pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

every day, with stories about criminals, including all sorts of drug-users, being brought before the courts!

...and treated with kid gloves, while a doctor having a joint after work is held up as an example of evil to everyone.

This man could lose his job and licence over this. Do you honestly think that's appropriate?

Do Gardai not have discretion on their side at all these days? They give chase to a doctor with a spliff but ignore the already departed shooting up heroin in public..

What do they want for that... praise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

On the basis of the amount of times my simple brother (basically the most harmless creature you'd ever encounter), has been pretty much assaulted by the guards for **** all reason, some of them definitely go for easy targets. And sure why wouldn't you, much easier that than putting your life at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Easy pinch for the members. Would have thought they could have dealt with this differently though. Having said that, he didn't do himself any favours by how he behaved during the incident.

Imo, the gardai would probably have not even approached a junkie who they saw rolling a 'suspicious cigarette' in the same situation. They were effectively shooting fish in a barrel.

Young sap should have skinned up in private, and consumed in private too. I really hope he gets the Probation Act if found guilty of this heinous crime.

Not your ornery onager

Catallus is someone who, how should I put it... doesn't always truly believe what he says. The hysteria is put on. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Ally Dick wrote: »
    They're a disgrace to the badge. They are disgruntled because they finally had to pay something towards their gold plated pension. You can never cut the wages of a public servant without consequences, and it's especially true of gardai. They have been on a work to rule for around 6 years now. This means lazy policing, deliberately letting the situation get worse etc. It's all a tactic to force the Minister to give them more money. Everyone else in the private sector has to suck it up and accept lower income and less staff to do the job, but these charlarans won't.

I take it you don't like the guards then hope you're never in the situation where you might need them someday.

...and treated with kid gloves, while a doctor having a joint after work is held up as an example of evil to everyone.

This man could lose his job and licence over this. Do you honestly think that's appropriate?

Do Gardai not have discretion on their side at all these days? They give chase to a doctor with a spliff but ignore the already departed shooting up heroin in public..

The doctor ran away from them, which, according to the report linked to in the OP, the judge described as being "an intelligent attempt to escape"

If one can't lose a medical licence for engaging in dangerous criminal behaviour then they should let us all have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I asked a garda the same question recently. He said that the penalty points debacle ended discretion and that everything is being watched by the media and the authorities in the force..