The General Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Loire

BaZmO* wrote: »

Now THAT'S a dangerous site!!! Just got paid too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

Imagine how happy you'd be Loire! Shiny shiny...

I remember walking around Royan in France a number of years ago - it was Mrs. Loire's turn to mind the kids for an hour. I stumbled upon a house / kitchen shop and it was pure paradise! Copper everywhere. Some of the prices were astronomical and as I was on a budget at the time I resisted the tempatation. Big mistake! Lots of French stuff you couldn't get here.

Just to add -we're going to be getting a new kitchen the next 12 months so I'll defo be upgrading my kit!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

http://www.nisbets.ie/Vogue-Orange-Oval-Casserole-Dish-6.5Ltr/W485/ProductDetail.raction

Bloody heck that's a good price for a giant cast-iron pot! :eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,396 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I got it into my head that I want to make a chicken and pasta bake. I can't find anything online. How does it sound if I just cook the 2 separately, add mushrooms and garlic with the fried chicken , combine 2 in the dish with some cream, sprinkle some cheese on top, and give it 30 mins in the oven?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,534 ✭✭✭✭Alun

That's pretty much the way I do it, i.e. fry chicken, onions, garlic plus any other ingredients you want, season well and place in oven proof dish with the cooked pasta, stir around and then add cream or cream cheese and stir again and top with grated cheese. Can't go wrong really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Kali_Kalika

Long time luker (and drooler! :P) of many of these cooking threads! I want to try something new tonight but don't want to be making my first time post in the cooking disasters thread!

I was browsing around Pinterest (first mistake!) and spotted a Philly Cheese Steak Pasta dish - it looks yummy - but in my fussy house some of the ingredients wouldn't pass here! So I'm having to do an edit and I'm just not sure how this will come out! I don't want to have made a big dish, have it be horrible and even the dogs reject it so the foxes get well fed again! :(

I wont bother with the original recipe as mine is pretty far off it - so see what you think will come of my creation here - and please be honest! I'd rather call it off and make one of our boring basics than waste food!

Recipe/What I'm going to do:

Fry beef mince with some onions and peppers and set aside - mix with cooked pasta - then in a baking dish layer that with some slices of mozzerella and white cheddar cheese and a few spoonfulls of cottage cheese.

I'm thinking/hoping that it will turn out sorta like mac and cheese but with some beef and peppers and onions? Or will it just turn into a big tasteless pan of goo with pasta and crap in it? :confused:

In my mind I'm picturing it being all cheesy and gooey like mac and cheese but all Philly Steak-ish?! Or is it a pinterest fail waiting to happen and something to be shuddered at on the cooking disasters thread? :confused:

Loire wrote: »
    I remember walking around Royan in France a number of years ago - it was Mrs. Loire's turn to mind the kids for an hour. I stumbled upon a house / kitchen shop and it was pure paradise! Copper everywhere. Some of the prices were astronomical and as I was on a budget at the time I resisted the tempatation. Big mistake! Lots of French stuff you couldn't get here.

Pictures of French thrift & kitchen shops on some blogs I read make my little heart sting with want and jealousy. Need to get myself to France with a full wallet soon!

Fry beef mince with some onions and peppers and set aside - mix with cooked pasta - then in a baking dish layer that with some slices of mozzerella and white cheddar cheese and a few spoonfulls of cottage cheese.

I'm thinking/hoping that it will turn out sorta like mac and cheese but with some beef and peppers and onions? Or will it just turn into a big tasteless pan of goo with pasta and crap in it? :confused:

Being really, really honest I think that's going to turn out a bit dry & greasy (the only moisture that I can see in it will come from whatever comes out of the beef & cheese during cooking and that's going to absorb into the pasta a lot). Would a cheese sauce go down ok in your house to give the mac & cheese gooey effect? I've had mac & cheese with spicy mince & peppers before and really enjoyed it

I think that's going to turn out a bit dry & greasy (the only moisture that I can see in it will come from whatever comes out of the beef & cheese during cooking and that's going to absorb into the pasta a lot). Would a cheese sauce go down ok in your house to give the mac & cheese gooey effect? I've had mac & cheese with spicy mince & peppers before and really enjoyed it

That's unfortunately where my thinking was going as well - that there's just not enough of a sauce thing going on. When I make Mac n Cheese I layer the pasta and cheese then pour on milk and bake - but just couldn't envision pouring milk into it - hence going with the cottage cheese like I do in lasagna and another italian pasta dish (ziti) hoping it might work.

I've no idea how to make a cheese sauce to be honest! And because I know so little of cheese sauces (I know the packet one and its horrible!) no idea what cheese go into it. Part of the fussy of this house is cheese - if its mozzarella or white cheddar it's acceptable - anything beyond that and its a no way. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Long time luker (and drooler! :P) of many of these cooking threads! I want to try something new tonight but don't want to be making my first time post in the cooking disasters thread!

I was browsing around Pinterest (first mistake!) and spotted a Philly Cheese Steak Pasta dish - it looks yummy - but in my fussy house some of the ingredients wouldn't pass here! So I'm having to do an edit and I'm just not sure how this will come out! I don't want to have made a big dish, have it be horrible and even the dogs reject it so the foxes get well fed again! :(

I wont bother with the original recipe as mine is pretty far off it - so see what you think will come of my creation here - and please be honest! I'd rather call it off and make one of our boring basics than waste food!

In my mind I'm picturing it being all cheesy and gooey like mac and cheese but all Philly Steak-ish?! Or is it a pinterest fail waiting to happen and something to be shuddered at on the cooking disasters thread? :confused:

Sounds like it'd be a bit dry. What about putting in a tin of chopped tomatoes (or a jar of passata) with the mince an onions and and cook it out for about 10 mins before setting aside, and then do the rest as you were planning to do it.

Also, when you're layering the dish don't put the cheese on the bottom as it'll probably burn. Go with mince, cheese, mince, cheese, etc.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Sounds like it'd be a bit dry. What about putting in a tin of chopped tomatoes (or a jar of passata) with the mince an onions and and cook it out for about 10 mins before setting aside, and then do the rest as you were planning to do it.

Also, when you're layering the dish don't put the cheese on the bottom as it'll probably burn. Go with mince, cheese, mince, cheese, etc.

Its shredded cheeses so it'll all be mixed up into gloop and baked slowly - I do mac & cheese and the afore mentioned pasta dish all the time so I know the dangers of burned cheese :mad: I can actually cook fairly well surprisingly :o I do the general basics damn well - its just in this house with all the fussiness experimenting is hard because this one doesn't like that - I don't like this and so on and so on! Its just easier and less head wrecking to buy the same damn things all the time, I'll shake it up by swapping nights - and even that can be too much variety at times! :eek: :p

Not sure the tomato thing would really suit it - was more looking for a mac and cheese vibe and just not sure how it would mesh really. Its a good suggestion - I can't fault it that! Just not sure it would sail on the lake of fussiness! :p

Make a simple cheese sauce so. It's easy to do. Make a roux, then make a simple béchamel sauce, and then take it off the heat and add some grated cheddar. It's actually really simple to make.

I use Delia's bechamel as a base for a cheese sauce (but I completely and utterly skip the first part of the recipe where the milk gets infused)

I make the white sauce and then throw in grated cheese till it tastes cheesey enough (which is quite a lot of cheese) with a teaspoon of dijon and a grating of nutmeg. I amn't actually the best cook in the world so this might make a cr*ppy cheese sauce for other people but I like it lots. I use strong white cheddar in it.

I have to say though, I've never cooked with cottage cheese before, if that and milk makes a saucey type sauce you could give it a whirl in your beef dish?

For a lump-free sauce I make the roux a la Silver Spoon and it never fails:

Add 50g butter to a pot over a medium heat
    When the butter has melted and starts to bubble, remove from the heat
    Add 25g flour to the butter and stir around until you have a yellow paste
    Back on the heat and gradually add 500m of milk
    I then add some nutmeg

I use the above all the time when making lasagne too and it's great.

Loire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,360 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Loire wrote: »

For a lump-free sauce I make the roux a la Silver Spoon and it never fails:

Add 50g butter to a pot over a medium heat
    When the butter has melted and starts to bubble, remove from the heat
    Add 25g flour to the butter and stir around until you have a yellow paste
    Back on the heat and gradually add 500m of milk
    I then add some nutmeg

I use the above all the time when making lasagne too and it's great.

Loire.

Was thinking about this a few days ago when I was making lasagne. The couple of minutes you are meant to spend 'cooking the flour' over the heat to get rid of the flour taste. I've never not cooked it like that so does it make any difference?

(I also add a teaspoon of English mustard) ;)

Was thinking about this a few days ago when I was making lasagne. The couple of minutes you are meant to spend 'cooking the flour' over the heat to get rid of the flour taste. I've never not cooked it like that so does it make any difference?

(I also add a teaspoon of English mustard) ;)

For me it makes a huge difference. It stops the sauce from having a raw flour taste. Maybe some people don't notice but I've made it a couple of times without cooking it out and I could really taste the difference.

Maybe it wouldn't make that much of a difference if you were then putting the sauce into a lasagne as it would be given time to cook out, but if you were just making something like a parsley sauce you'd definitely notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

beertons wrote: »
    I got it into my head that I want to make a chicken and pasta bake. I can't find anything online. How does it sound if I just cook the 2 separately, add mushrooms and garlic with the fried chicken , combine 2 in the dish with some cream, sprinkle some cheese on top, and give it 30 mins in the oven?

I find cream can go very ... well, almost slimy when in a pasta bake, so I usually go for a bechamel-style sauce.

Edit: Like the ones discussed just above now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,534 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I make the white sauce and then throw in grated cheese till it tastes cheesey enough (which is quite a lot of cheese) ...
    This is a pet hate of mine. The recipes usually quote some piddling amount of cheese, say 100g, which isn't enough even to give a hint of cheesiness, probably to conform to some guidelines on fat content or whatever health fad is currently en vogue.

Yes, hate that! You end up with a white sauce with a teeeeny vague hint of cheese off it that's still not exactly a health food instead of the cheesebomb treat you were after

Shenshen wrote: »
    I find cream can go very ... well, almost slimy when in a pasta bake, so I usually go for a bechamel-style sauce.

Edit: Like the ones discussed just above now :D

Ended up making a ragu, but will give it another shot next week. Chicken is in the freezer now. Like an eejit, I had the mince in the pan before I realised what I was doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Yes, hate that! You end up with a white sauce with a teeeeny vague hint of cheese off it that's still not exactly a health food instead of the cheesebomb treat you were after

Totally agree. If I'm making mac and cheese I know I'm going to have to use an obscene amount of cheese. That's the best thing about mac and cheese!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Oh god yes! Its why I hate having lasange in cafe's - they usually never put enough cheese in it. Probably saving on costs, but its bland and dry and bleugh without cheese oozing out all over. Like, whats the point of a cheeseless lasange?

Speaking of lasange, the best one I ever had was a crabmeat lasange. Divine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭fitzcoff

My father called over early on and himself and my eldest went mushroom picking, I now have a bucket of field mushrooms, any ideas what to do besides soup?

fitzcoff wrote: »
    My father called over early on and himself and my eldest went mushroom picking, I now have a bucket of field mushrooms, any ideas what to do besides soup?

Make tea out of the dodgey ones, come back Tuesday and tell us all about your weekend escapades.

Failing that, I dunno. Do they freeze?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Jezek

Fry in olive oil with herbs like rosemary
    Pickle
    Put on the grill
    Stuff
    Fry in an omelete
    Finely chop, fry with shallots and a little garlic, and deglaze. Use this brilliant stuffing everywhere, especially as a sandwich spread
    Big Flat ones as the 'meat' in a sandwich
    Part of a stir fry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭janmaree

You can make mushroom ketchup from field mushrooms, almost identical to worcestershire sauce. I have a recipe in Maura Laverty's Full & Plenty, I'd be happy to post it for you if you're interested but you'd have to move fast because wild mushrooms like that go off really fast!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Mushroom paté http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=91398846&postcount=6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭fitzcoff

Thanks for the ideas, I was going to be out of the house most of the day today so I got up early and made a horrible tasting soup. Complete waste of time and mushrooms.

Ah well, I'm sure I'll get more of them in the next while and I'll try out some of the ideas, the mushroom pate sounds yum

I'm not a huge mushroom fan but I think this is what I would do with freshly picked mushrooms.

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/12800/mushrooms-on-toast

It's pretty much the classic dish for quality mushrooms.