Culchies and "the cure"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

ask Rob Smith about "the cure"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Any seventh sons of a seventh son in the house?

http://www.danny-gallagher.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

Oddly there aren't any people like that around home. There's a few who have dead relatives who used to be at that and they'll sometimes be spoken of as if it's possible that they could've inherited it. There's also one excommunicated (something like that anyway) masochistic mental of a priest who was absolutely terrified of my dad because he had "healing hands" or something.
    We did actually got some extremely garlicky green mush that was forced into a calpol bottle once from an aunt that was made by a holy healer woman for burn wounds, couldn't get it out so it's just sitting in the back of the fridge for the last decade ...I should check on that next time I'm home. It seemed like it perhaps had some sort of logic behind it though, more than a lick of spit anyway.

Those guys mostly seemed to be supplanted by the cult of Padre Pio back home, the kind of people who would've been big into healers got big into him instead, chasing after his relics and all. That guy's got more support than Jesus from a lot of people.
    Got this crazy Padre Pio chain cake thing from one person once a few days after my dad was diagnosed with leukemia. Don't think it helped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

A man from Leitrim, there's a lot of things we don't understand yet in biology. It seems to be common to all cultures. Bizarre.

The sped up thermal imagining of his hands compared to a "normal" individual hands is fascinating. They seem to emit a WAY higher level of consistent temperature

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

I've heard of healers but never heard reference to "the cure" other than in a hair of the dog kind of way.

Heard of a young lad who cures warts and an ould one who makes a cream that will heal nappy rash, eczema, scalds and burns, acne....basically any skin ailment. Even the local chemist stock tubs of it.

Bio energy is the latest. Supposedly there's a man out the road who can tell exactly what's wrong with you just by looking at you and can cure it.

It's all a load of ****e but it's no less mad than believing in fortune tellers or unproven alternative medicine.

The number of people who've given me tales of cures for an incurable disease I have is nuts. From diet to swimming in the sea or simply getting some fresh air....everyone's an expert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Shaun Plays Games

Pouring water on sporting injuries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Joe Doe

Vinegar, wd40, baking soda and honey fix up most broken things. Medics use honey and leeches for anti-bacterial whotknots.
    If you've the aul e-bowler that's making the rounds, just chuck some doses of colloidal silver at it and hope for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

joe stodge wrote: »
    I've jus t got off the phone to my aunt from Dublin who lives in deepest darkest Cavan. She was telling me she burned her hand in work on Friday. Nothing that would require hospital, just some savlon and a small bandage.

One of the girls she works with suggested that she should go up town to see some old woman who has "the cure". My aunt asked "what is the cure?".
    It was explained to her that this old lady licks your wound and says a prayer for you and the burn will heal, oh and you have to give her a small donation.

So you pay someone to lick and open wound to heal it???
    She went on to explain to my aunt there are a few others in the village that have "the cure" for other illnesses/ailments all of whom you have to make a donation to for the privilege.

This can't be true, are they really that mental in the country or is it just some snake oil scheme?

Anyone else ever hear of someone with "the cure"?.

Lol. Dubs will fall for anything. I remember we sent my cousins out to pick up 'currants' to bake a cake, the amount of rabbit poop they collected was hilarious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Put her before the medical council.

In a live broadcast from a stadium of 10,000 people.

An excellent opportunity for her to demonstrate the validity of her powers.

The world is watching Maeve, ..... go right ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

The only 'cure' I've heard of in the midlands is the one where you get drunk. Apparently it's a mild sedative.

I did this when I got laser eye surgery. My eyes were burning and it felt as though there was grit in my eyes so I went for the 'cure' which consisted of drinking three days solidly until the pain went away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

There's a Wort Tree, not far from here. Has a natural bowl in it. Put the wort in it, or wipe the water in it. Cure ye wort, it will. Have to leave a scrap of cloth, as an offering for the spirits of the place. They like that.

Gypsys used to stop there. Romani's. Not the Pav's. They stayed the other side of the town.

Here's a picture I took, of the Wort Tree, a couple of years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭DaisyFay

Licking burns is common in travelers and is a cultural phenomenon in Ireland apparently... I burned my hand with steam a while back and it got infected, and since I didn't bother with antiseptic or anything it just got worse and there were red streaks coming away from the burn going halfway up my arm. I was in college and didn't want to waste money on anything 'unnecessary' like savlon because I'd be going home in a couple of days, and i figured licking it couldn't make it worse... and it didn't, the following day all the red streaks were gone and it was completely healed in a few days. I'm not sure what makes a random old lady's spit superior though so I wouldn't go that far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

joe stodge wrote: »
    I've jus t got off the phone to my aunt from Dublin who lives in deepest darkest Cavan. She was telling me she burned her hand in work on Friday. Nothing that would require hospital, just some savlon and a small bandage.

One of the girls she works with suggested that she should go up town to see some old woman who has "the cure". My aunt asked "what is the cure?".
    It was explained to her that this old lady licks your wound and says a prayer for you and the burn will heal, oh and you have to give her a small donation.

So you pay someone to lick and open wound to heal it???
    She went on to explain to my aunt there are a few others in the village that have "the cure" for other illnesses/ailments all of whom you have to make a donation to for the privilege.

This can't be true, are they really that mental in the country or is it just some snake oil scheme?

Anyone else ever hear of someone with "the cure"?.

Actually, my aunt did this. She scalded herself really badly across her chest and shoulder. Was told by doctors she would always have to cover it up in the sun and it would be dry and painful for the rest of her life. She went and some gummy old man licked the whole wound and it healed up within days. I don't believe in this kind of stuff, but that's the story she told us and her skin is fine now. Forgot about it til now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I have the cure for a crick in the neck. It was passed down to me from an expensive physiotherapist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭DaisyFay

Saliva naturally has antibacterial properties and contains antibodies though, so anybodies saliva would probably do. Old people would have more antibodies though... I think its more a case of only some old people being willing to lick other peoples manky burns for money, than it is a case of them having a gift.

DaisyFay wrote: »
    Saliva naturally has antibacterial properties and contains antibodies though, so anybodies saliva would probably do. Old people would have more antibodies though... I think its more a case of only some old people being willing to lick other peoples manky burns for money, than it is a case of them having a gift.

If you have a bad cut, and it's dirty, some say, that getting a dog to lick it will heal it really quickly. The science bit, whereby dogs have terminator salive re bugs, kinda backs that up. I know it sounds odd, and off, but my red-setter may "have the cure..."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Is it any worse than believing mystic meg from the back of the woman's way, spouting ****e about Venus being in line with your anus

whupdedo wrote: »
    Is it any worse than believing mystic meg from the back of the woman's way, spouting ****e about Venus being in line with your anus

That's just bunkum. Jonathan Cainer is where it's at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

when I was around 17 or so I had a disc partially out of place in my back which caused pain down my leg,suffered with this for a year or so, the doctor told me to stay in bed and rest,my Aunt took me to the local bonesetter who moved his thumb up and down my spine while pulling one leg gently back and up(not as erotic as its sounds),I heard a little crack as disc popped back into place and never had trouble ever again with my back and that was a long long time ago.

Don't let any aul dog lick your wounds, esp, if you have lowered immune system, due to risk from Capnocytophaga Canimorsus. Manuka honey is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

TheZohan wrote: »
    Lol. Dubs will fall for anything. I remember we sent my cousins out to pick up 'currants' to bake a cake, the amount of rabbit poop they collected was hilarious.

That's just not right.
    Otherwise we'ed all be
    eating sh'te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 peterbarlow

I got a cure for the shingles as a teenager from an old man and it went away, there are numerous people with cures in the countryside and their names are passed around abit like folklore, e.g. an aunty would call and ask you for the telephone number of the person for the cure for such and such as their husbands nephew needs it or someone.

I do not know any people who charge for it, they just tell you to light a candle at the church or something.

I will not have townies sit here and slag it off for a bit of humour.
    In my eyes culchies are the real people of Ireland, who hold the ancient tradition and culture from their forefathers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I got a cure for the shingles as a teenager from an old man and it went away, there are numerous people with cures in the countryside and their names are passed around abit like folklore, e.g. an aunty would call and ask you for the telephone number of the person for the cure for such and such as their husbands nephew needs it or someone.

I do not know any people who charge for it, they just tell you to light a candle at the church or something.

I will not have townies sit here and slag it off for a bit of humour.
    In my eyes culchies are the real people of Ireland, who hold the ancient tradition and culture from their forefathers.

Licking each other is a bit of culture Im not too fond of keeping alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

c_man wrote: »

Jesus wept. People are willing to pay this gobshíte to touch them because he comes from a large family? Actually, the people who pay are the gobshítes.

BTW, for people who didn't click the link, click it. Its worth seeing what a truely woeful website looks like. And he even managed to crowbar david beckhams name in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,535 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

A couple of years ago I remember one of my friends telling me she was bringing her baby who had colic to some random woman for the cure. I didn't ask what it entailed, as I couldn't see how it would sort out the colic problem.

Cienciano wrote: »
    BTW, for people who didn't click the link, click it. Its worth seeing what a truely woeful website looks like. And he even managed to crowbar david beckhams name in!

Looks like it was made in a early 1990's pre-Netscape Navigator Beta. This is the worst of all: an infinite loop of a crap motivational wma track.
    <BGSOUND SRC="Video/SoundTrack.wma" LOOP=INFINITE>

"An Unassuming Irish Man"
    - Quoted from Chris Tarrant (British TV Presenter)

sold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

I might go see her have a problem in a delicate area.

Perhaps she's already the cause?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Anyway, it's impossible to cure culchies from culchiedom. *ducks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

It would be almost be worth scalding your ballbag just to get one of these healers to lick your balls.

(almost)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭goz83

c_man wrote: »
    Hmm. Seems like Dublin has no shortage of reiki healing centres... Let us have our mad auld wans casting off demons!

They're all run by culchies though :p
    rawn wrote: »
    Actually, my aunt did this. She scalded herself really badly across her chest and shoulder. Was told by doctors she would always have to cover it up in the sun and it would be dry and painful for the rest of her life. She went and some gummy old man licked the whole wound and it healed up within days. I don't believe in this kind of stuff, but that's the story she told us and her skin is fine now. Forgot about it til now.

Some gummy old man was licking your aunts chest? Which way did the donation go then?