Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Massey 390 T vs alternatives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Old diesel

honda300 wrote: »
    To be honest, I think that the 390 has to be one of the most over rated and over priced tractors going. I would take a ford 7610 or 90-90 fiat any day over the 390.

Did wonder about a VERY late 7610 - but I thought my expectations might be too high - ie wasn't sure if they would be good enough.

I also thought they might have some of the same hyped up high prices 390s do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

saw one on done deal a while ago complete with new holland engine,new clutch drive packs,etc etc priced at €30,000 good value for money imo,had 7810 for while after trading 390 good tractor but rear end ,dog clutch seems to get a hammering as normally contractor tractor but like m,f 300s worth spending few bob on by going into back end after buying. ,as a cog has been known to come off due to worn clips in box, and do more than little damage , but same can happen massy 300 series,but in mf only if gearbox has been dismantled and not put back properly. .imo not much between 7610 and 399 with 1006 series engine but..depends on yard work if choice of tractor re of 4 or 6 cylinder that where 390T will come in or similar sized as opposed to 6 cyl 7810 but at only 106 hp,do you need other models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 honda300

sandydan wrote: »
    saw one on done deal a while ago complete with new holland engine,new clutch drive packs,etc etc priced at €30,000 good value for money imo,had 7610 for while after trading 390 good tractor but rear end ,dog clutch seems to get a hammering as normally contractor tractor but like m,f 300s worth spending few bob on by going into back end after buying. ,as a cog has been known to come off due to worn clips in box, and do more than little damage , but same can happen massy 300 series,but in mf only if gearbox has been dismantled and not put back properly. .imo not much between 7610 and 399 with 1006 series engine but..depends on yard work if choice of tractor re of 4 or 6 cylinder that where 390T will come in or similar sized as opposed to 6 cyl 7610 but at only 106 hp,do you need other models
    30k for a tractor that is coming up on 30 years old is crazy. Seems like all second hand tractors on donedeal are getting very expensive. A good tractor at reasonable money is getting hard to find.

what sort of animal is this one.
    90hp 4x4 shibaura
    perkins engine same as 390 saw it on done deal . i wont be buying

30k for a tractor that is coming up on 30 years old is crazy. Seems like all second hand tractors on donedeal are getting very expensive. A good tractor at reasonable money is getting hard to find.

sorry it was 7810 not 7610
    from memory i think it had new N Holland engine 6 cylinder engine ,gearbox all done. the lot oversized tyres etc,so mechanically if as advertised ,would you spend that money on 7810 or New Holland equivalent.id prefer 7810
    btw if building prices shoot up again tractor prices will follow in my opinion for use as dumpers like in celtic years when youngsters scorching in and out of sites were common sight, tractors traded after 1 yr with arse rattled and never serviced just pass it on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

That's why we had to go new.
    Could not find a good s/h tractor in any dealership around 50 miles. All were 4k hrs plus and wanted 35k plus for 6-10 yr old tractors.
    We spent the extra 55k and have a tractor for five or more yrs instead of buying a s/h yoke and having to buy again in 2 yrs as well as getting a ****e trade in price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

If you have the work for it, new tractors seem to be better value at present. Second hand tractors if anything have gone up in price the last few years, despite getting older in the meantime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

That's about 16,000 too expensive to my mind. looking for something for the outfarm at the moment, there is a Same Leopard with a power loader advertised at the moment that would do fine, if it checks out mechanically. No radiator to freeze up in the winter, 4wd, and not valuable enough to attract the thieves (hopefully)

your dead right,not alone in done deal, but dealers as well,its like export market think of price break and export and collect vat refund in my opinion ,see some garages that export having tractors and machinery most in perfect condition must add but at inflated prices that sit there for up to 2 years and then a clear-out, yard filled again with imported stuff, mostly good must say and ditto for another 2-3 years,
    look at car dealers must be numerous dealers around country with 5+ acres or more of perfectly saleable cars and don't want any inquiries regarding same,just letting them rot, just can't figure that out, but one thing for sure someone is paying well for that

If you have the work for it, new tractors seem to be better value at present. Second hand tractors if anything have gone up in price the last few years, despite getting older in the meantime.
    fella told me recently he was about to trade against S/H but for some reason asked how much a new model would cost to finance to be told a difference of 2 payments or so on what he was buying second hand. guess which he purchased,no repairs, warranty,comfort.just service and work.

what about Kubota told one imported from UK better than any 398 around €30k mark with low hours, has anyone experience of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭agriman27

what about Kubota told one imported from UK better than any 398 around €30k mark with low hours, has anyone experience of them

The new kubota m9960 looks like a lovely compact tractor. Don't know much about them gerard clarkes beside me has got the dealership now will be interesting to see if he can get them going like he did with the valtra in the area, they look great. They seem to be more simple straight forward tractors than other brands not as much electrics on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,618 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

You trying to get at me sandy :p

agriman27 wrote: »
    The new kubota m9960 looks like a lovely compact tractor. Don't know much about them gerard clarkes beside me has got the dealership now will be interesting to see if he can get them going like he did with the valtra in the area, they look great. They seem to be more simple straight forward tractors than other brands not as much electrics on them.
    i havent seen this one yet it seems he was quoted around €37k by local dealer and went over himself and is talking or maybe its being said for him about all he saved by going over, you know the crack. but the tractor is said to be barely eligible to import secondhand,so new.but i know the engines should be reliable whatever about gear system , i think a bearing in box had issues in some a few years ago , but sortable

Reggie. wrote: »
    You trying to get at me sandy :p

youz gone right over me head with that one:)

how are valtra sales going in area, around here lads that had them seem to be switching back to new holland and JDeere, why? i dont know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

how are valtra sales going in area, around here lads that had them seem to be switching back to new holland and JDeere, why? i dont know

only a couple of lads around here with valtras, one lad bought a new one this year, said there wasnt much in difference in price towards competition, he was stuck lastly between a t5050 and a n92, said valtra was slightly cheaper but alot better specd tractor than the 5050

heard something about electrics? and repairs but not many dealers in area either so maybe that influences decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    That's about 16,000 too expensive to my mind. looking for something for the outfarm at the moment, there is a Same Leopard with a power loader advertised at the moment that would do fine, if it checks out mechanically. No radiator to freeze up in the winter, 4wd, and not valuable enough to attract the thieves (hopefully)

What about the parts situation for those older Same's?

nashmach wrote: »
    What about the parts situation for those older Same's?
    id be more concerned about slipping out of gear problem,,great tractor but a few around here got rid of them on account of cost of sorting that one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

New holland tl spec tractors look great value no frills tractors. Nice one with a loader in Enniscorthy motor company on done deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭letterkenny man

What about the new zetors 80 major any of ye any info on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Old diesel

id be more concerned about slipping out of gear problem,,great tractor but a few around here got rid of them on account of cost of sorting that one

What kind of cost???? :eek:

Old diesel wrote: »
    What kind of cost???? :eek:

id say mostly labour related, fairly sure i saw a post on this subject by Stavros Murphy( i think) in reply to some one who had this problem, explaining what needed to be done if keeping your hand on lever to hold it in gear was becoming a nuisance, from memory i think back-end including gearbox has to be stripped out but its getting mechanic who knows his business is issue.
    hope this info is correct, but as in many times before i could be wrong, but 2 locally got rid of theirs as quotations for repairs locally were stupid,but this was in "tiger" years too and there is no local main dealer, to the best of my knowledge

What about the new zetors 80 major any of ye any info on them

farmers journal had reports on 2 new Zetor , were a bit critical on some issue re mounting implement on lift arms on smaller one of the 2. but missed the report on bigger one, havent met anyone who purchased yet, but i would expect them to be as good as Ursus copy of MF 300 or 200 series.

lot of the Ursus tractors around here and i haven't heard anyone complaining ,wonder are they in production now are are they discontinued

Willfarman wrote: »
    New holland tl spec tractors look great value no frills tractors. Nice one with a loader in Enniscorthy motor company on done deal.
    nice tractor and nice price too. lot of nice landines with and without loaders on there too.
    some one posted a New Holland overview on ford new holland tractors a while back trying to remember who to thank for it but it contains a useful reference to both the TL and TLA range of new holland tractors as there may be an issue with the dash in the TLA range if buying. hope this copy of excerpt is not breaking any rules. Mods please remove if against rules.
    TLA Series 2003-07
    The TLA range of tractors replaced the TL models. The main difference was that the long serving Fiat engine was replaced with a Cummins engine to meet with tier 3 legislation.
    The range included the TL70A (4cyl 70hp), TL80A (4cyl 80hp), TL90A (4Cyl T 90hp) and the TL100A (4cyl T 100hp).
    As with the 35 and TL series, the TLA range was built in New Hollands factory in Italy.
    Gear box options remained the same with 12/12 manual or 24/24 power shuttle hydraulic option. On the TLA tractors the power shuttle gear box could now be calibrated from the tractor seat instead of needing a laptop as with TL’s. The dashboard on these models was also considered to be the brain and as such simple dash niggles could stop the tractor working altogether.

was thinking of the 130 hp version because of being 4 cylinder tubo that's if greater than 100 hp is needed for other work , other wise id stick to standard engines for yard tractor(non turbo) or get dedicated loader ( say jcb or massey EX) provided you need one. one thing about turbo-engines stick in my memory. fella bought 6610 Q cab complete with loader and grab from dealer i dealt with and a year later came back asking to fit 7610 engine into it. despite dealer telling him that yard work alone was not good for turbo engines he persisted, so engine was fitted and year and half later came back with oil coming out exaust and blowing through breather like smoke. oil was passing rings and was gone past redemption .honing wouldn't sort it, needed recon job, traded in tractor for another 6610 , learned lesson.

on done deal a 2005 JD 6220 with loader for €41,800 90 hp would they be worth that price and hold value in normal working conditions and be regarded as good value as say 1997 mf 390 at €18,000 - €22,000 , just asking
    saw higher HP ~2000 JD 6910 of 135 hp tyres fair id say for around €20,000 as well and in one hour had been viewed around 1,000 time already. no doubting J Deere popularity

was with neighbour today moving bales,
    06 new holland TM120 with 8,000 hrs on clock, pulling McHale fusion baler, some tractor on steep ground to hold baler, no problem up and down and across, ground was so steep i lost bale off handler, some bales shaped like rolos,when coming out of chamber bale used go to one side and operator used have to go to rear end of baler some times to get wrapper working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,618 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

was with neighbour today moving bales,
    06 new holland TM120 with 8,000 hrs on clock, pulling McHale fusion baler, some tractor on steep ground to hold baler, no problem up and down and across, ground was so steep i lost bale off handler, some bales shaped like rolos,when coming out of chamber bale used go to one side and operator used have to go to rear end of baler some times to get wrapper working

Sounds like love ground to be working on