Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Massey 390 T vs alternatives

• 28-07-2014 6:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,843 ✭✭✭

Good evening all - hope all is well :)

Just wondering what do you all think of Massey Ferguson 390 Ts - vs other tractors of similar size/power and capability

I think the John Deere 6300/6400s look potentially interesting - but we know very little about them - is it just the John Deere* badge one is buying :eek: or are they actually better then a 390 T

Tractor would be used for things like spreading fertiliser, spreading slurry, agitating slurry - drawing bales on a trailer etc.

NEEDS to be 4wd.

All thoughts welcome

*not into the whole badge thing - just a decent tractor - would consider Fiats, Landinis, Renaults etc if someone argued a strong enough case for them vs a 390 T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I have a 390t and fiat 110/90 and I find the fiat stronger and Reliable , Its haRd to figure why the 390t is more popular then the 110/90 ,both around same money for similar condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Know nothing about Masseys, except that some lads would marry one as quick as any woman. Got up on the neighbours 390 4wd to move a silage trailer out of the way. What a frigger of a thing. It seemed to have a low profile cab? the 2 elbows would be bashed off you, more room in a dodgem car. Then some kind of an after-thought of a gear box system Are the ranges and the gears on the one lever? Honestly, the old Rubik Cube Ford 6610 was more straight forward.

I would buy anything else. Ford 7840, or a 7740 if you want something a little handier. A deere like you mentioned. Mate has a Renault Cergos 350. Its been very reliable, and pulls like a train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,843 ✭✭✭Old diesel

cute geoge wrote: »
    I have a 390t and fiat 110/90 and I find the fiat stronger and Reliable , Its haRd to figure why the 390t is more popular then the 110/90 ,both around same money for similar condition

Interesting stuff - id expect a 110/90 to be a stronger then a 390 T though - they look a bigger tractor.

Whats the next model or 2 down from the 110 - 90/90????

Thanks a million for the reply :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

I have put up a lot of hours on a 390t, they really do pack a punch for they're size power wise, loads of torque and instant poke great for our steep ground. I used to think they were brilliant until I got my mf4355 which makes the 390 feel so outdated especially on the comfort front and its defiantly more capable in heavy work. I would be inclined to buy something a bit more modern, 390ts are to dear for what they are and most have highish hours and they do have problems as the hours tick up high. I don't know much about John deere not popular around this area. The valmet 6400 are a great reliable tractor too

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Know nothing about Masseys, except that some lads would marry one as quick as any woman. Got up on the neighbours 390 4wd to move a silage trailer out of the way. What a frigger of a thing. It seemed to have a low profile cab? the 2 elbows would be bashed off you, more room in a dodgem car. Then some kind of an after-thought of a gear box system Are the ranges and the gears on the one lever? Honestly, the old Rubik Cube Ford 6610 was more straight forward.

I would buy anything else. Ford 7840, or a 7740 if you want something a little handier. A deere like you mentioned. Mate has a Renault Cergos 350. Its been very reliable, and pulls like a train.

Yes the range change (hi, medium and low) are on the exact same gear stick as the gears - well at least they are on later models.

Did early 40 series Fords give issues - and if so (I do know of one that was a lemon but don't know how widespread issues actually were) when did Ford/New Holland address them???

Thank you for the reply - much appreciated :)

I have a 90-90, grand tractor, very simple. Out dated nowadays really, especially for those who like push buttons and splitter boxes. Slow on the road as well. Would be similar to the 390 in size and power. Perhaps look for an 88-94, updated version of the 90-90. If you are 6 foot or over, the Fiat cab not overly comfortable for hours on end. Bosch diesel pumps are self bleeding and very, very, reliable. I got a tank of dirty diesel about 5 years ago, and every engine about the place with a CAV pump died and needed the pump removed and overhauled. The Fiats Bosch never even coughed.

I think the early Ford 7840's with the white roof were more prone to gearbox problems?

Actually, forgot to mention, would love a Case/International 956 4wd. Rock solid mechanicals, and great to pull. Buy one similar money as any 390.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

cute geoge wrote: »

Not really comparable tractors. 110/90 is 6 cylinder 110 hp and weights 4.6t.
    390t is 4 cylinder, 95 hp and weights just under 3t.

agriman27 wrote: »
    I have put up a lot of hours on a 390t, they really do pack a punch for they're size power wise, loads of torque and instant poke great for our steep ground. I used to think they were brilliant until I got my mf4355 which makes the 390 feel so outdated especially on the comfort front and its defiantly more capable in heavy work. I would be inclined to buy something a bit more modern, 390ts are to dear for what they are and most have highish hours and they do have problems as the hours tick up high. I don't know much about John deere not popular around this area. The valmet 6400 are a great reliable tractor too

Reason I was wondering about alternatives was because like you - I perceive them to be expensive.

Unfortunately my crowd here like Masseys - which I don't have a problem with tbh. But in my head - I want a tractor that's been well minded in good condition and not been abused.

And take the view id rather a Fiat or Landini in immaculate condition then a rough 390 T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Looking on donedeal, a 390t & 4355 are about the same price, so as you say why go older for a name that was over worked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,542 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Old diesel wrote: »
    Reason I was wondering about alternatives was because like you - I perceive them to be expensive.

Unfortunately my crowd here like Masseys - which I don't have a problem with tbh. But in my head - I want a tractor that's been well minded in good condition and not been abused.

And take the view id rather a Fiat or Landini in immaculate condition then a rough 390 T

The landini 9880 are a great machine and modeled off the 390. One here and it has savage power. used for agatiting and pulling dump trailers of dung around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Reggie. wrote: »
    The landini 9880 are a great machine and modeled off the 390. One here and it has savage power. used for agatiting and pulling dump trailers of dung around the place.

Are they not more in line with the 600 series rather than 300 series?

Damo810 wrote: »
    Are they not more in line with the 600 series rather than 300 series?

True mechanicaly but I meant in looks

Have you a budget in mind Old diesel? Would help with narrowing down potential tractors..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

couple of landinis around here great tractor but a few had issue with gearboxes slipping out when holding back under pressure (downhill)might be shuttle. some fiats have a 5cylinder engine that was prone to problems, garage man told me when i bought 390 off him years back, had both for sale.since bought 399 -with 3 gear levers in floor- mostly due to hilly ground not HP requirements. same hp as 390 T or 398. clumsier than 390 in yard but not worse than 7810 had one briefly.. you have std gearbox, no dual power problems, and good resale value, i know lo-cab is less comfortable but i have hi-line and high-doors are requirement ,7810 needs higher doors, personally unless Renault parts are after dropping in price id avoid,i know few who bought them and wished they didn't,but no renault dealers around here either. fiat 110/90 are brilliant tractor ,pin issues in early models r/axle diff gave them bad name they do not deserve. id avoid 93 to 95 MF 300 series,labour for gear-box problems in those are expensive to sort, a pin or spring costing around €20 requires rear end to be split to sort,so check which model needs to be sorted in that respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 JohnJoe88

Horses for Courses....

What are u hoping to do on the farm??
    Loader on it,?

Land steep? Boggy? Lucky to be on a flood plain and self draining soil!

Anyway I've worked with a lot of 100hp tractors. Immaculate ones to wrecked ones!

110-90 are fantastic tractor, great on fuel, great traction, can work with 20ft silage trailers. 4 furrow ploughs, 3m power harrows
    10ft mowers 2500gallon slurry tanks. A great field tractor.
    But is only 30kmph reved to the last. And steering is slow in tight spots eg Farmyards. Not good with a loader, it just a lil awkward. Prone to rust!! The old models will fall apart!! They are 6 cycling er too!
    All in all a great tractor., for the above purposes! I personally would buy one tomorrow of I had €15000-20000 for a spotless one in the Turbo model!

And if you come across a fellow with a blue 110-90, he thinks its worth 25 thousand!
    Hadent heard anything negative about the 5cylinder Fiats. only the 90-90 and the older 880/5 came with the 5 cylinder. In general, Iveco build a pretty good diesel.

And regarding the Ford/New Holland range, Old Diesel, here is an informative blog.

http://tractortorque.wordpress.com/2009/11/24/new-holland-over-view/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 JohnJoe88

MF 390T.

95HP tractor, Side column gear stick is nicest option with shuttle by steering wheel. 4wd model will climb d wall for ya, and a Dinger n Boggy ground.
    Capable of 3furrow reversible plough, twud handle a 3m powerharrow too.
    2000Gallon tank Adgitate slurry, fert, round baling, wrapping, stacking, hedge cutting, 14Ton Dumptrailer,
    Great with a Loader, 5ft shear grab. 6ft Bucket, bale handler. Pallet forks.
    40KM/ph box so get from a 2 B fast.
    Steering is very responsive!

Low profile cab is great for small sheds and crossing hills But u can get High profile too ( flat floor) solves the space.
    Not prone to rust unlike other Massey models!

We have one with 10yrs. 4100hrs on it. It does the work above, great machine, starts on d key first time. Yes that spring breaks and has broken.
    It's €8 in cork farm machinery
    €800 labour but u cud do it if ur mechanically minded us put in in no bother!

Fantastic tractor overall. You will get the clean ones in the Uk. We bought ours for €22000 put a Rossmore loader on it for €8000 keep it serviced and clean.

For the crack I took it to a main dealer and offered €24000 as a trade in. Delighted with that!

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Two great tractors either one is a great tractor for what you have in mind for them for me the 390t.

Great stuff thanks guys - much appreciated

a well worn tractor can be immaculate as well, i know quite a few operators who wont scratch a tractor, if used on dumpers id avoid like the plague-brake & transmission problems in JD esp ,im mf man so i cant advise on other brand really only to say landini owners around here have purchased landini new again. contractors like new holland and one i know, swears about a 135,power ,economical on diesel etc,. only advice i remember about john deere is if buying, buy new and trade in few years, i know a main dealer once told me some thing about revamping back end at 5,000 hrs and they are trouble free for another 5,000 hrs so i didn't ask anymore questions as costs involved ..but some swear by them

sandydan wrote: »
    couple of landinis around here great tractor but a few had issue with gearboxes slipping out when holding back under pressure (downhill)might be shuttle. some fiats have a 5cylinder engine that was prone to problems, garage man told me when i bought 390 off him years back, had both for sale.since bought 399 -with 3 gear levers in floor- mostly due to hilly ground not HP requirements. same hp as 390 T or 398. clumsier than 390 in yard but not worse than 7810 had one briefly.. you have std gearbox, no dual power problems, and good resale value, i know lo-cab is less comfortable but i have hi-line and high-doors are requirement ,7810 needs higher doors, personally unless Renault parts are after dropping in price id avoid,i know few who bought them and wished they didn't,but no renault dealers around here either. fiat 110/90 are brilliant tractor ,pin issues in early models r/axle diff gave them bad name they do not deserve. id avoid 93 to 95 MF 300 series,labour for gear-box problems in those are expensive to sort, a pin or spring costing around €20 requires rear end to be split to sort,so check which model needs to be sorted in that respect.

Most of them gearbox problems would be sorted in them tractors by now

Try and get the widest possible tyres oon it aswell. It makes some difference on boggy ground. I've oversize tyres on mine and she would go anywhere

Most of them gearbox problems would be sorted in them tractors by now
    probably ,but i figure if you are aware of it ,better chance of copping, would have bought one as i think they have better traction than 390 less weight than 399, which on "lacka" ground sloping more than one way has carried me sideways a few times ,hairy experience, any how i looked at landini great engine lift , i knew previous owner had told him about problem and warned him to fix it before selling and when checking gear lever on left found it sticky , so asked question about box and nearly got ate,"how dare you etc" never give problem , idle for while, that rubbish.

The best one for traction is the 398. Same size as 390 but the power and weight of the 399.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

I'm sorry to all the lads that have masseys and love them but anything less then a dyna gearbox renders them basically useless for towing and just a pig of a thing to drive in general. I have driven a 390t shuttle and speed shift and likewise with a 4255, 4355, 5445 and only yesterday I was stacking bales with a 5455 and I hate having to drive any of them. That stupid gearbox drives me up the wall trying to change between the ranges. Was stacking bales with a 6330 standard after the 5455 for a few hours yesterday and it's like chalk and cheese coming from someone with no brand loyalty.

Can't argue with that but for a small holder like myself it's fine. I stack bales, ted, rake, bale, draw a 12 ton dump trailer, slurry, agitate and god knows what else with a tractor that is 20 years old now and still going strong.

Them awkward gearboxes will still outlast the new fancy ones I guarantee ya.

I find this need for speed and with 40k boxes leaves a lot of the newer tractors drove into scutter by lads rushing at jobs and pulling big weights flat out that fcuks most of the new machines

Can't argue with that but for a small holder like myself it's fine. I stack bales, ted, rake, bale, draw a 12 ton dump trailer, slurry, agitate and god knows what else with a tractor that is 20 years old now and still going strong.

They might but they will still be a pig of a thing to drive! I'd rather the three sticks between my legs on the older ones, at least they were functional.

I said wrote: »
    I find this need for speed and 40k boxes leaves a lot of the newer tractors drove into scutter by lads rushing at jobs and pulling big weights flat out that fcuks most of the new machines

The faster tractors are great on new roads but on old bumpy ones they are no faster. Plus that's what breaks most implements like haybobs them getting slapped up and down by lads driving too fast.

Anyways we are getting side tracked. What budget have you got OP if ya dont mind as thus will give us an idea of what bracket your in

I said wrote: »
    I find this need for speed and 40k boxes leaves a lot of the newer tractors drove into scutter by lads rushing at jobs and pulling big weights flat out that fcuks most of the new machines

4255, 4355 and the 54 series are all 40k :confused: It's just nigh on impossible to change from medium to high while actually moving and you can forget about it altogether if you have any sort of a load behind you.

With 40k my bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

I know the 390t is a great handy tractor but these lads talking about pulling 2000gl tankers and drivin 3m power harrows and 10ft mowers the likes are talking nonsense. We use an 1100gl abbey and it shoves it about on hilly ground and I certainly wouldn't let it near a 3m power harrow and our 7ft plain disc mower is enough for it to handle.They are a grand wee yoke for smaller jobs but they're not heavy duty IMO just look at the hitch and the backend its tiny compared to its modern equivalent . Couple of years ago we made some wet bales and 390t couldn't nearly keep the front wheels on the ground carrying one. If I was buying I would look around at more modern tractors with far better cabs and capabilities. When you see 390s around he mart now they look a bit old fashioned imo

I know the 390t is a great handy tractor but these lads talking about pulling 2500gl tankers and drivin 3m power harrows and 10ft mowers the likes are talking nonsense. We use an 1100gl abbey and it shoves it about on hilly ground and I certainly wouldn't let it near a 3m power harrow and our 7ft plain disc mower is enough for it to handle.They are a grand wee yoke for smaller jobs but they're not heavy duty IMO just look at the hitch and the backend its tiny compared to its modern equivalent . Couple of years ago we made some wet bales and 390t couldn't nearly keep the front wheels on the ground carrying one. If I was buying I would look around at more modern tractors with far better cabs and capabilities. When you see 390s around he mart now they look a bit old fashioned imo
    390T can be small in fairness.

That's where the 398 comes into play. Far bigger back end on it. Well I can say I ran a 2500 tanker no bother with mine.

Never ran mowers or anything but pulled 12 dump trailers in all type of terrain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Have to agree there, had uncles tm140 buckraking this year and after about 6 loads it just stopped on the pit and wouldn't move an inch, called nh dealers, they came out, syncho got stuck, rounded the two notches out of a sensor, when replacing that sensor ya have to change another with it, total bill-€350, and held up for two hours

This just ain't the masseys it's for all machines of that era but was thinking of changing the tractor to a newer one and my mechanic said to me that if the Massey breaks he can do something if the mower machines break it's a low loader your after he reckons. More laptops needed than spanners in workshops these days

JohnJoe88 wrote: »
    MF 390T.

95HP tractor, Side column gear stick is nicest option with shuttle by steering wheel. 4wd model will climb d wall for ya, and a Dinger n Boggy ground.
    Capable of 3furrow reversible plough, twud handle a 3m powerharrow too.
    2000Gallon tank Adgitate slurry, fert, round baling, wrapping, stacking, hedge cutting, 14Ton Dumptrailer,
    Great with a Loader, 5ft shear grab. 6ft Bucket, bale handler. Pallet forks.
    40KM/ph box so get from a 2 B fast.
    Steering is very responsive!

Low profile cab is great for small sheds and crossing hills But u can get High profile too ( flat floor) solves the space.
    Not prone to rust unlike other Massey models!

We have one with 10yrs. 4100hrs on it. It does the work above, great machine, starts on d key first time. Yes that spring breaks and has broken.
    It's €8 in cork farm machinery
    €800 labour but u cud do it if ur mechanically minded us put in in no bother!

Fantastic tractor overall. You will get the clean ones in the Uk. We bought ours for €22000 put a Rossmore loader on it for €8000 keep it serviced and clean.

For the crack I took it to a main dealer and offered €24000 as a trade in. Delighted with that!

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR..

€30,000 for a 20 year old tractor with a loader is nothing short of ridiculous, imo. For that kind of money you could be getting a far superior tractor that is less than 10 years old..

Lads rave about the 300 series, but they're nothing short of a plain stockmans tractor and to be paying the kind of money some lads are is foolish..

Damo810 wrote: »
    €30,000 for a 20 year old tractor with a loader is nothing short of ridiculous, imo. For that kind of money you could be getting a far superior tractor that is less than 10 years old..

Lads rave about the 300 series, but they're nothing short of a plain stockmans tractor and to be paying the kind of money some lads are is foolish..

True enough. But at that money the machine would want to be restored or in very good condition. Most newer machines at that price are close to death

For 30,000 i personally would go for an International 1056 with a turbo, a Massey 30e loader, and still have the price of 70 or 80 ewes in my bpocket.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

A deutz 4 dots are unbreakable too.
    Fathers friend has had them all his life and can't be beaten. I drive them too and there a nice tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

The John Deere 6310 would be similar tractor power wise to the 390T and has better hydraulic system for use with a front loader,the joystick responds quicker than it would in 390 series when working with bales etc.

Do you have a 6310 - how do you find it overall????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Case CX90? similar size machine. You would get a fresher one for the same money as the 390

The best one for traction is the 398. Same size as 390 but the power and weight of the 399.

sorry to disagree with you but according to ~Tractor Data.com the 309t and 398 are rated same HP at 94 HP while www. tractordb.com rates it at 97. i know there was upgrade to perkins engine maybe that explains that.
    weight 390T= 6,400 lbs
    398=from 7047-7648 lbs
    399 A6.356 engine= 97 Hp
    399 1006 series engine=104 Hp
    weight from 7, 233 lbs-8029 lbs
    398 supposed to have same rear end as 399
    also according to sales figure released in Feb 2014 390/390T were the most popular second hand tractor registered in Ireland and they have an article advising on what to look for.
    my neighbour has 398 and claims 399 with 6cyl engine has more power when going gets rough ie if you have to trottle back for a reason the 399 is better to pick up again and mine has the A6354 engine, but we both agree that the 2 neighbours landini blizzards with 236 turbo engines and other neighbours newer Fusion are knackier and better traction and power wise both in hilly and soft ground than either 398 or 399 and certainly well ahead of my old 390 with recon engine

i know its unfair to tar all with same brush . friend paid out €30,000 for 6310 about 4 years ago and drew bales,about 70 bales drawn and tractor wouldn't change direction ,pulled it out from bale he had reversed into, called supplier, in fairness even though guarantee period had expired by over 1 month he gave him 6400 (i think) in exchange when he couldn't sort it.he recons it was used for dumper haulage by previous owner/leaser.said it cost him to repair.its just typical of uses the tractors with synchro type gear exchanges get.heard of similar case since but it was farmer drawing gravel and tractor wouldn't move after being stopped either.and according to seller of 3910 there are loads of them waiting after celtic tiger years belonging to lease companies and building contractors waiting to be cleared,so beware.

I guess there are bad/troublesome examples of every make - I wonder what are the 6300/6310 like generally????

All thoughts welcome :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

I guess there are bad/troublesome examples of every make - I wonder what are the 6300/6310 like generally????

All thoughts welcome :)

have a 6210 jd here, only have it little over a year but not a bother yet and it does be tried and tested now and again-mowing, driving silage harvester, agitating, spreading slurry, chopping beet, drawing bales, drawing silage, drawingcattle, along with a few other things, great power for a small tractor, 90hp but good ol yoke to pull, likes the juice is the bigest problem i can say about it, know of one 10 series that has 25000hrs and still working strong, 00/10 series meant to be the best of the jds

sorry to disagree with you but according to ~Tractor Data.com the 309t and 398 are rated same HP at 94 HP while www. tractordb.com rates it at 97. i know there was upgrade to perkins engine maybe that explains that.
    weight 390T= 6,400 lbs
    398=from 7047-7648 lbs
    399 A6.356 engine= 97 Hp
    399 1006 series engine=104 Hp
    weight from 7, 233 lbs-8029 lbs
    398 supposed to have same rear end as 399
    also according to sales figure released in Feb 2014 390/390T were the most popular second hand tractor registered in Ireland and they have an article advising on what to look for.
    my neighbour has 398 and claims 399 with 6cyl engine has more power when going gets rough ie if you have to trottle back for a reason the 399 is better to pick up again and mine has the A6354 engine, but we both agree that the 2 neighbours landini blizzards with 236 turbo engines and other neighbours newer Fusion are knackier and better traction and power wise both in hilly and soft ground than either 398 or 399 and certainly well ahead of my old 390 with recon engine

Sandydan I wouldn't get too worked up about 10 hp or a few hundred kgs when it comes to machine.

Agree about the blizzards. Good machine them and the legend 135 were the best machine landini made in a while

Sandydan I wouldn't get too worked up about 10 hp or a few hundred kgs when it comes to machine.

Agree about the blizzards. Good machine them and the legend 135 were the best machine landini made in a while
    i wont get toooo worked up to be sure ,just quoting figures that's all , that doen't take what is called "power to weight ratio " if you follow me on laymans terms the 10 extra horses might be ate up pulling the extra 1,500 lbs if you get my drift,so the 398 might be stronger in real terms.pulling slurry tanks of different brands in not an equal comparison either,im told some brand 2,000 gallon tanks are as easy or easier to pull as 1100 of other makes tyres,design brakes etc contributes to distorting comparison. i have nothing against different makes, just hightlight the problems i hear about to alert buyers what to look out for.i wanted to buy a case tractor similar to cousins but my big feet wouln't fit behind brake pedals and cab, maybe fault of tractor cab design but i wouldn't publish it as a fault :)

simx wrote: »
    have a 6210 jd here, only have it little over a year but not a bother yet and it does be tried and tested now and again-mowing, driving silage harvester, agitating, spreading slurry, chopping beet, drawing bales, drawing silage, drawingcattle, along with a few other things, great power for a small tractor, 90hp but good ol yoke to pull, likes the juice is the bigest problem i can say about it, know of one 10 series that has 25000hrs and still working strong, 00/10 series meant to be the best of the jds
    drove several john deeres liked layout of cab location of levers etc , i presume your purchased second hand ,did you know previous owner or if not what sort warranty did you get, a lot of fellas i know buying are chasing the ones owned around locally,even some owned by contractors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

(try again)

a lot of repossessed tractors were shafted by the previous owners before being taken back , ie sand and chemicals were put into the transmission & this in turn caused problems when the machine done a few hours work

my local jd dealer showed me a €15k repair he was doing on one, actually the unlucky owner would have bought a new tractor for what his bargain auction buy was eventually going to cost him