Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Interslice wrote: »
    No, it's just the clear coat has lifted off. Had another look at it there. Think I'll just cut two strips off steel, use them to make an outline, cut a hole and weld them into the gap. Needs a few spotwelds around nearer the light where the old ones have broke away. Tidy it all up then with a bit of anti corrosion paint. Be grand :).

That'll do!

Anyone know the best paint to coat steelies in? Any color as long as it's black

joujoujou wrote: »
    Ouch! :eek:

Doesn't look nice. :(

Buy an old land rover. I'll show you some real corrosion then. Or a Datsun :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Neighbour failed his second theory test :( 33 out of 40 this time though, just needed 2 more to pass! Maybe third time lucky :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,349 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Buy an old land rover. I'll show you some real corrosion then. Or a Datsun :P

Neither of those. I had Polish FSO1500, like this:

c19e8938240939a5.jpg

That was REAL corrosion. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Some sections of the M50 were flooded this morning, some cars ended up crashing as a result including my mates S15. Clogged drains and any car travel behind another would have been blinded by waves of water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Some sections of the M50 were flooded this morning, some cars ended up crashing as a result including my mates S15. Clogged drains and any car travel behind another would have been blinded by waves of water.

I love weather like this when im in a comfy warm car ! (or more relevant a discovery HSE!!! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

completely not motors related
    But if I win that Daimler auction I linked to yesterday, I'm totally buying this:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/201095929494

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Neighbour failed his second theory test :( 33 out of 40 this time though, just needed 2 more to pass! Maybe third time lucky :o

In fairness if you can't pass the theory test on two sittings, questions about the person's suitability to be on the road should really be asked. No offense to your neighbor or anything but it is a simple multiple choice test of basic motoring questions.

AFAIR it was along the lines of "does this sign mean Stop, Go, or take out your phone"

Drove along there this morning. The m50 has horrendous drainage. Turns into a swimming pool any time there is any sort of prolonged rain.

The Disco 2 with some new tyres did manage very well in it though. You can see above the spray :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

In fairness if you can't pass the theory test on two sittings, questions about the person's suitability to be on the road should really be asked. No offense to your neighbor or anything but it is a simple multiple choice test of basic motoring questions.

AFAIR it was along the lines of "does this sign mean Stop, Go, or take out your phone"

Oh ya they're píss easy, for anyone who's young and can use a computer. Not so easy for an 82 year old who never sat near a computer in his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Oh ya they're píss easy, for anyone who's young and can use a computer. Not so easy for an 82 year old who never sat near a computer in his life.

Just as relevant perhaps - how many FAR younger people would fail the theory as well.

Its not even as if hes doing completely hopeless - pass rate 35 out of 40 - he got 33

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I got 39/40 on mine. It was easy enough. Most of it is common sense, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Friend of mine is selling his Allegro. These are his master sales techniques :pac:
    10563044_769181129790780_8938306527523013034_n.jpg

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The M50 Northbound at blanch has two lanes closed, there's been some nasty accident involving at least four cars

There must have been 30 emergency services personnel milling about when I got past it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Stheno wrote: »
    The M50 Northbound at blanch has two lanes closed, there's been some nasty accident involving at least four cars

There must have been 30 emergency services personnel milling about when I got past it.

A friend called me from the N7 near Naas to say an Audi had spun out in front of a lorry about an hour ago. Sounds bad out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

ba_barabus wrote: »
    A friend called me from the N7 near Naas to say an Audi had spun out in front of a lorry about an hour ago. Sounds bad out there.

Yeah its pretty shocking, i dunno how many times I hit surface water and the cars dash lit up, wasn't even going fast, so i can imagine what it'd be like

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yeah its pretty shocking, i dunno how many times I hit surface water and the cars dash lit up, wasn't even going fast, so i can imagine what it'd be like

People were still pissing along after driving passed that crash on the M50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I'm a pretty fast driver but it never ceases to amaze me how people don't seem to take in to consideration the road conditions. In good dry weather there wouldn't be too many passing me but in the wet I'm regularly passed like I'm stopped. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

"it won't happen to me" mentality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

It's an audi, laws of physics don't apply :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

The ironic thing is that in the snow most people drive ridiculously slow and I'd be trotting along merrily past them. Same fookers would blitz past me in the wet!

Interslice wrote: »
    It's an audi, laws of physics don't apply :pac:.

Quattro, yo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

What a day to sit looking out the window!

I was out earlier and jaysus some of the eejits driving. Pissing rain and they're in my back seat practically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Quattro, yo.

Quattro badge anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Friend of mine is selling his Allegro. These are his master sales techniques :pac:
    [IMG][/IMG]

such allegro. very sales. much techniques. so amaze. wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Ah feck it anyway. I was going for a spin but seems there are enough out there doing just that. If the main roads and motorways have surface water on them, I can only imagine what the backroads are like. I don't fancy that at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Brown trouser moment this morning.

I was driving casually in the rain at 90 km/h on the left lane on the N7.

*Suddenly a wild truck appears*

I must've been in his blindspot since he changed the lane quick. I was lucky enough to swerve into the hard shoulder and not crash.

Glad not to be on tonight's news.

Sobanek wrote: »

I must've been in his blindspot since he changed the lane quick. I was lucky enough to swerve into the hard shoulder and not crash.

Jaysus. That could have been worse.

I think the good weather has people complacent. Forgotten how to drive in the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Sobanek wrote: »

Good to hear nothing and happened but you weren't undertaking a truck were you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Good to hear nothing and happened but you weren't undertaking a truck were you?

The truck was overtaking me!