If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Israel - Palestine Conflict. **Mod note in OP - updated 1st August**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

wes wrote: »
    Article doesn't back you up on that....... In fact it doesn't even mention Hamas. Pathetic that you are misrepresenting what UNRWA is saying.

So Hamas doesn't store weapons in schools?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭shedweller

mad muffin wrote: »
    First off the UN is an observatory force, there to help civilians. They can't take side. If they did the wouldn't be able to do their job. Countries wouldn't let them in.

Secondly if you think for one second that the situation in Gaza is the same as Nazi Germany you are way off the mark. These kind of comments are really disgusting.

Thirdly Israel has every right to exist. Where do you think the Jews came from? Do people think they were born in vacuum?

And lastly. America goes into country that harbours terrorist that have attacked America.

Israel supports America, they are allies. There is no reason for America to turn on Israel.
    Palestine has a right to exist also. Hamas is a problem, yes but to wipe Palestine off the map is akin to wiping Ireland off the map during the troubles.
    Does anybody here think israel will not wipe Palestine (whats left of it) off the map? Do they honestly think israel will stop the illegal settlements if Hamas stop firing rockets? Remember this all kicked off when the jews were given Pestine after the war. The Palestinians were told to feck off and that they did. Theres a docu called "The great book robbery" that some of you should look at. But beware, it's biased as hell!! Maybe because it shows israel in a not so nice light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

There is no evidence that Hamas were the ones responsible. Just as likely it was one of the other groups, as it was them.

BTW, care to acknowledge you purposefully misrepresented UNRWA statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Can't you see how much you chop and change your story?

First, you post a link claiming that the UN condemned Hamas' storage of weapons in one of their schools. This claim has been definitively shot down as a whole cloth misrepresentation on your part.

Then, when falsified, you come back and ask US to provide the evidence...

This is shocking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

They are be heading whole families as the children watch and then beheading the children.

I have a hard time believing the IDF would target UN schools where children slept deliberately.

17 times they were given the co-ordinates of the school.
    They knew exactly where they were and fired anyway.

For shame.
    And the powerplant that was blown up? I suppose there were rockets under there too..
    And the water plant.. more rockets under there?

Its genocide. Deliberate, deadly and evil. Starve/drive them out and build another 'buffer zone'.. The millions that will suffer and slowly starve to death/die of thirst so that (as you say) Israelis can sleep easy at night.

I dont think there are many people in Israel sleeping well at night, but its nothing to do with rockets, and everything to do with conscience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

In Gaza it's war for Israel's survival.

Jaysus, I nearly choked on my lunch while reading that nonsense. I must pass that message on to the children of Gaza - "Hey, what's the problem with getting blown apart and maimed every hour? Poor weak, innocent little Israel is only trying to survive you know."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭BikeQueery

Yes but in his eyes Israel are the murdering monsters and anyone who dares speak for them are happy to see civilians and innocent children die.

No matter what you say Israel is automatically wrong for merely existing.

Existing.. attacking, stealing land, committing war crimes, breaking un resolutions, murdering children in their sleep.. attacking aid flotillas, starving gazans, constantly threatening and intimidating its neighbors, terrorising the Lebanon by flying fighter jets over their city every day, murdering civilians around the world while even using Irish passports to do so. No one cares that Israel exists, literally everything else needs addressing, and that includes it's overt and subversive denial of a two state solution. Israel wants Palestinians gone the way of native Americans and is striving for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

In Gaza it's war for Israel's survival.
    Jaysus, I nearly choked on my lunch while reading that nonsense. I must pass that message on to the children of Gaza - "Hey, what's the problem with getting blown apart and maimed every hour? Poor weak, innocent little Israel is only trying to survive you know."

It's a thoroughly disgraceful comment.

Imagine Ireland having the same sophisticated military resources, Iron Dome technology as well as an undeclared nuclear arsenal as Israel. Now imagine the survival of Ireland being questioned by a territory half the size of Louth; a territory with negligible military capacity, while also an encircled territory who try to build tunnels to escape/fight back because of a permanent blockade on their borders. Now imagine Ireland firing missiles with impunity on this 50% Louth statelet including all its schools, its only power generator, while strangling the population with filthy water, lack of food and lack of medical supplies.

It's also worth analogising that this statelet would threaten the very existence of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,640 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

beano345 wrote: »
    Having met and talked to Israelis travelling after doing their army service,they have to be some of the most brainwashed people I've ever met...

I've had a very different experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

It's a thoroughly disgraceful comment.

I normally ignore that kind of nonsense, but the fact that I nearly choked while reading it, prompted me to post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

I think you misunderstand.

The Christian Iraqi crisis is happening right now. Far worse than the Gaza crisis just as deserving of righteous indignation.

Here is a link that's safe enough. Most will have graphic images of be headings even of little girls, and crucifixions.

http://www.news.com.au/world/middle-east/isis-militants-take-control-of-iraq-and-exterminate-everything-that-isnt-islamic/story-fnh81ifq-1227005917565

Yet, no talk on boards about it, no current talk. I think the most current is a month old.

I'm just wondering why no protests for countries to go and do something there? Why no call for America to go back in?

No protests on the streets or headlines on the news? Yet Israel is seen as what's wrong with this world?

up until very recently, the media had checked out of Iraq. Even in the final years of American involvement, the images of war had faded from television and the newspaper stories moved off the front pages. The US public were fed up of the conflict. Journalists were also fed up of the conflict, which was bad for ratings, and also expensive and dangerous to cover.

But Iraq is making a return to the headlines because the Shiite government is on the verge of collapse and Obama has declared that they are 'examining all the options'.

The other thing is this... ISIS were formed as recently as 2013, and Russia Today claim that ISIS stinks of CIA/NATO dirty war. They claim that ISIS were trained by the CIA in this article....

http://rt.com/op-edge/168064-isis-terrorism-usa-cia-war/

would it surprise you? It certainly wouldn't surprise me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Tuisceanch

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZaulIyuS7c

What a wonderful little human being. Some could learn from her if they could open their hearts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

JamboMac wrote: »
    A country doesn't need to exist to house to Jews

Well something somewhere needs to exist to house them.

US Government tried to right the attricious wrongs they committed against the Native Americans by giving them back some of their land and making it sovereign.

Point being they didn't just say to them, ah yeah sorry about that. No they gave them back some of their land miniscule that it might be.

wes wrote: »
    There is no evidence that Hamas were the ones responsible. Just as likely it was one of the other groups, as it was them.

BTW, care to acknowledge you purposefully misrepresented UNRWA statement?

Fair play to UNRWA for being diplomatic enough not to call Hamas out on this. They need their cooperation to work in the Gaza Strip.

This is shocking stuff.

I agree, it's shocking that Hamas use schools to store weapons and use homes, mosques, and other public buildings to hide the entrances to their tunnels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

Tuisceanch wrote: »
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZaulIyuS7c

What a wonderful little human being. Some could learn from her if they could open their hearts.

I just though i would repost this, I would like someone who condones this to acknowledge it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Tuisceanch

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_UBUkpSAZ8

Even in the hardest of conditions and circumstances some people can still maintain their human dignity and compassion. Why is he so hard for those who have so much to be the same? Some of you don't know you're even born into light as you insist on wallowing in darkness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Fair play to UNRWA for being diplomatic enough not to call Hamas out on this. They need their cooperation to work in the Gaza Strip.

Idiotic post of the day

***WINNER***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

bumper234 wrote: »
    Idiotic post of the day

***WINNER***

Its early yet.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

I agree, it's shocking that Hamas use schools to store weapons and use homes, mosques, and other public buildings to hide the entrances to their tunnels.

Do you have any facts to back that up? Or are you still sticking to...
    It is my opinion that it is a fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

You realise you are effectively justifying all of the atrocities committed by the likes of the Black and Tans while the British were in Ireland. And your logic would also have justified the UK launching a full on invasion of Dublin to fight the IRA.

Still trotting out the same scutter i see, any condemnation from you today of Israels.blatant murder of children?

What am i saying of course not:rolleyes:

So still no proof then....

There are groups far worse than Hamas operating int the Gaza strip, so as I said before, its as likely to be them.

The fact remains that deliberately misrepresented what UNRWA was saying......

RustyNut wrote: »
    Its early yet.....

Yeah but experience tells me that if an even more idiotic post does come along 99.999% chance the source will be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

You realise you are effectively justifying all of the atrocities committed by the likes of the Black and Tans while the British were in Ireland. And your logic would also have justified the UK launching a full on invasion of Dublin to fight the IRA.

Whats the timeline here? Were the IRA elected to government?

I agree, it's shocking that Hamas use schools to store weapons

So your making this claim again, so again I ask you to prove it........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

MayoSalmon wrote: »

Well in 1918 Sinn Fein won 47% of the vote in the Irish General election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

MayoSalmon wrote: »

They were, both in the Republic and NI.

It's a moot point though. The people of Palestine couldn't have an election if they tried.

Here's a statement from UNRWA I think you should read.

http://www.unrwa.org/newsroom/official-statements/unrwa-strongly-condemns-israeli-shelling-its-school-gaza-serious

UNRWA STRONGLY CONDEMNS ISRAELI SHELLING OF ITS SCHOOL IN GAZA AS A SERIOUS VIOLATION OF INTERNATIONAL LAW
    Last night, children were killed as they slept next to their parents on the floor of a classroom in a UN designated shelter in Gaza. Children killed in their sleepthis is an affront to all of us, a source of universal shame. Today the world stands disgraced.
    But we know that there were multiple civilian deaths and injuries   including of women and children and the UNRWA guard who was trying to protect the site.  These are people who were instructed to leave their homes by the Israeli army.
    The precise location of the Jabalia Elementary Girls School and the fact that it was housing thousands of internally displaced people was communicated to the Israeli army seventeen times,  to ensure its protection; the last being at  ten to nine last night, just hours before the fatal shelling. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

Fair play to Norris, speaking in the Seanad just now, he went mad