Is crime in Ireland getting better or worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

Sounds like the states but I bet you guys have a lower murder rate due to your firearm laws

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Sounds like the states but I bet you guys have a lower murder rate due to your firearm laws

Murder rate overall is lower overall probably mainly due to that reason.

Even being caught in posssesion of an unlicensed fire-arm, let alone using it, carries strict penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

porsche959 wrote: »
    Murder rate overall is lower overall probably mainly due to that reason.

Even being caught in posssesion of an unlicensed fire-arm, let alone using it, carries strict penalties.

Yes and that's a good thing. I looked up the homicide rate for dublin county and it stated that dublin county had a total of 23 murders in the year of 2012.
    Does dublin county include the city of dublin? Even if it doesn't that's still a really low number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Does dublin county include the city of dublin?

Would say probably yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

Stats are bull****. A lot of crimes go unreported. Covered up.

How can you know about this on any large scale? I'd the stats were being made up, wouldn't they logically be far more positive than they are?

Also, even if you are right, surely this has always been there case, thus we can assume 2014's massaged figures have been massaged to the same degree as 2004's? If so, crime has fallen since then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The anti-social behavior and small thefts that people don't even bother ringing the guards for seems to be going through the roof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Mick55

I think the violence has gotten worse, the criminal gangs are getting consistently more and more inhumane. The bloke who was found chopped up in Clonee, the two lads that were killed and dumped on an island on the lake, the Romanian girl who was shot in the head, the 16 year old traveller girl who was shot in a drive by ( Granted that was a traveller feud ). Remember some blokes arm washed up on a Dublin beach a few years ago, there are some scary animals out there at the moment. The scum driving all around the country to rob houses are getting increasingly more violent also, the cuts to Gardai around the country facilitates their escapades. The only thing that seems to be working is the above mentioned vigilante solution. Bring in Nally law!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Crime in small towns is the same, fighting at the weekends and the rounds from the city scumbags every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭kop-end

It's a lie, Stats are made up, everyone knows that.

43% of all stats are made up. Fact !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Mick55 wrote: »
    I think the violence has gotten worse, the criminal gangs are getting consistently more and more inhumane. The bloke who was found chopped up in Clonee, the two lads that were killed and dumped on an island on the lake, the Romanian girl who was shot in the head, the 16 year old traveller girl who was shot in a drive by ( Granted that was a traveller feud ). Remember some blokes arm washed up on a Dublin beach a few years ago, there are some scary animals out there at the moment. The scum driving all around the country to rob houses are getting increasingly more violent also, the cuts to Gardai around the country facilitates their escapades. The only thing that seems to be working is the above mentioned vigilante solution. Bring in Nally law!

Can we call it the Nally Badger Act. 2014?

Gangland killings are down write a bit, their peak was 2006, iirc.

The anti-social behavior and small thefts that people don't even bother ringing the guards for seems to be going through the roof
    I'm not trying to be smart but what are you basing this on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,007 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

The only thing that seems to be working is the above mentioned vigilante solution.

yeah, vermin picking on the lower pickings of other vermin and whining about people breaking the law and the justice system, vigilante vermin will pick on the wrong person some day and their kids will pay the price, then again i'm not sure they care, considering the people using kids as human shields at the "protest" in soards, nothing would surprise me.
    Bring in Nally law!

yes, lets bring in a law named after a brootle murderer who murdered someone because they were a traveler and in revenge for his problems with travelers and then cried "self defence" no, no sympathy for him and no law should be brought in to facilitate vermin and their murderous fantasies, the country will go to hell then. more guards and higher sentences is the way to go, crime isn't going away so its a case of "managing" the problem

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.