Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is crime in Ireland getting better or worse?

• 30-07-2014 9:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭

I have the impression that in Dublin at least, things are improving crime-wise, but in small towns and villages things are deteriorating. What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Better, I think. The burglars round here are leaving chocolates and thank-you cards. You never would have got that in the eighties.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

I have the impression that in Dublin at least, things are improving crime-wise, but in small towns and villages things are deteriorating. What do you think?

There was another Fianna fail fraudster locked up during the week, so that should see a drop in crime stats!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭sleepytrees

No, things are worse. I'm living in Dublin. It was never this bad. I have an uneasy feeling that I never used to have. A lot of the stuff that happens isn't always reported either.

The country is sadly getting worse too. We used to be able to leave our halldoor open 24-7, now loads from different towns are coming up to small towns just to rob.

I worry so much for my sons future. I really do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

AFAIK, the stats say it's improving.

It's a lie, Stats are made up, everyone knows that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Way better, criminals know what they doing now, less screw ups and just a better standard of criminal activity across the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

No, things are worse. I'm living in Dublin. It was never this bad. I have an uneasy feeling that I never used to have. A lot of the stuff that happens isn't always reported either.

The country is sadly getting worse too. We used to be able to leave our halldoor open 24-7, now loads from different towns are coming up to small towns just to rob.

Was your hall door robbed ?

What do you mean?

Was your hall door robbed ?

Not the hall door, just the hinges. They think they are so ****ing funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,586 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Hey let's be careful out there.

What do you mean?

Stats are bull****. A lot of crimes go unreported. Covered up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Pfft, everyone knows that 73% of statistics are made up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

If we got criminals to report their crimes anonymously , then we might get good stats .

" I robbed a load of hinges " type of report.

If we got criminals to report their crimes anonymously , then we might get good stats .

" I robbed a load of hinges " type of report.

Exactly my point sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Better, I think. The burglars round here are leaving chocolates and thank-you cards. You never would have got that in the eighties.

Around here they email and call 1st. They don't like to disturb your sleep sneaking in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

How does crime get better :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭user2012

Personally I think it's getting much worse. The types of crimes & the frequency of them seem, to me, to be much more violent.
    Murder, rape, serious assaults, robberies etc are nearly everyday occurrences that we read about online or hear about on the news. What I find alarming is how little it shocks me. I'm not a heartless person but the majority of bad news stories just roll off my back like water off a ducks. It's like I've accepted that that's how life is now so just get on with it & hope it stays off my doorstep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Lapin wrote: »
    How does crime get better :confused:

Practice, definitely practice. And a never say die attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

My folks live in a rural area and cant remember the amount of breakins ever been so high. Garda station barely open as its a one man job. Its well known that gangs travel down the motorway from dublin and commit robberies, due to locals actions two gangs from Dublin have been caught in the last year. There is now a number of farmers taking turns driving around late at night with shotguns keeping watch, a local text alert service has been set up, people are removing trees/hedges from in front of houses so prevent people breaking in whilst hiding from view and everyone has turned into a twitcy curtain neighbour. Come to think of it its a really sad situation :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 numbers man

user2012 wrote: »
    Personally I think it's getting much worse. The types of crimes & the frequency of them seem, to me, to be much more violent.
    Murder, rape, serious assaults, robberies etc are nearly everyday occurrences that we read about online or hear about on the news. What I find alarming is how little it shocks me. I'm not a heartless person but the majority of bad news stories just roll off my back like water off a ducks. It's like I've accepted that that's how life is now so just get on with it & hope it stays off my doorstep.

Yeah because back in the 60s I read barely anything about crimes being committed online.

Mass media and social networking has made crime rates seem a lot higher in many areas. To those saying crime stats are rubbish because so much goes unreported, why would it have been reported at a higher rate years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Just reading local newspaper and here are some headlines :
    • Bonsai is new drug of choice
    • Suspended sentence for man who had baseball bat
    • former prisoner sent back to jail
    • smashed windscreen and side window of car
    • Charged with burglary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭user2012

Yeah because back in the 60s I read barely anything about crimes being committed online.

Mass media and social networking has made crime rates seem a lot higher in many areas. To those saying crime stats are rubbish because so much goes unreported, why would it have been reported at a higher rate years ago?

Jaysus I was waiting for someone to latch onto no internet back in the day.

No one is saying there wasn't crimes committed back in the 60's but I'm sure if I was savvy enough online I could post up links showing statistics for 1960 & 2014. I'm not a betting woman but my money would be on 2014 being significantly higher in the crime stakes.

Unfortunately I'm an idiot when it comes to linking things online & should a post appear with the relevant information on it then it's safe to assume a burglar broke in & kindly linked it for me before beating me to a pulp before making off with all my valuables.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Cold Vapour

Some people just like to feel "cutting edge and modern "(tm).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Crime has taken a new low in my area where home care workers are stealing oaps pension money and whatever else they can get their hands on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

Anyone know if there are any online resources that provide crime stats broken down by county?

Thanks.

Cheers,

Ac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I remember there was a time that you wouldn't dare walk around Smithfield in case someone would jump on you. Now I live in the area and although it's not exactly crime free, it is much safer than it was ten or fifteen years ago. Of course, this is all just my opinion and from what I've heard people saying.

But the stats do say that many crimes are down, which I honestly find hard to believe given the amount of shootings you hear about.

So to conclude, I've no fcuking idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,586 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The type of crime probably changes.Car crime used to huge before immobilisers,these days burgurly seems to be the crime of choice.
    Actually saw a few guys break into a house not so long ago,incredibly casual they were I'm broad daylight,had the French doors open in a few seconds.Caught another guy climbing up to my first floor window one Sunday morning,not a care I'm the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Academic wrote: »
    Anyone know if there are any online resources that provide crime stats broken down by county?

Thanks.

Cheers,

Ac
    Try googling "crime statistics ireland county"
    I got this results among others

http://www.irishexaminer.com/crime/crimebycounty/ choose county on the right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

the fact that so many criminals seem to spend their time shooting each other these days rather than commiting crimes against the population has got to be a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The 'road trip' robbery effort isn't that new either, tbh. Maybe the numbers spike every now and again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

Sounds like the states but I bet you guys have a lower murder rate due to your firearm laws

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Sounds like the states but I bet you guys have a lower murder rate due to your firearm laws

Murder rate overall is lower overall probably mainly due to that reason.

Even being caught in posssesion of an unlicensed fire-arm, let alone using it, carries strict penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

porsche959 wrote: »
    Murder rate overall is lower overall probably mainly due to that reason.

Even being caught in posssesion of an unlicensed fire-arm, let alone using it, carries strict penalties.

Yes and that's a good thing. I looked up the homicide rate for dublin county and it stated that dublin county had a total of 23 murders in the year of 2012.
    Does dublin county include the city of dublin? Even if it doesn't that's still a really low number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Does dublin county include the city of dublin?

Would say probably yes.

How can you know about this on any large scale? I'd the stats were being made up, wouldn't they logically be far more positive than they are?

Also, even if you are right, surely this has always been there case, thus we can assume 2014's massaged figures have been massaged to the same degree as 2004's? If so, crime has fallen since then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The anti-social behavior and small thefts that people don't even bother ringing the guards for seems to be going through the roof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Mick55

I think the violence has gotten worse, the criminal gangs are getting consistently more and more inhumane. The bloke who was found chopped up in Clonee, the two lads that were killed and dumped on an island on the lake, the Romanian girl who was shot in the head, the 16 year old traveller girl who was shot in a drive by ( Granted that was a traveller feud ). Remember some blokes arm washed up on a Dublin beach a few years ago, there are some scary animals out there at the moment. The scum driving all around the country to rob houses are getting increasingly more violent also, the cuts to Gardai around the country facilitates their escapades. The only thing that seems to be working is the above mentioned vigilante solution. Bring in Nally law!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Crime in small towns is the same, fighting at the weekends and the rounds from the city scumbags every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭kop-end

43% of all stats are made up. Fact !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Mick55 wrote: »
    I think the violence has gotten worse, the criminal gangs are getting consistently more and more inhumane. The bloke who was found chopped up in Clonee, the two lads that were killed and dumped on an island on the lake, the Romanian girl who was shot in the head, the 16 year old traveller girl who was shot in a drive by ( Granted that was a traveller feud ). Remember some blokes arm washed up on a Dublin beach a few years ago, there are some scary animals out there at the moment. The scum driving all around the country to rob houses are getting increasingly more violent also, the cuts to Gardai around the country facilitates their escapades. The only thing that seems to be working is the above mentioned vigilante solution. Bring in Nally law!

Can we call it the Nally Badger Act. 2014?

Gangland killings are down write a bit, their peak was 2006, iirc.

The anti-social behavior and small thefts that people don't even bother ringing the guards for seems to be going through the roof
    I'm not trying to be smart but what are you basing this on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,367 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

The only thing that seems to be working is the above mentioned vigilante solution.

yeah, vermin picking on the lower pickings of other vermin and whining about people breaking the law and the justice system, vigilante vermin will pick on the wrong person some day and their kids will pay the price, then again i'm not sure they care, considering the people using kids as human shields at the "protest" in soards, nothing would surprise me.
    Bring in Nally law!

yes, lets bring in a law named after a brootle murderer who murdered someone because they were a traveler and in revenge for his problems with travelers and then cried "self defence" no, no sympathy for him and no law should be brought in to facilitate vermin and their murderous fantasies, the country will go to hell then. more guards and higher sentences is the way to go, crime isn't going away so its a case of "managing" the problem

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.