Craic with engagement rings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Murray007

..last post so relevant, the fact that she is not interested in (cheap, Xmas, birthday) jewellery doesn't mean that the most important pieces of jewellery engagement and wedding ring are not important to her is a dangerous conclusion to come to. I know women, the more non materialistic sort, who value a good engagement ring but have no other jewellery that they wear regularly.

My mother has a lovely engagement ring that my father regularly talks about it in terms of a mortgage but she also says she doesn't want us to buy her jewellery at Xmas and birthday. Dad offered a good watch for her 40th and she eventually bought it prior to her 46th at 5 times the value he was thinking about, and he knows her. Credit to her, the ring and the watch are heirlooms and probably cost no more than 30 years of the twice yearly jewellery some want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

If you get white gold its cheaper than other metals used for engagement rings.

If you live in Dublin I know a few places where you'd get a really gorgeous ring for 600/700 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Thumpette

OP I don't think it's a trick at all. I'd be the same as your girlfriend- genuinely would have loved a really simple vintage style ring with no diamonds and a coloured stone for no more than 500. People get sucked into the madness, but sounds like you know her. I would say let her pick herself though- otherwise there's loads of lovely antique shops with really reasonable rings and way less hard sell! Good luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭bobobear

Yeah, I don't think it's a trap either. I'm a girl, I would HATE a massive ring. I think diamond rings are nasty, tacky, wasteful, immoral etc etc. And I'm a makeup/heels/jewellery type girl.

Just make her a ring - bit of string/twine/wire - as a placeholder, then go get it together. Way more romantic. And really, noone gives a f*ck about the actual ring - they only want to hear the proposal story. Making her a ring is a readymade romantic story. Cheap/free ring, all the women going "Awwwwwwwww!!!" = Win/win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Funny that. I judge people with crap shallow materialistic fiancés who don't realise that diamonds are essentially worthless.

I judge a person based on their character not their carature

Anyone that needs validation from their friends/ co workers/ and perfectly other good non giving a fcuk strangers instead of their fiancé is not in for a happy marriage.

Youre making a pretty big assumption about my wife/Fiance at the time :rolleyes:

As already said, pretty much anything is worthless until you assign value to this, but you already know that..

Problem is that when you Don't have a recognisable engagement ring its almost impossible to explain it without it sounding like an apology, not a romantic story. Why would you do that to someone you love?

For what its worth for a while before I proposed we looked at rings and other jewellery in shops and I got a really good idea of what she wanted. I then had a guy on South Anne street (cant remember the name, Vinnie I think) make me an engagement ring in the style she liked but with some slight personalisation's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Since a couple of posters on this thread think that all women are secretly wanting an expensive ring and that men are clueless, myself and my wife (civil partner) both got engagement rings for each other that were under 70 euro.

Neither of us freaked out that the ring was too cheap or that we weren't loved or worried about what other people thought. We really like the rings that were chosen and we are very happy with the styles. Not all women are so complicated and demanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Thumpette wrote: »
    OP I don't think it's a trick at all. I'd be the same as your girlfriend- genuinely would have loved a really simple vintage style ring with no diamonds and a coloured stone for no more than 500. People get sucked into the madness, but sounds like you know her. I would say let her pick herself though- otherwise there's loads of lovely antique shops with really reasonable rings and way less hard sell! Good luck :)
    bobobear wrote: »
    Yeah, I don't think it's a trap either. I'm a girl, I would HATE a massive ring. I think diamond rings are nasty, tacky, wasteful, immoral etc etc. And I'm a makeup/heels/jewellery type girl.

Just make her a ring - bit of string/twine/wire - as a placeholder, then go get it together. Way more romantic. And really, noone gives a f*ck about the actual ring - they only want to hear the proposal story. Making her a ring is a readymade romantic story. Cheap/free ring, all the women going "Awwwwwwwww!!!" = Win/win.
    I'd be the same. If my OH handed me a ring worth thousands of euro I'd give it straight back on the grounds that I wouldn't want to marry someone who was so irresponsible with money as to spend the cost of a new kitchen on a ring that is an invitation to mug me.

Take her to pick out her own ring, that way she'll get what she wants, regardless of cost.
    Problem is that when you Don't have a recognisable engagement ring its almost impossible to explain it without it sounding like an apology, not a romantic story. Why would you do that to someone you love?
    How is it impossible to explain without sounding an apology? Just tell anyone who gets all 'that's not a real engagement ring because it's not diamond/didn't cost enough to buy a car' to stop being such judgemental sheep and get fked - job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

kylith wrote: »

How is it impossible to explain without sounding an apology? Just tell anyone who gets all 'that's not a real engagement ring because it's not diamond/didn't cost enough to buy a car' to stop being such judgemental sheep and get fked - job done.

Exactly, good illustration of my point, you just tell everyone to Fcuk off and to not be so judgemental. Great romantic story that is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I don't have an engagement ring or wedding ring, never wanted either. Happily together with my man 18 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

fits wrote: »
    Most things are intrinsically worthless. We bestow their worth on them (even if helped along by market control in case of debeers).
    I'd disagree. Most things have an intrinsic value to them e.g. food, clothing, shelter and so on.
    Jewellery on the other hand has very little intrinsic value and is completely dependant on the value people give it.
    Diamond rings even more so, given that most of their value is made up through market manipulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Exactly, good illustration of my point, you just tell everyone to Fcuk off and to not be so judgemental. Great romantic story that is...

How is that the story? That's the reaction to the "OMG you can't do something that everyone doesn't do!" group. The story could very well be that he baked a silver ring set with her birthstone into her favourite cake, which he gave to her during a picnic, at a lake, at sunset, with a frigging string quartet playing their song in the background.

Saying it'll be a shit, unromantic story just because it's not an overpriced diamond ring is judgemental, shallow, and materialistic, and almost as irritating as saying 'ignore what she says she wants, all women want big expensive rings', especially when many women have posted saying that that's not what they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

Jaysus Cheryl Cole has a lovely ring.

Her ring looks tacky

Some people here must be gem experts or something. I wouldn't be able to tell the difference between a ring costings thousands and a cheap bit of costume jewellery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Loada bollox.
    You know your girlfriend better than a jeweller on commission knows her. Get her what she wants, not what society says she should want.

So true. So wrong! What she really really wants is what every other girl wants: the rock.

not every woman wants an engagement ring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Worst part is when the couple are expecting you say 'ah tis lovely' for said couple of thousand euro ring when deep inside you're thinking 'I've seen prettier things pop out of my arse'.

If you've seen your ring pop out of your arse you are in deep doo doo. Perhaps a stopper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Pay what you want or can afford and think about what she'd like. You probably have more of an idea than you think. If really stuck, err on the side of simplicity. Or maybe even sound out one of her mates for advice.

And don't let a salesperson guilt trip into spending more than you want or can afford. It's just a symbol not a measure of anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

When I proposed to the GF I didn't have a ring so we went into town and I told her to pick a one out for herself. Took pressure off me trying to figure out what one to get and she got to have the exact type she wanted. Lucky for me it didn't clean my pockets out :pac:

She's the one who's going to be wearing it and I know nothing about jewelry, if it were up to me everyone would look like Mr.T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,550 ✭✭✭✭fits

I'd disagree. Most things have an intrinsic value to them e.g. food, clothing, shelter and so on.
    Jewellery on the other hand has very little intrinsic value and is completely dependant on the value people give it.
    Diamond rings even more so, given that most of their value is made up through market manipulation.

I said 'most things'. You just gave basic human needs as something with intrinsic worth. Everything else is optional.

Examples of things we dont need but people are willing to spend money on include fancy new cars, iphones etc. We dont need them either.

As for those thinking diamonds are immoral and unethical, do you question how ethically your clothes, electronics are produced? Do you buy more than you need? are you wasteful? Jewellery in particular can come from unethical sources but at least they have reined it in somewhat in recent years. Electronics on the other hand...

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

You a guy or a girl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

It might already have been said, but another idea would be to get a cheap ring for 100 euro as a temporary ring, just something sparkly for her to see when you propose. Then you can just be honest and explain that you haven't a clue what sort of ring to get her and let her choose her own. H Samuels and places like that often have half price sales, so you might even pick up something for less than 100.

You a guy or a girl?

A psychic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Only Whitney Houston was that fond of the rock.

If it was really important to me that other people thought my intended bankrupted himself to buy me something shiny, I'd buy a nice Cubic Zirconia ring and tell everyone it's a diamond. Unless someone whipped out a loope and started evaluating the cut and clarity, no one is going to know the difference. It's all about the perception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Are women in the habit of telling people how much their engagement ring cost? Isn't that a little crass!?

Malari wrote: »
    Are women in the habit of telling people how much their engagement ring cost? Isn't that a little crass!?

I've known a few who do and whose first question to a newly engaged woman will be 'how much did it cost'. It seems to be a status symbol for some women or a measure of the love the man has for his bride.

Malari wrote: »

Vulgar dahling, very vulgar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

I said 'most things'. You just gave basic human needs as something with intrinsic worth. Everything else is optional.
    I know you said most things. The things that I listed would make up a good chunk of the things that people spend their money on.
    I could have added a lot more essential things to the list it.
    Examples of things we dont need but people are willing to spend money on include fancy new cars, iphones etc. We dont need them either.
    Cars serve a vital transportation function, mobile phones allow you to communicate with other people.
    Both products service an essential human function, even if they come in fancier versions with less essential features.
    Sure you could live without them but not having them could make your life a lot more difficult to live.

On the other hand you could easily live without a diamond ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,550 ✭✭✭✭fits

I know you said most things. The things that I listed would make up a good chunk of the things that people spend their money on.
    I could have added a lot more essential things to the list it.
    Cars serve a vital transportation function, mobile phones allow you to communicate with other people.
    Both products service an essential human function, even if they come in fancier versions with less essential features.
    Sure you could live without them but not having them could make your life a lot more difficult to live.

On the other hand you could easily live without a diamond ring.

You could easily drive a ford fiesta instead of a bmw but many choose to do the latter (and that choice is far more expensive than a ring and does not last as long). And yet, nobody goes after the people that make that choice online, calling them shallow.

Personal choice innit?

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

You could easily drive a ford fiesta instead of a bmw but many choose to do the latter (and that choice is far more expensive than a ring and does not last as long). And yet, nobody goes after the people that make that choice online, calling them shallow.

Personal choice innit?

A woman can give a man an expensive laptop and it doesn't make him an entitled gold-digger, but a man gives a woman a ring of equal value, and she's automatically shallow at best and an entitled golddigging harpy at worst.