Scottie dogs at Commonwealth Games ceremony were 'disrespectful' to Muslims

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Ah from that headline I was expecting the dogs to have savaged them all to death then collectively pissed on their corpses. That would be disrespectful!

A little doggy with short legs having to take a break from all that running around is just the way the world is, nothing to do with what country or religion a person is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

I'm all for the war against 'Terrierism'

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

eviltwin wrote: »
    I wonder did any Muslims actually complain or even find it offensive, I know one Muslim family and they seem to like dogs, they have one so they can't be that offensive. Just because someone says X is offensive to Muslims doesn't mean they feel that way.
    Exactly. Even though dogs are considered "unclean", even very devout Muslims are allowed by their religion to keep dogs for protection and hunting IIRC. While cats have been seen as both gods and devils at various times in various cultures, dogs being seen as unclean is well odd in human culture. I can't think of another that thinks like that. We wouldn't be where we are as a species without them.

Most Muslims are like most Christians, pretty a la carte about much of their religions tenets. Though over the last 50 years the trend has been to more adherence. "Muslim" Iran, Iraq and Afghanistan were very different places 50 years ago. Much more "western" in nature. It can well be argued that western political influence was to blame for pushing the population back to the more religious.
    Karl Stein wrote: »
    Gutter 'journalism' seeking to rile up the 'them-Muslims-are-at-it-again' crowd who have very poor critical reasoning skills.
    +1.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

http://www.standard.co.uk/news/world/scottie-dogs-at-commonwealth-games-ceremony-were-disrespectful-to-muslims-9635795.html

So, yeah, now the country hosting the Commonwealth Games (Scotland) offended Muslims "around the world" by using their national dogs during the opening ceremony. I sincerely hope that the organisers do not apologise! More madness from some Muslims (read:not all).

And Jock should get a medal!

Edit: Forgot to add, the bit in bold - talk about being up your own hole! How about ye be more respectful to women, other religions or ways of life?

Seriously? :eek:

Such a load of BS. I am sick to my back teeth of Muslims telling us how we are constantly offending them.

I suppose ISIS behaving little girls in Syria doesn't offended them. ISIS executing other Muslims for being too moderate and the. Crucifying them in the town square is such a shining beacon of Muslim honour?
    Nodin wrote: »
    Considering it was only one gobshite that came out with this, its rather odd "logic".

One gobshîte?

He represents a sizeable Muslim population :rolleyes:

Oh, as a dog owner I seriously fùcking offended by that gobshïte.

Nobody was forcing them to touch the dogs :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Our dog eats our babys shit if he gets the chance so I can see how some might consider dogs to be unclean. Bizarrely the dog won't eat his own shit, go figure :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

I'm all for the war against 'Terrierism'

Ahhhhhhhhhhh, well played Mr Johnny :D

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Two gobshite politicians from far far away get offended and it's portrayed as over one billion Muslims getting annoyed.

Gutter 'journalism' seeking to rile up the 'them-Muslims-are-at-it-again' crowd who have very poor critical reasoning skills.

If the extremists weren't always at it people wouldn't be saying 'them-Muslims-are-at-it-again'

Just recently there was a plot to take over Birmingham schools with radical Islamic teachings

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/world/uk-government-report-finds-islamic-plot-to-control-schools/story-e6frg6so-1226998392189

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

mad muffin wrote: »
    Seriously? :eek:

Such a load of BS. I am sick to my back teeth of Muslims telling us how we are constantly offending them.

I suppose ISIS behaving little girls in Syria doesn't offended them. ISIS executing other Muslims for being too moderate and the. Crucifying them in the town square is such a shining beacon of Muslim honour?

One gobshîte?

He represents a sizeable Muslim population :rolleyes:

Oh, as a dog owner I seriously fùcking offended by that gobshïte.
    Does he? I may be wrong but I thought he was just a politition in a Muslim party that isn't even in power. Its like a member of Catholic Democrats saying anything, probably stupid and best to be ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

So it's beating your wife - 'good', highland terriers at sporting events- 'bad'. Got it. Such an intricate and beautiful religion.

Does he? I may be wrong but I thought he was just a politition in a Muslim party that isn't even in power. Its like a member of Catholic Democrats saying anything, probably stupid and best to be ignored.

He did take responsibility for the offence for Muslims the world over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

He should have postponed the holy month if he knew it would clash with something as important as the Commonwealth games.

This just shows how disrespectful they are by not respecting another countries culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Heres an idea, we live how we like, they live how they like. If your worried about being offended by the opposite side turn off the TV when the other side are on it and don't live there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,024 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

"If" this is representative of a minority and the paper is trying to stir up sh*t then f**k the paper and shoddy journalism.

"If" this is representative of a significant number of Muslims then, to those that are offended, as a dog owner I say, f**k you.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

old_aussie wrote: »
    This just shows how disrespectful they are by not respecting another countries culture.

The chief complainer, Ibrahim Ali, used the phrase "Don't talk sh1t" three times during an Al-Jazeera interview. Nobody need lessons in etiquette from this clown.

That's him, - one minute into the clip.

http://www.aljazeera.com/news/asia-pacific/2010/03/201032916218637251.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Mohamad Sabu, the deputy president of the opposition Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party said: "Malaysia and all Islamic countries deserve and apology from the organiser.

"This is just so disrespectful to Malaysia and Muslims – especially as it happened during Ramadan. Muslims are not allowed to touch dogs, so the organiser should have been more aware and sensitive on this issue.

I'd love it if the organisers had the balls to tell him to go and fuck himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

I never apologize, I'm sorry, but that's just the way I am.

- Homer Simpson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Hmmmm I wonder why they didnt complain about when the Irish Guards when they troop their colour for the queens birthday they walk out with their mascot an Irish Wolfhound and have been doing it for a very long time. http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/06/25/article-2008029-0CBA4DBC00000578-836_634x432.jpg They need to grow up.

http://www.trooping-the-colour.co.uk/mounting/guardchange.jpg
    This one happens almost every day at Buckingham Palace and they haven't said boo to it yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Is this another one of these things that a person who practices the Muslim faith can't do or should not do larks. This was done in a western country yes ? Maybe this politician should be reminded we don't practice this national wizard/spaghetti monster day. If your looking for every opportunity to take offence I really cant take you seriously. Must have been a slow news day as well, Unless this guy registered his complaint with the games organisers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

It's amazing though how people can't spot the most obvious logical disconnect.

One guy speaks ****e implying (wrongly) he speaks for all Muslims. The AH standard reply is 'Muslims are stupid' instead of 'this guy is stupid'.

Don't be doing that. You're being manipulated don't you realize it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

bluewolf wrote: »
    Nobody was forcing them to touch the dogs :confused:

Exactly, the person holding the dog does not look to be doing it under duress or to be anyway stand-offish

http://static1.nydailynews.com/polopoly_fs/1.1884105.1406652311!/img/httpImage/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/article_970/britain-commonwealth-games.jpg

I expect many people who call themselves Muslims would have not bother. Just like I imagine many catholic competitors availed of the free condoms handed out at the olympics.

Unless this guy registered his complaint with the games organisers.

No, he contacted the Daily Telegraph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,545 ✭✭✭Hogzy

We have two dogs at home and had a guy (who is muslim) stay in our house for a few weeks. He was from a small town in Oman so wouldnt be familiar with western customs. He was perfectly happy petting, walking and playing with our dogs and regularly had them on the couch asleep on top of him.

He did mention that in Oman dogs are not kept as pets and are considered dirty. I totally understand this as nearly all the dogs in Oman would be a street dogs and would be filthy and probably dangerous as its essentially a wild animal. He was shocked when he saw the treatment our dogs got. Wouldnt stop taking videos of the dogs following simple commands like "sit", "Paw" etc. He was shocked that we had such control over them.

He was an absolute gent of a guy and goes to show the importance of seeing other peoples culture before you go judge someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

So ridiculous...

I know plenty of MODERN Muslims, in Malaysia, that owned dogs...

This is just the few, at the ceremony, taking offence for the sake of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

They should have dressed the dogs like ninjas to cater for the Muslims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,106 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Candie wrote: »
    No one would give pigs a prominent position in a ceremony featuring a large number of Jews.

What, like Miss Piggy hosting the Oscars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,106 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

BeerWolf wrote: »
    taking offence for the sake of it.

And there my friend, is extremism in religion in a nutshell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

They should have dressed the dogs like ninjas to cater for the Muslims.

the bitches would need to wear doggie burkas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭ART6

Remmy wrote: »
    The dog is a scottish terrier and his name is Jock :D. I'm quite easily amused.

So was his leash called Jock strap?

BeerWolf wrote: »
    This is just the few, at the ceremony, taking offence for the sake of it.

It's even less than that - nobody at the ceremony complained, as far as I know - it was two Malaysian Islamists trying to make a name for themselves.