Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scottie dogs at Commonwealth Games ceremony were 'disrespectful' to Muslims

• 29-07-2014 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

http://www.standard.co.uk/news/world/scottie-dogs-at-commonwealth-games-ceremony-were-disrespectful-to-muslims-9635795.html
    The use of Scottie dogs in the opening ceremony of the Commonwealth Games was "disrespectful" to Muslims, Malaysian politicians have claimed.

Though the 40 or so Scottie dogs - dressed in tartan coats - were greeted with delight by most viewers in the UK, they appear to have gone down less well in one corner of the Far East.

Organisers of the ceremony, which was put on during the Muslim holy month of Ramadan, were criticised because of the decision to give the dogs such a prominent role.

Some Muslims refuse to have direct contact with the animals, considering them to be unclean.

Islam is the most widely practised religion in Malaysia - and the potential for trouble was confounded when one Scottie, Jock, sat down and refused to move for the country's athletes, meaning he had to be carried round Celtic Park stadium by a team representative.

Mohamad Sabu, the deputy president of the opposition Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party said: "Malaysia and all Islamic countries deserve and apology from the organiser.

"This is just so disrespectful to Malaysia and Muslims – especially as it happened during Ramadan. Muslims are not allowed to touch dogs, so the organiser should have been more aware and sensitive on this issue.

"It is hoped this incident can teach other Western countries to be more respectful in the future."

A separate right-wing Malaysian politician and former MP, Dato Ibrahim Bin Ali, is reported as saying the incident offended Muslims "around the world".

A Glasgow 2014 spokesman told the Telegraph: "Glasgow 2014 have received no complaints from the Commonwealth Games Associations of the competing nations and territories following the Opening Ceremony."

So, yeah, now the country hosting the Commonwealth Games (Scotland) offended Muslims "around the world" by using their national dogs during the opening ceremony. I sincerely hope that the organisers do not apologise! More madness from some Muslims (read:not all).

And Jock should get a medal!

Edit: Forgot to add, the bit in bold - talk about being up your own hole! How about ye be more respectful to women, other religions or ways of life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Lucky he wasn't a Korean athlete, could have been a whole lot worse for the little scottie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭scary

It seems Muslins get offended by a lot of things, maybe they should just chill out and the world would be a better place for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Muslims offend me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Muslims offend me

Considering it was only one gobshite that came out with this, its rather odd "logic".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Dogs bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Muslims offend me

What nonsense is this? Satan offended?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Ruff justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

scary wrote: »
    It seems Muslins get offended by a lot of things, maybe they should just chill out and the world would be a better place for it.

Skin as thin as cloth those Muslins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

What nonsense is this? Satan offended?

All religions offend me

It's widely known Muslims consider dogs to be unclean. No one would give pigs a prominent position in a ceremony featuring a large number of Jews.

I can see the source of this very small number of peoples annoyance, but if the host country is big into their dogs (or pigs) then it's up to the teams to decide if they want to attend or not assuming they're forewarned, rather than the host country modifying it's own traditions or preferences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

"This is just so disrespectful to Malaysia and Muslims – especially as it happened during Ramadan. Muslims are not allowed to touch dogs, so the organiser should have been more aware and sensitive on this issue.

As far as I remember, none of the team members from any of the nations handled the dogs, but were actually walked/carried infront of the team by a handler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I like Muslims and their goings on and their general moaning about everything does not irritate me at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Allah Akhbarking mad, that Deputy Leader is.

Lucky they only got 14% of the vote in the last election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Wait til they see Sauchiehall St...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I tried to be offended once, wasn't any fun. Gave it up soon after.

Ideally there shouldn't need to be an apology issued but there will be and they'll all move on.

Granted that people of a Muslim faith may have been offended and they're within they're right to feel that way if it's against their belief but at the same time it's no way intentional so a little bit of cop on (or whatever's the equivalent in Malaysia) would go a long way here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

If I was a Malaysian athlete I'd be more worried about flying home than a few dogs in kilts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

http://www.standard.co.uk/news/world/scottie-dogs-at-commonwealth-games-ceremony-were-disrespectful-to-muslims-9635795.html

So, yeah, now the country hosting the Commonwealth Games (Scotland) offended Muslims "around the world" by using their national dogs during the opening ceremony. I sincerely hope that the organisers do not apologise! More madness from some Muslims (read:not all).

Edit: Forgot to add, the bit in bold - talk about being up your own hole! How about ye be more respectful to women, other religions or ways of life?

Who really cares?

A few Muslims in one country. I hope you don't search the internet for these stories.

Anyway, shouldn't the dogs have looked like this for those games? :D

http://www.tagg.biz/Eva/images/uniondogjack.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

They should have just went with their national animal instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Arcto wrote: »
    They should have just went with their national animal instead.

Oooh, that's the Malayan Tiger. Now that would have been a more exciting ceremony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I wonder did any Muslims actually complain or even find it offensive, I know one Muslim family and they seem to like dogs, they have one so they can't be that offensive. Just because someone says X is offensive to Muslims doesn't mean they feel that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I'm sure the Malaysians are more than welcome to **** off home from the games if they are so offended, nobody is forcing them to take part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Candie wrote: »
    It's widely known Muslims consider dogs to be unclean. No one would give pigs a prominent position in a ceremony featuring a large number of Jews

I didn't know this, in fact it never occurred to me they might, what with most of my old Muslim neighbours owning dogs and all. Oh well, you live and learn.

Then again, my Jewish sister in law is mad for the bacon sarnies as well, so my religious offence barometer is a bit messed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The offended parties should receive a Glesgae Kiss apiece by way of compensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

The dog is a scottish terrier and his name is Jock :D. I'm quite easily amused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Two gobshite politicians from far far away get offended and it's portrayed as over one billion Muslims getting annoyed.

Gutter 'journalism' seeking to rile up the 'them-Muslims-are-at-it-again' crowd who have very poor critical reasoning skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Geomy

I can think of a lot of things that secular societies are offended by the teaching of Islam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Anyway, shouldn't the dogs have looked like this for those games? :D

http://www.tagg.biz/Eva/images/uniondogjack.jpg

The reversal of roles in that pic might entitle us all to be offended. The handler rather than the dog is cocking a leg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭steveone

The dogs are unclean and christians are infidels, what next? tbh doogooders are probably more responsibe for this nonsense than clerics or average muslim.
    in the qur'an i think there is mention where if a sinful man rescues a dog he may be forgiven and regarded as being a good man in the eyes of the big 'A'. If this is the case then surely dogs should be considered a path to goodness? Especially since to follow the life and teaching of muhammad is exactly that..

Meantime id say the scotties are distraught...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Haven't really been following this thread ....... but if these Commonwealth citizens get offended by "Scottie", how come they don't become enraged by their Mistress's corgis?

http://www.alisonjackson.com/wp-content/uploads/IMG_6868-630x375.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Ah from that headline I was expecting the dogs to have savaged them all to death then collectively pissed on their corpses. That would be disrespectful!

A little doggy with short legs having to take a break from all that running around is just the way the world is, nothing to do with what country or religion a person is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

I'm all for the war against 'Terrierism'

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

eviltwin wrote: »
    I wonder did any Muslims actually complain or even find it offensive, I know one Muslim family and they seem to like dogs, they have one so they can't be that offensive. Just because someone says X is offensive to Muslims doesn't mean they feel that way.
    Exactly. Even though dogs are considered "unclean", even very devout Muslims are allowed by their religion to keep dogs for protection and hunting IIRC. While cats have been seen as both gods and devils at various times in various cultures, dogs being seen as unclean is well odd in human culture. I can't think of another that thinks like that. We wouldn't be where we are as a species without them.

Most Muslims are like most Christians, pretty a la carte about much of their religions tenets. Though over the last 50 years the trend has been to more adherence. "Muslim" Iran, Iraq and Afghanistan were very different places 50 years ago. Much more "western" in nature. It can well be argued that western political influence was to blame for pushing the population back to the more religious.
    Karl Stein wrote: »
    Gutter 'journalism' seeking to rile up the 'them-Muslims-are-at-it-again' crowd who have very poor critical reasoning skills.
    +1.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Seriously? :eek:

Such a load of BS. I am sick to my back teeth of Muslims telling us how we are constantly offending them.

I suppose ISIS behaving little girls in Syria doesn't offended them. ISIS executing other Muslims for being too moderate and the. Crucifying them in the town square is such a shining beacon of Muslim honour?
    Nodin wrote: »
    Considering it was only one gobshite that came out with this, its rather odd "logic".

One gobshîte?

He represents a sizeable Muslim population :rolleyes:

Oh, as a dog owner I seriously fùcking offended by that gobshïte.

Nobody was forcing them to touch the dogs :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Our dog eats our babys shit if he gets the chance so I can see how some might consider dogs to be unclean. Bizarrely the dog won't eat his own shit, go figure :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

I'm all for the war against 'Terrierism'

Ahhhhhhhhhhh, well played Mr Johnny :D

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Two gobshite politicians from far far away get offended and it's portrayed as over one billion Muslims getting annoyed.

If the extremists weren't always at it people wouldn't be saying 'them-Muslims-are-at-it-again'

Just recently there was a plot to take over Birmingham schools with radical Islamic teachings

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/world/uk-government-report-finds-islamic-plot-to-control-schools/story-e6frg6so-1226998392189

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

mad muffin wrote: »
    Seriously? :eek:

Such a load of BS. I am sick to my back teeth of Muslims telling us how we are constantly offending them.

I suppose ISIS behaving little girls in Syria doesn't offended them. ISIS executing other Muslims for being too moderate and the. Crucifying them in the town square is such a shining beacon of Muslim honour?

One gobshîte?

He represents a sizeable Muslim population :rolleyes:

Oh, as a dog owner I seriously fùcking offended by that gobshïte.
    Does he? I may be wrong but I thought he was just a politition in a Muslim party that isn't even in power. Its like a member of Catholic Democrats saying anything, probably stupid and best to be ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

So it's beating your wife - 'good', highland terriers at sporting events- 'bad'. Got it. Such an intricate and beautiful religion.

Does he? I may be wrong but I thought he was just a politition in a Muslim party that isn't even in power. Its like a member of Catholic Democrats saying anything, probably stupid and best to be ignored.

He did take responsibility for the offence for Muslims the world over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

He should have postponed the holy month if he knew it would clash with something as important as the Commonwealth games.

This just shows how disrespectful they are by not respecting another countries culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Heres an idea, we live how we like, they live how they like. If your worried about being offended by the opposite side turn off the TV when the other side are on it and don't live there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

"If" this is representative of a minority and the paper is trying to stir up sh*t then f**k the paper and shoddy journalism.

"If" this is representative of a significant number of Muslims then, to those that are offended, as a dog owner I say, f**k you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

old_aussie wrote: »
    This just shows how disrespectful they are by not respecting another countries culture.

The chief complainer, Ibrahim Ali, used the phrase "Don't talk sh1t" three times during an Al-Jazeera interview. Nobody need lessons in etiquette from this clown.

That's him, - one minute into the clip.

http://www.aljazeera.com/news/asia-pacific/2010/03/201032916218637251.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Mohamad Sabu, the deputy president of the opposition Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party said: "Malaysia and all Islamic countries deserve and apology from the organiser.

I'd love it if the organisers had the balls to tell him to go and fuck himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

I never apologize, I'm sorry, but that's just the way I am.

- Homer Simpson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Hmmmm I wonder why they didnt complain about when the Irish Guards when they troop their colour for the queens birthday they walk out with their mascot an Irish Wolfhound and have been doing it for a very long time. http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/06/25/article-2008029-0CBA4DBC00000578-836_634x432.jpg They need to grow up.

http://www.trooping-the-colour.co.uk/mounting/guardchange.jpg
    This one happens almost every day at Buckingham Palace and they haven't said boo to it yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Is this another one of these things that a person who practices the Muslim faith can't do or should not do larks. This was done in a western country yes ? Maybe this politician should be reminded we don't practice this national wizard/spaghetti monster day. If your looking for every opportunity to take offence I really cant take you seriously. Must have been a slow news day as well, Unless this guy registered his complaint with the games organisers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

It's amazing though how people can't spot the most obvious logical disconnect.

One guy speaks ****e implying (wrongly) he speaks for all Muslims. The AH standard reply is 'Muslims are stupid' instead of 'this guy is stupid'.

Don't be doing that. You're being manipulated don't you realize it?