Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭h2005

Stanza2 wrote: »
    Shane Walsh = the new Ja Fallon + Padraic Joyce

No pressure then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

donnem33 wrote: »
    he lacks pace and doesnt appear to be much of a scoring threat anymore. not sure if he has the legs for croke park anymore tbh
    He's more of an extra HB. The way he was showing for ball yesterday was very encouraging and even though he lost possession he still was doing the dirty work that we all praised O'Brien for last year against weaker teams. He still got forward and had a great goal chance before Fox took him out. I disagree that he won't be suited for Croker either. He was winning those kickouts in small gaps in Tullamore so the wide pitch would be beneficial. If we want to keep it respectable a guy like Kavanagh will be vital to winning possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭TheCoolWay

I felt embarassed for Bradshaw on Sunday Game. Nowhere near his man anytime. Needs to be dropped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MfMan

He's more of an extra HB. The way he was showing for ball yesterday was very encouraging and even though he lost possession he still was doing the dirty work that we all praised O'Brien for last year against weaker teams. He still got forward and had a great goal chance before Fox took him out. I disagree that he won't be suited for Croker either. He was winning those kickouts in small gaps in Tullamore so the wide pitch would be beneficial. If we want to keep it respectable a guy like Kavanagh will be vital to winning possession.

Erm... Tullamore is actually a bigger playing surface than Croker, believe it or not.

TheCoolWay wrote: »
    I felt embarassed for Bradshaw on Sunday Game. Nowhere near his man anytime. Needs to be dropped

Bar possibly the ball that came back off the post I don't see how you can make that conclusion from watching the Sunday game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

MfMan wrote: »
    Erm... Tullamore is actually a bigger playing surface than Croker, believe it or not.

Really?

Edit: .5 of a metre bigger indeed. 145x90 v Croke Park's 144.5x88.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭O.A.P

I enjoyed the win anyway, its got us all talking again about what might happen and we are going to Croke park to play Kerry in a 1/4 final.

Its been a lot worse than that over the last 6 or 7 years. I hope we give them a game to remember or maybe win even, stranger things have happened.

Its going to be a good day out in Dublin next Sunday anyway with both Munster arch rivals and Connaught arch rivals there.

Come on Galway, and no pressure on Shane Walsh (just keep doing that kind of thing )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

Great that the footballers are being talked about and indeed still playing into August. They have made progress and it should be no shock to people, the talent is there. We may lack a bit of physical size, but we have some great footballers in the team, some real skillful players. They have nothing to lose next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

The defensive weakness is a major worry and you'd have to question the standard of coaching at this stage. Every successful team be it gaelic football, hurling or soccer is built on the foundation of a solid defence. You can have 6 Padraig Joyce's in the forward line but while the defence are leaking so many soft scores you'll always be in trouble.

That's the big failing of this management team that in 3 years they still haven't put together any sort of defensive system. The way teams waltz through the middle of our defence is shocking, it's defending like you might expect in a Sunday morning junior match. And I agree with the comments about Bradshaw, he is a good footballer but defensively useless.

On the plus side, and clutching at straws of optimism, Croke Park often does seem to bring out the best in Galway teams as does playing Kerry. It has the makings of another good game between two counties that like to play football the old fashioned way but Kerry's extra experience and extra bit of class should see them home. We have the forwards to cause them problems but our defence could be brutally exposed again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Every successful team be it gaelic football, hurling or soccer is built on the foundation of a solid defence. You can have 6 Padraig Joyce's in the forward line but while the defence are leaking so many soft scores you'll always be in trouble.

Your theory is being comprehensively disproved by the current Dublin team, who lets be frank are conceding a fair bit, but they are scoring at least 20 times per match, which is a very good rate for football.

If Dublin were playing on Saturday, they would have kicked on again for another 10 scores. This is something that does not seem to be in the makeup of the footballers (or the hurlers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

antoobrien wrote: »
    Your theory is being comprehensively disproved by the current Dublin team, who lets be frank are conceding a fair bit, but they are scoring at least 20 times per match, which is a very good rate for football.

If Dublin were playing on Saturday, they would have kicked on again for another 10 scores. This is something that does not seem to be in the makeup of the footballers (or the hurlers).

I don't think you're being entirely fair here. Dublin are an exception because they have a ridiculous amount of scoring power and they can bring forwards off the bench who would walk onto most county teams, lads who will come on and score 1-2 or 0-3 and you wonder why they're not starting until you realise the amount of quality that Jim Gavin has to choose from.

I was speaking in general terms, that the defensive setup is the first thing you have to get right. Take the great Barcelona team of the last few years, all the talk was of tika taka and great passing and all of that but what was often overlooked is how much they hassled the opposition when they did lose the ball, they way they worked so hard to get it back. Chasing, harrying, closing down space.

Dublin do that too, they work hard to get the ball back and defend in such a way that it starts from number 15, everyone has to get stuck in when you're not in possession. What worries me about Galway is that when teams run at us through the middle it's like Moses parting the red sea. This has been a problem for a few years now and I just wonder what's being done in terms of coaching and tactics to try and correct this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Naux

Dublin do not concede more than the average ....so far.

Average scores conceded in this years championship by provincial winner

Dublin 13
    Kerry 13
    Donegal 11
    Mayo 11 (includes New York game)

So not much between the defences of the provincial champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

aidan24326 wrote: »
    I don't think you're being entirely fair here. Dublin are an exception because they have a ridiculous amount of scoring power and they can bring forwards off the bench who would walk onto most county teams, lads who will come on and score 1-2 or 0-3 and you wonder why they're not starting until you realise the amount of quality that Jim Gavin has to choose from.

I was speaking in general terms, that the defensive setup is the first thing you have to get right. Take the great Barcelona team of the last few years, all the talk was of tika taka and great passing and all of that but what was often overlooked is how much they hassled the opposition when they did lose the ball, they way they worked so hard to get it back. Chasing, harrying, closing down space.

Dublin do that too, they work hard to get the ball back and defend in such a way that it starts from number 15, everyone has to get stuck in when you're not in possession. What worries me about Galway is that when teams run at us through the middle it's like Moses parting the red sea. This has been a problem for a few years now and I just wonder what's being done in terms of coaching and tactics to try and correct this.

Galway seem to have plenty of numbers back in defence but a lot of them don't seem to know what they should be doing or who they should be picking up. It just seems like a basic lack of organisation coupled with some players who have poor defensive instincts like Bradshaw.

For the first Tipp goal there should have been no danger of a goal at all but Bradshaw got attracted to the ball carrier and left his man in acres of space out wide. Once he got close the Tipp player just handpassed it over his head to the free man. Bradshaw should have held his width and marked his man because the Galway cover was getting across to the ball carrier. At worst the Tipp player might have had the time to kick a handy point but Bradshaw rushing out to him created the free man who eventually scored the goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

Naux wrote: »
    Dublin do not concede more than the average ....so far.

Average scores conceded in this years championship by provincial winner

Dublin 13
    Kerry 13
    Donegal 11
    Mayo 11 (includes New York game)

So not much between the defences of the provincial champions.

So it's surprise you to note that Dublin have conceded the second highest (joint with Wexford) score by a winner in Leinster (0-16)?

Their defence isn't great, it's the fact that their forwards can and do win most of their own ball that makes them so lethal.

So it's surprise you to note that Dublin have conceded the second highest (joint with Wexford) score by a winner in Leinster (0-16)?

Their defence isn't great, it's the fact that their forwards can and do win most of their own ball that makes them so lethal.

I agree that their forwards/midfield are what may set them apart from other teams but that is not to say that their defense "isn't great".

If that's the case then neither is any of the other provincial winners defense great. I just think your comment earlier about another poster's comment re good defense being "comprehensively disproved" by Dublin is just not accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Worthwent14

As poor as Bradshaw is defensively we are going to need his powerful running and attacking instincts v kerry to have a chance. He will need to work extra hard to track back and defend tho which I can't see him doing. James shaugnessy is the only other alternative on the bench who could play wing back (granted daithi Burke is starting) and he has never played for galway before. We have no options in the backs. Thought joss Moore was dispossessed too easily for tips 3rd goal. Kerry will notice that and hound us starting with their forwards and try and pressure us into turnovers. I imagine if Kavanagh is starting v kerry he will drop deep and Burke will be play in front of o donoghue?

Galway seem to have plenty of numbers back in defence but a lot of them don't seem to know what they should be doing or who they should be picking up. It just seems like a basic lack of organisation coupled with some players who have poor defensive instincts like Bradshaw.

For the first Tipp goal there should have been no danger of a goal at all but Bradshaw got attracted to the ball carrier and left his man in acres of space out wide. Once he got close the Tipp player just handpassed it over his head to the free man. Bradshaw should have held his width and marked his man because the Galway cover was getting across to the ball carrier. At worst the Tipp player might have had the time to kick a handy point but Bradshaw rushing out to him created the free man who eventually scored the goal.

Fair enough but the attempt made by Burke to cover the goalscorer was poor. He charged in and bought a very basic dummy from the Tipp forward who then had loads of time to make a better angle and pick his spot.

Tipps first goal looked straight at the keeper and he looked like he dived to his left out of the way. Should have been saved a routine save at this level

Their keeper was very poor in general. Should have saved that and was beaten by Cummins in an aerial duel. Thats unforgivable.

I was on about the goal tipp scored but yes their keeper was poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Naux wrote: »
    Fair enough but the attempt made by Burke to cover the goalscorer was poor. He charged in and bought a very basic dummy from the Tipp forward who then had loads of time to make a better angle and pick his spot.

I wouldn't put too much blame on Burke to be honest. He had to run at full pelt just to get there. All because Bradshaw had abandoned his man to run towards the ball carrier. By right Bradshaw should have stayed wide and Burke would have been able to close down the ball carrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

I wouldn't be too worried about the goals conceded. Yes it was only Tipp, but they have a very potent attack and the game was well over at that stage. 4-17 is a mammoth score to put on anybody and confidence should be at a decent level going into Sunday.

There is absolutely no pressure on us now. Anything from here on in is bonus territory. Unless Kerry just don't show up we haven't a prayer imo so there's nothing to lose. I'd expect a decent performance, a 4-7 point loss, a bit of hope for next year and a Winter of conditioning work. We have the guts of a decent top 8 team, just need to find some defenders and implement a defensive plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

h2005 wrote: »
    Their keeper was very poor in general. Should have saved that and was beaten by Cummins in an aerial duel. Thats unforgivable.

You say that, but Cummins has a great leap on him for a small fella, he scored a fine fisted goal last year v Armagh jumping above everyone and I have seen him regularly outjump players. He was very unfortunate for that ball to hit the woodwork. There was also a defender there as well as the goalkeeper. I think it was great play by Cummins rather than poor goalkeeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    I wouldn't be too worried about the goals conceded. Yes it was only Tipp, but they have a very potent attack and the game was well over at that stage. 4-17 is a mammoth score to put on anybody and confidence should be at a decent level going into Sunday.

There is absolutely no pressure on us now. Anything from here on in is bonus territory. Unless Kerry just don't show up we haven't a prayer imo so there's nothing to lose. I'd expect a decent performance, a 4-7 point loss, a bit of hope for next year and a Winter of conditioning work. We have the guts of a decent top 8 team, just need to find some defenders and implement a defensive plan.

I really hope the Galway camp arent thinking like that. If they are not worrying about the goals they conceded, then they wont be able to improve on that area. I would be very worried about the goals they conceded!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Stanza2

Strange thing is that it was the soft goals against Mayo that really won them the game a few weeks ago and even in Croker last year against Cork we gave the lead away with a soft goal. We need to cut it out, we do have to worry about those goals !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭spiritcrusher

In my mind the goals are what are killing us, although I guess that's an inevitable by-product of a poor defence. We could probably keep up the score count with the majority teams now but when we're letting soft goals in we have no chance in coming out on top against any kind of balanced and well set up team. As games get tighter towards the end of the season that's where defensive weaknesses are found out, especially as our forwards will be scoring less (against the top defences) and our backs conceding more. Our tackling technique looks shocking for the most part, and that's probably the reason why even with 14 men behind the ball Tipp were still going through us! 14 men behind the ball is silly and not needed anyway unless you've shite forwards. It just causes confusion unless it's been worked on for years like the lads up north. Our strength as a county is unlikely to ever be a huge variety of talented defenders but good tackling and a decent defensive system when we don't have the ball should still be possible.

I wouldn't put too much blame on Burke to be honest. He had to run at full pelt just to get there. All because Bradshaw had abandoned his man to run towards the ball carrier. By right Bradshaw should have stayed wide and Burke would have been able to close down the ball carrier.

You are right in that Burke was trying to cover for another defenders mistake but I still think he defended badly in that situation. It was not as if he dived to block the kick or anything, he just ran straight past the guy and the guy was near the endline!

WallyGUFC wrote: »

A more clinical "cuter" team(ie Kerry) would have scored a number of goals against Galway early on in that game. Game over.

Tipp were not at all clinical in their passing.

I hope O'Donnell recovers as he looks to be the best option we have for NO.6

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    As happy as a pig in shiite! Not perfect by any means but feck it, a QF is progress and we can be happy with the year if it ends here. Thank God for Hanley in the first half, and good to see the goals coming from unlikely sources. From looking here, dont think ive ever seen a twitter reaction to a score like the one from Walsh! He has much to learn but you cant teach class and he has it in abundance

Hanley made a couple of great interceptions in the first half, cut out some dangerous looking attacks.

I could not understand why he retreated back so far in the second half when Tipp were looking for goals. He was almost standing on Healy's toes for a couple of the goals. It reminded me of what you would see an under 10 player do! We need Hanley to boss the defense for Galway as he is by far the most experienced player. He needs to step up big time against Kerry.

Conroy and Kavanagh will likely be roaming for kickouts and giving the goalie extra opti